hi guys need your opinion on sumthing...

lately, my bike seems to be heating extensively even during trips on expressway at night..

already flushed coolant with engine ice but still the same way.. was thinking of removing the thermostat. a regular tourer says that can be done so that no restriction towards the inflow of coolant into the engine,, they say sumthing about the thermostat is more for those cooler countries with dun require much coolant to keep the temp running at optimum..

is it true?? coz im really troubled by this.. been wanting to remove the thermostat.. please advide.. thank you!! :)

----------------------------------------------

Lately everyone seem to 'complain' about this. Must be the heat wave lately...LOL!...even my rashes comes out.

Don't be silly listening to people who ride the bike and not make the bikes. If this is the case, don't you think the Japanese would make that a point for specific market region and save on manufacturing cost. There is more than that reason for it to be there,,I know and ain't sayin. I'm just another smart ass than those that told you so..just smarter I guess :angel:

Stupid Hurts!.:giddy:Speed doesn't kill, mistakes does :faint:

BEER!...it's cheaper than fuel now! DRINK!..DON'T RIDE!

• Replies 18.1k

Ah Pek, is thermostat the shape like a bottle or sumthing uderneath the tank? Which looks like the house sink underneath got this oval bottle?

I'd rather get a Leo Vince than a Louis Vuitton.

thats the thing.. i dunnoe if its really the heat wave or just the bike..

wadeva it is.. i just wanna take preventive measure now.. rather than spending a hefty sum.. repairing a block problem...

any solutions to this ahpek?

i was thinking of putting a fan switch.. so i'd on it even before it gets hot..

keke.. dunnoe if it works.. any more checks to do?

931153_10151259704352614_844334838_n.jpg

Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do.

So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.

syarif.. the thermostat is the small bottle like thingy.. that connects to ur two main coolant hose.. just beneath the frame that supports the tank..

931153_10151259704352614_844334838_n.jpg

Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do.

So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.

syarif.. the thermostat is the small bottle like thingy.. that connects to ur two main coolant hose.. just beneath the frame that supports the tank..

bingo! GOT IT! btw how much does that cost?

I'd rather get a Leo Vince than a Louis Vuitton.

how come suddenly so many ppl keep saying the engine very hot... haha... i also feeling how liao... need to take off cloths... lolx.. haha anyway for wat i know Honda engine the cooling system is the best... 1st link jam... my engine on all the way, the fan also haven turn on... and engine very hot also no problem... haha not to worry... can check if your fan is working, start your bike about 15 - 30 mins for the fan to switch on...(some S4 have to wait longer i think) honda is zai 1... haha

Hi everyone, anyone got Ver S owner's manual or Service manual?

Pulsar UG3 (Mar 07 -> 21 Jan 2009)

S4 Ver S. (Scrapped May 2010)

S4 Revo (05 Aug 2010 -> current)

I from khatib camp to sengkang.. Never really check the milage. Clementi sch wat sch?

ngee ann poly

wah lao that time u selling... i was out.. when i came online all sold out... kns... haha

haha tis is life wat mean to be yours is yours ..

Yeah, I ride alone at 190kph at times. never try till the top.

haha u need to sayang ur bike liao .. so tired for ur bike to rch there n come back.. he need some vitmin .. :cheeky:

hi guys need your opinion on sumthing...

lately, my bike seems to be heating extensively even during trips on expressway at night..

already flushed coolant with engine ice but still the same way.. was thinking of removing the thermostat. a regular tourer says that can be done so that no restriction towards the inflow of coolant into the engine,, they say sumthing about the thermostat is more for those cooler countries with dun require much coolant to keep the temp running at optimum..

is it true?? coz im really troubled by this.. been wanting to remove the thermostat.. please advide.. thank you!! :)

is the coolant fan on when ur bike is ver hot ?? cau if it does not on meanin is under the control of ur coolant mah .. dun 4get recently weather is hot even at nite ..

Ah Pek, is thermostat the shape like a bottle or sumthing uderneath the tank? Which looks like the house sink underneath got this oval bottle?

House sink?....LOL!...yah lah..like AsHaRiE said.

wadeva it is.. i just wanna take preventive measure now.. rather than spending a hefty sum.. repairing a block problem...

