@E| A|umno

Look forward to seeing your massive arsenal of pictures :D

Convoy report: Last dawn patrol on 16/7/11

Patrolled TPY, Malcolm Rd, and Stevens Rd en route to Orchard.

Visited Fountain of Wealth then headed back to "Orchard Gudang" where we picked up a BMW M3 as a convoy leader.

Proceeded to (Old) Holland Rd to visit RC aircraft flying group, then on to Upper Thomson and the "Secret Hillview Estate area" for a photoshoot.

Proceeded to Bukit Panjang for breakfast, hands-on kopitiam engineering seminar * and fall out.

* - After Spyder returned to base we decided to stick around the carpark since we already 'paid' for it. Lmao.

Tasking for next week:

Friday night which restaurant? I vote for Riders' Cafe @ Eng Neo Ave.

Wow nice tour! sorry man i was really too tired!!

No worries, safety first :3

There is never any rain on kitten outings but it was a wet course today and keeping the group small (pretty much platoon sergeants only today) was a priority.

Tip for wet weather handling - drive like Ayrton Senna, who steers for dry patches on the road and does the majority of braking and acceleration on these patches with maximum traction. It might look crazy but it works. Very well.

Secondly, a bit of eye contact with drivers on the road works wonders. Let someone else start off first from the traffic lights to regulate speed and prevent an accidental "drag race challenge" scenario, then overtake the other vehicle safely. Or follow behind and enjoy the "road train" effect. Once the driver notices the motorcycle(s), he/she will also regulate traveling speed and minimise hard cornering or braking. Being seen is No. 2 in motorcycle road safety, No. 1 is knowing how to handle the machine in adverse conditions / emergencies because in an emergency situation, its training (subconscious mind) that decides survival chance.

This priority is in the interest of preventing an accident situation forming in the first place, of course.

With that, the convoy strategy today was "freestyle". Safety comes from personal initiative from everyone acting their part, not dictatorship :) Just pick the right crew for the job and go.

Oh the Spyder was useful to transport pillows :D Hard to carry pillows in normal boxes or tank bags as they will be squashed.

Edited by Pandora's Kitten :3

* - After Spyder returned to base we decided to stick around the carpark since we already 'paid' for it. Lmao.

When I was on my way out, saw 2 parking attendants at level 2 doing their rounds, so it didnt look like it was a tip off from the nearby residents. But the thing that's still puzzling is why only half of the group got the summon... ;)

Hugely horrible carpark design. The crappy layout has to be seen to be believed.

To lighten the mood, here are some nice pics. Yes we will be using facebook for most of the ride discussions in the near future so add me (do tell me who you are on the forums first...)

http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.205352689515217.77725.100001214633830

I think i understand why some were fined some were not. Me n cat kenna cause we took up entire lots. The Ben and Yeo bikes were parked together so only one fine for that lot. Next time we must squeeze all into a single lot. The kr they didnt bother cause parked in bike lot. And can am they must have thought 'well no way thats going into a bike lot' and they left it alone lol.

“Speed has never killed anyone. Suddenly becoming stationary, that's what gets you.†- Jeremy Clarkson

http://images54.fotki.com/v104/photos/3/1279813/10237619/IMG_0625-vi.jpg[

hmm..then think i might need to buy mr ben 1/2 dozen set of meal to share the summons..

here's the link to the pics of the cool breaking dawn ride..some repeated shots are not uploaded coz they are much rather the same..

http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10150240051224845.329171.761604844&l=7beeef5d54

lastly forgot to snap a shot of the steep slope up to it :(

2002-2002: Suzuki DR200

2002-2007: Yamaha DT200R

2007-2011: Honda CBF150

2011-2013: Honda CB400SFS1

2012-2015: Honda CBR1100XX

2013-2015: Yamaha FZ6S1

2015-2017: SYM Maxsym 400i

2015-PRESENT: Yamaha TMAX 530

2017-PRESENT: BMW R1200GSA

2017-PRESENT: Yamaha Sniper 150

hmm..then think i might need to buy mr ben 1/2 dozen set of meal to share the summons..

