[Group] Super Four Non-VTEC Family: PB1 VerR & VerS

sino74

Originally posted by hid_rid@Apr 13 2006, 04:46 AM

eloo all ver r & ver s bros.

Planning to get ver s from private owner....have not view the bike yet,

pls share with me wat are the thingd to look out for...bike selling below $3 k.

hahhaha....1995 model...coe already renew.....

Pls advise...thx guys.

:help: ANY1 1ST of all ,u need to see e bike condition ( outlook , cooling system , engine ,etc ). This bike sure to hav wear n tear parts.One way u can find out wat the faults llies isby askin e owner himself ,n if his a sincere seller ,he will let u know . :goodluck: :thumb:

" People are like Motorcycles ; Each is customized a bit differently " c",)

• Replies 18.1k

Yo bro, I bought my super 4 in Jul 05 for 4500 including insurance, GST. Mine is a version S. So far has not given me any problems yet. Previously was riding a TZM. So much problem.

But now my bike is starting to give me some problems to come u guys offer me some help.

1. Clicking sound. I read here that if ya change yur timing chain it would be reduced but is there any need for change of chain and sprocket. Please advice, my chain and sprocket is relatively new also.

2. My bike wobbles when I ride with only one hand( on the throttle). When I make a sharp turn it wobbles, initially i though it was cos of my box. I took out my box and I must say that the wobbling has reduced but still wobble a bit. issit the wheel bearings, steering cone or other factors. Will changing to a heavier balancer help in any way?

3. I wanna respray my bike to spec 3 design. Can u tell me a gd shop but they should charge too much. When the shop respray the bike can we ask for a extra layer of lacquer.

4. My suspension coil and the needle inside the coil are rusty also. Can we service them or replace them at any bike shop u know?

Hope my questions are answered.

Thanks for your time reading bros......

Yamaha TZM 150 => Honda Super 4 Version S => Yamaha Majesty 250 => Yamaha FZ6N => Aprilia Atlantic 200 => Suzuki GSXR400K

Originally posted by super4newbie@Apr 21 2006, 03:48 PM

Yo bro, I bought my super 4 in Jul 05 for 4500 including insurance, GST. Mine is a version S. So far has not given me any problems yet. Previously was riding a TZM. So much problem.

But now my bike is starting to give me some problems to come u guys offer me some help.

1. Clicking sound. I read here that if ya change yur timing chain it would be reduced but is there any need for change of chain and sprocket. Please advice, my chain and sprocket is relatively new also.

2. My bike wobbles when I ride with only one hand( on the throttle). When I make a sharp turn it wobbles, initially i though it was cos of my box. I took out my box and I must say that the wobbling has reduced but still wobble a bit. issit the wheel bearings, steering cone or other factors. Will changing to a heavier balancer help in any way?

3. I wanna respray my bike to spec 3 design. Can u tell me a gd shop but they should charge too much. When the shop respray the bike can we ask for a extra layer of lacquer.

4. My suspension coil and the needle inside the coil are rusty also. Can we service them or replace them at any bike shop u know?

Hi, just wanna share with you this particular bikeshop "bikelab". He has good knowledge of most bike problems as he treat his customers bike like his own. Ive been there and the service is great..

http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h89/Hyper_Vtec3/Sidebag.jpg http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h89/Hyper_Vtec3/Overall.jpg

my ride my VTEC

my verS bought around october 2004 at $3.1K from private owner.. changed a few items..

1. Back brake disc and back brake pad..

2. Engine Oil, oil filer and plugs..

subsequently, changed my handle bar twice, once from ah boy but fix liao the brake and clutch lever out of sync.. changed balancer and brake and clutch lever..

FC b4 reserve can go around 380km.. highest tried 400km b4 reserve with JB v-power.. average FC per litre abt 22-23..

so far one major problem yet to be fix is the coolent leaking from the engine block.. was told by K&T that they will look for a 2nd hand one for me but till nw no news yet..

one minor problem is that the side stand indicator wun light up due to some electrical problem.. however, engine still has the ability to stall if side stand not kicked up when engage gear..