Actually, buy using our butt dyno or leg dyno, we can't get the actually temp reading on our bikes. I'm contemplating on fixing on a water temp gauge for peace of mind. btw, anyone noe where to get a temp gauge cheap cheap? :cheeky:

As for fan switch, just put lah, i got one on mine. If ur bored u could always "gentel-gentel" it :cheeky:

August 2006 - April 2008 = White Stallion V 1.0

April 2008 - Present = White Stallion V 2.0 :thumb:

http://photos-d.ak.facebook.com/photos-ak-snc1/v317/70/77/501577230/n501577230_1096539_3132.jpg

Saddlebags be cool!

Haven't you heard that the hotter a Honda engine is the better?..its an old saying back a long time ago. Its good combustion and it generate heat. as long as your "Temp' lamp don't come on..you are good.

I can understand being preventive but sometime I can also understand we people becoming paranoid over things like that. Just know that once your vicosity level is ok and coolant level is ride, your fan do cut on and your over temp indicator don't alarm..things should be alright. May be all the while..your bike never have had good combustion that's why its neverr hot :angel:

Well, you can always made a bypass manual swirch just for the fan but not necessary..unless you want to use up the reliability of your battery life span One day, you might feel like a Kia_Soo_Korkee guy having each time switching on and off the fan afraid that the engine might melt...LOL!..kidding...go ahead and do theat fan switch if you one lah but you get more heat blowing to don't know where unnecessarily which was not meant too.

this are not solution lah..but just for conversation.

how come suddenly so many ppl keep saying the engine very hot... haha... i also feeling how liao... need to take off cloths... lolx.. haha anyway for wat i know Honda engine the cooling system is the best... 1st link jam... my engine on all the way, the fan also haven turn on... and engine very hot also no problem... haha not to worry... can check if your fan is working, start your bike about 15 - 30 mins for the fan to switch on...(some S4 have to wait longer i think) honda is zai 1... haha

Since I own the bike..never see it once on...and oh yes, thefan and temp sensor is working..good hor PB1:thumb: ..Cee_Peh_Tarhang_Soie!

Actually, buy using our butt dyno or leg dyno, we can't get the actually temp reading on our bikes. I'm contemplating on fixing on a water temp gauge for peace of mind. btw, anyone noe where to get a temp gauge cheap cheap? :cheeky:

As for fan switch, just put lah, i got one on mine. If ur bored u could always "gentel-gentel" it :cheeky:

Your S4 don't have a "Temp" lamp or indicator mei?...there is a sensor that monitor the coolant water temperature on the left hand side of your radiator :dot:

ah pek, change my air filter n spark plugs at HL today. they tell mi air filter cheapest $45, dun haf $35 so cheap wan....mayb i go whack the bike again...if reli cannot izzit reli muz wash carb liao?

Did the fat short mech advise you on anything else...also keep in mind your bike is old and they expect it to perform like a new one. All men can run but young and old makes the difference...oh..careful out there..don't whacked yourself!:giddy:

orh....i let the young msian change....he say if reli cannot increase the speed, den need to wash carb n tune...so izzit bo bian?

Your S4 don't have a "Temp" lamp or indicator mei?...there is a sensor that monitor the coolant water temperature on the left hand side of your radiator :dot:

what i meant is retrofitting an analogue/digital aftermarket temp gauge that displays the current water temperature.

Seen 2 bikes so far that has one fitted. :thumb:

August 2006 - April 2008 = White Stallion V 1.0

April 2008 - Present = White Stallion V 2.0 :thumb:

http://photos-d.ak.facebook.com/photos-ak-snc1/v317/70/77/501577230/n501577230_1096539_3132.jpg

Saddlebags be cool!

orh....i let the young msian change....he say if reli cannot increase the speed, den need to wash carb n tune...so izzit bo bian?

I guess you have not much choice.o_O

when u wash ur carb see is it much dirt .. like ah pek wan hav tiny piece of tissue .. haha :cheeky:

ok noted...any nice motodiam to recommend to wash carb??

i not sure .. cau mine carb no need wash cau ex owner wash n tune b4 ..

if u ask me i will choose unique,planet and bikework(ah beng) ..

unique when tune they got the tune meter

planet ah chong tune by sound

bikework i not sure ..

to me tuning can tune urself wan jus wat rpm u wan nia .. can read by rpm meter and tune .. which ah pek help me tune de .. to have better fuel consumption ..

jus my tots ..