Product : Tyre Review

Guest ZZR-Pilot

:smile: After reading 10 pages of post....

Still duno what is best for my little Rvf..

currently using GPR70 rear and Bt56/7 (can't remember) front...

got this combination since i got my bike 2 mths ago...

i know that matching different brands of tire is no gd... so wish to change it.. but my Rear gpr is new .. and i dun see much see much comments from u all about this tire..

is GPR70 gd? i heard all my friends say is gd... :sweat:

after reading thinking of changing to the 012ss...

does it suit for my little Rvf? :confused:

or should i change my front to Gpr70 1st? :confused:

thanks for advice..! :sweat:

really can't understand much for tire too chim for mi... :giddy:

• Replies 1.4k

IMO i tink gpr70sp works really very well for bike under 400cc coz i been using it on my rs250 last time. its sticky and its profile made it turn into any corners much more faster den other tires i tried b4. example bt56ss, bt010(dun really suit smaller bike but hack it last damm long :cheer: ). I also use a pair of rain tires from Dunlop D364(dunno is this model anot) b4. That tires is the way to go on the track in the wet. the threads on the tires cut the water very well. can take full lean if yur guts is big enough. :bounce: btw if u wan to change to bt012ss i advise u not coz its a Z rating tires.. not suitable for bike under 600cc. might as well go for a cheaper bt090. heard it grip is compareable to gpr70 from my friends who using it. by the way if u r using diff tires front and rear yur grip may be compromised in the wet.. so becareful

http://mywebpages.comcast.net/ShadowROne/Sig/ShadowROne/Sig3.jpg

Rides

1. 1999-2001 aprilia RS250

2. 2000-2002 Hexagon

3. 2001-2002 Suzuki TL1000R

4. 2002-2005 Yamaha YZF R1

5. 2005-Present SYM Magic

:smile: After reading 10 pages of post....

Still duno what is best for my little Rvf..

currently using GPR70 rear and Bt56/7 (can't remember) front...

got this combination since i got my bike 2 mths ago...

i know that matching different brands of tire is no gd... so wish to change it.. but my Rear gpr is new .. and i dun see much see much comments from u all about this tire..

is GPR70 gd? i heard all my friends say is gd... :sweat:

after reading thinking of changing to the 012ss...

does it suit for my little Rvf? :confused:

or should i change my front to Gpr70 1st? :confused:

thanks for advice..! :sweat:

really can't understand much for tire too chim for mi... :giddy:

hey nutoo dun worry lah..its a gd tyre oni maybe rainy days its not so effective...and guess what i just change a set of that GPR70sp on my RVF too!! :D

Guest ZZR-Pilot
u getting 'sotong' tires? go across causeway. got alot of choice.

TT900? Tayar sotong? Haha.. when in JB, look out for Go.Denboy brand.. got 'Sotong' model and 'TiTi' model tyres for kapcai (cheeky b@stards, eh?). :lol:

Anyway, il4... I got a bunch of friends so hung up on race slicks. Apparently, discarded ex-race slicks are sold dirt cheap here (probably sneaked out of Sepang).. sumthin like under RM100 a pop for 400cc sizes. The shop will cut grooves into the slicks to form a tread and sell. I know these tyres give f*ck-all grip in anything other than full racetrack abuse.

But since you're the black rubber specialist (must kowtow a bit :bow: ), can you explain just how different are race slicks compared to street tyres in terms of construction and performance. Are they dangerous for street use? Are they prone to punctures when used on less-than-perfect road surfaces?

Guest ZZR-Pilot

Called up my friend, he said the slicks are definitely take-offs from a race TZR250 or something. So the sizes are 150/70-17 & 155/55-17 if I heard him properly. There are stacks of them available and each hoop costs RM100.

I think I know where the shop is. Maybe I'll just pop over with my digital camera.. hehe..

Guest ZZR-Pilot

OK, I paid the shop a visit yesterday afternoon. Apparently, team Petronas TVK of MotoGP (remember local boy Shahrul Yuzy & rising star Sebastian Porto?) was disbanded after Petronas pulled out their sponsorship. So they sold off all their race inventory in a hurry. That's how all the slicks ended up here. Here's what's available:

Dunlop UK - Race Slicks KR106 & KR133

Sizes front : 125/55-17 & 120/60-17

Sizes rear : 165/55-17 & 160/60-17

Price (take-offs/used) = RM60 each

Price (brand new) = RM100 each

Bloody cheap! This isn't a continuous supply tho, because once the TVK inventory runs out that's it. There are still heaps of take-offs available in the shop, but the brand new slicks are going fast. Folks are buying 2-3 pairs at a time.

2 months ago, two cheeky CBR400 riders dropped by and snapped up Yosh Tri-Oval end cans for RM400 each. Bummer.

I was *seriously* tempted to buy a pair of slicks. But hearing my friends complain these tyres ride like sh!t on the road, I thought twice. Well, since my bike sees more road duty than track duty I decided to hold on to my cash (later I blew it on a belated Valentine gift for the wife.. hehe..). Changing tyres before and after a trackday is too much of a bother for me to put up with anyway.

izzit gd? For dry or wet days? :?

