Well i just made 1 for myself. I wun claim credit to have thought of the method to do it, but I lost the link to the original guy who started it. My credits go out to you anyway.

http://yanuk.net/temps/bike_eyes.jpg

The original lamp is on parking light and the other on my DIY angle eyes. Not perfect, but costs like 10times lesser than the original angel eyes. You wun be able to see it during the day like your normal parking lights. And also when you turn on the main beam, the rings will be overpowered and hidden as well. Pretty much what parking lights are for anyway. And i usually ride with only my parking lights as sg road are so god damned bright.

The steps are pretty easy (depending on your skill level)

First the ingredients:

- LEDs (white in my case, you can use other colours, the brighter the better)

- Resistors (brightness depends on the value, do a search on the correct value to use)

- Some acrylic rods (got it from my friend who love DIYing) I believe art friend or the likes should sell them. Make sure the acrylic rod's diameter is thicker than your LEDs. I used 5mm LEDs and 8mm rods

- Hand tools, electric tools will help a lot more. Tools like saw, drill, etc..

- Oven conventional or microwave or stove.

- Measuring tape

Now the recepie:

- First measure the diameter of your headlight. Mine's ~10cm

- Cut out the circumference of as the length of the rod. eg: pi x 10cm = 31.4 cm

cut out more is better. easier to bend. I cut about 40cm i think. The excess can be cut off later.

- Find something round that has the same diameter. eg: bowl, coffee-mate jar, etc.. it must be hard, this will be your 'mould'

- Heat up oven to ~160-200degC or thereabout. When ready, put the rod inside and bake for about 5 mins. Longer the softer.. but too long will have blister. sweat:

- Put mould on a clean and FLAT surface.

- Put on gloves! Leather bike gloves are good. Take out the rod and mould wrap around the 'mould'. Keep it in place TIGHT until it hardens again. May take quite some time.. like ~1-2 min or so..

you will now have a round ring like below

http://yanuk.net/temps/rod_ring.jpg

original was straight then bent to a ring

- Saw off the parts that don't make the ring round. (The excess earlier on)

- Make small cuts at regular intervals on 1 side of the ring with a saw.

- Put the ring flat on the table and just give it 1 pull of the saw will do. If you don't do this, the light wun appear on the other side.

\/\/\/\/\/\/\/

ring flat on table

---------------------------

Table top

- At the start and end of the rod, drill a hole such that the entire LED fits in nicely. eg: use a 5mm bit. 4.8mm also can.. you get a very tight fit. Some like it tight :cheeky:

after you're done, you should get this.

http://yanuk.net/temps/light_ring.jpg

Note that I used 2 LEDs, 1 on each end.

You got to know how to wire and light up LEDs. I believe there's quite some detailed write up on it in here already, so I didn't cover that.

As for the mechanical fitting, I just squeezed it in between my fairing and headlight and it stays there. I disconnected my parking light and wired it to the light ring.

Total cost:

Acrylic rod.. ~$15/m I guess. Not too sure

LEDs $1 each (2x$1)

resistors, wire, heat shrink, black tape, odds/end $3

Total: ~$20

Time taken:~2 hours. very fast.

Big brother's watching...

http://yanuk.net/temps/led_ring_sil.jpg

To do list:

- Steel brake hoses (In progress...)

- Rewire bike

- Repaint fairing and clean up bike

- Replace exhaust system (DONE!)

http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b286/Angkuguay/marcusakaflowers.jpg

Always in my heart...

• Replies 1k

just realised some call it pole lights.. Whatever the name... parking light/ pole light. it''s that dim light.

To do list:

- Rewire bike

Always in my heart...

very cool stuff bro!! thankz for sharing, but i saw a website sellin ready made...4get which webby coz my headlite not round....so dun bother to do

http://i59.photobucket.com/albums/g313/funkyvtec/IMG-4077.jpg

Previous Rides: RXK 135, S4 Project Big 1, S4 Vtec1, ST1100 Pan European, Cbr954, K7 600, FJR1300 ABS, SilverWing FJS 400.

Current Rides: FIT 1.3 GF MoonRoof.

DIY angel

Guess this is the webby,Yanuk might be refering too:cheer: And nice angel eyes on the CBR,btw uall can try to use cold cathodes,the round type,available in sim lim square.More brighter.....

Upz to DIY

http://www.parrotparrot.com/stopcruelty/cruelty1.gif

Originally posted by ah786786@Nov 7 2006, 09:07 AM

DIY angel

Guess this is the webby,Yanuk might be refering too:cheer: And nice angel eyes on the CBR,btw uall can try to use cold cathodes,the round type,available in sim lim square.More brighter.....

Upz to DIY

yah that's the one. I only remember the rough steps in doing it and did it from memory.

cold cathode can bend? you have any idea how? I also though those tubes were glass.

To do list:

- Rewire bike

Always in my heart...

they have round cold cathodes,saw at sim lim tower basement shops...can look around CPU modifying shops,Cold cathodes easier,u jus need to saw the lines and more brighter....

