hello people.can anyone suggest which line shld i tak up?

SingTel,Hub and M1 ?

This is my first time getting a moblie broadband..some people told me SingTel is better den Hub and vice versa~

opinions?

thks alot~

Riding isn't my hobby.When i ride,i feel at one with my bike.It's a passion,a way of life. .

Unlike a car driver,a biker is exposed to the wind,rain,heat,flying insects and vehicle fumes,all which make the ride a total sensory experience.

The control and foucs needed on the road remove all cares from my mind,while negotiating sharp bends is the most exhilarating and exciting. . .

• Replies 117

Go for M1 1MB plan.

Now @ 50% off during PC Show.

Only pay $11.21 a month for unlimited access.

Just hooted 1 set yesterday and with my multi-line 4 hit ultimate death combo power, i get additional 35% on top of the 50%.

So i now will only need to pay about $7.20 every month for 2 years !

Hahahahaha !

This is my first time getting a moblie broadband..some people told me SingTel is better den Hub and vice versa~

So far no issues with connection speed on StarHub MaxMobile, but there are issues DNS'ing Friendster and NS.SG ... These sites either load partially, or have to be refreshed till it loads.

I'm having difficulty with my Singtel mio box. LAN works fine, but when using wireless, I'm able to connect, but keep getting DNS error, thus unable to load most websites, and unable to log onto MSN. Connection keeps dropping too.

I'm very sure this is the MIO box problem, because I've went as far as to purchase a new wireless receiver. Tested with two laptops and an iPhone too, which works perfectly on other networks.

Anyone with similar problems with the MIO box? The best advice I've gotten so far is to go back to Starhub. :(

Still have your old wireless router lying around somewhere? If not, can borrow one, and try to setup another wireless network with the wireless router plugged into the MIO box.

If this second wireless network is OK, then bring the issue up with the Singtel MIO support? They should be able to troubleshoot further.

Alternatively, try using another wireless channel. Might be the case of over-congestion in the channel, causing too much interference.

I'm having difficulty with my Singtel mio box. LAN works fine, but when using wireless, I'm able to connect, but keep getting DNS error, thus unable to load most websites, and unable to log onto MSN. Connection keeps dropping too.

I'm very sure this is the MIO box problem, because I've went as far as to purchase a new wireless receiver. Tested with two laptops and an iPhone too, which works perfectly on other networks.

Anyone with similar problems with the MIO box? The best advice I've gotten so far is to go back to Starhub. :(

I have a Mio Box at home too and have made a couple of observations:

Unless if all my WiFi enabled equipment maintains line-of-sight with that router, my sister's complaining of dropped connections and MSN too, my BlackBerry smartphone can't maintain a constant wireless connection with it, an Apple computer shows that it's picking up a strong WiFi signal from the Mio Box, the next few minutes it drops it altogether.

But in between, wireless is okay, if not erroneously dropping to a slow and weak signal sometimes.

Because of all these, there's another router in my house that I'd like to test out to see if the Mio box is not performing as expected. But again, I'm busy lately so testing's being put off for later.

i also got problem with mio box.... my itouch just can't connect to it... this mio box is driving me crazy with new problems everyday....

You can't connect to it at all :confused:

==============================================

As a last resort, if you guys don't mind being a bit adventurous, perhaps a reset may help?

Do take note that this action will 'detach' your computers in your home from your Mio box. They won't have access to your Mio box and thus the internet unless somebody connects to it using a computer with an Ethernet cable to fix this issue.

If you ever decide to go this path and if you have some network know-how (and I emphasize on that due to many experiences with frustrated people), the details to gain access to the Mio Box are these:

IP Address to access the Mio Box (2Wire 2701HGV-E, white colour)

IP Address to be set on the LAN-wired PC or laptop attempting to access the Mio Box

192.168.1.____*

* This can be any number except "0", "1", or "255"

Subnet Mask for both:

One more thing to add, from chuan.z comment:

The close proximity to a 2.4GHz equipment such as cordless phone(s) and even an operating microwave oven can cause WiFi interference too. Try to switch those off to see if that resolves the issue.

Horrible piece of.....electronic garbage!

Of all the websites that refuse to load, 192.168.1.254 loads only 1 out of 3 attempts. Even google loads faster.....

Sounds like its firmware is misbehaving.

I'd try a reset of the Mio Box if I were you.

No more freebie routers! I'm going for the brand-name routers in the future should I decide to upgrade my Internet plan :sian:

Just to confirm, you tried on wireless or wired? If it's wired, then probably like readbeacon said, the firmware screw liao.

Can try:

- hard reset (reset to factory condition)

- call Singtel and kpkb until they do the firmware flash for you or replace the siao unit (if still under warranty)

call mio... they will ask their contractor to replace ur box for free...

Ex bikes ~ Yamaha X1, Honda Phantom TA150

Bajaj Pulsar 200 ~~~ 14/09/11 - ???

http://img19.imageshack.us/img19/1871/dsc0087zjc.jpg

Blue Pulsar with Orange sprocket.. Cool???

Actually if you really wanna change out of it, the only thing is to purchase a linksys adsl2+ router the cheapest i think is $105 if you get from challenger.. Remember to get an ADSL router not their normal routers which connects to modems..

