[Discussion] Do You Wear Gear?

Do U wear gear when riding  

102 members have voted

1. 1. Do U wear gear when riding

Any specific reason why you did that bro? Just curious.

Cos i personnally feel that there won't be sufficient protection if it's without armour.

I don't feel comfortable with the armour on. Even without it, its already hot.

I appreciate & agree with your comment on protection, but I make my own choices.

• Replies 217

Here's my gear setup

1) Dainese Riding Boots - bought in 2007

2) Dainese Gloves (length till wrist) - bought in 2007

3) Dainese Mesh Jacket - bought in 2008

Items in my agenda:

1) OGK FF5 Pearl White Scream Helmet

2) Dainese Riding pants (still considering)

I've been buying Dainese gear one item at a time and only when JR is having a sale annually to cut down the cost of my gears. Till now, i think the total cost of my first 3 items add up to be close to $800. If i didn't buy it during their annual sale then i think i could have easily spend more than 1k.

So i guess it's better to do research first before spending on gears, especially when the economy is so bad now.

Hope by the time i get my new 2009 white hornet 600 at end of the year, the economy will be better.

Just wondering, those who have mesh jacket, do you guys buy the half length or full length spine protector inserts? I was wondering whether it'll be very warm behind.

After browsing the previous pages of posts, i realised that no one bought any dainese gears. Seems like alphinestars is quite popular here compared to dainese. I'm a big fan of dainese items. Ha.

Excellent choice dude, whats the damage like?

u mean damage for which item?

If you are talking about 1st 3, then it'll be a total of close to 800 bucks

Dec 2003 - July 2010

Honda Phantom TA 200

July 2010 - July 2012

Honda Super Four Revo

July 2012 - Current

Honda NC700S ABS

hmm.. haven't actually done any research on that. But most likely will still go back to JR and get a mesh pants during their next annual sale which is likely end of this yr.

I dun think i wanna get a water resistant or splash proof pants as i'll still be sticking to my trusty RS Taichi high end Drymaster X during rainy season.

Dec 2003 - July 2010

Honda Phantom TA 200

July 2010 - July 2012

Honda Super Four Revo

July 2012 - Current

Honda NC700S ABS

hmm.. haven't actually done any research on that. But most likely will still go back to JR and get a mesh pants during their next annual sale which is likely end of this yr.

I dun think i wanna get a water resistant or splash proof pants as i'll still be sticking to my trusty RS Taichi high end Drymaster X during rainy season.

eh bro, noong time no see...

can see yr investments are well spend eh?

tk care & ride safe... ;)

Yo Bro. Yup, long time no see.

Must meet up one day to catch up.

How's life? Still riding your dad's steed? or is it super 4 as wht i see from your avatar?

Dec 2003 - July 2010

Honda Phantom TA 200

July 2010 - July 2012

Honda Super Four Revo

July 2012 - Current

Honda NC700S ABS

Yo Bro. Yup, long time no see.

Must meet up one day to catch up.

How's life? Still riding your dad's steed? or is it super 4 as wht i see from your avatar?

yea sure.. :smile:

Nope, Steed's overseas now checking out new roads & scenery with new owner le... :weep:

TA's somewhere in sillypore with new owner also...

& tats my new bicycle for nw u see...

k, we're getting :offtopic: (sorry mods)

any chat, lets bring over to the chit chat thread... ;)

hmm... just the normal jeans , shirt with demie jacket (levi's) and shoes.

dun think so xtream till riding boots and armour jacket ;-)

hehe... what about u vidak?

proper head to toe stuff regardless of bike cc is not weird or wrong

in fact that should be the way to go

just imagine...

pass 2b thinks, aiya no prob. small bike, cannot speed too much, nothing much can go wrong

mebbe you get lucky and nothing happens till 2a

then you WILL think to yourself, in the last 1 1/2 years nothing much happened so open face, t shirt and bermudas and slippers is ok lah...

eventually that mentality will become a norm to you until you get your full Cl 2...

then imagine you doing 150k's in a tshirt, shorts and flip flops...

you only need a pebble or another errant motorist to cause you to lose all tha hard work you've put into getting your full class 2 and big bike

so it's a good thing to start from day 1, even if you don't ever get a cl 2 bike :)

safety is a cheap form of insurance. - writer unknown

Grounded... :/

I wear full face helmet, armoured jacket, armoured gloves

Yea its good to built up the habit to gear up... you will never know

:thumb::thumb::thumb:

very good habits for a new rider!! :smile:

Remember gloves are very very crucial. Don't let what happened to me, happen to anyone...

btw I carry gloves, jackets and some boots haha.... do some hijacking of thread here hehe

very good habits for a new rider!! :smile:

Remember gloves are very very crucial. Don't let what happened to me, happen to anyone...

btw I carry gloves, jackets and some boots haha.... do some hijacking of thread here hehe

i got SP-X gloves from you... good for daily riding..

I got my 2B during end sept 2009.

Now i wearing a OGK FF5, leather gloves with knuckle protector, bright yellow Techn Armor Raincoat.

Some may say that i overkill liao...somemore only riding on Phantom.

But i think i rather be safe and be seen (yellow raincoat) and be prepared when **** happens ba.......:(

And yea, call me Power Rangers cause my friends say i look like the yellow ranger when i wear the raincoat hahaha!!! :cheeky:

Edited by ckoonyin
http://i87.photobucket.com/albums/k129/ckoonyin/ThenandNowver2a.jpg

i've got lots of 2b friends..generally those riding kups and sports bikes saying why you ride phantom wear full face..look like a idiot..bla bla .. after a while you just give up explaining to them..and simply say my face my head my choice.

how did the conception that only big cc bikes can wear full face and gears without being scrutinised..come about..

22/10/2009--20/01/2010 TA-150

20/01/2010--28/08/2010 KSR-110

28/08/2010--??? NSR *wink* *wink*

i've got lots of 2b friends..generally those riding kups and sports bikes saying why you ride phantom wear full face..look like a idiot..bla bla .. after a while you just give up explaining to them..and simply say my face my head my choice.

how did the conception that only big cc bikes can wear full face and gears without being scrutinised..come about..

Hope you felt more comforted knowing you are not alone after today's trip :)

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4109/4974036153_c36bbcded6.jpg

Life isn't all about one's self...

Hope you felt more comforted knowing you are not alone after today's trip

:) haha yea..

22/10/2009--20/01/2010 TA-150

20/01/2010--28/08/2010 KSR-110

28/08/2010--??? NSR *wink* *wink*

that's right.. its for you own safety.. dun care what pple think.. i wear flip up/ff ever since i passed 2b.. only wore open face during/going for bike lessons, and i feel damn awkward.

I got my 2B during end sept 2009.

Now i wearing a OGK FF5, leather gloves with knuckle protector, bright yellow Techn Armor Raincoat.

Some may say that i overkill liao...somemore only riding on Phantom.

But i think i rather be safe and be seen (yellow raincoat) and be prepared when **** happens ba.......:(

And yea, call me Power Rangers cause my friends say i look like the yellow ranger when i wear the raincoat hahaha!!! :cheeky:

Admittedly I don't wear any gear. If I happen to have gloves on it's more of a fashion accessory :p

But I agree wholeheartedly on investing in at least some protection - it doesn't have to be a $2,000 full race suit but a tough pair of Spanish corduroy pants and leather boots ( again fashion accessory ) did protect my right ankle when I was squashed by my 125Z that topped over last year.

Now, you -can- pick up a cub very easily, singlehandedly even. And that was a good thing.

But we're on much larger machines than cubs right now so I have to start thinking on 'ballistic protection'.

Secondly, no one is proof from a motorcycle accident so prevention is better than cure. I have shared with pureice and co. (last week at Planet) about my crashing a CG125 at over 70kph at BBDC 7 years ago. It was only a fun memory because I was in a very antique and very thick Army jacket along with long gloves which enabled me to fly over the handlebars and across a grass patch without incident. They don't make such jackets these days :D

Oh, and that's the good thing about NOT having a windscreen too.

Unforunately once on the road I seem to have pretty poor habits in safety dress code. The above accident in "controlled conditions" would not be pretty at all last night when I did a mock tour/rally with a CBR150 in nothing but a cotton blouse and jeans :p That's an example NOT to follow.