Then:insurance from mitsui, no NCD, over $500 3rd party.. age 19..

Now: insurance from NTUC, NCD 10%, direct client another 10%, $318 3rd party.. age 20

Next: duno.. :sweat:

Originally posted by super4newbie@Apr 21 2006, 03:48 PM

these r juz my personal experience not 100% accurate..... :confused:

1. check ur clicking sound cum from where 1st, if is from chain jus correct e tightness n lsome ub to e chain shld solve e problem, else if due to timing belt will show some symtoms lik engine stall at neutral gear/clutch in n lack in pow.... etc

2. checking ur steering cone.... tilt ur bike one side so tat frt wheel is above e ground den play wif e handle bar, if steering cone gone..... one side of e handle will feel less resistance than e other side. as for wheel bearing.... leave e frt/rear wheel up test whether they wobble......

heavier balancer helps a bit onli... not worth it, better find e root cause.

3. u can try yeow motor at amk ind pk 1, coz of extra layer of lacquer = extra charge...

4. if u got extra $$, u can try aftermarket sus lik bitubo or juz go to a reliable bikrshop 4 rebuilt.... bear in mind not all shop r qualify for rebuilt

Current P200 setup: Sinnob Sproc[15, 39], NGK platinum plug with spark booster, V3 racing coil, cheetah CDI[dual mode], broquet B2, DIY oiler, hazard light, DIY gnding, PE28[pj-38, mj-120], open pod filter

Originally posted by cookie_monster@Apr 21 2006, 10:21 PM

these r juz my personal experience not 100% accurate..... :confused:

1. check ur clicking sound cum from where 1st, if is from chain jus correct e tightness n lsome ub to e chain shld solve e problem, else if due to timing belt will show some symtoms lik engine stall at neutral gear/clutch in n lack in pow.... etc

2. checking ur steering cone.... tilt ur bike one side so tat frt wheel is above e ground den play wif e handle bar, if steering cone gone..... one side of e handle will feel less resistance than e other side. as for wheel bearing.... leave e frt/rear wheel up test whether they wobble......

heavier balancer helps a bit onli... not worth it, better find e root cause.

3. u can try yeow motor at amk ind pk 1, coz of extra layer of lacquer = extra charge...

4. if u got extra $$, u can try aftermarket sus lik bitubo or juz go to a reliable bikrshop 4 rebuilt.... bear in mind not all shop r qualify for rebuilt

:thumb: tx 4 all e info..kep comin wif other infos so we can share n learn together....btw ...bro Super4newbie, wats ur version S colr....?I might be intrested..Mine a Spec III color... :thumb: do PM me..

Spec3FBA - how do i get to bike lab? any contact numbers

cookie monster - how much issit to rebulid the suspension. How much to get a aftermarket suspension and where can i get it. You have any reliable bikeshop?

As for my chain will get back to you guys about the clicking sound. will check the chain if not the chain and will ask the mechanic to check the timing belt. But how much to change the timing belt...

thanks bros....

Yamaha TZM 150 => Honda Super 4 Version S => Yamaha Majesty 250 => Yamaha FZ6N => Aprilia Atlantic 200 => Suzuki GSXR400K

sino74 mine is matt black...but the paintwork is not that good condition now. have lots of scratches.dun wanna bluff you...i think my paintwork is quite bad...unless u wanna exchange paintwork plus i top you up cash then u can add some cash on yur own and get yur own design...how....if paintwork very very new....i willing to pay 200-250...howss

hi bros,

to sino74 : Hmm,for valve clearence,its abt $250,changing of timing chain,around $80. Overall,u could be spending a total of $400+/-. BTW,your crashbar is 2 points or 3 points? Cos my was a 2 points,wanna change to 3 points le,but heard need to change the shaft or something like that. Yeah bro,i do whack when i am in malaysia. Thanks!

to super4newbie :

1)the clicking sound is due to tear and wear in the timing chain and shins(valve).

2)Abt the wobbling,have u check on ya front tyre air pressure?

