• Replies 779

Still on the see see look look stage. Any bros can advise me the difference between the Pulsar 200NS and the Tiger? I only know the Pulsar gives better FC but Tiger isn't bad too. Which is a better buy?

Tiger is a solid bike, but unfortunately it has not become popular at all in Singapore. It is very popular in Indonesia. When I went to Bali I saw quite a few Tigers, especially the new version. But in Singapore, inspite of being here for the last 4 years, I see the Tiger occasionally on the road, there is one icecream man with the Tiger.

I dont know what is the reason why it is not popular, probably the CBF150 is canibalizing it. I see so many CBF150s, newer ones in my car park itself. Maybe the price is high relative to its styling. It is still an old school bike with same techonology like Phantom. 18 inch wheels is something only bikes like YBR and CBF150 has.

It would be a safer bet to buy a pulsar 200NS, inspite of being so new, so many of them on the road already and in terms of specifications, performance, features or styling 200NS is better except that it doesnt have a Honda badge like the Tiger has.

Edited by revhappy

May '10 - Jun '11 : Bajaj Pulsar 180 DTSi UG2

Jul '11 - Jan '12 : Honda Phantom TA200

Feb '12 - Jul '12 : Bajaj Pulsar 180 DTSi UG3

Aug '12 - Current : Bajaj Pulsar 200 DTSi

Will it be good if the chain guard is the fully enclosed one to prevent wear/tear from rain/dust? Any such option for our current Tigers? Travelled 12000 km with my bike and changed a regular clutch line. Is this normal life span for clutch line? Used for just one year + two months. Any premium clutch line that is really high quality and how much will that be? Previously, I did not engage my clutch properly and there was a hard cranking noise in the gear box (likely gear teeths hit each other in the box). A bit worry that gear teeths snapped or break.

sorry for the late reply!! actually, the open chain guard is better than a fully enclosed one as it allows the chain slack freedom of movement. besides, rain/dust isnt a major problem anyway. a properly oiled and tensioned chain will last thru many rainy days.

a regular clutch line can easily last for a few years, but i'll recommend changing it every ~2yrs. ease of mind of it working fine when u need it.

nah, unless the engine behaves weirdly or u hear some disastrous sounds, my bet is that its all normal wear/tear. its not easy to snap a modern machined gear teeth. probably going at 100kmh then suddenly going down to gear 1 might do it, but... thats another story.

the only controls for this bike is clutch+throttle+choke cables and the most commonly used are the clutch+throttle. a small price to pay for preventive maintenance to have it changed every ~2-3 years i'll reckon.

Anyone know whats the OTR price of the Tiger 200? And whr can i buy brand new or 2nd hand ones?

brand new OTR is about ~$8K (includes insurance)

8k~ include insurance? where u get quote?

3rd party only is around 250-350 depending on ur details. got it from heng motors. u can go ask around yourself if u'll like

Tiger is a solid bike, but unfortunately it has not become popular at all in Singapore. It is very popular in Indonesia. When I went to Bali I saw quite a few Tigers, especially the new version. But in Singapore, inspite of being here for the last 4 years, I see the Tiger occasionally on the road, there is one icecream man with the Tiger.

I dont know what is the reason why it is not popular, probably the CBF150 is canibalizing it. I see so many CBF150s, newer ones in my car park itself. Maybe the price is high relative to its styling. It is still an old school bike with same techonology like Phantom. 18 inch wheels is something only bikes like YBR and CBF150 has.

It would be a safer bet to buy a pulsar 200NS, inspite of being so new, so many of them on the road already and in terms of specifications, performance, features or styling 200NS is better except that it doesnt have a Honda badge like the Tiger has.

It is disproportionately expensive for that 50cc more than a CBF150. As you can see from HL Cycle's price list here relatively speaking: CBF150 OTR $5900 vs Tiger 200 $8100. Both without insurance. For 50cc more that $2k isn't especially justified.

Hmm guys... I've gotta change my tires for my Tiger...

Has anyone tried fixing any tires wider than the stock specs?