here's the link to the pics of the cool breaking dawn ride..some repeated shots are not uploaded coz they are much rather the same..

http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10150240051224845.329171.761604844&l=7beeef5d54

lastly forgot to snap a shot of the steep slope up to it :(

That is a nice photo spread, hope it was worth your while to bring the DSLR, the extra camera and your climbing up the hill is much appreciated :)

I think i understand why some were fined some were not. Me n cat kenna cause we took up entire lots. The Ben and Yeo bikes were parked together so only one fine for that lot. Next time we must squeeze all into a single lot. The kr they didnt bother cause parked in bike lot. And can am they must have thought 'well no way thats going into a bike lot' and they left it alone lol.

Wow...thats a pretty good analysis! Hahaha...u go back home and keep thinking about it ah?

No was looking thru the pics and it hit me hahah.

“Speed has never killed anyone. Suddenly becoming stationary, that's what gets you.†- Jeremy Clarkson

This morning, ECP towards AYE direction suddenly heavy downpour!

Was in lane 1. Cursing and swearing lol! i got drenched!

managed to somehow change to the left most lane and towards road shoulder to put on my rain coat. what a morning!

I have never heard of Rider's Cafe. Sorry for my ignorant how come it's called Rider's cafe? meant for like riders? haha

Apparently yes, but horse riders I think as it's near the stables (if I'm not wrong)

ahhhhh i see. It's meant more for horse riders lol

I'll be in the usual high boots and 18th Century fashion so I will fit right in :D

"What horse u ride?"

Metal one lor. :D

AHAHAHAHHAHA metal one lor. rofl lololololololol!!

Btw, usually there's alot of ppl when night riding compared to dawn ya? how much ppl on avg.

Sorry i only did twice dawn's and non of night so...yeah

Btw this morning while going to work at paya lebar road. While waiting for lights to turn green to enter slip road to PIE (Tuas) as usual alot bikes infront of cars including mine la.

Turn green Liao of course usually my bike pick up a bit better than those smaller one. then got this s4 think he wanna challenge me or what. I think he 3rd gear drag till 80 to 90....

His pipe very very loud and fierce.. Think it's illegal. But Dmn good lol. Then his vtec activated with his pro pipe run till dunno where lol!

Edited by eternity83
This morning, ECP towards AYE direction suddenly heavy downpour!

Was in lane 1. Cursing and swearing lol! i got drenched!

managed to somehow change to the left most lane and towards road shoulder to put on my rain coat. what a morning!

Lol...u bring raincoat with you everywhere ah? You carry it in a bag right? Coz I dun think u can squeeze it anywhere on ur cbr lol. If it rains, I just get wet. Plain n simple.Rain coat so bulky...dowan bring around :(

Btw this morning while going to work at paya lebar road. While waiting for lights to turn green to enter slip road to PIE (Tuas) as usual alot bikes infront of cars including mine la.

Turn green Liao of course usually my bike pick up a bit better than those smaller one. then got this s4 think he wanna challenge me or what. I think he 3rd gear drag till 80 to 90....

His pipe very very loud and fierce.. Think it's illegal. But Dmn good lol. Then his vtec activated with his pro pipe run till dunno where lol!

Then u show the power of Babyblade la lol. Your topend sure win leh :p

Today while pehhhing to work:

I was forced to lanesplit on the PIE.

Not because I wanted to save time or anything but because an LTA bike was positioned just past the BKE exit in such a way that all the motorcycles on the road siam into the middle lanes of the PIE that it became super unsafe to not lanesplit.

Reason for the massive traffic jam was the LTA bike stopped a Kancil and a Malaysian cub on the side of the road and everyone slowed down to a speed of 5 kph to stare at their number plate.