3)i just sprayed my bike last year at Yeow Motor Trading Co. Spec 3 design,3 colors and was charged at $260. Quality so-so,but they get the job done fast,only waited for 2 days for the paintjob to finish.Sure u can ask for extra lacquer,money is wat they are looking at.

4)Mine also same like yours,wanna go bikelab to service,but no $$.

Yo bros,your wanna a meetup or something...just suggesting..

http://photos.friendster.com/photos/60/26/3556206/36972573356419l.jpg

Things i had addon : Belly pan,Fork Brace,Voltage Stablizer(PowerMax2),Micron Legal Exhuast,AutoGauge Voltmeter,OKADA Crowling

Things i had changed : Red Handle Bar,Paintjob,Seat rewrap,Dunlop GPR70 tyres,Magnetic Coil,Clutch Plates,Valves Clearence and Timing chain,Front & Rear wheel bearings,Front fork service,carbon fibre mirror,carbon fibre brake & clutch level,K&N air filter,Gazi Rear Suspension

Things yet done : Front & Rear Number Plate(Yellow Base and Black Alphanumeric),Rim Respray,Rear Suspension Service,Chain and Spockets,3points Crashbar,Rear Hugger(arrow),Brake Calipers Respray,Side Stand,Front Wheel Brake Pad,Lizard Skin for Brake Lining and Rear Suspension Springs

Still Considering : Pro Taper Handle Bar,Rear Suspension Riser,Givi Rack and Box,Spec 1 or 3 Tail Board,Modify Header,Digital Meter,Clear Headlight(Spec3)

I also have a Ver S myself, didn't do much to it except the usual wear and tear stuff... Bought last year

Have changed so far..

Clutch cable

Rear suspensions

Rear brake pump

Wheel bearings

included a bellypan

Have yet to change my headlight to white light 1. Thinking of getting a tank bra too..

Hey, Mayb all the Ver R & S and the PBs can come out for a gathering someday..

Can exchange info on bike maintenance, etc...

hi anarvin...let me know if u found any version s tank bra...thanks. cos i wan to get one..but only got plain black...i wanna white with spec 3 red stripes one...kk

anyway,if u wanna change to H4 bulb,buy brand philips..heard its gd..

Things i had addon : Belly pan,Fork Brace,Voltage Stablizer(PowerMax2),Micron Legal Exhuast,AutoGauge Voltmeter,OKADA Crowling

Things i had changed : Red Handle Bar,Paintjob,Seat rewrap,Dunlop GPR70 tyres,Magnetic Coil,Clutch Plates,Valves Clearence and Timing chain,Front & Rear wheel bearings,Front fork service,carbon fibre mirror,carbon fibre brake & clutch level,K&N air filter,Gazi Rear Suspension

Things yet done : Front & Rear Number Plate(Yellow Base and Black Alphanumeric),Rim Respray,Rear Suspension Service,Chain and Spockets,3points Crashbar,Rear Hugger(arrow),Brake Calipers Respray,Side Stand,Front Wheel Brake Pad,Lizard Skin for Brake Lining and Rear Suspension Springs

Still Considering : Pro Taper Handle Bar,Rear Suspension Riser,Givi Rack and Box,Spec 1 or 3 Tail Board,Modify Header,Digital Meter,Clear Headlight(Spec3)

Originally posted by super4newbie@Apr 22 2006, 02:31 PM

sino74 mine is matt black...but the paintwork is not that good condition now. have lots of scratches.dun wanna bluff you...i think my paintwork is quite bad...unless u wanna exchange paintwork plus i top you up cash then u can add some cash on yur own and get yur own design...how....if paintwork very very new....i willing to pay 200-250...howss

Yo..bro super4newbie, mine is a new paintwork...SEE 2 BELIEVE !!!

It would be great if we can meet up ya....? :thumb:

Originally posted by anavrin@Apr 22 2006, 10:11 PM

I also have a Ver S myself, didn't do much to it except the usual wear and tear stuff... Bought last year

Have changed so far..

