Hi!

i'm looking a scrambler as a 1st bike upon attaining my 2B. i'm eyeing on a Yamaha WR200 but have always been put off by peers for many reasons.

some info (i heard from them), Yamaha have stopped manufacturing WR200 models and the bike has been around for quite some time.

hence, it's not really worth getting one. instead, i was adviced to get a KTM instead. But (again) from any KTM riders, all have been complaining about higher maintainance, consumption and bad performance. the only good thing i have heard abt KTM is the looks.

do advice me.

As claimed, There's a need to drive when we have a Family. But all that is needed to ride is Dream... Many are still dreaming about it.

• Replies 21

bike will become obsolete meh .. if u really like ... i dun think this matters.... if u thinking of whether it is worth it in terms of resale value .. i think less than 2k depending on plate and coe ...... but then ..... u buy low sell low ... so no prob ... i am also thinking of getting a wr200 ... anyone knows if fuel consumption of sp more than wr?

~~~~~Class 3 :: 31 Oct 2002~~~~~

~~~~~Class 2B :: 21 Aug 2006~~~~~

~~~~~Class 2A :: 16 Oct 2006~~~~~

sp consumption will be better than wr. sp is a roadbike, wr is a dirtbike.

different category. :)

WR have a bulletproof engine. overhauling and rebuilding is cheap too. $700+ can do it liao.

i am keeping mine til COE and hopefully renew it.

i got other vehicles too.

but this bike can do dirt and still cruise easily on the highway.

low maintence too.

only thing i don't like is the 2t. but i love the 2stroke power it gives.

cheers!!

Originally posted by Nomad@Dec 13 2006, 02:23 PM

Hi!

i'm looking a scrambler as a 1st bike upon attaining my 2B. i'm eyeing on a Yamaha WR200 but have always been put off by peers for many reasons.

some info (i heard from them), Yamaha have stopped manufacturing WR200 models and the bike has been around for quite some time.

hence, it's not really worth getting one. instead, i was adviced to get a KTM instead. But (again) from any KTM riders, all have been complaining about higher maintainance, consumption and bad performance. the only good thing i have heard abt KTM is the looks.

do advice me.

Yes, WR200 has been around for quite sometime. But parts are still plentiful and cheap. So maintenance is not really a problem. Throw in good performance and handling, it's value for money.

Make no mistake about it. KTM 200 is a race ready bike with a great engine and suspension. Bad performance? Ha ha ha I can only say it's user problem. Setup correctly, it will smoke any WR anytime.

Since KTM 200 is a race ready bike that happens to be street legal, do you think a race bike will be low in maintenance and fuel consumption? Don't think such a machine has been invented yet.

Past: KDX200, LC4 400, LC4 620, GSXR750WR

Present: CBR900RRY, Gas Gas EC250, XR250L, XR250RV, XR400 (motard-ed), NX650 Dominator

dun compare road bikes with dirt bikes la..no matter what dirt bike (2 strokes of cos. dunno about 4-strokes) the fuel comsumption will be higher.

anyway about WRs..yup it is an old model but parts are still around..even if die2 cannot find u can always visit the scrap yard..lots of WR (FM, FN plate n soon maybe my FQ plate) are there...dun be put off by wat ur peers told u. ultimately its YOUR money n its YOUR problem..

they recommended u the KTM. all i can say is KTM is a very torquey n sexy dirt bike..lighter n corners better (took my frens KTM 200 EGS for a spin before thats why i know) but bear in mind its a race ready bike out of the box..n race ready stuffs (be it cars ,bikes, boats) the maintainence is definately higher..lots of TLC needed..

as for my WR, i've riden it at MX tracks (local n JB), went trailing, even "river-crossed" with it..when i reach home i jus parked n covered it. next morning i can still ride it to work..

Thanks ulysses_sc, minorsage & gorgonitz82,

appreciate your advices. ^_^

oh well, my needs for the bike is simple.

can play abit, transport abit, nice abit and maintainance also abit.

BSBH bike!

As claimed, There's a need to drive when we have a Family. But all that is needed to ride is Dream... Many are still dreaming about it.

thanks fritolay!

can't wait to get one myself.

can i ask... how did you get your WR?

from shop?

no prob ... actually thinking of getting a wr200 as well ... needs same as u ..... btw what is the cruising speed of wr200 like ? Pickup i know should be good .. but high end is it must rev the scram hard before can acheive 120km/h? Is it hard to maintain speed of around 100km/h? Btw scram no RPM meter rite? Looking forward to trailing if i really change bike ...keke

~~~~~Class 3 :: 31 Oct 2002~~~~~

~~~~~Class 2B :: 21 Aug 2006~~~~~

~~~~~Class 2A :: 16 Oct 2006~~~~~

i'll check it out.

bet it'll be tonnes of fun!

Dude, if you do get a WR, I'd advise you to NOT use the 2T box. Use premix instead. My WR200 (FM plate, back in 1999) had a 2T pump problem I didn't know about, until my piston jammed. Heart pain, pocket more pain.

After that incident I switched to premix for all my 2-strokers. Won't have such problems again!

yup...do convert premix..abit of a hassle but its worth it..

anyway about top end..i did managed to clear the meter when i was chased down old tampines road by some "design" guy on an X9..but u dun want to do that. the handlebar was shaking all over the place, one wrong move thats it.

about my bike i got it from a private seller. cheaper.

and nomad, it'll be alot of fun. especially when trailing in the jungles..

Overhaul, in layman's terms, means the process of removing your engine, stripping it down to the core, and putting it back together again.

Of course, we don't anyhow put back engines right? Replace those parts which are worn out, spoilt, etc with new or used parts lah, depending on availability of stock and budget.

Most people overhaul their engines only every 100,000km or 10years, some don't bother unless their engine seizes.

Engines can seize (jam) if poor or little maintenance is carried out on the bike. A well-maintained engine (regular oil and filter changes, etc) can help your engine last looooonger.

For example, if your piston jams up or your con-rod breaks, you WILL need an engine overhaul, to replace the broken piston parts or con-rod. If your engine simply won't start, sometimes a new spark plug might just do the trick.

Originally posted by desewer@Dec 17 2006, 06:42 AM

I wouldn't exactly agree 100% with that statement lah. I'll reply after work with my pros and cons of premix vs 2T box...

waiting for that..... can learn new things

cos also like to know deeper between premix n pump

Originally posted by desewer@Dec 17 2006, 06:42 AM

I wouldn't exactly agree 100% with that statement lah. I'll reply after work with my pros and cons of premix vs 2T box...

Sorry I took so long... Was looking for this thread but couldn't find it!

Anyway,

2T-box

Pros

1. One top-up can last almost a month.

2. 2T pump will ensure 2T always in the carb.

Cons

1. If 2T pump fails, carb gets no 2T, engine can seize.

2. The 2T gets only a short time in the carb to mix completely with the fuel. Sometimes the 2T does not mix completely and results in white smoke or oily deposits in your endcan.

3. At low RPMs, amount of 2T from pump is still too much for the volume of fuel/2T mixture. e.g. The 2T pump is designed to pump a minimum of 2ml at 2000RPM and cannot go any lower. If you are at 1000RPM, it will still pump 2ml, which is too much 2T for that engine speed. Thus resulting in more smoke and incomplete combustion. Which of course leads to loss of power.

4. If your 2T pump fails (and you won't know it since there's no tell-tale signs) your engine will start to spoil and will ultimately seize (happened to me :sian: )

Premix

Pros

1. 2T is always present in your fuel tank. A few shakes of the bike and it's almost completely mixed with the fuel.

2. You can ride assured knowing that you have the correct amount of 2T for your engine at ANY engine speed, since you had mixed it in after your last pump at the petrol kiosk.

3. Complete combustion of the petrol/air/2T mixture is achieved. Less white smoke (unless you use a low-grade 2T!) and even less oily deposits in your endcan.

Cons

1. Have to manually top-up the 2T into the tank after each petrol fill. Check the volume of petrol and measure 10-15ml per litre of petrol. E.g. if you pump 10litres of petrol, measure 100-150ml of 2T and pour into the tank.

2. If you forget to pour the 2T in, good luck to you.

3. Can't think of any more.

This list is compiled by myself after my years of riding experience on 2-stroke bikes. Some bros out there have more experience and perhaps might have something else to add on this issue.

Hope you learned something today! :smile:

wow.. dats great info man..

Had been searching ard for thread regarding this but cant find..

ThanKx for e explaination... :sweat:

:cheer: :smile:

I don't suffer from insanity,I enjoy every minute of it.

Burn Rubber not Your Soul !

Previous : Magma 125 , Krr150 , Spark Z 110 , RVF NC35 , R1 2003 , X1-R , Wave S , Subaru TS , Jazz GD1 , Z1000 , Kawasaki Ninja 250R , Kawasaki Ninja Zx10R

Current : Suzuki Swift :cheeky:

Originally posted by E_j@December 13, 2006 03:53 pm

dun compare road bikes with dirt bikes la..no matter what dirt bike (2 strokes of cos. dunno about 4-strokes) the fuel comsumption will be higher.

anyway about WRs..yup it is an old model but parts are still around..even if die2 cannot find u can always visit the scrap yard..lots of WR (FM, FN plate n soon maybe my FQ plate) are there...dun be put off by wat ur peers told u. ultimately its YOUR money n its YOUR problem..

they recommended u the KTM. all i can say is KTM is a very torquey n sexy dirt bike..lighter n corners better (took my frens KTM 200 EGS for a spin before thats why i know) but bear in mind its a race ready bike out of the box..n race ready stuffs (be it cars ,bikes, boats) the maintainence is definately higher..lots of TLC needed..

as for my WR, i've riden it at MX tracks (local n JB), went trailing, even "river-crossed" with it..when i reach home i jus parked n covered it. next morning i can still ride it to work..

hi.. u mention abt scrapyard ? any yard to recommend ??? i need the fairing and side stand to b repalced... tks !!!

Originally posted by richard_hi@February 04, 2007 02:12 pm

hi.. u mention abt scrapyard ? any yard to recommend ??? i need the fairing and side stand to b repalced... tks !!!

u can try at kranji. directions i'm not too sure :sorry: