• Replies 194

Originally posted by tidy@May 11, 2007 05:52 pm

u called the IO or was the results of the investigation sent to you?

Called the IO... He told me so.. however must wait for a few months more..

Originally posted by teng_fred@May 11, 2007 04:43 pm

Guys.. so glad.. I just got the IO (finally after so many days). He told me will be charging the driver. Now waiting for hospital medical report, summarized and send him a court letter to attend court.

Just got a letter from my lawyer informing me that till date, the doctor have not send out the report. What's going on man? Did any1 experience it before? It's been 4 months and still no report from the hospital... Will he forget, lose my details and I have to redo the checks again?

Originally posted by harni@May 05, 2007 01:51 pm

Last time, I remembered when I am learning riding in 2003 in SSDC.

The instructors asked us 1 question.

Do you think riding is safe in Singapore????

Some said yes, some said no.

Then the instructors told us if not safe why u wants to learn riding???

I always used to boost that I am a safety rider because of my accident free record. I choose to ride a phantom because I think it safer and can’t really speed. I treasured my life, my family and my girlfriend. I always advise my friends to ride safe. As long as u is a safety rider, accident won’t come to you. But sad to say nothing is impossible.

Like what tend fred said, even if we are very safety rider, we can only minimized accident rate or might not even happen at all. Please don’t flame me. I understand different people got different opinion.

I think slowrider have the kind intention to warn us to be 100% focused, safety and vigilance on the road. But the more I try to explain seem to agitate him. Hope that he doesn’t take it too seriously and try to understand our feeling.

I hope that every fellow here is friendly and fun-loving person who shared their experience.

Compared to those taxi uncles, we are just like kids who really need help from all of u.

harni 's brother

I am not agitated but rather pissed off by your inability to understand that 'riding on the roads require you as a rider to foresee the in-coming dangers which can be caused by a various elements posed onto you as a rider particularly as you are very vunerable compared to other vehicles.

Beside being able to foresee road suituation, you should learn and know how to take the fullest advantage whenever the road sutiuation allows you to safely do so.

Various elements can include road conditions, objects on the road etc.. beside the various silly antics of other motorists.

Mr contarian our lawyer guy has a very simple message.

It is best not to have an incident before the courts becos at the end of the day, no judge could really know what REALLY happened and accord the right and fair judgements on every accident case.

I have told some fellow riders and even in SBF,long, long ago somewhere in the galaxy... it was safer to ride fast ( faster than cars if need be ) and be 100% sure of how to react according to different traffic suituation than to be an average rider who just rode according to depicted road speed!

Some riders might not be convinced about the above statement while some do.

Not that I envisage you to start weaving in and out of traffic but to ride in such a manner that uses the traffic suituation to your advantage.

Riding schools don't teach you this.

So like in your case, when you have a partial view of obstruction then proceed forthward with care and be prepared to brake if any pedestrain or vehicle were to cut across your path.

Alternatively, if the road had more than 2 or 3 lanes than take the lane furtherest away where there is possible traffic exiting from that intersection. This allows you:

1) to be able to detect the traffic early as it emerge out of the obstruction or

2) to speed away before the traffic can cut across your path ( take this only if you are riding a powerful bike..hahaha)

There are many techniques to riding with an advantage on the roads. This is one out of the many hundreds that can be applied.

Take a hint from me, my nick 'slowrider' is actually not a good hint to use for riding as good and experienced riders will know that they can reach a destination from point A to B in double quick time and yet rode in such a manner that offer them the best safety in all weather conditions.

How did they do it?

Well, this is what separate the men from the boys!

Bro slowrider, you have ur point and Harni's brother has his but what you can do is to be more sensitive in his pain and suffering that he experienced. Maybe you mean well but your words are too harsh.What has happened has happened. When things happen, we can say from top to bottom how to avoid it. But we will never know what the other party thinks at that moment. The cab driver could be really at fault but he will never say or admit. So let's forget this episode and learn from each other. We must move on....

Ya, let’s forget this episode and move on. I don’t wish things to turn ugly. Anything we let the judge,TP,Lawyer to handle for us.

Thanks!!!

Bike Rulez The World~!

i just came back from TP HQ..

to give my staatement..apparently, according to my IO..

the person that banged into me, has not come formward..

he gave me the wrong name and he has cut off his HP line!

however, the IO has decided to issue a warrant of arrest against him.. and

charge him in court..

His plate numbers is SBU1887S

i've a question. I know that we can do a 100% claim for injuries, repairs, loss use of transport,etc. How about legal fees? Do we split with the other party or must we bear the total cost of legal fees?

Any bros, with experience, can explain?

When you ASSUME, you make an ASS out of U and ME.

Anyway, just to add on to this thread, here's a list of typical things that you'll be awarded:

1. General Damages

a. Pain and Suffering

eg. fractured femur = $20,000 head injury = $65,000 scars and lacerations = $5,000 knee injury = $35,000

b. Future Medical Expenses

eg. physiotherapy = $1,000 medication = $1,000 consultation = $6,000

c. Future Loss of Earnings

eg. My fractured femur does not allow me to be a triathlon coach (earning $5,000) in future anymore. Instead, I have to work as a clerk (earning $3,000). Thus, my future loss of earnings is calculated as 12 years x 12 months x $(5000-3000) = $288,000. Pls note that 12 years is just the figure I've seen in quite a few legal reports, so your award may be even less. And of course, if your injury is deemed to have no effect whatsoever on your future job, this portion will be $0.

d. Loss of Earning Capacity

Not too sure about this one.

e. Pre-Trial Loss of Earnings

Losses accrued prior to the trial. Eg. I was working as a triathlon coach earning $5,000 but because I was on MC for 1 year, I did not get an entire year's salary. Thus pre-trial LOE = $5,000 x 12 months = $60,000

2. Special Damages

a. Medical expenses (must be justified with receipts)

b. Transport expenses (must be justified with receipts)

Then from the total amount that is awarded, you may only get a percentage based on contributory negligence on your part; although for most cases here that I've seen, it should be mostly the other party's fault. For example, if I'm hit from behind, it's 100%, if I'm going straight when some guy turns out from a slip road leading to a collision, it's 90%. For further clarification on this, refer to the BOLA calculation I've posted previously on this thread.

Anyway, do note that all these examples are just figurative/imaginary. By no means am I a triathlon coach or a clerk haha. I'm just a bummer sitting around after my accident with too much free time on my hands to research such stuff. I'm sure most people will be very anxious to know how much they'll be getting after a motor accident as it's such a devastating thing to happen and you really wanna be appropriately compensated for it.

Hi bros,

My case is not going to end soon. Maybe another 6mth. Below mentioned is the things I going to claim. The case is 85% favor to me as per my lawyer.

Transport expenses (medical appointment)

Medical expenses

Future medical expenses

Loss of income

Loss of CPF savings contributions

Loss of further income (incl. CPF contributions),

Pain & suffering

Scars and lacerations

Injury

Interest

Any update will post again. Hope the above info helps any of you.

Thanks n regard,

Bike Rulez The World~!

recently i was also involved in an accident,

broke my tibula and fibula

following the thread, it seems that lawyers play an important role in the case

any bros have any reliable repsonsive to recommend

thks for yr help

got my right foot go over by a 7sitter car as i was stooping at traffic light when the light turns green ... my bike fal and was having slight damages.. now my foot is getting better but press press still abit pain as i need to go for a xray which i haven do so... i done with idac & police report le but theres no eye witnesses .. should i get a lawyer too or just get bikeshop to claim for me ?

Anyway, just to add on to this thread, here's a list of typical things that you'll be awarded:

1. General Damages

a. Pain and Suffering

eg. fractured femur = $20,000 head injury = $65,000 scars and lacerations = $5,000 knee injury = $35,000

b. Future Medical Expenses

eg. physiotherapy = $1,000 medication = $1,000 consultation = $6,000

c. Future Loss of Earnings

eg. My fractured femur does not allow me to be a triathlon coach (earning $5,000) in future anymore. Instead, I have to work as a clerk (earning $3,000). Thus, my future loss of earnings is calculated as 12 years x 12 months x $(5000-3000) = $288,000. Pls note that 12 years is just the figure I've seen in quite a few legal reports, so your award may be even less. And of course, if your injury is deemed to have no effect whatsoever on your future job, this portion will be $0.

d. Loss of Earning Capacity

Not too sure about this one.