Clutch cable

Rear suspensions

Rear brake pump

Wheel bearings

included a bellypan

Have yet to change my headlight to white light 1. Thinking of getting a tank bra too..

Hi bro Superpig 4... :thumb: idea to have meetup.. :cheeky: btw mine is a 3pt crash bar if im not wrong...the one most vtec using...

Originally posted by anavrin@Apr 22 2006, 10:11 PM

:thumb: :thumb: :thumb: btw thru experience, version R & S not much difference.

..but as for PB1, is there much difference besides e outlook ? mmm :confused:

Originally posted by sino74@Apr 24 2006, 01:20 AM

:thumb: :thumb: :thumb: btw thru experience, version R & S not much difference.

..but as for PB1, is there much difference besides e outlook ? mmm :confused:

engine wise all similiar however.....

all three versions got some diff meters n.....

PB1 wif chrome header n include mainstand.

ver r wif free sai tao n square headlight as for....

ver s nothing special. :cry:

:bounce: :bounce: :bouncefire:

Current P200 setup: Sinnob Sproc[15, 39], NGK platinum plug with spark booster, V3 racing coil, cheetah CDI[dual mode], broquet B2, DIY oiler, hazard light, DIY gnding, PE28[pj-38, mj-120], open pod filter

Originally posted by cookie_monster@Apr 24 2006, 03:47 PM

engine wise all similiar however.....

all three versions got some diff meters n.....

PB1 wif chrome header n include mainstand.

ver r wif free sai tao n square headlight as for....

ver s nothing special. :cry:

:bounce: :bounce: :bouncefire:

version S nothing special...sure or not Cookie Monster.. :sorry:

Version S : round headlights wif chrome plastic meters cover...btw anyone knows where to get e chrome side boards like e one used by PB1? Or anyone willing to part ? :help:

i bought my Ver S last yr in jun ..original paintwork and seats.. comes with Givi E42 made in Italy with the same colour as my bike..millage was only 58'000km..insurance with NTUC was $460 for 2nd party..

things that i done up in dec was:

1)change batt,rectifier

2)change rear brake pad

3)service all calipers

4)change rear caliper 'O' ring

5)change to KnN filter

6)change handlebar grips

7)wash my carb

8)change my tyres in jan to GPR70

9)renew my front fork oil

10)flush all brake fluid

11)change clutch cable

12)change throttle cable

13)flush coolent

14)steering cone bearing

things i add on :

1)givi windshield(went to spray matching colour with my bike)

2)givi wingrack

3)add 2 more horns

4)a pair of fog lights

5)2 neon tubes

recently last mth jus change clutch plate..

going to add belly pan soon..

yo bros....thanks for your ideas so far....

superpig4- you said the quality so so....wat does that mean...good or not good....if not good why...actually i need a place that does the paintwork asap and Yeow motor looks to be promising...but why u say the quality so so...

sino74...im currently overseas...sorri man...paiseh...but whether get a paintjob or exchange with you is all in june...if ya can wait till then...by the way have a pic of your bike...or at least tell me bout the paintwork...

I bought my Ver S last May (1 year anny this 3 May) at 3.2k.

Comes with a Givi 42 L top box, very new still.. Relatively new paintwork but can tell its not very good that kind.

The rear suspension, front right brake caliper was stolen while in previous owner's care, and when i took over, I got a new nissin front right brake caliper and a cheapo rear suspension set. The mileage meter was not working as well and the side stand is very short, which makes the bike slant very much when put on side stand. I went to the shop besides Racewerks to add a piece of metal to increase the length of side stand, since then the bike is standing quite straight liao..

The bike will leak abit of coolant at the engine block as well but this problem can be solve if u keep topping the coolant every now and then. As long as u change ur coolant every 3 mths or so, the coolant should not leak at all.. unless ur Ver S very jialat liao..

So far haven change much except the tyres, chain and spocket set and meter lights.. I always believe in "if the thing aint spoil, don't fix it" so i don't have the plans to change to white lights/ put neon-lights and also if nutin serious, no need to do tuning unneccessarily..

My insurance is $275, 3rd party with NTUC..

Philosophy A: Ignore what everyone else thinks. Riding is a better way to get around. Ride paranoid and keep your skills sharp

Philosophy B: Ride with somebody who's better than you. You will pick up a handy trick or new skill just about every time you are out

Philosophy C: You don't need a big bike to prove ur passion for riding

hi bros~

sino74 : Actually the 3 models u mentioned,does have only a little bit differences among. Project Big 1 have chrome header and diff exhaust compare to Ver R & S. The PB1 meter's color i think is green where as Ver S is red. Ver R meter cover is black in color whereas Project and Ver S is chrome. The tail fairing for PB1 and Ver R is the same but Ver S diff. Ver S more nicer..but some Ver S i seen happen to share the same tail fairing as PB1 and Ver R. Only Version S canot install mainstand..

cookie_monster : Version S have some goodies compare to the 2 other models le..

Brembo brake calipers,adjustable front showa fork...red meter light...redesign tail fairing...but its the 50th anniversary edition one. Before that was about the same as PB1 and Ver R.

super4newbie : lolz...the paintjob ok la..maybe my expectation high thats why i say so-so...its actually quite gd..and correct,YEOW motor is very promising...no worries,just respray ur bike there lor. U will not regret...

burningacid : Your engine block also leaking coolant ah...mine too.. actaully the problem is not solve just by topping the coolant everynow and then...u dun repair...its just like a time bomb..u nv know when it gonna break down...1 minute its working fine...the other minute,it might not work anymore. But i am not encouraging u to change la,cos its gonna cost a bomb changing a new block. Might as well..change bike..lolz. just kidding...

Originally posted by thcheong@Apr 24 2006, 05:27 PM

i bought my Ver S last yr in jun for $3K..original paintwork and seats.. comes with Givi E42 made in Italy with the same colour as my bike..millage was only 58'000km..insurance with NTUC was $460 for 2nd party..

things that i done up in dec was:

1)change batt,rectifier

2)change rear brake pad

3)service all calipers

4)change rear caliper 'O' ring

5)change to KnN filter

6)change handlebar grips

7)wash my carb

8)change my tyres in jan to GPR70

9)renew my front fork oil

10)flush all brake fluid

11)change clutch cable

12)change throttle cable

13)flush coolent

things i add on :

1)givi windshield(went to spray matching colour with my bike)

2)givi wingrack

3)add 2 more horns

4)a pair of fog lights

5)2 neon tubes and 1 led tube

recently last mth jus change clutch plate..

going to add belly pan soon..

Originally posted by super4newbie@Apr 24 2006, 06:07 PM

sino74...im currently overseas...sorri man...paiseh...but whether get a paintjob or exchange with you is all in june...if ya can wait till then...by the way have a pic of your bike...or at least tell me bout the paintwork...

hahaha...im now undersea.... :cheeky:

bout e paintwerk....one month old wif spec III design .OK will wait 4 u..keep in touch though :cheeky:

Originally posted by superpig4@Apr 24 2006, 07:52 PM

hi bros~

sino74 : Actually the 3 models u mentioned,does have only a little bit differences among. Project Big 1 have chrome header and diff exhaust compare to Ver R & S. The PB1 meter's color i think is green where as Ver S is red. Ver R meter cover is black in color whereas Project and Ver S is chrome. The tail fairing for PB1 and Ver R is the same but Ver S diff. Ver S more nicer..but some Ver S i seen happen to share the same tail fairing as PB1 and Ver R. Only Version S canot install mainstand.

burningacid : Your engine block also leaking coolant ah...mine too.. actaully the problem is not solve just by topping the coolant everynow and then...u dun repair...its just like a time bomb..u nv know when it gonna break down...1 minute its working fine...the other minute,it might not work anymore. But i am not encouraging u to change la,cos its gonna cost a bomb changing a new block. Might as well..change bike..lolz. just kidding...

burningacid n super4pig....I guess if ur block keep leaking,time for u to replace

ur top block gasket... :goodluck: