• Replies 833

hi all expert out there. my bike have clock 7000km liao and have not change engine oil till now. what is the best mileage to change engine oil , and what type is best for vtec 1

like to exchange ideas,have the intention to get my class 2 so that can join friends for touring around the world.

Originally posted by airmike@Oct 11 2004, 01:21 AM

hi all expert out there. my bike have clock 7000km liao and have not change engine oil till now. what is the best mileage to change engine oil , and what type is best for vtec 1

If u r using normal oil, its advisable to chang every 3-5k km...

Guest aikh1an

and dun forget to change the oil filter too after 2 or 3 time changes of engine oil

Originally posted by aikh1an@Oct 14 2004, 10:17 PM

and dun forget to change the oil filter too after 2 or 3 time changes of engine oil

It would be better if u change oil filter & engine oil together.. Spark plug then change 2nd servicing....:cheer:

My schedule is 4.5k, change oil, then plugs n oil filter every 12.5k... been maintaining this schedule on my bike 4 the past 7 yrs.. engine still going strong.., except now clutch plate wearing off liao.. no power....:sian:

1996-1997 : Honda CBX 125

1997-2006 : Honda Project Big 1

2006-2011 : Yamaha Fazer 1

2011-2013:- Harley Davidson XR1200

2013- now: Something BIG..

You haven't changed ever since you bought the bike?

The first oil change with a brand new filter for a new bike would be at the first 1000km. Then oil change every 5000km. Filter change every other time you go for oil change. Maintain this and you'll have your engine runnin as good as new always.

"Don't do onto others, what you don't want others to do onto you"

"What goes around, comes around"

Guest enHANZed

any motodiam having servicing promotion ? i know motorworld has package offer

hi expeert out there? does vtec have a diper located at the cap for topping up engine oil? if have i afraid mine inside the einge liao. kaozz

like to exchange ideas,have the intention to get my class 2 so that can join friends for touring around the world.

Originally posted by airmike@Oct 19 2004, 09:36 AM

hi expeert out there? does vtec have a diper located at the cap for topping up engine oil? if have i afraid mine inside the einge liao. kaozz

not to worry, dun have, u just have to look at the side small screen to check level, straighten your bike before checking

but to check ur engine oil level... u need to make the bike to upright position. 3litres for oil change witout oil filter and 3.2litres with oil filter change.

http://i59.photobucket.com/albums/g313/funkyvtec/IMG-4077.jpg

Previous Rides: RXK 135, S4 Project Big 1, S4 Vtec1, ST1100 Pan European, Cbr954, K7 600, FJR1300 ABS, SilverWing FJS 400.

Current Rides: FIT 1.3 GF MoonRoof.

Just wondering.Any of you S4 expert or in fact any bike...Issit advisable for use to stick to 1 brand of engine oil or issit ok for us to switch different brand of engine oil everytime we need to change engine oil....Any experts care to share their knowledge

http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k74/waklabib/esso.jpg

I just broke my record for JB-KL timing

"But it ain't about how hard ya hit. It's about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward. Now if you know what you're worth then go out and get what you're worth."

Originally posted by darrenx@Nov 16 2004, 01:21 AM

Any ideas if put too much engine oil into the bike will have wat syptom?

Heavy and sluggish !

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/uploads/photo-3088.gif

any other syptom then tat?

normal is put how many litres?

see most bike shop put 3.2 plus change oil filter

but c my bike the engine cap there put some jap wording n some 2.7 / 2.9 / 3.6 litres

Originally posted by darrenx@Nov 16 2004, 01:48 AM

any other syptom then tat?

normal is put how many litres?

see most bike shop put 3.2 plus change oil filter

but c my bike the engine cap there put some jap wording n some 2.7 / 2.9 / 3.6 litres

Using the info u've given,

it should be 2.7L without oil filter change

2.9L with oil filter change

3.6L with engine rebuilt (That means after assembly of ur stripped engine)

Guess u are using Ver S ?

i am riding a VerS

But then if thats the case y alot of motorshop put 3.2litres? ( make us pay more? )

Cos quite confuse regarding this...

So any1 here knows whats the actual correct amount of enigne oil need?????

Thinking of maintancing myself....pls help

Originally posted by darrenx@Nov 16 2004, 02:20 AM

i am riding a VerS

But then if thats the case y alot of motorshop put 3.2litres? ( make us pay more? )

Cos quite confuse regarding this...

So any1 here knows whats the actual correct amount of enigne oil need?????

Thinking of maintancing myself....pls help

3.2L should be for Vtech.

Obviously they mistook ur for a VTEC cuz of the colour or the ripping u off by saying it's actually better for ur bike, which is not.

If u dun believe me, check the forum for exact specs for Ver S.

Cheers !

Originally posted by redname@Nov 16 2004, 11:12 PM

same as ver S, the info can be found on the bike itself, not sure is it the chainguard or the place where u pour in the oil

Right hand engine casing...

PB1, Ver R and Ver S all the same specs (99%same)

Cheers !