Hi all....firstly thank you for reading my post. I would like to know your opinion on which will best suit me for my 2a bike coz i do not intend to upgrade any furhter and planning to go all the way wif the bike...:cry:. Below are the scenarios:

1) Going to work from Bedok to Jurong (nearing Tuas to Bedok.....(6days/wk)

2) Total estimated weight on the bike will be 200 kg (pillon n me n documents) :faint:

3) Travelling on expressway (PIE) most of the time (during peak hours)

So, in your opinion which of this 2 bikes will be worth to get in term of:

1) Safety

2) Millage (fuel consumption)

3) Maintenance

4) Spare parts availabilty

5) Btw i do need a box (the bigger the better :cheeky: ) for my work as i need to carry document to and fro from home to work.

As for now, im leaning towards into the nx4...or any other bikes to recommend?

Thank You for reading and replying........any comments will be greatly appreciated. :cheers:

• Replies 19

ok i dunnoe bout this but i think drz wud be quite great coz the falcon is kinda ex spear parts i think?? get a drz do invest on a good ohlin suspen... get a h&b boxes.. or get the best.. XR4!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

http://www.flickr.com/photos/82454896@N07/7554745564/

ok thnx......thnx 4 the inpu bro....bt xr4 i dun think cn reach liao....coz i tried to sit on my fwenz dr200 and im already tip-toeing (both feet touch) so imagine xr 4......wakakakaka :cheeky: btw i read here that drz-sm got big tank...is it true?

haha yeah bro.. but u can adjust the adjust the suspension lei and a scram must be abit high.. not all the time u touch the floor rite??? wads ur height... yep they got the big tank its safari tank.... dats one good investment... xr4 oso got...

Hi ts, just share with u my experiences. The avatar pic u see there was my nx4, recently sold off.

Things I like abt the nx4:

1. cheap maintenance, use most parts from xr4 (xr4 engine too)

2. bulletproof xr4 engine with electric start

3. the seat can seat 2 comfortably

4. u can easily mod to fix rear top box and panniers, thats what i did and had no problems

5. good efficient transport, can transform into weekend tourer with no problem (check out those brazilians playing with their nx4s on youtube)

things i dun like abt the nx4

1. not much glam factor

2. the metal tank and full fairing seat makes it look un-scrambler-ish

generally i loved my bike and thot I would keep it until coe expire. let it go cos i got too gd a deal on my dream class 2 bike.

i like the drz4 sm for many2 reasons. however, having tried riding it, its not the bike for me as the seat is too narrow, i got a big ass.

all e best in yr decision making.

Do it once and do it right

yep paradigm is true... hondas engine are so reliable.. dats y quite alot old hondas are still around.. nx4 not bad ar.. but price wise im not so sure,.. and some parts are from brazil. .. i think,.. hmmm if u wanna drz, i recommend u xr4.... market price shud range from 3k to 5k..new nx4 same price as drz i think.. more than that erm,.. c got wad accrs...drz seat is so the not friendly... hehe about the safety part i think its akk up to the rider...i recommend semi-offroads tyre.. donnoe if u like to corner.. go motard!

bro, i am in the same situation as you.

wanna buy tgt? we can prolly get a better deal in all. also looking for a top box as well.

anyway, sg still got NX4.

also in my considerations are GSR400, DRZ400SM. no super4 for me, bad memories

Aug 06 - Sep 07 Daelim Daystar VL125 (FR 7xxxL)

Sep 07 - DEC 08 Honda CB400 SpecIII

Dec 10 - Now 2005 Zx-6R

yeah man..

i am more or less set on drz liao.

but dunno will it look okay with a top box a not. haha

Dec 10 - Now 2005 Zx-6R

Am presently a happy owner of a very enjoyable NX4.

Have ridden it up north on several occasions and even took it for a fun ride into Kg Peta at Endau Rompin.

I have to agree that it is not a "GLAM" bike, but it sure is a practical bike.

Bought it used with several owners before me... meaning, it had probably been well used, but so far, the engine has held out despite full throttle riding on the North South Highway for extended periods of time.

Oh... I am not a speedster. Pls understand that this bike (at least, the one I own) has a top speed of about 120kph.

Cant comment much about "expensive" spare parts, cos till now, I have only needed to buy oil filter ( S$10 for Honda original) when changing oil.

Many of the engine parts are interchangable with the XR400 spareparts.

The Honda NX4 Falcon is definately not a bike to show off with... but it will surely keep you happy.

Price wise, the new ones probably used to cost about 10 - 11 K.

Being a less popular model, means that you can pick up a nice NX4 for a more practical price.

UNFORTUNATELY.... It also means that you will find it a little more difficult to find someone, whom is willing to part with it. :sian:

Happy bike hunting.... :)

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/picture.php?albumid=371&pictureid=2275 IF U C ME... YOU SEE ME

im riding NX4, very durable, very gd fuel consumption abt 25-26km/ltr of 15ltr full tank. been riding on TPE everyday 100-110km. electric start which im happy abt it.

ride up to malacca b4 around 120-130km pillion my wife, no problem.

http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1141/1350014273_36942e6740_m.jpg

wow.....thnx 4 all theinput guys..... hmmmm the consumption same as s4 ar.... bt the price hehehe yah have been looking around wane findit like dun have used one only so far have xr4 n s4...... sigh so really torn wif nx4 n s4 both comfy n consumption gd onli finding it is the problem hehehe again thnx guys for all the replies

former S4 spec3 owner here.

1 sentence : might as well get a class 2 bike.

conclusion, i am buying a drz

Dec 10 - Now 2005 Zx-6R

NX 4, practical, reliable, fun.

own 2 nx4, 1st 04, 2nd 07. im in mauritius. buy my parts in singapore : John @ boonsiew.

serviced myself, very easy and everything easily accessible!! compared to other bike i've ride, (Yam FJ, BMW, Yam XS).

lots of parts, engine tuning, etc.

engine is XR400, AIR COOLED!!! (to consider if you will use the bike for more than 5 yrs - maintenance cost)

Only change oil filter, air filter, oil, spark.

This bike, in the category of above 250cc is the cheapest in term of maintenance and among the most reliable.

speed tops @ 145 km/h 1 seater only.

i recommend :

Michelin Anakee front & rear 90 90 21 and 140 80 17

20 000 km on the rear tyre!!!

Mikuni TM 36-50 pumper (people said that keihin FCR with TPS is best as the sliding plate mechanism slide with 4 small wheels) some time its a bit of an issue on decel, high depression on the plate with the mikuni and on retake its some kind of stuck with the high depression.

22-26 km/L

EBC Clutch kit

Scott Oiler : over 54000 km before chain change ( without scott oiler 20 - 25 km)

Engine Oil: Motul 7100 full ester

Do Adjust you handle bar to your position as soon as you own your bike.

Adjust suspension to your weight, rear adjustable, front add spacers (metal rings) on top of the spring.

You may change sprocket for highway ride. Bike comes with a 15/40 - 16/40 is ok for highway and can to at 160 km/h but will no be able to reput the drive sprocket cover

Woh.didn't know there were so many Falcon riders out there whom appreciate our ride. I took over one (FT2023) abt a year back and has since enjoyed myself. No issue with the engine and cruise nicely (though no a speedster ride). Couple of mods done but basically just to look good cus we can't break the 'speed of sound' on our ride. As the saying goes" Lose nevermind- style must have" kekeke

Looking forward for us- fellow falcons to ride together, perhaps a slow ride to Malacca? PM me. Cheers all :cheers:and ride safe:angel: