Originally posted by RT+Feb 16 2005, 11:49 AM-->
QUOTE (RT @ Feb 16 2005, 11:49 AM)
lucky you, able take leave ..dun noe about the rest of the fellas here but I started work on the 3rd day of CNY :weep: [/b]

Hey RT, hope this makes you feel better, I started work on the 2nd day..... :giddy: As a matter of fact, this is the first Reunion dinner that I had with me family in three years without either rushing to night shift or rushing home from day shift...... :giddy: sianz!!!

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b193/KohTL/1098/signature.jpg

The years thunder by.

The drams of youth grow dim where they lie caked in dust on the shelves of patience.

Before we know it, the tomb is sealed.

Where, then, lies the answer?

In choice. Which shall it be: bankruptcy of purse or bankruptcy of life?

- Sterling Haden, Voyage, 1976

Originally posted by pinglong@Feb 16 2005, 12:19 PM

Sigh...work will never end. So as much as I can, 'slot' in as much fun as I can. heh heh heh.

Yeah, didn't 'touch' Bertha for 3-4 days. So yesterday, on my way back to SG, I was on 2nd link from Perling to GP toll when I went all the way to 180km/h. It was around 9pm. Not many vehicles on the highway. The moment it touches 180km/h, I released the throttle already. Phew.....nervous...but shiok.... hahahah.

GSGabes, how was your east coast trip?

East Coast is fantastic as usual. Great view, Great corners (treacherous ones sometimes), metal met the tarmac, Bad accomodation experience in Cherating, Great Brand new Kuantan Highway, long sweeping bends at Karak and a cool ride up Genting Highlands.. :lovestruck:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v210/FazeGabes/MISC/R1200GSASignature.jpg

We must ADJUST to an Ever changing Road...while holding onto unchanging principles.... :angel:

Originally posted by SDR+Feb 16 2005, 12:34 PM-->
QUOTE (SDR @ Feb 16 2005, 12:34 PM)
Did you guys notice tt there's a blue and white tentage after entrance into GP toward spore? [/b]

Yeah, the Royal Malaysian Police had this Ops Sikap VIII to nab speeeding motorists. I saw those tents myself while travelling to KL with my wife (we drove). I counted at least 10 of them from JB to KL. Naturally, we behaved ourselves. Never exceed 110km/h at all. heh :cheeky:

Now that the festive season is over, so is their ops, hopefully. Hopefully I'm clear coz I really didn't notice anymore tents or patrols. Otherwise, I think I just committed a serious offence last night. hahaha

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a140/pinglong/R1200RT_R1200GSA_top_back_on_back.jpg

Hi bikers,

Just wondering anyone or anyone have friends wanna let go his/her GS bikes?? Any shops selling 2nd hand GS bikes?? Indeed it's a good bike thus seems pretty hard to find a 2nd hand one... new one is too ex for me...

Originally posted by bakgua@Feb 16 2005, 03:27 PM

Hi bikers,

Just wondering anyone or anyone have friends wanna let go his/her GS bikes?? Any shops selling 2nd hand GS bikes?? Indeed it's a good bike thus seems pretty hard to find a 2nd hand one... new one is too ex for me...

which model are you looking for? R100, 1100 or 1150?

there's one black 1100 in the classifieds section and a yellow 1150 which was advertised in last week's papers..

as for those here, we just got ours so unlikely it'll be up for sale.. the fun's only just begun....hee.hee, rite guys?:smile:

Originally posted by RT@Feb 16 2005, 04:08 PM

as for those here, we just got ours so unlikely it'll be up for sale.. the fun's only just begun....hee.hee, rite guys?:smile:

The party's just begun!! http://jkhouw.smugmug.com/photos/15658754-M-1.gif

The years thunder by.

The drams of youth grow dim where they lie caked in dust on the shelves of patience.