e. Pre-Trial Loss of Earnings

Losses accrued prior to the trial. Eg. I was working as a triathlon coach earning $5,000 but because I was on MC for 1 year, I did not get an entire year's salary. Thus pre-trial LOE = $5,000 x 12 months = $60,000

2. Special Damages

a. Medical expenses (must be justified with receipts)

b. Transport expenses (must be justified with receipts)

Then from the total amount that is awarded, you may only get a percentage based on contributory negligence on your part; although for most cases here that I've seen, it should be mostly the other party's fault. For example, if I'm hit from behind, it's 100%, if I'm going straight when some guy turns out from a slip road leading to a collision, it's 90%. For further clarification on this, refer to the BOLA calculation I've posted previously on this thread.

future loss may not easy to get.. i read a harley davidson rider (a company director) knocked down by SBS bus.. he died and his wife sued SBS for future compensation...

i heard she won quite some money but not "future earning" bcos the judge said, laws here dun cater this portion?? i heard his wife asked for MILLIONS in dollars for compensation (if he is alive, can work till 55 or more, director fee and bonus... etc)

if i not mistaken..

then judge will check if how much responsibility for ur part and other party when thing happened.. if he's wrong, how wrong? 80% 60%?

normally insurance got max sum to cover.. if exceed, u need to get the driver pay? if he no money? get his company pay?? then another lawsuit.

Bikers are always at the losing end when it come to accidents

As if the injury is not bad enought, sometimes kenna bad motorshop / lawyer

kenna chop another round

So far, have not heard of any successful substantial claims of motorbike accidents, or if there's any, can bros here share

i claimed my accident for 13.5k

Crashed into a taxi because it made an illegal u-turn.

injuries= 1.deep laceration on my ankle,leaving 2 scars.

2.shoulders abrasion

Currently having problems with ankle due to nerve tissue tear.

case fought for almost 5 years.

http://a496.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images01/119/s_2345b6d13df204092e0daf13e2ada177.gif

Before-Vespa Px150

Before-Ktm Egs 200

Before-Yamaha Wr400 dirt/super-motard

Before-Yamaha Spark135

Before-Yamaha Yzf-R1 -02

Before-Suzuki Drzsm k9

Present-Yamaha 1982 RXK

Present-HD Nightster 2010

Looks like this thread is kinda quite already. However, Iv got something to share in another thread. Hope to get more enlightenments and we can learn something from it. Tanx. Heres the link http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=163467. Hope to get more inputs.

2004 - KTM200EGS / Wave 125S

2005 - XR400 / Wave 125S

2007 - CBR1000rr 07 / Wave 125S

2009 - Super 4 Vtec1 / Gilera ST200

2012 - Yamaha R6 12 / Yamaha YBR

Jus an upd on my case. Finally see some light on my case direction. The insurance house for the other party is offer $3XXXX (80% liability) in total for my case after the judge rule 80%/20% in my favor on Dec last yr. My lawyer will further negotiate on the fig n hopefully this case can end within this yr.:pray:

Sorry just to chk, is it true that the compensation fig (excluding medical fees/repair fees) u get, 15% will be going to your lawyer fee if your compensation amt is over 10K?

http://images.adrickloh.multiply.com/image/10/photos/18/500x500/15/DSC02203.JPG?et=kGUgEqN3OSljqAOX7c3ZqA&nmid=114339778

adr77 - u need to check with ur lawyer on that liao , sometimes if u hear the quote, say $3,xxxx from yr lawyer , chances are his fees have already factored in .. which means end of day , baring all other miscellaneous fees that might have already incurred , sum $3,xxxx is the final compensation.

Maybe i contribute my accident as well..happened in april 2004. Till now have not received any $$.

Was offered $1x,xxx, i find it kinda low considering the injuries i suffered. but i accepted coz there was no witness, TP gave open verdict. It was my words against hers.:angry: Female turning rite at junction, langared me while i gg str.

Injuries:Deep cut on rite foot,lacerations at face,shoulder, broken collar bone. Bike repair itself cost $1k+.

Now dunno wtf gg on,called lawyer ask lawyer y delay since other party aredy offered xx amount to settle. He say legal fees havnt settle.:faint:

Does this payment xxx need to go court 1st or will it be given direct to me.?

http://www.gifmania.dk/Spongebob/spongebob01.gif