I'm looking to buy a pair of boots for touring..

I'm torn btw a actual touring boots (USD170) and offroad boots (USD200), any items are USD25 on shipping..

I like the offroad one more as it had better protection..

but would it be overkill for touring for long distance??

I never wore a offroad boots before.. my previous one was road-racing, the sole wore out pretty fast even thou boots are solely used for track..

any comments..?

• Replies 3.4k

Personally I would prefer just getting those regular leather touring boots.. As this is not a sports bike, u dont really need all those sliders.

For off road boots, i find them too heavy for my touring usage. Protection wise, i feel their guards are a bit overkill for road usage.

But if u can put up w e weight, then it shldnt b a problem...

Spike peg will spoil any sport/tour boots sole in no time.

While MX boots has harder sole to match with the spike peg however the MX boots are not blend-friendly since it lock up the ankle.

As for usage on the S10.regular tour boot(with or without toe slider) will be just fine (of course off road like rampin will need MX boots la).

As for toe slider,I will need it cos always will kanna the shoe when corner.haha

http://img841.imageshack.us/img841/7007/sbfs101.jpg

RIDE it while u can.....NOT when u want !.

each one of you have your own views.. nice..

i'll be getting pivot pegs (MK3) which have spikes.. my daily army gortex still can tahan..

i used IMS pro series on my DRZ, my sports riding boots can see the tear from the pegs..

most likely will get the offroad one then..

thanks for the inputs..!

each one of you have your own views.. nice..

i'll be getting pivot pegs (MK3) which have spikes.. my daily army gortex still can tahan..

i used IMS pro series on my DRZ, my sports riding boots can see the tear from the pegs..

most likely will get the offroad one then..

thanks for the inputs..!

How bout those shorty offroad pitbike/atv boots... not as high as regular offroad boots.. and their soles are not as hard as offroad boots..

I have owned a Thor 50/50 for 4 years . Very comfortable to me for touring and walking. Support the ankles well enough against side to side movement. Although not waterproof, the insides dry up quite fast when its left out in the sun for drying. And it does have that Adventure look on you due to the offroad buckles the boots used.

Now there are a few to choose from..

Thor 50/50

http://images.motorcycle-superstore.com/ProductImages/OG/2010-Thor-Motocross-50-50-Boots.jpg

Fox Racing Comp 5 Shorty

http://images.motorcycle-superstore.com/ProductImages/OG/2008_Fox_Racing_Comp_5_Shorty_Boots_Black.jpg

Alpinestars Tech 2

http://images.motorcycle-superstore.com/ProductImages/OG/2009_Alpinestars_Tech_2_Boots.jpg

AXO Slammer II

http://images.motorcycle-superstore.com/ProductImages/OG/2010-AXO-Slammer-II-Boots-Black.jpg

I always have a soft spot for alpinestar.so I will opt for Alpinestars Tech 2 anytime....lol

Back to riding shoe.1 thing to bear in mind that the S10 is not a hardcore offroad bike due to it weight.(doing Dakar & MX is different Hor)

So for local usage,the S10 are mostly subject to mild-med level type of offroad.

While MX boots are strong build for true MX style riding.it kind of overkill while on the S10(of course to each it own on choice)

I reckon army boots are fine for mild offroad & a high riding boots will do fine for med level offroad.(then again,rider is more worthy then a gear)

Half height riding boots are balance of fashion & protection.it does proivde abit of both sector but master of none.

I guess it bolt down to owner taste & wallet size.lol

haha.. i'm also looking at Alpinestars series..

My choices now either Tech 2 or Tech 3..

Seems like Tech 2 had a balance of protection and flexibility..

time to hit Regina to test sizes..!!

Hi all, not sure if u guys have seen this mod http://www.yamahasupertenere.com/index.php?topic=1783.0

Planning to do this mod. Found a US store selling US$17.95. But order need to be minimum US$75 for them to ship over here. So need to order minimum 5 pieces. Shipping is about US$23(will update shipping accordingly if any changes) for 5 pieces. So work out to be about US$22.60 per piece.

My friend and I are doing this so require another 3 pieces for this order. This order is for the switch only. No extention wire and no installation. First will require S$30 by wire transfer thereafter return any change if there are. Then will proceed to order. Any bros interested please put your nick down and pm me your contacts.

1) Yammie - 2 pieces

If you can find a better pricing please let us know. Thanks for looking. :cool:

Kindly adhere to the forum rules..

Bring this up as a PMO at the Mass Order Section..

Thanks..

Kindly adhere to the forum rules..

Bring this up as a PMO at the Mass Order Section..

Thanks..

Roger.

Not so noble to handle mass order. Nevermind. My apologises.

Edited by yammie

Gd evening guys,seems, i've been not posting on here for quite sometime.

Great to see that this thread keep growing with more and more tenerian owner on board.

very nice meetup session that you guys had at local off road ,nice shots indeed:thumb:

My ride require a good pair of road tire as wearing out at 22k mileage.

I'm looking for Metz ESP,Any reputable shop carry this brand?

Thanks and Keep Riding.

I'm looking for Metz ESP,Any reputable shop carry this brand?

Thanks and Keep Riding.

How are you? The last we met was at de last S10 gathering.

Are u referring to Metzeler Tourance EXP?

I reckon most bikeshop are retailing for S$440+/-.

Had u consider michelin anakee2 instead? Almost similar price w Tourance EXP.

trailtech stuffs? can approach mezzo @ kaki bukit...

they are the distributor in Singapore.. right biting_point? :angel:

Definately tried to reach them but no response. Heard they are not cheap and long waiting period.

let me drop you a PM on the switches..

but headsup on S10 riders.. who are interested?

maybe i can talk to the distributor to indent in and you guys buy direct from him?

dun contravene MO rules right? :p

Personally I would prefer just getting those regular leather touring boots.. As this is not a sports bike, u dont really need all those sliders.

For off road boots, i find them too heavy for my touring usage. Protection wise, i feel their guards are a bit overkill for road usage.

But if u can put up w e weight, then it shldnt b a problem...

Bro.... u really chagne a lot of bike within a year orh.. hahahha

http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b250/anodise5757/project57/Hornbulbfoggiesbanner2013_zps6e758ef1.jpg

Click Here --> <CMO> Premium Products - HELLA, Philips & Osram

How are you? The last we met was at de last S10 gathering.

Are u referring to Metzeler Tourance EXP?

I reckon most bikeshop are retailing for S$440+/-.

Had u consider michelin anakee2 instead? Almost similar price w Tourance EXP.

So,when is the next meetup/gathering?

After review through anakee 2,seems have longer tread life and road stability.

hi im interested in getting S10 (the blue raven colour 2011 model)may i know how much is the bike? roughly how much u guys are paying monthly, down pay and which is the best shop to deal with?

Welcome.

Hong Leng price is S$31k OTR w/o insurance.(no freebies or extra stuff)

You can gauage yourself from the bikeshop that quote to you.

If with trade-in then price will usually be much better.most bro here got theirs from excel,ASP,bike pro or direct.

S10 is great.. very shiok, haha.. just finished washing it..

I'll be at Changi Village Coffee shop (Dim Sum), just next to Changi Village Hotel later with a couple of friends..

Come join!! heehee..

See you guys around..