To do list:

- Rewire bike

Always in my heart...

if the cold cathodes you are referring to is CCFL and requires you to plug it into the blue box before running it to your batt, then it may be faulty after some time cause the connection loosen due to vibrations. that's what happened to mine. i installed 2 white CCFL tubes on my SP but removed it cause the connection was loose and caused it to flicker on and off.

but maybe it's cause SP being a 2 stroke bike, produces alot of vibrations. :D

Originally posted by ah786786@Nov 7 2006, 10:06 AM

they have round cold cathodes,saw at sim lim tower basement shops...can look around CPU modifying shops,Cold cathodes easier,u jus need to saw the lines and more brighter....

cool great! i'll check it out!

To do list:

- Rewire bike

Always in my heart...

Originally posted by fnee+Nov 7 2006, 10:14 AM-->
QUOTE (fnee @ Nov 7 2006, 10:14 AM)
if the cold cathodes you are referring to is CCFL and requires you to plug it into the blue box before running it to your batt, then it may be faulty after some time cause the connection loosen due to vibrations. that's what happened to mine. i installed 2 white CCFL tubes on my SP but removed it cause the connection was loose and caused it to flicker on and off.

but maybe it's cause SP being a 2 stroke bike, produces alot of vibrations.[/b]

Secure it properly lah. tighten liao.. if still cannot, apply loctite!

To do list:

- Rewire bike

Always in my heart...

Originally posted by ah786786@Nov 7 2006, 10:26 AM

To Yanuk,the round CC light looks like this

Used for CPU case fan mods....

best!:thumb: if only i knew of those earlier! Will check out the available sizes.

To do list:

- Rewire bike

Always in my heart...

Originally posted by fnee@Nov 7 2006, 10:14 AM

the angel eyes he's selling is from a china bargain forum...

oh yeah, any electrical expert here can answer my question, 1 LED 1 resistor or can 2 LED use 1 resistor?

In series No need resistor but in paralel u need 1 resistor to each led,470ohms

Paralel connection

http://www.oznium.com/forum/images/diagrams/9.gif

Series connection

http://www.oznium.com/forum/images/diagrams/10.gif

Originally posted by ah786786@Nov 7 2006, 10:30 AM

In series No need resistor but in paralel u need 1 resistor to each led,470ohms

Paralel connection

http://www.oznium.com/forum/images/diagrams/9.gif

Series connection

http://www.oznium.com/forum/images/diagrams/10.gif

woo. thanks alot dude for the great diagram! (: so which connection would be brighter? series or parallel? sorry, i suck at physics. |:

yanuk: the CCFL rings only come in one size if i'm not wrong. and i've tried sim lim square, it's almost impossible to find round ones in there. you have to go to the basement of sim lim tower. they do sell them there. but it's only in 1 size and only left a few weird colours. no more white ):

In series,if 1 led blows,the rest would be affected,the parrell is other wise,i tink parralel is betta,the voltage distribution would be more even.

Anyways this how the ring looks lighted up http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y58/ah786786/casecooler_1921_2941671.jpg

Originally posted by yanuk@Nov 7 2006, 10:29 AM

best!:thumb: if only i knew of those earlier! Will check out the available sizes.

if not wrong there should be at least 2 sizes,80mm and 120mm.

as for series or parallel, it all depends on your LED rated voltage and current draw.. you might or might not need resistors or the LEDs may not even light up.

To do list:

- Rewire bike

Always in my heart...

their rating is 5A,our is 12V,guess the diffrence is quite alot,if nv connect a resistor in parralel or just connecting 1 single led,the whole led thing will melt up....and its better to fuse them.....or u doing few light connections,eg.undertray,h/l casing LED,horns connect all the +ve wire and fuse them all together.

Originally posted by ah786786@Nov 7 2006, 12:21 PM

their rating is 5A,our is 12V,guess the diffrence is quite alot,if nv connect a resistor in parralel or just connecting 1 single led,the whole led thing will melt up....and its better to fuse them.....or u doing few light connections,eg.undertray,h/l casing LED,horns connect all the +ve wire and fuse them all together.

hmm fuse them? how to do so? lol.

anyway i dropped by sim lim tower after work just now and bought 2 white LEDs. they sell those ready made kind with resistors attached for $2 per LED.

i asked for the brightest kind alr. but still not really bright eh. hmm..

Originally posted by ah786786@Nov 7 2006, 11:28 AM

In series,if 1 led blows,the rest would be affected,the parrell is other wise,i tink parralel is betta,the voltage distribution would be more even.

Anyways this how the ring looks lighted up http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y58/ah786786/casecooler_1921_2941671.jpg

wow this is nice.. btw where to get those parts to make angel eye? i wana try to make oso.. ^^

i noob to all this elec stuff. but would like it to be done on a scram if possible.

Originally posted by StingRhea@Nov 8 2006, 11:15 PM

i noob to all this elec stuff. but would like it to be done on a scram if possible.

reactangle eyes. :cheer: worth trying!

To do list:

- Rewire bike

Always in my heart...