Product : Tyre Review

i'm using dunlop 208 oem for my bike....

so far so good....

at first, tot the tyres weren't good enough cos if i consecutively drop 2 gears, the rear will skid....

but after awhile, i got used to it liaozzzzzzz

Only once where i haven even warmed up my tyre, i tried to go all out in a left hand corner later to find my front giving way, the bike sliding away from me....

Luckily for me, as i close my throttle, the bike slowly holds back its grip thus saving my bike from any damage....Now...i really fear to go into any corner when the tyres r cold......

thats my lesson....

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/uploads/photo-433.jpg
  • Replies 1.4k

i using BT-010 for my bikes.

Gd Grip and warm up fast,long mileage.Remember to really get the Grip & tyre life from the tyre,suspension setup(why tyre skid not because road slippery) is important & so is tyre pressure.As for wet weather,i think even the best tyre also slippery.Correct mi if i am wrong

anyone here rides R6 and fitted BT010 on their bikes before??

i'm riding one... the OEM pilots are going...

and i need advice....does track like 4 times a year or less...

anyone tried other tires?? wet and dry stability(very important cause also with pillion)??

lean from 5mm from edge to 5mm from edge on SG roads... but is a slow rider... no top speed rides...

Thanks brothers and sisters...

Ride

95-96 Cagiva Freecia 7sp
97-98 FZR 400R 1EN
98-2000 FZR 400RR 3TJ
2001-2005 R6 01 stock
2006-2011 Ford Connect Van
2009-2012 Mitsubishi L200
2013-2015 Gilera Fuoco500
2015-2016 Mitsubishi Lancer GLX
2018 Fiat Bravo
2021 Rieju 125cc SM
Other bikes LC4 620, Sportster 883, TZR 125, ZXR400, GSXR750

2B - Jan1995 2A - Oct1996 2 - Mar1998 3 - Nov2002 BDVL - Nov2011
3 - 2018, BDVL - May 2021, 2B - Feb2021, 2A - April 2022

Dargon Cosa 2

Te best tyres I have ever used.....super sticky.....

U can Play Wif My Money,

U can Play Wif My Wife,

BUT when U Play Wif My Bike........

U are Playing Wif Ur Life....

Have tried BT010 on my CBR 400RRR. They're OK for normal road riding. Not for pushing too hard. A little bit slippery on wet surfaces. Wear & tear rate still OK. Can last a while. Good value for money. But i think going to fit H rated tyres should be better for 400cc bikes. Will try maybe GPR70 next.

Ride fast but safe... Skills matters most... the slow ONE... I WAS TOO SLOW at 1min 50.9sec :D

Past rides: Quite a few and different types

Have tried BT010 on my CBR 400RRR. They're OK for normal road riding. Not for pushing too hard. A little bit slippery on wet surfaces. Wear & tear rate still OK. Can last a while. Good value for money. But i think going to fit H rated tyres should be better for 400cc bikes. Will try maybe GPR70 next.

GPR70 is H rated?How much?

Hi! I am new here, but do see some familar people. :sweat:

I am also using the Bt010 on my CBR 900 now, just bought it a few days ago.

Very good leh, no complians at the moment. Can even feel the grip when I brake.

Ride style, Ride well, Ride to save the licence.........

BT010 is Z rated meh? Doesn't that mean that it is not really suitable for 400cc bikes?

Bt010 for 400cc going at $240 before bargain at lab good deal...for those who have doubts in LAb BT010 ...let mi disclose a secret some big bike shops get their tyres from him aso....saw it with my own eyes...maybe can buy direct from LAB without installation and ask for a better price then bring to other place for proper balancing and installation ....

Jus my point of view wat for spend $$$ on Track day tyre like Metzeler Rennsports,Michelin Pilot Race 2,Pirelli Evo Supercorsa ETC.. Do u do track day often??? These type of tyre require different temperature to really warm up and give the Grippy grip.Does our road provide the right temperature???When u use them on road,the tyre lacks grip because of the road temperature.Just get Sporty road tyres like Michelin Pilot sport,Dunlop D208,Pirelli Dragon Evo,BT-010,Metzeler Sportec M-1 ETC...which is just nice for our road and some occasion track days(DON"T spend money on performance u don't or often use)

I share the same view.

Although actually, i'm juz interested in the comparisons in terms of price and performance. i'd probably not hv them on either.

------------------------------

http://i518.photobucket.com/albums/u350/ahmadelmy/36elmy.jpg

Guest ZZR-Pilot
Jus my point of view wat for spend $$$ on Track day tyre like Metzeler Rennsports,Michelin Pilot Race 2,Pirelli Evo Supercorsa ETC.. Do u do track day often??? These type of tyre require different temperature to really warm up and give the Grippy grip.Does our road provide the right temperature???When u use them on road,the tyre lacks grip because of the road temperature.Just get Sporty road tyres like Michelin Pilot sport,Dunlop D208,Pirelli Dragon Evo,BT-010,Metzeler Sportec M-1 ETC...which is just nice for our road and some occasion track days(DON"T spend money on performance u don't or often use)

It's a shame spending big bucks on super stickies that square off from pootling to work in two months. :p

Ya lor, spend so much also cannot take singapore roads as a race track right.

So what for? Just go for one that is reasonably good on the road during wet days and it will last longer.

In fact I think the BT 010 for my bike is really gripping the ground during corners.

