Hey everyone, need some info, help and advice from u guys...

My TP test is coming, and im kinda confuse what bike to ride if i were to pass my bike test.... I prefer RS125 as it is a nice bike. But $$$$$ matters...

Can anyone quote me the insurance price for these bike for new rider for third party. I want a second hand bike.. Im 20 this year.

RS125

R15

R125

Yamaha 125Z.

Im considering to ride 1 of the bike above.

Your help is greatly appreciated.

• Replies 49

call ntuc for a quote. we dunno how much is your insurance. we not from ntuc.

JOKING. but seriously u need to call them to know it

Yamaha x1

Honda super 4 spec 1

call ntuc for a quote. we dunno how much is your insurance. we not from ntuc.

JOKING. but seriously u need to call them to know it

Thx alot... welll what bike is the best and i can save alot of $$ every mth?

Sorry kinda new here...:cheeky:

Thx alot... welll what bike is the best and i can save alot of $$ every mth?

Sorry kinda new here...:cheeky:

From your list, R15.

Then how cheap you want? You got to decide man. I got my first bike when i was 19. YBR125. Only young person i knew was myself riding this bike.

You want to go fast, pay more lor. You want something which just can move and bring you somewhere, can always get something cheaper.

get your licence 1st.....the rest can wait.

2000-Yamaha lc125/2001yamaha tzr125/2002Suzuki gsxr400r/2003-Honda TA 200/2005-Honda wave S 125/2005-Honda S4 spec 2/2007-yamaha yp400/2008-yamaha R6/2009-Honda CG 125/2010-Suzuki Dr200se/2010-Honda steed 400/2011-honda cb400sf pb1/2011-sym joyride 200/2012-honda wave

Then how cheap you want? You got to decide man. I got my first bike when i was 19. YBR125. Only young person i knew was myself riding this bike.

You want to go fast, pay more lor. You want something which just can move and bring you somewhere, can always get something cheaper.

Hahaa... thats why i put 125z as my last choice... if still not enuf saving then im gonna take that bike...=)))) thx for the advice bro!

R15. nuff said.

http://i38.tinypic.com/2610xz6.jpg

T r i u m p h S t r e e t T r i p l e

getting really soon.... dont worry...=))

if fail how?you sure you pass?:angel:

2000-Yamaha lc125/2001yamaha tzr125/2002Suzuki gsxr400r/2003-Honda TA 200/2005-Honda wave S 125/2005-Honda S4 spec 2/2007-yamaha yp400/2008-yamaha R6/2009-Honda CG 125/2010-Suzuki Dr200se/2010-Honda steed 400/2011-honda cb400sf pb1/2011-sym joyride 200/2012-honda wave

125z better~

learning handling on small bike 1st,

"big" bike once drop, u will know:sian:

thinking of that too.... any suggestion on what small bike i can get either then 125z? thx for the advice...=)

get a phantom

Hey everyone, need some info, help and advice from u guys...

My TP test is coming, and im kinda confuse what bike to ride if i were to pass my bike test.... I prefer RS125 as it is a nice bike. But $$$$$ matters...

Can anyone quote me the insurance price for these bike for new rider for third party. I want a second hand bike.. Im 20 this year.

RS125

R15

R125

Yamaha 125Z.

Im considering to ride 1 of the bike above.

Your help is greatly appreciated.

Money matters eh?? Lets see....

1. RS125 - Are you rich??? No.... oh well i guess cannot..

2. R15 - Very new bike.... also relatively expensive, instalment will be high but servicing very cheap! So.... are you rich???? no....??? Well i guess you could drag out the installment to 5 years and let the bike shop earn your insane interest!

3. R125 - Are you willing to rob a bank???? no???? oh well.... NEXT!!!

4. Y125Z - Not to over priced... very fast and agile... leave your friends behind in a cloud of white smoke!! peh peh power!!! One of the rempit's top choice after KRR, RxZ!! :angel:

Oh wait..... you no license yet right?? get first then can think... :thumb:

RS125 - Should be 1.3/1.4k?

R15 and R125 - Not sure actually, but should be in the 1000s lah, coz sportsbike premium more ex

Yamaha 125Z - Just a rough gauge, probably $600-700

Let me add some pros and cons for you:

Pro of R15 and R125:

- Good looking bike with cheap basic maintenance. By basic I mean 1 bottle of EO, 1 bottle of spark plug. Tyres are also relatively cheap. Good fuel consumption also.

Con of R15 and R125:

- say your bike buang and you need to change parts, GG. Parts for those bikes are expensive, seeing they are new and are often not well stocked.

- Small engine liao, basically its just a cub with sportsbike boody. Dun be surprised that spark135s and X1Rs can easily lap and overtake u.

- machine price is expensive

- insurance expensive to new riders with P-Plate

Pro of RS125

- fast in the straights, superb handling, out of the box can play track already

- maintenance about the same as the bike mentioned above, only add 2t to the equation

con

- ur paying good paying for a bike with cl2 looks, but 2b power. Want to play with 2a sportsbike also cannot.

- everything expensive, parts, insurance, machine price, fuel consumption can be considered quite bad due to 2 stroke engine

125z pro:

- Cheapest to maintain especially if u service in Msia

- parts are dirt cheap. Examples.. Your engine spoilt? Nvm, $400 full overhaul. You skidded and ur bike coverset is cracked? nevermind,

- machine price cheap... 1.5k'ish can get (got ppl sell for $555 before hehe)... buy cheap, sell cheap lor thus low depreciation

- performance wise.. can run very fast in the straights, if got balls, can corner until footrest produce sparkzzz :D

Con:

- vibration is like sxxt in high speed

- outlooks not as nice compared to the bike above (important point seeing most new riders care about outlook more den performance :sian:)

- bad reputation with the man in white

- most 125z kanna whack to hell and back. Harder to find a 2nd hand one in good condition.. but like i say.. $400 can settle new engine liao..