Honda NSR 150 SP - FT4977D (June 01 - March 03)

Honda CBR 400 RR- FL2119U (Dec 02 - Jan 04)

Honda CBR 929 RR - FS4382A (Feb 04 - Dec 04)

Susuki Hayabusa 1300- FX9524Z (April 05 - Oct 05)

Susuki Bandit400- FL3540D (Mar 03 - Dec 05)

Honda Super 4 Spec 3 - FZ9528C (Dec 05 - Jan 07)

Honda Walve125S - FW8025J (Aug 06 - June 07)

Yamaha Spark135 LE - FBB4..7C (March 07 - ???)

anyone knows how i can wear out the edge of my front tyre? the edges on my rear tyre have been used and has no more waxy strip whereas the front still has the wax on the edge of the usable area. I don't know whether it is the way i ride, but it just seems that the rear tyre goes down lower than the front. (Another point to note is that i didn't buy my tyres in a set i.e. the front is 2 months old and the rear is 8 months old). Care to elaborate anyone?

http://carblueprints.info/design/images/logos/triumph-logo.png

Wat should the pressure for my tzrr 125 be? Front tyre 110, rear 140. Using gpr.

wow cool..u got really thick ones for ur tzr...

I ride at 70km/hr only...please please dont blow2 at me or overtake me dangerously....wait i change into Incredible Hulk n dont know why my little baby bike will always be ahead of u if u do that

I'm close to binning my set of Taiwanese Duros, and will need to fit a fresh set of tyres for my 400cc corner-carver.

So tell me fellas:

1) What's your favourite set of tyres?

2) Why?

3) How many km did it last you?

So far i tried BT010 and just changed BT090, 090 really gives a great stick, good at corners but not so light on straights. Truely Reccommended for corner freaks. I changed for $280 at my bikeshop. But i heard Hock Kim Leong's tyres are cheaper. Cheers~

http://www.maplestory.com.sg/images/info/ms_monster.gif

So far i tried BT010 and just changed BT090, 090 really gives a great stick, good at corners but not so light on straights. Truely Reccommended for corner freaks. I changed for $280 at my bikeshop. But i heard Hock Kim Leong's tyres are cheaper. Cheers~

Wat u mean by not so light on straight?

Life short, play hard

You will be sorry when you see me.

Speed is not how fast you can go,

But how fast you can handle.

Ppl always think they\'re good but

It\'s others tat judge them not themselve.

Can anyone give the feedback on these 2 tyres?

-Pirelli Diablo

-Metzeler M1 Sportec

How do they perform on track and how's their mileage on the road?

I've used SC2 and RS2 before. These 2 tyres performs very well on the track. Very excellent grip with 28PSI front and rear. However, their lifespan ends quickly after a few track sessions. How do Diablo and sportec differs from SC2 and RS2 on their performance especially on track? And the pricing of Diablo and sportec?

Tires for scrams?any rec? make and model? (street legal and decent enuff for dirt)

http://www.naruto-kun.com/gallery/Gifs//Itachi/Itachi_01(80).gifhttp://www.naruto-kun.com/gallery/Gifs//Naruto/Naruto_01(79).gifhttp://www.naruto-kun.com/gallery/Gifs//Lee/Submitted_Lee_01_%5BKonohamaru%5D.gifhttp://www.naruto-kun.com/gallery/Gifs//Kakashi/Kakashi_02(18).gifhttp://www.naruto-kun.com/gallery/Gifs//Naruto/Naruto_01(78).gifhttp://www.naruto-kun.com/gallery/Gifs//Sasuke/Sasuke-04.gif

:cheer: Pirelli Dragon :cheer:

good mei..... i always have the impression taht dragon(no one say no good) :bounce: is more exp den gpr70(recommended by friend) :confused: . so when hkl quote me 220 for either. my cheaponess took over and opt for the dragon. however, every time i ride, i can feel the tyre eaten away by the road. i just got the feeling it wont last me till oct(change 2a) :weep: :cry: :weep: .

but its really quite good lah. btw... i travel bout 3000km/mth. any comments? :confused:

I LOVE u RS. Please dont breakdown. I\'m BROKE!!!

Wat u mean by not so light on straight?

Ohh erm i mean when going straight like throttle abit heavier lor... in hokkien call "Dang Kui" hehe something like that lah.. but now abit more season, better abit liao

http://www.maplestory.com.sg/images/info/ms_monster.gif

ya lar... :D

Diabo and M1 basically share the same traits. With other mfg veering towards single puporpose tires, meaning one end of the spectrum(race, touring).

Metzeler and Pirelli went towards other direction, Thehy focus more on street tires and hence they design the latest M1 and Diablo.

Grip wise, its not as grippy as SC or RS. But it have plenty of heatcycle to spare and hence they last lightyears longer then those race breed rubbers.

I have a mate who use it for occasional track days, seems to work pretty well for him, decent grips and give u a tad more mileage, its a compromise u must strike.

Do you kow how much is a pair of Pirelli Diablo and Metzeler sportec?...and where to buy?..

http://img244.imageshack.us/img244/2872/dsc004871dk6.jpg

Don't think too hard about it. You don't need a reason.

JUST RIDE.