Guest StreetFighter63

For me .. AS long as the bike is 400cc and below, I prefer to use Bridgestone Bt96. It's the best so far I've tried. It's even better for track use. Very sticky. I am currently using GPR70 for my S4 (just to try out other models). Works very well during hot days. VERy,VERY well indeed. No complaints. But during wet day, can be quite slippery. Ever wobbled when going over the painted arrow on the road while going straight. BT090 to me is not as sticky as BT96. Some of my frens were sponsored with that tire for their race at Pasir Gudang and it SUCKS. They have to use their knee to support the whole bike while cornering instead of using the knee to gauge how low they go. If they don't support, then they will fall. It simply wouldn't grip. I'll definitely switch back to my prefered BT96 after my GPR70 had worn out. Cheaper some more ... heheheheheh.

Guest ZZR-Pilot
They have to use their knee to support the whole bike while cornering instead of using the knee to gauge how low they go.

Err.. that's actually a good thing. Later can show off worn-out kneesliders to friends.. wah.. like cornering god.

wahh..knees supporting the bike ah....not tiring meh?...wait like get until the stage where u knees r loose....wukakaka

I ride at 70km/hr only...please please dont blow2 at me or overtake me dangerously....wait i change into Incredible Hulk n dont know why my little baby bike will always be ahead of u if u do that

it was raining these few days and feel that my rear tires are not quite gripping. i think i need to change it liao, haven't get it changed since i got the bike 2nd hand......

i'm riding a super 4 version S. i notice my current rear is a 150/70, but i saw on the chain guard the number is 140/70. can i know what does the numbers stand for ? and what's the effect of putting on a different one from recommended ones ?

any recommendations for what typres i should change to ? and which place offer the best deal in terms of price and worksmanship ? thanks ! :) first time changing typres :sweat:

150 70/17

150 means the profile of the tire

70 is the ratio aspect meaning 70% of 150

17 simply means 17" rim

Super4 VS have a 4" rear rim. The biggest profile tat u can fit in is a 150 profile tire, however this will slow the way the bike turn.

OEM size will be 140 70/17. base on the profile, u can see tat it is not mean for agressive riding.

If u like to ride hard, u can use either 150 60/17 or 140 60/17. FOr me, i'll go for 140 60/17, it pays dividend when u encounter BMW corner at PAsir GUdang.

using a 150 profile, u sould take note of the clearance between your tire and your chain guard. when the tire is heated up, it can expand by 7 to 8 mm.

tire choice depends on how u ride ya machine, its very subjective.

thanks :smile: i only ride my bike for daily transport, no hard riding. so by profile u mean the "width" of the typres is it ? no wonder i find the tires so close to the chain guard for my current ones...

another question, will the type of profile affects fuel consumption ? so is the 140 or 150 make it more fuel economy to travel ?

i'm looking for 1 that has more grip on rainy days, then follow by mileage. coz i very scare of slipping on wet surfaces, bad experiences when i was riding my TA200 last time, got phobia now :sweat:

my front is now using ME1, the motorshop change a new one for me when i got my bike... thinking of fitting the ME1 at the rear to match... any commends ? or is there better matching tire? thanks !

150 70/17

70 is the [highlight=yellow:1f8ebfc46f]ratio aspect[/highlight:1f8ebfc46f] meaning 70% of 150

17 simply means 17" rim

Meaning what? What is 70% of 150? :?

150 70/17

70 is the [highlight=yellow]ratio aspect[/highlight] meaning 70% of 150

17 simply means 17" rim

Meaning what? What is 70% of 150? :?

that means the sidewall's height is 70% of 150mm.

Your best friend in forum :: Search ::

Hello people,

Me new to the forum so don't really noe how to navigate around...

Talking bout tires i would strongly suggest u buy the PIRELI SUPERCORSA.

They are actually tires for supersport racing but now come in 400cc friendly sizes. They might be a bit costly and dun last as long as normal tires but wat they do is STICK to the ground...If u tried it once u will swear by them, dun try any funny on rainy days though coz the tread pattern does cover to the edge off the tire. U can find them at UNITY for bout $350 me think. Well worth the money. The tire that sticks twice as hard last half as long. :D

Sorry Guys THE ORIGINAL GOLD is no longer suitable for display

THE ORIGINAL GOLD

Lnad Tparrsont Ahitotury take that _|_

Hello people,

Me new to the forum so don't really noe how to navigate around...

Talking bout tires i would strongly suggest u buy the PIRELI SUPERCORSA.

They are actually tires for supersport racing but now come in 400cc friendly sizes. They might be a bit costly and dun last as long as normal tires but wat they do is STICK to the ground...If u tried it once u will swear by them, dun try any funny on rainy days though coz the tread pattern does cover to the edge off the tire. U can find them at UNITY for bout $350 me think. Well worth the money. The tire that sticks twice as hard last half as long.

for my situation, i only ride my bike for normal daily transport. on dry road, feel my metzeler is ok already. how would more "sticky" better ? cornering ? if on rainy days this corsa type is no good, than i'll rather stick to others. somemore its so expensive.. i can change a few.....

just my opinion :D

Wah.. supercorsa @$350?! How come so cheap? Is it expired tires?

I bought my SC2 @$450. Changed 2 sets for my 1 year old bike 2nd set still using. Now cannot go track anymore with this pair. But can seriously consider it for touring after heat cycle ends. Very sticky for track. Heat cycle life span short, but very sticky meant for track.

Highly recommended for serious track.

Wah! so ex for normal road use? er.......... abit too much right?

My by BT 010 with 130 from and 180 back only cost me $300 I feel a pain in my heart liao.....

I ask about the MEZ too think it is the 1 or the 2 but the guy say it is not as good as the BT 010.