Upz to u lor. For me, I would get R15/125.. if they got a 250 or a 400cc engine. Becoz for their price can bring out a DRZ or Super4 liao. Why pay so much for a 2b bike?

Also u can consider spark or x1r.. generally same power output and maintenance, only cheaper insurance and machine price.

bloody see the title i tot someone in hospital.....

anyways your better off with an rxz cheaper insurance than all others you are shortlisting.

IMO ride one year lousy bike, then upgrade better.

No offence but no pointer being a poser since you don't have enough on-road experience yet.

Repair costs vary from super low (throwaway price) to burn a hole in your parents pocket types...

take me to georgia

Pro of RS125

- fast in the straights, superb handling, out of the box can play track already

- maintenance about the same as the bike mentioned above, only add 2t to the equation

From someone that actually owns a RS125, the maintenance for this bike is in no way "only add 2t to the equation"

Typical servicing for this bike needs to be done(as recommended by the agent) at 2k. When you skip maintainence or stretch the intervals past this recommendation, you will definitely notice. Power delivery no longer smooth, power valve starts to jam, etc.

Servicing includes changing the oil filter, power valve spring and chain roller in addition to the usual stuff like EO. Total usually amounts to more than a $100. Which is closer to a class 2 jap bike maintenance than a 2b bike. Some class 2 owners like to run their EO till 5k, so maintenance could be even higher compared to such bikes. It definitely has a higher maintenance cost than my Monster, which i service every 3k.

As with all Italian bikes, prepare to baby it and pay many times a jap bike's maintenance to keep it running in peak condition. There is a price to pay for the attention and drool they attract. Passion Vs Practicality, you decide.

However, those who run cars will still find an Italian bike's maintenance cheap. No questions asked. IMO any bike's maintenance is cheap by virtue of the fact that it is a bike. Exceptions may be huge bikes like the triumph rocket. Perspective matters.

On the upside, if you know how to launch this bike, it can fly like a missile off the stop line. I've never measured but it hits 0-100 faster than a golf GTI, which I dragged against for fun with a bro of mine. That means a sub 5s 0-100, which is very fast for a 2B bike.

Handling wise, this is THE BEST handling 2B bike i've ever ridden. It turns into corners like a supersport, holds lines well and inspires enough confidence for you to scrape knees on a relatively slim 150 tire width. It is stable at a relatively high speed of 140kph and with decent balancers leaves blood flowing through your hands, which is more than i can say for 90% of 2B bikes which either feel like they're lifting off or shake the blood completely out of your hands at anything above 100kph.

It brakes like a champ too with the monobloc calipers, which are not found on almost every other 2B bike.

All this at a ~130kg feather weight.

base on your age and riding experience some how insurance gonna squeeze alot from you... no escape... those bikes are under sports category, not sure if it gonna add salt to ur wound... else u can consider this nibble, light and easy going X-1R.

From someone that actually owns a RS125, the maintenance for this bike is in no way "only add 2t to the equation"

Typical servicing for this bike needs to be done(as recommended by the agent) at 2k. When you skip maintainence or stretch the intervals past this recommendation, you will definitely notice. Power delivery no longer smooth, power valve starts to jam, etc.

Servicing includes changing the oil filter, power valve spring and chain roller in addition to the usual stuff like EO. Total usually amounts to more than a $100. Which is closer to a class 2 jap bike maintenance than a 2b bike. Some class 2 owners like to run their EO till 5k, so maintenance could be even higher compared to such bikes. It definitely has a higher maintenance cost than my Monster, which i service every 3k.

As with all Italian bikes, prepare to baby it and pay many times a jap bike's maintenance to keep it running in peak condition. There is a price to pay for the attention and drool they attract. Passion Vs Practicality, you decide.

However, those who run cars will still find an Italian bike's maintenance cheap. No questions asked. IMO any bike's maintenance is cheap by virtue of the fact that it is a bike. Exceptions may be huge bikes like the triumph rocket. Perspective matters.

On the upside, if you know how to launch this bike, it can fly like a missile off the stop line. I've never measured but it hits 0-100 faster than a golf GTI, which I dragged against for fun with a bro of mine. That means a sub 5s 0-100, which is very fast for a 2B bike.

Handling wise, this is THE BEST handling 2B bike i've ever ridden. It turns into corners like a supersport, holds lines well and inspires enough confidence for you to scrape knees on a relatively slim 150 tire width. It is stable at a relatively high speed of 140kph and with decent balancers leaves blood flowing through your hands, which is more than i can say for 90% of 2B bikes which either feel like they're lifting off or shake the blood completely out of your hands at anything above 100kph.

It brakes like a champ too with the monobloc calipers, which are not found on almost every other 2B bike.

All this at a ~130kg feather weight.

I agree. Go for the RS125. It may not feel as easy to ride as the others but once you know how to ride it, you will realise how much better it is than any other 2B bike with the exception of the Cagiva Mito. It can stop in less than 3/4 the distance other 2B bikes take to stop, providing you dare/can to do it without locking the tyres and crashing. It has loads more grip than its competitors and is way more stable. I've taken my RS125 up to 160KMPH, the front doesn't go light and start to lift like it does on say, a KRR or SP.

Try launching the bike at 10 000 RPM and you will (sort of) know what it is like to ride a 2A bike. You'll be able to outrun a Super4.

But still, test out as many bikes as you can before buying it. Get the one that rides the best, not costs the least to run. Money, or your life. Your choice.

Aprilias.png

Current Bikes: RS125 + V-Strom 1000 + F800GS Adventure

Previous Bikes: NSR250 + RS250 + Super 4