ToiléTmaster | Seinfeld is still the best show ever!

http://i239.photobucket.com/albums/ff308/super_marvel/ToileTmaster/vlcsnap-13527612.png

sorry for the late reply!! actually, the open chain guard is better than a fully enclosed one as it allows the chain slack freedom of movement. besides, rain/dust isnt a major problem anyway. a properly oiled and tensioned chain will last thru many rainy days.

a regular clutch line can easily last for a few years, but i'll recommend changing it every ~2yrs. ease of mind of it working fine when u need it.

nah, unless the engine behaves weirdly or u hear some disastrous sounds, my bet is that its all normal wear/tear. its not easy to snap a modern machined gear teeth. probably going at 100kmh then suddenly going down to gear 1 might do it, but... thats another story.

the only controls for this bike is clutch+throttle+choke cables and the most commonly used are the clutch+throttle. a small price to pay for preventive maintenance to have it changed every ~2-3 years i'll reckon.

Hi nbk,

Thanks for the advise. I was very very suay ... Face a vandal that scratch my tank with key or so. I thought people red eye on new sports or luxury car, now new cheap transportation like motorbike also Kena ...I observed that the scratch has not touch the metal or the base paint (black). Can you or anyone recommend a product on the shelf to remove the cosmetic flaws? I really love my babe..

Deep scratch is extremely difficult to remove. You'll need to fill the scratch mark with a filler, sand it away till its flat, then repaint the whole area.

http://i239.photobucket.com/albums/ff308/super_marvel/ToileTmaster/vlcsnap-13527612.png

Hi nbk,

Thanks for the advise. I was very very suay ... Face a vandal that scratch my tank with key or so. I thought people red eye on new sports or luxury car, now new cheap transportation like motorbike also Kena ...I observed that the scratch has not touch the metal or the base paint (black). Can you or anyone recommend a product on the shelf to remove the cosmetic flaws? I really love my babe..

if its jus the clearcoat layer (without exposing the metal underneath) you can give those scratch remover pens a try, essentially it fills up the clearcoat again. but if u see any hints of metal/rust, then i dont think theres any cheap/easy solutions to work with already. good luck!

Tiger's a nice bike! Almost landed on one!

July 18 2013 - Class 2B (1st time pass)

Dec 03 2014 - Class 2A (2nd attempt :mad:)

Feb 2 2016 - Class 2 (1st attempt)

July 26 2013 - Yamaha FZ16ST

Feb 2 2016 - ZX-12R A1 Model

Tiger's a nice bike! Almost landed on one!
I almost landed on the FZ16 too...knowing there's too much poison for the 16, i looked at Tiger..

Ive already change mine to Michelins Pilot Sporty MIT F 2.75 and R90/90. Reasonably good grips on corners too. Im planning to have F100/80 and R120/80 for my next change :)

I've just changed my tires to Metzeler 2 weeks back... Grip is pretty good so far, but the real test of a good tire is wet weather test 6 months into the tires life... But then, as said earlier, tire usability is still pretty good. Will continue to use and see how then... But if front 100 and rear 120 works, I might want to go into JB to change again..

Edited by super_marvel

Hi revhappy, thanks for your inputs. I still haven't get my bike. Contemplating between scooter and bike now. Scooter is cleaner...pants not so dirty during wet weather. Manual bikes offer more control and agility. . Needless to say, better fuel economy too. There are some really sweet maxi scooters out there that's really tempting me!! :sly:

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 4

hi guys. Any tiger owners here no longer use their pillion grab rails and wanna sell them? Or anyone here has any lobang on where to get them?

Hi! Everyone! I am so excited! I am going to collect my TIGER soon!! Count down 15min!!! I bought it second hand from a s phoon. Quite impressed by the look. It is great to have this thread. Be honest it is so little information through out internet... Wish every brothers/sisters here can give me more advise on this bike!

Well, i'm use Pirelli tyre with size 110/70-17 (front) & 140/70-17 (rear) for my Tiger years 2005 and Bridgestone tyre 110/70-17 (front) & 150/70-17 (rear) for my Tiger years 1994.

Dear all Tiger riders.

I just pass my class 2b and had bought a Honda tiger year 2010 2nd hand maybe collecting Friday or Saturday. I would like to seek advise from you all the experienced rider and expert about this bike. Im looking into handlebar damping kit anyone know where to get?

All this while im driving so about motorbike stuff im really know nothing about it. My concern on the bike handling and safety like what tyre ,how to stabilize the battery voltage, minor enhancement on air intake etc..

please advice me thank you so much...

Dear all Tiger riders.

I just pass my class 2b and had bought a Honda tiger year 2010 2nd hand maybe collecting Friday or Saturday. I would like to seek advise from you all the experienced rider and expert about this bike. Im looking into handlebar damping kit anyone know where to get?

All this while im driving so about motorbike stuff im really know nothing about it. My concern on the bike handling and safety like what tyre ,how to stabilize the battery voltage, minor enhancement on air intake etc..

please advice me thank you so much...

congrats on getting ur 2b!

there isnt a damping kit for this bike yet, and i'll actually say it probably isnt needed.

why not ride it for awhile, then consider what u really need?

good that ure already thinking of the tyres, do change to a suitable pair and beware that if the bike has had the tyres since 2010, it might be wise to get them changed, especially if it has hardened.

congrats on getting ur 2b!

there isnt a damping kit for this bike yet, and i'll actually say it probably isnt needed.

why not ride it for awhile, then consider what u really need?

good that ure already thinking of the tyres, do change to a suitable pair and beware that if the bike has had the tyres since 2010, it might be wise to get them changed, especially if it has hardened.

Thanks bro for the advise. Current the tire are using Dunlop GP F90/R100. I think the rear tire maybe going to wear off soon. any recommended tire shop have stock for our size? and suggestion on brand of the tire I more concern in wet weather. The bike shop said due to our rim size the tire need to order. I guess I have no time to wait would prefer going straight to any tire shop that have stock for our bike.

Today just collected my ride..after looking at the log card...WOAH this ride already had 6 owner before. So I guess there must be somewhere this ride need to fine tune which im totally noob in to motorcycle. perhaps any one willing to meet up and help me look see my bike for suggestion things to be done. Thank you.

ours being a 18" rim, does has some limitations. quite a few places actually have our tyres. eg: LAB, Universal motors, Heng motors etc etc... so far bridgestone and michelin tyres are one of the more reputable or popular brands.

how much thread is left in ur tyre?

where do you stay? I meet up with a nice group of chaps on most wednesdays, can see if ure free or interested to meet up as well

ours being a 18" rim, does has some limitations. quite a few places actually have our tyres. eg: LAB, Universal motors, Heng motors etc etc... so far bridgestone and michelin tyres are one of the more reputable or popular brands.

how much thread is left in ur tyre?

where do you stay? I meet up with a nice group of chaps on most wednesdays, can see if ure free or interested to meet up as well

THanks bro.

I think this bike I bought had a problem. Starting problem, when at traffic stop engine die off. I collected the bike 2 days ago, the first day already quite hard to start. so I drove home park till yesterday morning also very hard to start but manage for half and hr. yes half and hr. to start a bike funny right. Everything I did already and check like Choke , the adjuster for the throttle and the kill off switch still very hard to start. so yesterday I ride into JB tuas then when come back raining very heavy. all soaking wet. when reached SG. the bike gave problem again. engine die off when in stationary. so I quickly ride to the bike shop I bought from ask them to rectify the problem. well I must say I think they all also think this bike cannot make it already but ask me to try first again if cannot must send in for major check and repair. Now, Im thinking should I get a new bike instead than this problematic bike. I know buying cars or bike sometime must depends on Luck too. Sigh...now waiting for my friend reply see how he is talking to the bike shop boss maybe can change bike or get a new one then . this time maybe may get a cubs instead. really dam low moral. This bike im sure if it new it a good bike. I think becoz of the previous owners (6) never take care. that's why so many problem. Im not good in bike that's why I dunno how to check this and that coz my friend also not free so I go myself then I saw this bike I like it liao. but sad this bike dun really serve me well ....please advise bro...

Thank you