Originally posted by GT Fazer@Feb 7 2006, 03:48 PM

You can try to watch & learn from those regular at the skating rink. I'm sure those ppl there will be willing to teach you :smile:

But I'm afraid to fall....:sweat:

Hmmm..... pai sei to approach these ppl....... scare they laugh at me when i fell....:cheeky:

http://www.mvagusta.com.au/welcome/images/F4CC1.jpg
  • Replies 2.7k

Originally posted by orangefazer@Feb 6 2006, 10:31 AM

Was there last Sunday Morning. Was practicing the 180 deg turn and stop.

Just couldn't get it rite. (Scissor leg , twist body , spread out right leg to balance and stop.)

Saw a big ang moh drop real hard back first onto the concrete pavement while trying to rtn skate with his daughter. Was down for quite a while and had to be

helped up and moved by 2 people who barely reached his chest height.

Time for me to get an helmet.

:smile: wah, 2 week never see u so fast now can do u-turn already ah ? :clapping: Very fast learner. I temporary stop my lessons to practise hard on my stride, balance & heel stop 1st b4 proceeding to next stage. If not no point, waste $$ :smile:

Originally posted by GT Fazer@Feb 7 2006, 03:43 PM

In general, you'll need to balance well enough to skate fast. If you're able to balance well, you'll be able to strike your every skate hard enough to glide further. In another words, harder strike also means able to skate faster. Simple to say, technique is important.

Better grade bearings & bigger wheels also do help the smoothness of the velocity. Grading of Bearings doesnt determine the speed cause speed mainly generate by the skater. Grading of the bearings is the smoothness of the bearings :smile:

:bow: Thank u very much GT fazer, i got it, the 2 keywords are balance well & strike your every skate hard I will practise hard on this 2 basics 1st.

:btw: By the way, how come i din see u at the skateshop on Suns afternoon, cos maybe me & Miss Jess wana come over & greet u if we are there :smile:

Originally posted by GT Fazer@Feb 7 2006, 03:43 PM

In general, you'll need to balance well enough to skate fast. If you're able to balance well, you'll be able to strike your every skate hard enough to glide further. In another words, harder strike also means able to skate faster. Simple to say, technique is important.

Better grade bearings & bigger wheels also do help the smoothness of the velocity. Grading of Bearings doesnt determine the speed cause speed mainly generate by the skater. Grading of the bearings is the smoothness of the bearings :smile:

By the way,1more thing i realise, if i never wear my skates properly, it will greatly affect my balancing & speed.

Originally posted by jingle@Feb 7 2006, 11:57 AM

Hmm Hmm..

Then which brand or model good? So many different one in the market.. So blur. :giddy:

:smile: Hi, I'm also a beginner & skate like fook at the moment, u might wan to join me or orangefazer if u wan. Cos at the moment, most of the time i'm alone practising, can't join the other guys for the time being as they are too good. me sure will be a burden to them :giddy:

Originally posted by cheeko@Feb 8 2006, 01:56 AM

:smile: wah, 2 week never see u so fast now can do u-turn already ah ? :clapping:

Turning gradually by swerving and keeping the skates in sync with the body , i aga aga can manage at slow speed but the turn still too wide ah . 180 deg turn and stop still hopeless case ..... the free leg dun want to stretch out to balance properly ...... do this wrong can fall liao.

http://i28.photobucket.com/albums/c213/orangefazer/untitled-2.jpg

anyone going ecp later?

99 - 00: laopok bike

00 - 02: another laopok bike

02 - 03: laopok bike chui liao

03 - 06: yet another laopok bike

06 - ??: yet yet another laopok bike

Originally posted by cheeko@Feb 8 2006, 02:08 AM

:smile: Hi, I'm also a beginner & skate like fook at the moment, u might wan to join me or orangefazer if u wan. Cos at the moment, most of the time i'm alone practising, can't join the other guys for the time being as they are too good. me sure will be a burden to them :giddy:

I'm still sourcing for a pair of blades..

Maybe I should rent them 1st hor... But I scare rented blades will be stinky. :sweat:

Charlie's Angels

Originally posted by jingle@Feb 8 2006, 05:10 PM

Maybe I should rent them 1st hor... But I scare rented blades will be stinky. :sweat:

Take a sniff first lorz... :lol:

Anyone going sat blading??

Originally posted by freedom_ck@Feb 8 2006, 09:11 PM

I'll be there to spin my wheelz by noon & wit one of my frd..keen to meet up?? :confused:

Looking for more ppl to join-in & learn.. :sweat:

Noon ar??

Around what time?Cant confirm cos i might be going to Bikelab and pay Joshua a visit..

Originally posted by jingle@Feb 8 2006, 05:10 PM

ya..me too,i think its better to buy one unless you are those who give up easily or change hobby easily kind.

other wise its a worth while investment to buy one good pair.

To be old and wise, u gotta be young and stupid

在绝望中坚强

Originally posted by jingle@Feb 9 2006, 11:45 AM

I saw this newsletter too. Buy 1 Get 1 Free!!!

But it says Members Only. I registered online.. Considered member anot? :confused:

Hi jingle,

I had call up skate line to ask abt the member stuff aswell..

They mention that upon spenting of the amount of $50 & above, u are able to be a member.. with a free member card with no expire date.... so woo hua..wat..

Asked abt the the package for the 1-for-1 aswell, they are selling the first pair at the retail price..n the second pair will be for free.... after calculation., it still quite woo hua aswell.. the promo starts from 2molo till date. :thumb:

http://img227.imageshack.us/img227/4094/dscn19763eu.jpg

//_FREED0M_OF_VEL0CITY_ON_WHEELS_//

Originally posted by freedom_ck@Feb 9 2006, 08:05 PM

Hi jingle,

I had call up skate line to ask abt the member stuff aswell..

They mention that upon spenting of the amount of $50 & above, u are able to be a member.. with a free member card with no expire date.... so woo hua..wat..

Asked abt the the package for the 1-for-1 aswell, they are selling the first pair at the retail price..n the second pair will be for free.... after calculation., it still quite woo hua aswell.. the promo starts from 2molo till date. :thumb:

so if I buy a new pair of skates, which will definitely cost >$50, I will get a membership straight away plus the additional free pair?

or do I have to make an additional $50 purchase 1st to be a member then I can start enjoying the promotion :confused:

Money should never change one's values.Making money is only a report card. It's a way to tell others how you are doing

Originally posted by freedom_ck@Feb 8 2006, 09:17 PM

:cheer: Just To Share!! :cheer:

http://www.skateline.com.sg/newsletter/20060208/

sounds like a darn gd deal!!!..

since thr are a few guys here who r tinkin of investin in a pair of blades,y dont u all go dwn together n get it? den split the price.

dun tink u will c this kinda offer often...

FOR SALE (PM for more details)

-inline hockey guards,stick, gloves,pants

-ipod shuffle, 1GB, red, limited edition

Originally posted by fooz@Feb 9 2006, 09:22 PM

since thr are a few guys here who r tinkin of investin in a pair of blades,y dont u all go dwn together n get it? den split the price.

Count me in..

Originally posted by fooz@Feb 9 2006, 09:22 PM

Count me in...

Originally posted by freedom_ck@Feb 9 2006, 08:12 PM

MC28

I'll be there by 12noon with my frd latest ba...

Hope to spin my wheel.. n pray hard not to rain.. o_O

Might PM-ing me ur contact so that i can call u if i'm going over??? :cheer: