Throttle said:
managed to make some pocket money lately having sold at recents highs for Capital Land and ST Eng..... heng ah, after that the market came off again..

roller coaster still

Haven't sold anything yet. Still building up my portfolio. Now holding

Rickmers maritime $1.02

Firstreit $0.71

K-reit $1.42

willas array $0.165

All are good divident plays

For growth stocks I hold Kingboard $0.33 and HL asia $2.65 & recently bought China essence $0.58

If STI can hold 3000 for the next 2 weeks we should be looking good.

http://img338.imageshack.us/img338/9829/p1000544o.jpghttp://img269.imageshack.us/img269/5003/dscn4275z.jpg

VFR800 VTEC ABS since 03/2005 :

XR400 since 05/2006 SOLD

Silverwing 400 since 11/2007

CBR 1000 RR7 repsol since 5/2009 SOLD

Varadero XL1000 since 08/2010

• Replies 3.3k

nt bad, ur entry px looks gd for all of them....

i took profit when singtel went above $4 , n bot jardine.. heh...

FOR SALE (PM for more details)

-inline hockey guards,stick, gloves,pants

-ipod shuffle, 1GB, red, limited edition

Just bot in the last few days,

Suntec REIT

YangZiJiang

SingFoods

Raffles Medical

safe safe.....

  fooz said:
KAWASAKI KIPS F* XX * DEC 2002 - now

i tink i might have seen u ard loyang area last week.... no wonder bike no. look so familiar

did u turn into P&W or smething like that?

u changing to finance side?

wat r the qualifications? CFA, etc?

Yeah ...work at P&W lor ...the same bike i riding for 5 yrs liaoz since NTU days...haha..bike not worth much now but the plate worth some money :angel:

i applied SQ they dun wanna take me ......sh*Tzzzzzzzz:cheeky:

  Throttle said:
Just bot in the last few days,

Suntec REIT

YangZiJiang

SingFoods

Raffles Medical

safe safe.....

hohoh, making a few grand already....

  Throttle said:
hohoh, making a few grand already....

thanks to your YZ i guess. S shares having a nice run. Worried about my HL asia. suspended for 3 day already. Probably some issue in china

http://img338.imageshack.us/img338/9829/p1000544o.jpghttp://img269.imageshack.us/img269/5003/dscn4275z.jpg

XR400 since 05/2006 SOLD

took profit on Raffles Med today.

only $1200 but it's ok lah, 10% in 2 weeks, wont complain

Suntec reit and singfoods, i will keep longer for dividends.

Hi guys, just checking a few things, I know it's subjected to individual but what the the common investment horizon out there?

1-3 months

3-6 months

6-12 months

or > 1 year

  ~FieryGiX~ said:
Hi guys, just checking a few things, I know it's subjected to individual but what the the common investment horizon out there?

1-3 months

3-6 months

6-12 months

or > 1 year

u mean how long u shld be holding?

well, i tink it also depends on how "lucky" you are then as the longer the horizon, the success rate of gain is more

  ~FieryGiX~ said:

1-3 months

3-6 months

6-12 months

or > 1 year

You are right, it's subject to each individual

There is no such thing as common investment horizon.

I hold a portfolio with mixed investment horizons.

Some holdings less than 2 weeks, some 3 months, some 3 yrs, some 10 yrs even.

  redname said:
as the longer the horizon, the success rate of gain is more

Heh heh, not necessarily true or correct there.......

But i understand what you mean.

the idea is to ride the long big wave and not be disturbed by the ripples.

Staying invested does allow for more margin of error compared to short term trading certainly.

My take is be discipline and know when you are beaten as well as when you are satisfied enough.

It's all mental folks.

So the investment horizon will be dependent on the investment instrument?

Let say I am only refering to stocks now.

How will investment horizon differ between stocks such as blue chips, high-yield, low P/E or China stocks?

I understand I am asking a very general question, so pardon me if I sound ignorant.

depends but in a very simplistic form, you can pick a certain instrument becos it suits your horizon for that single instrument.

Even if you are only referring to equity.

Investment horizon is again up to you and your risk appetite.

I can choose to hold a China stock for 10 yrs becos i believe that it requires 10 yrs to reach its peak.

Or I can choose to hold it for 5 secs becos, i think it is going to shoot up and i can make a quick buck.

Your question is ignorant not becos it is general but becos it is almost senseless. Hope you dont take offence. just sharing.

bottom line is that investment horizon is not the sum of its parts.

and should not be broken down like you think. it is looked upon a a whole and only in conjunction with other things such as risks appetite etc...otherwise it has not much meaning on its own....

  DEnSo said:
hi guys , care to share some insights on how to enter into the trading related field for a graduate level?

Be with the right people.

and show your enthusiasm, integrity and right attitude

that in my opinion is the quickest way.

  Throttle said:
took profit on Raffles Med today.

only $1200 but it's ok lah, 10% in 2 weeks, wont complain

Suntec reit and singfoods, i will keep longer for dividends.

congrads bro, you made the right calls. Myself some mixed results. Overall not too bad. Not selling yet, Collecting dividends now. Should be enough to pay for my holiday to Europe in June

XR400 since 05/2006 SOLD

thanks throttle , i will keep that in mind

i was looking thru job ads , saw positions like junior trader etc , i guess this is the entry level ? juz wanna find out is it common that companies are willing to train freshies in the trading field or preference goes to experienced hands?

~deNSo SParky PluGs~

  rstopel said:
congrads bro, you made the right calls. Myself some mixed results. Overall not too bad. Not selling yet, Collecting dividends now. Should be enough to pay for my holiday to Europe in June

Dude, which part of Europe you going.....

wah good life. I want to take leave also cannot, have to be there becos one teammate go reservist................sian....

  DEnSo said:
thanks throttle , i will keep that in mind

i was looking thru job ads , saw positions like junior trader etc , i guess this is the entry level ? juz wanna find out is it common that companies are willing to train freshies in the trading field or preference goes to experienced hands?

Both. it just depends on what the companies require.

some require a new hand, others may need an experience one.

However, in a shrinking situation right now, new junior trader may be a bit tough. that said , it is still possible if the company has time to train.

a junior trader is very cheap....

  redname said:
y wld u wanna put ur money in on USA now tht its not doing well and might go down further?

unless you are insider info :D

shld consider asia

I have always believe - " wat goes up must come down & vice versa " maaaa - if i got inside info, I will surely share maaaa ............ :)

HP: 93891138 :angel:

  Throttle said:
Dude, which part of Europe you going.....

wah good life. I want to take leave also cannot, have to be there becos one teammate go reservist................sian....

Fly into paris, after few days drive to mosel/rhine delta in germany for a few days, then on the autobahn up north to holland, visit some relatives. bring wife also.

leave no problem, bored to tears... engineering

few more of my holdings should report soon. Willas, kingboard, HL asia. hope to see some good numbers ther, esp kingboard. Really sad to see it at 35 cts. Should be at 80 cts. Got a 2 year target of $1.50 for this co.

XR400 since 05/2006 SOLD