hey guys out there. i am currently riding a runner. i would like to ask tht when im stopping, i apply my brakes. i depress the levers with quite a force but it 'drags' to quite a distance before it comes to a stop. doesnt tht means theres my brake pads are worn off or my brake disc needs to be change. cos i nid to depress really hard to shorten the distance abit to a stop. help help:faint:

• Replies 11

Did you just change your brake pads?

Did you blow compressed air at your brake pads?

Is your brake fluid within the fluid level resovoir?

You got to ask these questions first before you can proceed. For me, once in a while, i get my mech to blow out the brake dust from my brake pads. I need about a few days for them to "eat properly" and for them to work normally. When i ride out from the shop, i have very little braking power and i need to really press on my brakes. The same goes if i just changed my brake pads.

i am quite new to my runner. to be frank, i dont even know wheres my brake fluid reservoir. thts why i need help due to safety reasons.

You shld seriously just bring it down to your trusted workshop for troubleshoot. a good brake is very very important. meanwhile, pls ride slow and keep a longer travelling distance from the vehicle infront of you.

Hi Bros, any good recommendation for ST200 Gilera runner? Changed my rear brake pads but squeaky noisy sound when i apply brake.

might be the new brake pad getting use to the brake disc.

i have the same sound when i just changed my brake pad days back and the mechanic told me that. if you wan full assurance, just bring it back to the workshop lor

You shld seriously just bring it down to your trusted workshop for troubleshoot. a good brake is very very important. meanwhile, pls ride slow and keep a longer travelling distance from the vehicle infront of you.

might be the new brake pad getting use to the brake disc.

i have the same sound when i just changed my brake pad days back and the mechanic told me that. if you wan full assurance, just bring it back to the workshop lor

:thumb::thumb: Good advice. Yes best to bring it to a mech that you trust. Let them check it out. If you got experience, you can surely do it yourself. Try to learn from the mech while you are there, like how to change brake pads or even how to see if the pads have worn down.

might be your braking system leaking oil liao...check ur reservoir for any leaks 1st...

ah yes might be the braking system that is leaking! i have the same problem too and it was told to me by ahbeng from b*kew*rks. just check the seal beside the lever and if u see its oily then its likely to be ur brake system liao.

either change a long thing inside for 30+ but only for temporarily

change the whole pump kit which is 70+(for ta150). will differs for different rides.

you just got your bike? i would say if u have "metal rubbing against metal sound" it might be the pads have alrd worn to its limit. pls get it changed. also, removing the pads from the bike to inspect, is fairly easy. you can do it yourself with the right tools fairly easily and fast. do checkout youtube videos regarding removing the caliper. Here is a youtube video on how you can get it done yourself. or if u dun have the experience, i will recommend you to bring it down to your trusted mechanic. :)

http://i38.tinypic.com/2610xz6.jpg

T r i u m p h S t r e e t T r i p l e

If only i had the proper tools.. Maybe i would change.. But heck, if you buy just the pads, it may still cost the same with installation provided or just 2 to 5 dollars different without installation.. I will consider paying that extra 5 dollars rather then diy on my own and to find that my brake is not functioning well halfway throughout the ride.. LOL!

~~ WhEn AnGeL DeSerVeS tO diE ~~

~~ SearChinG FoR My LoSt SouL ~~

~~ To LiVe AnD LeT DiE ~~

~~ EveryOnE WaS BorN tO SerVe a PurPoSe ~~

06 Nov 2006 = Kawasaki KRR 150 //

03 Jun 2008 = Suzuki GSXR 400 //

12 Jan 2009 = Honda Wave 125 //

21 Aug 2010 = Honda Super 4 Spec 1 //