With all the drama going On lately with the P.A.P, who will you vote for?  

48 members have voted

1. 1. With all the drama going On lately with the P.A.P, who will you vote for?

• P.A.P
    • OPPOSITION

vote for tiger also kenna bite.

vote for lion also kenna bite. :faint:

@scubasimon: there are many factors as well, does 2 right and 1 wrong equate to 1 right and 0 wrong? i guess what im saying is that there are some sensitive "solutions" that they have taken that might not be entirely "correct".

cpf funds is now unofficially hdb funds, thx to hdb pricing tagged to resale value - is the costs really THAT high? hdb price rising has nothing to do with commoners, coz if the commoner buy low sell high, he gotta buy high as well - the market is simply not THAT volatile.

self declared 60% pay rise - The reason being "we do not want our civil servants to be corrupted" and "we need to attract the 'best' persons for the job". I have never heard a employer tell his stealing employee "nah, i know u have been stealing $ from me, from now on i increase ur pay by 60%, next time dun steal ald ok?" :faint:

y tag ministers pay to top 80% percentile of the society? wouldn't they simply focus on making the rich richer? tag it to the bottom 10% percentile for a change, and they will be scurrying to improve the poor to become middle-class, versus the efforts we see now.. It cannot be that the rich do not know how to get richer, so why make all our ministers focus on helping them more than ever when there are other ppl more desperate for help?

many other issues but it's getting late zZ, and im still a spectator at the moment, observing and noting all pros and cons.

• Replies 104

@JackOhJack: true...i don't want to derail this thread so i'll just say my last word on the topic. if there is someone who offers a real solution that is better...then that person should at least get a vote. remains to be seen...and depends on whose yardstick is being used to measure. trying to figure out the results of policies is tough...because everybody has a different perspective. oh well...hahaha!

http://simonnunis.smugmug.com/photos/684724736_fuDoa-M-1.jpg
@JackOhJack: true...i don't want to derail this thread so i'll just say my last word on the topic. if there is someone who offers a real solution that is better...then that person should at least get a vote. remains to be seen...and depends on whose yardstick is being used to measure. trying to figure out the results of policies is tough...because everybody has a different perspective. oh well...hahaha!

yeah, i suppose at the end of the day, it's whoever's solution is better that deserves the vote.

It's just that itching feeling of not having the best of both worlds. Seems like whenever there's a "better", there's a "worse" as well, we cant really satisfy everybody, i suppose. We cant have our cake and eat it! :dozed:

vote for tiger also kenna bite.

vote for lion also kenna bite. :faint:

@scubasimon: there are many factors as well, does 2 right and 1 wrong equate to 1 right and 0 wrong? i guess what im saying is that there are some sensitive "solutions" that they have taken that might not be entirely "correct".

cpf funds is now unofficially hdb funds, thx to hdb pricing tagged to resale value - is the costs really THAT high? hdb price rising has nothing to do with commoners, coz if the commoner buy low sell high, he gotta buy high as well - the market is simply not THAT volatile.

self declared 60% pay rise - The reason being "we do not want our civil servants to be corrupted" and "we need to attract the 'best' persons for the job". I have never heard a employer tell his stealing employee "nah, i know u have been stealing $ from me, from now on i increase ur pay by 60%, next time dun steal ald ok?" :faint:

y tag ministers pay to top 80% percentile of the society? wouldn't they simply focus on making the rich richer? tag it to the bottom 10% percentile for a change, and they will be scurrying to improve the poor to become middle-class, versus the efforts we see now.. It cannot be that the rich do not know how to get richer, so why make all our ministers focus on helping them more than ever when there are other ppl more desperate for help?

many other issues but it's getting late zZ, and im still a spectator at the moment, observing and noting all pros and cons.

sigh... gahmen is smart

now its nt an issue of who is better but more like who is less likely to f.uck up

screw you singapore

boring rider. with a boring bike.

too old to want to appear interesting anymore.

yes agree..... i once had a discussion with my lecturer.... he asked what is politics? i replied "darkness", and then he said ," yes but if you think you can bring light to that darkness.... by all means carry on".... i diam ke after that.

tabai walkover.

freedom of speech is restricted

freedom of choice is not

i can change their mind as and when i like.

i can feel like voting PAP/OPPOSITION, and i am free to change my mind on the ballot box :angel:

i vote SBF :angel:

vote is not a secret. they can easily find out YOU vote for who.

those who voted b4 will know. your ic number is noted down to the ballot paper which has a serial number.

that means they can trace this pc of paper using it's serial.

Untrue. A misperception that must be dispelled.

They cannot easily find out who you vote for, because all the polling papers that have been counted are resealed at the counting centre (with seals signed by each political party) into the ballot boxes after counting and stored in the Supreme Court vault. They can only be opened if there is a court order requiring this, resulting from a complaint relating to the election.

6 months after the election, they will be taken out from the Supreme Court vault to the incinerator, in a process witnessed and accompanied by all political parties that have contested.

Edited by contrarian

He who hesitates is lost!

while i am not eligible to vote as i am not singaporean, i do think that singapore politics will benefit from having credible opposition groups. unfortunately, there really isn't enough of these groups in the past elections. there are some and that is great...but the majority of those who oppose seem to be opposing for the sake of opposing, rather than opposing because they have a vision that can make things markedly better.

That is a sweeping generalisation that is not true. If the general citizenry is doing fine, and there are no polarising issues of the day, then there is no compelling need for an alternative vision that can make things markedly better - it doesn't sell. The day when the country is being run into the ground and the general citizenry's life is badly affected will also be when you see men and women of conviction stand up to be counted, to offer to do a better job.

i guess the bigger question is: do we see any opposition party that is offering something better, or markedly different, from the incumbent?

i haven't seen any really...have you?

Yes I have seen. Look and you shall see. Seek and you shall find.

I refuse to buy into the myth that only PAP can do a good job in running the country. This is an illusion the PAP has created, and they are very happy to keep perpetuating this myth.

As a citizen, I owe it to myself to make sure that there are alternatives lined up to take over when the PAP fails (and it will; law of averages will catch up). I refuse to let PAP continue to monopolise the political realm because it is NOT HEALTHY for Singapore. If I want an alternative, then it's up to me to do my part to ensure that it happens. And what I can do: vote for the Opposition to signal my support, and speak out against irrational fears of voting for the Opposition.

(e.g. that thing about gahmen "tracing your vote", jeopardising your promotion prospects, etc. I am amazed how many people actually buy into that.)

http://farm1.static.flickr.com/176/382836949_9f10369d74.jpg

i thinik PAP is doing a ok job, just overpaid.

+1

10 words

nelo said:
sometimes facebook is like a fridge. you open it once every little while hoping something new will appear only to realise nothing changed.

Aprilia RX125 

Yamaha X1R

Kymco Downtown 200

KTM Duke 200

Gilera Runner ST200

Suzuki DRZ400SM

Honda CB400X

Kawasaki Ninja 400

Suzuki DRZ400SM
Suzuki Vstrom 1000 

Give them a 60% pay cut.

die also not scare

scare this n that :faint:

for me

no pap

no opposit party

PLS VOTE ME!!!

alvin8787

Edited by alvin8787

TS hunted down by the Mossad!?

nelo said:
sometimes facebook is like a fridge. you open it once every little while hoping something new will appear only to realise nothing changed.

Aprilia RX125 

Yamaha X1R

Kymco Downtown 200

KTM Duke 200

Gilera Runner ST200

Suzuki DRZ400SM

Honda CB400X

Kawasaki Ninja 400

Suzuki DRZ400SM
Suzuki Vstrom 1000 

I refuse to buy into the myth that only PAP can do a good job in running the country. This is an illusion the PAP has created, and they are very happy to keep perpetuating this myth.

As a citizen, I owe it to myself to make sure that there are alternatives lined up to take over when the PAP fails (and it will; law of averages will catch up). I refuse to let PAP continue to monopolise the political realm because it is NOT HEALTHY for Singapore. If I want an alternative, then it's up to me to do my part to ensure that it happens. And what I can do: vote for the Opposition to signal my support, and speak out against irrational fears of voting for the Opposition.

I agree. You are the ones that you have been waiting for.

Those of us (citizens only) who are willing to help the non-PAP political parties in activities such as outreach, election campaigning etc can contact me. You can help as much or as little as you like. It can be as simple as agreeing to act as one of the 10 constituents who nominate and assent to the candidates who are standing for election in your constituency.

how confidential is it? Like ppl always say, if u vote for the opposition, the gov will noe... how true?

all out IP address are logged. u want to die is it?

Nyeyehahhaha!!

Yamaha SparkZ 110 (2004 to 2008)

Yamaha X1-R 135 (June 2008 to Feb 2009)

Gilera ST Runner 200 (Feb 2009 to I dun knw...:confused:)

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=123504&d=1252221095

Cinta takkan datang, kalau tak dicari ... Cinta takkan dapat, kalau tak memberi ...

i dun understand why ppl think that its sensitive issue. Just like im doing engineering work and asking an accountant his pay and he say its a sensitive issue. Like wtf totally different field. Anyway its off topic sorry.

Secondly. Why do ppl always think that our current garment is doing a great job? Why do you think so? There is totally NO COMPARISON for so many DECADES.... Everyone will fear that the current garment falls and the citizen will be like lost sheep. But in actual fact, we are already the sheeps... When time is ripe they just harvest from us.

You will never knw until you try. And if you try and you fail? Well at least you dare to tell ppl that you TRIED... Now to me THATS life. I never like the feeling of being held on my nose and being lead to nowhere. Or even if its somewhere, i dun like the feeling that i dun get to choose.

Failure is on the level of nationwide man. Look at US for example, multiple parties? I believe that is what the opposition wants. But look, Obama wants to fix the damn healthcare policy and the republicans are saying he is doing it for personal profits. Lots of these things going around man.

nelo said:

Aprilia RX125 

Yamaha X1R

Kymco Downtown 200

KTM Duke 200

Gilera Runner ST200

Suzuki DRZ400SM

Honda CB400X

Kawasaki Ninja 400

Suzuki DRZ400SM
Suzuki Vstrom 1000