The GSXR 600,750 & 1000 Hangout. Where All GSXR Riders Chill And Gather!!

dear guys, is the r1 2002-2003 model tyre size the same as the 2004-2008 ?

..or is it r6 tyre size ?

they are the same... 1998 to 2009. you can also use 180 for the rear for faster turn in.

All R1's come stock with the 190/50 rear tyres. The 09 R1 is coming with a 190/55 stock.

1000s come with 6 inch rims (we're talking rim width, here, not radius), so they can accept both 180 and 190 tyres.

600s come with 5.5 inch rims so they can only take 180s. If you squeeze a 190 onto it, you're gonna end up squishing the tyre such that you have a multi-radius curve. Not a pleasant or predictable cornering experience....

A 190 offers more contact patch over a 180 upright.

But the width is not the determining factor when it comes to lean angle or flicking. 190 tyres come in 2 profiles... 190/50 and 190/55. The 180 comes only in the standard 180/55.

http://image.sportrider.com/f/8604371/146-0302-tire5-01-zoom.jpg

It is this profile (it determines the curvature of the tyre) that affects your handling. For the most part, most of you when it comes to talking about 180 and 190, are talking about 180/55 vs 190/50.

That's why you'll say that the 190/50 is slower turning, and actually has LESS contact patch at max lean. Why slower turning and less contact patch at full lean? Because a 190/50 is a "flatter" tyre, so the 'gentler' curvature makes a more gradual turn in, and is not as optimal as a 180/55 at steep lean angles. You reach the edge of the rubber faster on a 190/50, where on a 180/55 you still have some allowance.

When you get a 190/55 you sort of get the best of both worlds. You get the contact patch of a 190, and the curvature of a 180, which means that at extreme lean your contact patch is still there.

The only minus point is the mass of the tyre.

Michelin Pilot Power 2CTs are the ones to look at if you want street compound 190/55. But do note that they will raise your ride height by about 10mm or so.

So if you're looking for a tyre, go for the 190/55. The turn in is just about as fast as the 180/55 'cos of the similar profile. Track tyres like the Power Race, Metz, Corsas should have them available.

For street tyres, I only know of the Pilot Power 2CTs that have them at this size. And they're very good road tyres too.

I swapped out my OEM tyres on day 1 for a 190/55 2CT when I got the new FZ. They're excellent in corners.

• Replies 82.9k

• milan

• TyrÃl

• lo-on

• MC28

yupz.. deep inside my heart.. there is yamaha... n of course rossi.. :cheeky:

Bro, somehow this sounds wrong. So gay... :lol:

All R1's come stock with the 190/50 rear tyres. The 09 R1 is coming with a 190/55 stock.

1000s come with 6 inch rims (we're talking rim width, here, not radius), so they can accept both 180 and 190 tyres.

600s come with 5.5 inch rims so they can only take 180s. If you squeeze a 190 onto it, you're gonna end up squishing the tyre such that you have a multi-radius curve. Not a pleasant or predictable cornering experience....

But the width is not the determining factor when it comes to lean angle or flicking. 190 tyres come in 2 profiles... 190/50 and 190/55. The 180 comes only in the standard 180/55.

It is this profile (it determines the curvature of the tyre) that affects your handling. For the most part, most of you when it comes to talking about 180 and 190, are talking about 180/55 vs 190/50.

That's why you'll say that the 190/50 is slower turning, and actually has LESS contact patch at max lean. Why slower turning and less contact patch at full lean? Because a 190/50 is a "flatter" tyre, so the 'gentler' curvature makes a more gradual turn in, and is not as optimal as a 180/55 at steep lean angles. You reach the edge of the rubber faster on a 190/50, where on a 180/55 you still have some allowance.

When you get a 190/55 you sort of get the best of both worlds. You get the contact patch of a 190, and the curvature of a 180, which means that at extreme lean your contact patch is still there.

Michelin Pilot Power 2CTs are the ones to look at if you want street compound 190/55. But do note that they will raise your ride height by about 10mm or so.

So if you're looking for a tyre, go for the 190/55. The turn in is just about as fast as the 180/55 'cos of the similar profile. Track tyres like the Power Race, Metz, Corsas should have them available.

For street tyres, I only know of the Pilot Power 2CTs that have them at this size. And they're very good road tyres too.

I swapped out my OEM tyres on day 1 for a 190/55 2CT when I got the new FZ. They're excellent in corners.

190/55 FTW! :thumb:

http://i184.photobucket.com/albums/x23/Tyrael7/Bike/sig.jpg

Btw for tiz coming Friday MeetUp, any Planz 2 go Over The Border for Supper Guys :confused:

Its been a while since We Gixxerz + [a few Yammies] go for an Outta S'pore Ride :bouncefire:

NSR 150 SP [FR5682H]: 7/7/04 - 15/11/05

GSX R400 RR [FL5988H]: 28/10/05 - 6/8/08

X1 Supreme [FBB4408Y]: 7/4/07 - 21/3/08

GSX R1000 K3 [FW9829A]: 27/9/07 - 20/2/08

GSX R1000 K7 [FBB??Z]: MIA o_O

GSX R1000 K8 [FBC????M]: 22/2/08 - 21/6/2013

125ZR [FBC 3720X]: 6/8/08 – 19/3/11

FJR 1300 ABS [FBC 3723M]: 21/6/2013

Sparks T135 [FBB 8146B]: 24/4/2015

Btw for tiz coming Friday MeetUp, any Planz 2 go Over The Border for Supper Guys :confused:

Its been a while since We Gixxerz + [a few Yammies] go for an Outta S'pore Ride :bouncefire:

makan nasi lemak ahk at sengkang (kulai) ...ai mai???:angel:suggest onli since i can't go...:cry:

Bro, somehow this sounds wrong. So gay... :lol:

hahaha.. no la fall in lup with the sound and the new technology of the engine.. + additional features like switchhing modes and gear indicator.. so worth the change to me..

Saw 2 female riders at PG. U must be one of them liao.... :)

So u r the one... Number 53. :cheeky:

I m the guy on gixxer with hooters design. Next track day will go n say halo to u..... :angel:

o... orange colour? so that's u... haha~ i thought i was a yamaha or honda...

seldom see suzuki on track days...

there r 3 ladies actually...

she's the one walking around in her husband's boxer... oopppss... haha~

er hmmm boxer's are cooling k, weather's so hot

Saw ur lady track companion @ PG this morning with JJ and another guy fren..

Hi fellow r1ers,

I saw this r1 07 black at hkl this am, it had those wrap around the entire length of the pipe, think it's for preventing heat buildup. Had seen some of this wrap on ducatis as well.

I don't have pic to show but hope you know what I meant.

Therefore I'm asking anyone here know what's the exact use of that wrap? And where can I get it?

Ben. R1 2006

the other day i start my bike can't start... tried a few times it started but then one headlight gone... is it loose connection or headlight fuse liao? how much is the damage huh?

ahlex@sgbikes

Saw ur lady track companion @ PG this morning with JJ and another guy fren..

they are hardcore

Hi fellow r1ers,

I saw this r1 07 black at hkl this am, it had those wrap around the entire length of the pipe, think it's for preventing heat buildup. Had seen some of this wrap on ducatis as well.

I don't have pic to show but hope you know what I meant.

Therefore I'm asking anyone here know what's the exact use of that wrap? And where can I get it?

Ben. R1 2006

If im not wrong its a thermo wrap. By any chance was the r1 using akrapovic exhaust?

Any1 using 190/55 on their r1s? need to find out if theres enough clearance b/w the hugger and the tyre.

FU2***L NSR 150 SP Pramac (RIP)

FBB 1***H Spark 135 Lmt Ed (RIP)

FZ4***B Aprilia RS125 (RIP)

FT3***J S4 Spec1 (RIP)

FG7***E RXZ (RIP)

FBD***** YZF-R1 (RIP)

FBD8***D YZF-R6 (RIP)

hahaha.. no la fall in lup with the sound and the new technology of the engine.. + additional features like switchhing modes and gear indicator.. so worth the change to me..

Which shop did you get it from? Care to share the interest rate and the price of the bike OTR minus the insurance premium??? :confused:

If im not wrong its a thermo wrap. By any chance was the r1 using akrapovic exhaust?

Any1 using 190/55 on their r1s? need to find out if theres enough clearance b/w the hugger and the tyre.

Confirm can one. It's only another few mm only.

If my FZ1 can take it, R1 confirm no prob.

the other day i start my bike can't start... tried a few times it started but then one headlight gone... is it loose connection or headlight fuse liao? how much is the damage huh?

does it have engine cranking noise?

Maybe batt prb

"But it ain't about how hard ya hit. It's about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward. Now if you know what you're worth then go out and get what you're worth."

makan nasi lemak ahk at sengkang (kulai) ...ai mai???:angel:suggest onli since i can't go...:cry:

Come my place here la. near Seng Kang also.. No need to stamp passport...:cool:

2002 - 2003 Yahama Tzr 125 (FH1687Z)

2003 - 2005 Honda Sp 150 (FR9672K)

2005 - 2007 Honda Cbr FireBlade 400 (FN543E)

2007 - 2010 Suzuki Gsx-R K7 1000 (AU222D)

2010 - 2011 Honda Civic FD2 (S*******)

http://i80.photobucket.com/albums/j165/honam24/Bikini%20Bike%20Wash/My%20Bike/IMG_2304copy.jpg

All the way across the board with no limitation

Bikini more cooling mah.... :angel:

No offence.... :cheeky:

http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c70/arrowbusa/hootersk5.jpg

http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c70/arrowbusa/IMG-0065-copy.jpg

can count me out. not going in msia until my bike stop eating ecstasy :cry:

Aprilia RS 125

Honda NSR 150SP

Honda CBR 400RRR

Suzuki GSXR 1000K4

KIA Cerato Forte 1.6SX

Mitsubishi Lancer EX 2.0GT

Yamaha YZF-R6 12

Bikini more cooling mah.... :angel:

No offence.... :cheeky:

ya but no one wants to see a pig in bikini...ppl go to track to enjoy so am not abt to hurt anyone's eyesight.

they are the same... 1998 to 2009. you can also use 180 for the rear for faster turn in.

oh...ic.......thanks alot for the info guys !! :)

I also think its thermo wrap, but where can we get it? That r1 was using arrow endcans.

can count me out. not going in msia until my bike stop eating ecstasy :cry:

sent ya bike to rehab lah..cnfrm2 it will stop taking ecstacy...learn it lesson liao... :lol:

Come my place here la. near Seng Kang also.. No need to stamp passport...:cool:

ya hor..punggol got kopitiam mah...e hor fun there shiok sia....:angel:

Edited by MS-13
could be that your plug is faulty ....

huh??? plug faulty??? buts its BRAND new and i was there when the mechanic fix it up.... :slapforehead:

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3487/3316074269_1d51b46f97.jpg

R u Looking At The Babe Or The Bike o_O

sent ya bike to rehab lah..cnfrm2 it will stop taking ecstacy...learn it lesson liao... :lol:

ya hor..punggol got kopitiam mah...e hor fun there shiok sia....:angel:

You wan to come ma, i drive car Long ban you? :shy:

wah sengkang... near2 to my place also....

Oh you lived in there area also?

2002 - 2003 Yahama Tzr 125 (FH1687Z)

2003 - 2005 Honda Sp 150 (FR9672K)

2005 - 2007 Honda Cbr FireBlade 400 (FN543E)

2007 - 2010 Suzuki Gsx-R K7 1000 (AU222D)

2010 - 2011 Honda Civic FD2 (S*******)

http://i80.photobucket.com/albums/j165/honam24/Bikini%20Bike%20Wash/My%20Bike/IMG_2304copy.jpg

All the way across the board with no limitation

oh...ic.......thanks alot for the info guys !! :)

Note that if you use a slightly taller profile to replace your stock tyre, your speedo will read slighly lower speed that what you are actually doing. But should be quite negligible from 50 to 55.

huh??? plug faulty??? buts its BRAND new and i was there when the mechanic fix it up.... :slapforehead:

Your problem happens after you replace the plugs.... Since you mentioned that the connection is ok, then the only culprit left is the plug itself.

Get the shop that replaces the plug to double check if the plugs are working.

Edited by Aie
http://img62.imageshack.us/img62/5999/sbfsignature.jpg