Guest veefer

STX ..... yeah baby!!!!

Heavy while stationary but very stable at speeds.

• Replies 6.6k

Originally posted by Titans@May 19 2005, 02:04 AM

Hi any Pan-european bikers in here who like to meet up as friend. or maybe more , to share the knowlage of this machine.:cheer:

Hi there,

actually there a group of ST11 bikers meet up at Tanjong Katong LC food courts every wed after 8pm... if u are free can drop by and have a chat.

Hi cool79,

I agree with Kenneth , Dragon should last u ard 20000km.

i have been using dragon since i ride ST and everytime

it last me abt 20K even i ride for touring.

FYI.. i pump psi 38 for front and 42 for rear and i pillion everyday

Hi guys me currently riding CBR954RR, thinkin of switching to ST1100(trade-in). Anyone of u haf any advise or recommendation for me...thanxz

RXZ125 / CBR400RR(hurricane)

Super4(Version S) / RXZ125

CBR954RR / ST1100Y(Sold on 24/01/2006 'history')

Super4 FQ(Version S sold on 08/05/2006 'history')

Hayabusa K2(OTR 08/05/2006-sold on jan'08 'history')

Suzuki Intruder (Aug2011 - Sept 2011)

Honda CBF (Sept2011 - Current)

Honda Varadero (08122012 - April 2014)

Originally posted by Jazzco@Jun 8 2005, 05:04 PM

Hi guys me currently riding CBR954RR, thinkin of switching to ST1100(trade-in). Anyone of u haf any advise or recommendation for me...thanxz

Jazzco,

... u mind to be more specific to include ur budget, ...& .....

so anyone here can more or less advice u.

Simon Soh

It's not the destination we conquered but ourselves.

Chiang Saen, Land of Golden Triangle

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5254/5500744953_52f8f8de37.jpg

26th Dec 05' - 9th Jan 06' Northern Thailand Trip

Originally posted by Simon Soh@Jun 9 2005, 01:56 AM

Jazzco,

... u mind to be more specific to include ur budget, ...& .....

so anyone here can more or less advice u.

wat happened to stoc liao???

the site has moved...

Hello to all ST1100 owners.

Always liked the bike since I saw the first version around 15 years ago.

Stopped biking for quite a few years and now getting back into it because wife keeps taking my car.

Will be buying an ST1100 somewhere in the near future.

Main decision is whether to buy a brand new bike (understand they now bring in the STX1300) or a second hand one.

Understand that some of the ST1100 on the road now has ABS while some doesn't.

Would prefer a bike with ABS.

Of course there is nothing like a new bike but from my enquiries, the STX goes for around 29k to 30k.

A 5 year old ST1100 goes for 11k.

Would like to seek advice on the common problems associated with the ST1100 especially when the bike is around 5 years old with about 90000 km in mileage.

Is the ST1100 an easy bike when it comes to maintenance.?Any major problems so far and if so are they costly to fix?

Presently riding around in a S4 just to get used to being on a bike again. Begining to get tired of it and now planning to upgrade.

Hope this is the correct forum to post my queries.

All feedback will be greatly appreciated.

CAT

Originally posted by CAT@Jun 12 2005, 06:24 PM

Stopped biking for quite a few years and now getting back into it because wife keeps taking my car.

Main decision is whether to buy a brand new bike (understand they now bring in the STX1300) or a second hand one.

Of course there is nothing like a new bike but from my enquiries, the STX goes for around 29k to 30k.

Would like to seek advice on the common problems associated with the ST1100 especially when the bike is around 5 years old with about 90000 km in mileage.

Is the ST1100 an easy bike when it comes to maintenance.?Any major problems so far and if so are they costly to fix?

Presently riding around in a S4 just to get used to being on a bike again. Begining to get tired of it and now planning to upgrade.

CAT

try sgstoc.org

NEVER ride faster than your guardian angel can FLY!!!

CAT

hi.....

i am interested to get a ST11 .....very new to this bike and hope to know more.

budget below 10k.........anyone letting go ur ride ?

pan euro model and with ABS will definitely fit my search...

tks alot

= yes, it's a tought & very reliable to be ridden around since it's 1st model.

= usual the case.

= only used available now.

= less than 10% of the population equiped with ABS or ABSII

A 5 year old ST1100 goes for 11k. Would like to seek advice on the common problems associated with the ST1100 especially when the bike is around 5 years old with about 90000 km in mileage.

= it all depends, if would be an added advantage to know the owners' usage history. it's reasonable mielage at 90Kkm, it would raised suspicious if it's too low right..?

= it's general maintenance cost is no differe with other 4 cyclinder bike.

= hope I did help, what say others..?

CAT

Simon Soh

Currently i'm riding a CBR954RR tot of changing to ST1100(with ABS & back box preferrable) but my CBR still left with 3yrs loan(310/mth) m i advisible to change now, where can i get a better trade-n in price for a ST100. Anyone pls advise... thanxz...

RXZ125 / CBR400RR(hurricane)

Super4(Version S) / RXZ125

CBR954RR / ST1100Y(Sold on 24/01/2006 'history')

Super4 FQ(Version S sold on 08/05/2006 'history')

Hayabusa K2(OTR 08/05/2006-sold on jan'08 'history')

Suzuki Intruder (Aug2011 - Sept 2011)

Honda CBF (Sept2011 - Current)

Honda Varadero (08122012 - April 2014)

Hi there... nid some advise and info from u ST11 riders here... today went to a bike shop... saw a FP plate ST11... think is 97' model... and was quoted about 8k OTR ... and they are willing to take in my FN Ver S for 4k... wondering issit worth it??? was actually considering that ST11 and another 99' VFR800... but the salesman advise me to go for the VFR if i dun go for touring... he says the ST11 overheats easily... issit true?? i seldom go touring.. but i realli like the comfort of this bike and sweet sound of the engine... nid some advise from u guys.. thanks

http://i48.photobucket.com/albums/f229/Hong-/tummy.gif?t=1229955192
Originally posted by Jazzco@Jun 13 2005, 11:27 AM

Currently i'm riding a CBR954RR tot of changing to ST1100(with ABS & back box preferrable) but my CBR still left with 3yrs loan(310/mth) m i advisible to change now, where can i get a better trade-n in price for a ST100. Anyone pls advise... thanxz...

Hey bro...

Based on your Installment calculation....

u will be suffering a great loss if u do so...

i presume u took a high loan for your CBR...

Nowadays , ST1100 price drop quite badly ... compare to my

time when i bought my ST...4 years back

Try to get a best quote for your CBR before u jump into another bike.

ABS model is quite hard to come by la bro... i feel that no much different

Its the rider not just the bike...

Another hint... Why so little ABS model in sg huh???

Survey properly first before committing ... next is all money issue

Yamaha LC125

Yamaha TZR125

Kawasaki KDX200

Suzuki Savage400

Kawasaki Ninja400

Honda Steed 400

Yamaha XJ600

Harley Davidson Hugger883

Yamaha V-Max 1200

Honda ST1100Y P.E

Little Lamb X9

Originally posted by HONG@Jun 14 2005, 11:40 PM

Hi there... nid some advise and info from u ST11 riders here... today went to a bike shop... saw a FP plate ST11... think is 97' model... and was quoted about 8k OTR ... and they are willing to take in my FN Ver S for 4k... wondering issit worth it??? was actually considering that ST11 and another 99' VFR800... but the salesman advise me to go for the VFR if i dun go for touring... he says the ST11 overheats easily... issit true?? i seldom go touring.. but i realli like the comfort of this bike and sweet sound of the engine... nid some advise from u guys.. thanks

Bro...

U are comparing 2 very different bike lor...

1997 FP plate ST1100 is almost at that price lor...

4k for your Ver S ?? Not sure... compare a few more shop lor

If u are looking into comfort and occasional touring ...

ST1100 is the bike...

Overheating problem ???

i dont have this problem ... have not heard from any of the 100 members yet

take your time to find out more of the beaST ya...

Yamaha LC125

Yamaha TZR125

Kawasaki KDX200

Suzuki Savage400

Kawasaki Ninja400

Honda Steed 400

Yamaha XJ600

Harley Davidson Hugger883

Yamaha V-Max 1200

Honda ST1100Y P.E

Little Lamb X9

Originally posted by HONG@Jun 14 2005, 11:40 PM

the salesman advise me to go for the VFR if i dun go for touring... he says the ST11 overheats easily... issit true?? i seldom go touring.. but i realli like the comfort of this bike and sweet sound of the engine... nid some advise from u guys.. thanks

HONG,

:lol: salesmen said....that... if it's that true, guess we might have plm riding highways & conjested town roads.

compare what u would expect from these 2 machine before commiting, if u want storage, easy maintenance, riding comfort, good mileage & longer range... not many other machines come close to ST1100 fyi, she's a durable road bike & well known world-wide for it's reliablity.

rear width of ST1100 is narrower than VFR800(with original side saddle boxes) that makes weaving in traffic less hazardous. :smile:

u r not the 1st one being offered $4k for trade-in of ur 97' S4, recently one of our senior member upgarded his 2nd ST1100 with same trade-in price dealed. :smile:

Simon Soh

Originally posted by Simon Soh@Jun 15 2005, 02:27 AM

HONG,

:lol: salesmen said....that... if it's that true, guess we might have plm riding highways & conjested town roads.

compare what u would expect from these 2 machine before commiting, if u want storage, easy maintenance, riding comfort, good mileage & longer range... not many other machines come close to ST1100 fyi, she's a durable road bike & well known world-wide for it's reliablity.

rear width of ST1100 is narrower than VFR800(with original side saddle boxes) that makes weaving in traffic less hazardous. :smile:

u r not the 1st one being offered $4k for trade-in of ur 97' S4, recently one of our senior member upgarded his 2nd ST1100 with same trade-in price dealed. :smile:

so tat means 8k+ for a FP plate ST11 is worth it?? hmmm... :smile: thx alot... this bike is actually one of my fav... one more question.. i am 22 this yr... how much does my insurance cost for TPFT? anyone oso within my age grp riding this machine? wats the capacity of the fuel tank?? and how abt the fuel consumption?? any common problems about this bike?? and wat should i look out for when i buy a 2nd hand ST11?? but i think most ST11 owners will take care of the bike hor?? dun think got much problems bah.. lol

Originally posted by HONG@Jun 15 2005, 03:08 AM

so tat means 8k+ for a FP plate ST11 is worth it?? hmmm... :smile: thx alot... this bike is actually one of my fav... one more question.. i am 22 this yr... how much does my insurance cost for TPFT? anyone oso within my age grp riding this machine? wats the capacity of the fuel tank?? and how abt the fuel consumption?? any common problems about this bike?? and wat should i look out for when i buy a 2nd hand ST11?? but i think most ST11 owners will take care of the bike hor?? dun think got much problems bah.. lol

HONG,

actually we try not to discuss the value inside this thread, we have to be fair to dealers & sellers.

Simon Soh

mr hong thing is if u from super four then to ST then no problem. if u like me from ST to 1000 sports then to ST then more diff. frankly only 3 types of bike i like for ST criteria. ST cause its chaper and bullet proof engine. FJR only good thing is price but ultimate is ST13. thats all another story.

Why it is good for u cause first it is honda so the prediction of performance is there and the power bend of the S4 and ST very similar.

Marauder, FZ150, TW200

Hurricane, CB400 vS

TLR, ST11 TCS/ABS

STX TW200, M400, Runner180

TDM900, ET8

Vespa classic 10" 8"

Z750S, Multistra 620

TUONO R

CB1100EX

Vespa GTS300 Super ABS

oic.. okok... sorry about that... :cheeky:

btw... wats the average fuel consumption for ST11?? 1 litre of fuel can go how far?? if i am not wrong ST11's fuel capacity is 28 litres? :confused:

yup it 28 litres thanks include 5 litres reserve.

Fuel consumption depends on individual riding style, average F.C is 17~18 km/litre.

Those will newer machine (1st hand) and without fast pick up, they can hit abt 20km/l.

If u are free do drop by at Tanjung Katong LC Foodcourts any wed after 8pm and have a cup of coffee with us. Think most of the guru/member are willing to answer ur question.

one thing is be prepared to realise that carb bikes fluctuation for km per lit varies larger than fuel injected so ST can get even 16km per lit.

Marauder, FZ150, TW200

Hurricane, CB400 vS

TLR, ST11 TCS/ABS

STX TW200, M400, Runner180

TDM900, ET8

Vespa classic 10" 8"

Z750S, Multistra 620

TUONO R

CB1100EX

Vespa GTS300 Super ABS

Originally posted by amen23@Jun 15 2005, 04:28 PM

yup it 28 litres thanks include 5 litres reserve.

Fuel consumption depends on individual riding style, average F.C is 17~18 km/litre.

Those will newer machine (1st hand) and without fast pick up, they can hit abt 20km/l.

If u are free do drop by at Tanjung Katong LC Foodcourts any wed after 8pm and have a cup of coffee with us. Think most of the guru/member are willing to answer ur question.

hmm.. not bad liao la... i better change bike quick.. my VErsion S fuel consumption has drop to 19km/litre... very bo hua .... lol