But of cuz, why get a new one if you got an exisiting one.. Hmm..

1. Upgrade firmware (if i'm not wrong currently there is no new firmware for mio routers)

2. Call singnet and complain until they change for you..

Haha how come i know, cos a lot of my clients called and complain to me about slow access, cannot get new user to join, cannot detect another PC, etc.. hmm..

For normal DSL users, what can be done is to change your network equipment to a dedicated aDSL2+ compliant modem + a router.

Been using this setup for years with my SNBB 10mbps with little problems.

For MIO, as your voice line also depends on it, i guess users are sort of stuck with that box, unless you give up using the voice line.

For normal DSL users, what can be done is to change your network equipment to a dedicated aDSL2+ compliant modem + a router.

Been using this setup for years with my SNBB 10mbps with little problems.

For MIO, as your voice line also depends on it, i guess users are sort of stuck with that box, unless you give up using the voice line.

wat about miotv? change the router still can watch? i have this mio box...i don use wireless as i wired up 2 pc ...keep having the page cannot load error..happens daily on and off..very irritating.

my previous 3mbps plan does not have such problem and it runs faster than my now 6mbps plan.**** up.

wat about miotv? change the router still can watch? i have this mio box...i don use wireless as i wired up 2 pc ...keep having the page cannot load error..happens daily on and off..very irritating.

my previous 3mbps plan does not have such problem and it runs faster than my now 6mbps plan.**** up.

For those on MIO, you are basically stuck with that 2wire box.

Actually after many talks with my clients and router configs, i find that 2wire routers really aren't very good. For basic use of cuz it's ok, but for users whom users port forwarding, LAN configs, DDNS setup, try not to use 2wire mio routers.

Spend some money get an after market tested and proven routers like linksys, d-link, etc.. But of cuz do more research on what kinda routers you really need as there are super lot of diff types in the market.

After many weeks of fruitless attempts at all sorts of settings, I gave up and left it back as it were.

Now, suddenly, everything is stable again, and I didn't touch any settings recently. So what now, I didn't modify any settings or any other variables (electronic devices, position of MIO box etc...), so is it the ISP side?

So much for an 'upgrade'! Give me back my good ol 3MBPS plan please.

After many weeks of fruitless attempts at all sorts of settings, I gave up and left it back as it were.

Now, suddenly, everything is stable again, and I didn't touch any settings recently. So what now, I didn't modify any settings or any other variables (electronic devices, position of MIO box etc...), so is it the ISP side?

So much for an 'upgrade'! Give me back my good ol 3MBPS plan please.

If you wanna solve the settings and status,check status,you type in ur url 192.168.1.254 gateway,from there you can see ur status ,connect /disconnect,password settings,channel change,ssid broadcast and etc.remember i tried to ard 4 wireless pheripheral,it is working just that the bandwidth is small,why the MIO box is useless to some,casue the intended use is usually for MIO TV enjoyment and internet is just an extra purpose.giving MIO Box is for sudden potiential customers who wanna subscribe.

And as for itouch/iphone users ,do remember to set ur password to ur device or ur mac add to the MIO settings.

But do remember sometimes if you change simple things like SSID or password,if it hangs or not status is not connected.do call the helpdesk cause sometimes they have to auhenticate.:thumb:gd luck

http://media.techeblog.com/elephant//ul/5966-450x-ims_2.jpg

This Ain't No SaTellitE Navi..It FraGS You The 2mile RadIus

If you wanna solve the settings and status,check status,you type in ur url 192.168.1.254 gateway,from there you can see ur status ,connect /disconnect,password settings,channel change,ssid broadcast and etc.remember i tried to ard 4 wireless pheripheral,it is working just that the bandwidth is small,why the MIO box is useless to some,casue the intended use is usually for MIO TV enjoyment and internet is just an extra purpose.giving MIO Box is for sudden potiential customers who wanna subscribe.

And as for itouch/iphone users ,do remember to set ur password to ur device or ur mac add to the MIO settings.

But do remember sometimes if you change simple things like SSID or password,if it hangs or not status is not connected.do call the helpdesk cause sometimes they have to auhenticate.:thumb:gd luck

Bro, thats the address for the 'Singtel' setup page. I'm playing with the 2wire advanced configuration page.

http://gateway.2wire.net/mdc

go flash ur firmware..am using MIO box..no issue...if u are using the new version of MIO box. problem is cause by ur wep encryption....dun use encryption...set to mac address instead.

25 Nov 2003 - 24 Nov 2004 (FS6087P) (NSR SP)

24 Nov 2004 - 28 Feb 2006 (FJ7457X & FJ*5**) (Hurricane & Vespa PX200)

01 Mar 2006 - 04 Jul 2006 (FS9367L, FJ7457X & FJ*5**)(CBR 919 RRW, Hurricane &Vespa PX200)

04 Jul 2006 - 13 Jun 2011 (FV8507R & FJ*5**)(Suzuki K2 & Vespa PX200)

13 Jun 2011 - Till Now (X1)

15 Jan 2013 - 10 Sept 2015 (FBG9588B)(GTR1400 2013)

m1 for me very slow need to refresh often.. then i use my gf starhub much better.. ya starhub very strict on overdue bills..

Do Not Speed