From someone that actually owns a RS125, the maintenance for this bike is in no way "only add 2t to the equation"

Typical servicing for this bike needs to be done(as recommended by the agent) at 2k. When you skip maintainence or stretch the intervals past this recommendation, you will definitely notice. Power delivery no longer smooth, power valve starts to jam, etc.

Servicing includes changing the oil filter, power valve spring and chain roller in addition to the usual stuff like EO. Total usually amounts to more than a $100. Which is closer to a class 2 jap bike maintenance than a 2b bike. Some class 2 owners like to run their EO till 5k, so maintenance could be even higher compared to such bikes. It definitely has a higher maintenance cost than my Monster, which i service every 3k.

As with all Italian bikes, prepare to baby it and pay many times a jap bike's maintenance to keep it running in peak condition. There is a price to pay for the attention and drool they attract. Passion Vs Practicality, you decide.

However, those who run cars will still find an Italian bike's maintenance cheap. No questions asked. IMO any bike's maintenance is cheap by virtue of the fact that it is a bike. Exceptions may be huge bikes like the triumph rocket. Perspective matters.

On the upside, if you know how to launch this bike, it can fly like a missile off the stop line. I've never measured but it hits 0-100 faster than a golf GTI, which I dragged against for fun with a bro of mine. That means a sub 5s 0-100, which is very fast for a 2B bike.

Handling wise, this is THE BEST handling 2B bike i've ever ridden. It turns into corners like a supersport, holds lines well and inspires enough confidence for you to scrape knees on a relatively slim 150 tire width. It is stable at a relatively high speed of 140kph and with decent balancers leaves blood flowing through your hands, which is more than i can say for 90% of 2B bikes which either feel like they're lifting off or shake the blood completely out of your hands at anything above 100kph.

It brakes like a champ too with the monobloc calipers, which are not found on almost every other 2B bike.

All this at a ~130kg feather weight.

My original entry was regarding base maintenance, not including those that are secondary. If we want to talk about maintenance beyond that, it won't end even when tomorrow comes. What you posted only reaffirms my original entry that rs is a costly bike to keep.

Pretty much everybody knows that RS is a track-ready bike, ok? But got bike, no skill & experience how? If a new rider buang on this bike, he will cry:cry:

You mentioned that in a way, this is a more expensive bike to keep then an inline four supersports. I have to agreed; the amount of money spent can be use on a FZ6N or spend a bit more on R6. Performance-wise, please ar.. no need to compare.

Conclusion.. get a cheap 2b bike, get experience then go for 2a-2 is a better choice. But if you got the cash, it's your money, nobody stopping you. Juz don't come crawling to garage sales a few months later begging ppl to COI the bike off becoz you couldn't keep it. Cheers! :)

• Replies 49

i advice u to take a wave.. people might laugh at u but before they know it, u be riding a busa in their face..

or u will still be riding a wave, but buying tons of new toys and cool stuff with the savings while they (well some of them at least) struggle to keep their busa...

boring rider. with a boring bike.

too old to want to appear interesting anymore.

u biased agains wave ah bro.. haha

any ways i advice u get a honda sonic.

its muhc much more sporty than wave.

very light i can lift it.

and u can big bore it and do endless mod.

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4081/4931040347_0bda87b07d_b.jpg
My original entry was regarding base maintenance, not including those that are secondary. If we want to talk about maintenance beyond that, it won't end even when tomorrow comes. What you posted only reaffirms my original entry that rs is a costly bike to keep.

Pretty much everybody knows that RS is a track-ready bike, ok? But got bike, no skill & experience how? If a new rider buang on this bike, he will cry:cry:

You mentioned that in a way, this is a more expensive bike to keep then an inline four supersports. I have to agreed; the amount of money spent can be use on a FZ6N or spend a bit more on R6. Performance-wise, please ar.. no need to compare.

Conclusion.. get a cheap 2b bike, get experience then go for 2a-2 is a better choice. But if you got the cash, it's your money, nobody stopping you. Juz don't come crawling to garage sales a few months later begging ppl to COI the bike off becoz you couldn't keep it. Cheers! :)

It's definitely a costly bike to maintain, but also good fun. IMO it's one of the more worthwhile 2-strokers to fiddle around with during your 2B days.

You made a pretty good point about being able to afford one rather than crawling to the garage sale section begging people to COI the bike. I think TS should take note of that. It's fun, but make sure you can afford one.

Realistically though, If one is gainfully employed and not in debt, there's no reason why one can't afford a 10+k bike, or even a 30+k one, when most people buy a 50-70k car. It's a matter of priorities to the person I guess, but IMO, everyone can own an exotic bike if you love bikes enough. They're inexpensive toys by comparison.

There isn't a problem when people with the financial power decides to go for those bikes. It is a problem when someone downs 1.5k of his $ which he saved for 4 or 5 months and then pay $250 a month for it for 2-3 years. When its time for insurance and roadtax or they had an accident, headache cannot think. It really pisses me off to see people struggling and be a slave to their purchases; especially if they are my friends.

But if got the cash, why settle for else? :cheeky: I myself am thinking of getting a y2k rs125 full cash for track, heck might even go for the 250.

u biased agains wave ah bro.. haha

any ways i advice u get a honda sonic.

its muhc much more sporty than wave.

very light i can lift it.

and u can big bore it and do endless mod.

haha where got biased with wave.. i rode 3 wave myself be4 also. haha and 4kr plus others.. so that why i think i stupid.. love 2b so much..

hope he can be like my neighbour.. ugly wave.. i used to laugh at him.. and always park my kr beside his wave.. one day i saw a busa beside my small size kr.............

anyway sonic is a wonderful bike.. 1504stroke with 6 gear.. stock max speed ard 160 which is very fast for a 4stroker.. plus some mod shoild be able to tail alot of 2b bikes.. plus its light on fuel..