Btw, usually there's alot of ppl when night riding compared to dawn ya? how much ppl on avg.

Sorry i only did twice dawn's and non of night so...yeah

From last month onwards we practise controlled invitation for the following reasons:\

1. We will not wait 2 hours at the restaurant for everyone to turn up

2. We will not wait 2 hours at Pasir Ris Camp for friends & family to all turn up

3. We are aiming for an outing that requires no management because all of us know to form up and navigate the convoy automatically. *

4. Controlled group size means we can attack heavy traffic zones with ease, because by now we are familiar with each others' tactics.

5. So we can do some Spyder branding. 8 bikes escort one Spyder like battleship

* Over the past year there are guests who

abuse their privledges in open outings, including but not limited to:

overtaking / blocking the convoy leader to demand change of route,

bringing 20 (mostly uninvited) bikes to a well planned private event catering for 6 bikes,

using the gathering as an opportunity to demand that we invite girls so they can flirt around

etc etc etc

Suffice to say the Spyder Battlegroup does not suffer from such operational issues because we all come here to just turn on engine at a certain time and ride together. Like happily ever after?

Remember that cat's outings won't ever rain and traffic will always give way to us. Let's stick to the formula that works

Night time will be a bigger group, because I will be inviting the Padi's Point riders if they're free. We want dawn patrol professionalism for a larger event but we need to build the team slowly.

Lol...u bring raincoat with you everywhere ah? You carry it in a bag right? Coz I dun think u can squeeze it anywhere on ur cbr lol. If it rains, I just get wet. Plain n simple.Rain coat so bulky...dowan bring around :(

Then u show the power of Babyblade la lol. Your topend sure win leh :p

Yup i bring my raincoat wherever i go haha! I think it MIGHT be possible to sqeeze in.

I let you see the back compartment next time u will be amazed as it's quite big lol!

If go home drenched, i'm fine with it. But drenched going into office is not a good thing..

Don't want to spoil my engine. Very old already haha! as long as got fairing, dun give me white smoke, i'm happy (:

Today while pehhhing to work:

I was forced to lanesplit on the PIE.

Not because I wanted to save time or anything but because an LTA bike was positioned just past the BKE exit in such a way that all the motorcycles on the road siam into the middle lanes of the PIE that it became super unsafe to not lanesplit.

Reason for the massive traffic jam was the LTA bike stopped a Kancil and a Malaysian cub on the side of the road and everyone slowed down to a speed of 5 kph to stare at their number plate.

From last month onwards we practise controlled invitation for the following reasons:\

1. We will not wait 2 hours at the restaurant for everyone to turn up

2. We will not wait 2 hours at Pasir Ris Camp for friends & family to all turn up

3. We are aiming for an outing that requires no management because all of us know to form up and navigate the convoy automatically. *

4. Controlled group size means we can attack heavy traffic zones with ease, because by now we are familiar with each others' tactics.

5. So we can do some Spyder branding. 8 bikes escort one Spyder like battleship

* Over the past year there are guests who

abuse their privledges in open outings, including but not limited to:

overtaking / blocking the convoy leader to demand change of route,

bringing 20 (mostly uninvited) bikes to a well planned private event catering for 6 bikes,

using the gathering as an opportunity to demand that we invite girls so they can flirt around

etc etc etc

Suffice to say the Spyder Battlegroup does not suffer from such operational issues because we all come here to just turn on engine at a certain time and ride together. Like happily ever after?

Remember that cat's outings won't ever rain and traffic will always give way to us. Let's stick to the formula that works

Night time will be a bigger group, because I will be inviting the Padi's Point riders if they're free. We want dawn patrol professionalism for a larger event but we need to build the team slowly.

Ok somehow i got it lol!

I sat through like two dozen cases today. At least it was peaceful because all my clients know -not- to call my phones. Email/sms ftw :D

Can't stand random phone calls and people calling my name because it's distracting. Name for national registry, callsigns for business :D