GOOD CHOICE

There isn't a problem when people with the financial power decides to go for those bikes. It is a problem when someone downs 1.5k of his $ which he saved for 4 or 5 months and then pay $250 a month for it for 2-3 years. When its time for insurance and roadtax or they had an accident, headache cannot think. It really pisses me off to see people struggling and be a slave to their purchases; especially if they are my friends.

But if got the cash, why settle for else? :cheeky: I myself am thinking of getting a y2k rs125 full cash for track, heck might even go for the 250.

SO RICH LOR... i wish i could do that.. but normally i just pay instalment and use my saving to do the bike instead. poor man ma. no money

get license 1st.

buy sum cheap 2b unless u DUN ONE to upgrade

dun forget u nid sum money to repair,service

Why settle for else indeed. Your RS(125 or 250) will come just in time to rip up the changi track next year!

I think full cash is wise as well. Avoiding interest reduces the cost of a machine and nets you more savings than any other cost saving measure you could think of to reduce fuel or maintenance costs. I think many people don't realise how much they actually pay for interest in their haste to buy.

Seldom shop will allow 3rd party for new bike.

Not if you pay in full.

anyway sonic is a wonderful bike.. 1504stroke with 6 gear.. stock max speed ard 160 which is very fast for a 4stroker.. plus some mod shoild be able to tail alot of 2b bikes.. plus its light on fuel..

yep.. sonic and raider are two unique cubs. Very racing orientated compared to other cubs; with a strong engine, disc brake and superior forks.. but dunno why it doesn't really caught on compared to spark or 125z..

SO RICH LOR... i wish i could do that.. but normally i just pay instalment and use my saving to do the bike instead. poor man ma. no money

I said y2k RS125 mah, not the current RS125. The old RS125 with the tail which my dad affectionately called "pantat semut" (ant's butt :angel:) Unlike the current model, the y2k comes quite affordable these days and was once crowned 2nd best cornering bike, so yeah...

I think full cash is wise as well. Avoiding interest reduces the cost of a machine and nets you more savings than any other cost saving measure you could think of to reduce fuel or maintenance costs. I think many people don't realise how much they actually pay for interest in their haste to buy.

If can't afford to full cash, at least down a solid amount of $ so the monthly payment won't kill... I have known people paying close to $200 a month just for a 2b cub.. sheesh :faint:

Tink my advice for u, as a relatively new bike license holder myself (2mths ago),

I feel that you should let the bike work for u, rather than u work for the bike.

No point you struggle to earn money to support your bike. In the end its too much for a liability to hold the bike, and soon you will loss the passion for your bike.

BUT if you can afford it, personally you might wan to consider RS125. its very stable. the rest enough said, most of the experienced 'abang' here explain the pros and cons :D

talking about paying full cash. well, feel that paying installments can help you ease your personal cash flow. instead of paying full cash of 14k, can pay mayb 300permth? or if u dp higher, den will ease on the interest. i mean sometimes its worth paying the interest in terms of helping your monthly cash flow. some people cant afford 14k but they can afford to fork out 700 per month for bike.

But if you have more than enough money at the first place, den lets forget about all this lah..

Just my opinion...

Edited by triloza

ALPHA MIKE FOXTROT

~ decode the message

chill out,grab sth to feel riding...get more experience...have fun...dnt struggle and ride...u feel tight...den ur bike will js rot at carpark...i do noe ppl...."eh wheres ur bike?"..."at home..."

"why?"..."haiya..no money r..."

lols?!

~Please Ride N Drive Safely.~

if u cant,its ok,but dont bring harm to other ppl.

wana die,go die alone.dnt bring innnocent ppl along.

OKae!

i saw a post last month selling a RS125 and i ask him how long you bought?

he told me less than 3 months... why is he selling?

only reason being HIGH HIGH HIGH PRICE..

not that worth it for a commuting 2b bike..haha

get 125z if you on budget. dont get tempted by all the 2B "bigbike" look. not worth it if you getting it because you see very chio. ppl who get e.g rs125 because they like the spec, the parts. But new rider always look at the looks and get tie up with financial difficulties! Choose smart, tanhan till class2 then change real big bike!

2cents.:p

http://img251.imageshack.us/img251/3506/62342128949007155586100.jpg

人在åš, 天在看

get 125z if you on budget. dont get tempted by all the 2B "bigbike" look. not worth it if you getting it because you see very chio. ppl who get e.g rs125 because they like the spec, the parts. But new rider always look at the looks and get tie up with financial difficulties! Choose smart, tanhan till class2 then change real big bike!

2cents.:p

Get RVF. :angel:

Ride Safe.

Hey everyone, need some info, help and advice from u guys...

My TP test is coming, and im kinda confuse what bike to ride if i were to pass my bike test.... I prefer RS125 as it is a nice bike. But $$$$$ matters...

Can anyone quote me the insurance price for these bike for new rider for third party. I want a second hand bike.. Im 20 this year.

RS125

R15

R125

Yamaha 125Z.

Im considering to ride 1 of the bike above.

Your help is greatly appreciated.

Highlighted ones are quite ex for 1st hand 2B bikes. If you intend to use for a long time and you have some cash on hand. why not buy the one you like. if you cant really affird the cost of the bikes. I think Y125Z is gd. Its a nice bike also. :thumb:

Ride Safe.

All the best for your TP bro!! I pray you pass and do well ((:

Not sure about bikes that much, so shan't say too much.

Cheers and Ride Safe Always