Originally posted by pinglong@Feb 16 2005, 03:24 PM

Yeah, the Royal Malaysian Police had this Ops Sikap VIII to nab speeeding motorists. I saw those tents myself while travelling to KL with my wife (we drove). I counted at least 10 of them from JB to KL. Naturally, we behaved ourselves. Never exceed 110km/h at all. heh :cheeky:

Now that the festive season is over, so is their ops, hopefully. Hopefully I'm clear coz I really didn't notice anymore tents or patrols. Otherwise, I think I just committed a serious offence last night. hahaha

Whoa....u went up to Genting Highlands?? Envy envy. Any issue with the big heavy bike? What abt on the way down? What's ur fuel consumption like?

Oh yes. Genting. No issue for the beemers really. ur RT will handle well on the hills despite the weight. No problem. Just try and u will know. :thumb:

We must ADJUST to an Ever changing Road...while holding onto unchanging principles.... :angel:

Originally posted by SDR@Feb 16 2005, 04:01 PM

Pumping petrol 2nite and makan @ Perling or Senai, let you guys know if the tent still there.

SDR,

U bo jio u!!! Go urself!!! :nono: :hungry:

Dude, Sunday Breakfast would be mosst appropriate! :hungry:

Weekdays difficult actually. :) Work work work. o_O

This Sunday Breakfast where? Any suggestions? :hungry:

Originally posted by GSGabes@Feb 16 2005, 06:17 PM

Dude, Sunday Breakfast would be mosst appropriate! :hungry:

Weekdays difficult actually. :) Work work work. o_O

This Sunday Breakfast where? Any suggestions? :hungry:

Yeah, Sunday sounds good..where you guys heading?

later, gonna check out for you if the LWR dvd is still available...

yo guys i also hav the long way round dvd if anyone wans 2 burn a copy juz let me knoe k thanx ;)

Originally posted by SDR@Feb 16 2005, 08:42 PM

Sunday breakfast - Pinglong, free? Shall we hv BKT?

allrightey fellas. Sunday BKT sounds good.

Wait for you guys at Esso GP (after the toll), 9 am, then I lead the way?

Sunday, 19 Feb 05

0900 hrs

Esso GP (After toll)

Bikers:

1) PL

2) SDR

3) RT

4) GSGabes

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a140/pinglong/R1200RT_R1200GSA_top_back_on_back.jpg
Originally posted by bakgua@Feb 16 2005, 03:27 PM

Hi bikers,

Hey Bakgua, welcome to the world of boxers n tele/paralevers :smile:

Before we could help u look out for one, wat s your budget like ?

Have u done your research on the avail models and wat has caught your attention?

Well, if u like the GS1150 look but have limited budget, get a GS11 n go over to M-Technik. U can have a GS1150 beak fitted on easily for $350 inclusive of paintwork n installation.

If u have a budget cap till $20k, u can look for GS1150 that s abt 3 - 4 yrs old. Couple of my frens recently bought FU platers for as low as $18.5k. As for mileage, it really depends on luck.

If u r trying out the Beemer for the first time, i suggest tat u look for a GS11 as your downside will be pretty limited. If u like it, then u consider upgrading maybe ?

Originally posted by koma@Feb 16 2005, 10:18 PM

yo guys i also hav the long way round dvd if anyone wans 2 burn a copy juz let me knoe k thanx ;)

WAH LAU EH KOMA.... early early dun say!!! Burn me a copy leh! Sav some $$ kekekeke.... :sweat:

Breakfast Breakfast wooohoooo!!

Originally posted by GSGabes@Feb 17 2005, 01:02 AM

WAH LAU EH KOMA.... early early dun say!!! Burn me a copy leh! Sav some $$ kekekeke.... :sweat:

Breakfast Breakfast wooohoooo!!

hehe can anyone here hav a dvd burner? then can make copies forall the guys. i watched it 2 times within 1 week, the book i left 50 page onli :p knn make me so gian wan go mongolia~~~siberia~~~road of bones~~~ most of all gian me buy that freaking last gs1150 adventure in pml~!!! :p

Originally posted by koma@Feb 17 2005, 03:15 AM

hehe can anyone here hav a dvd burner? then can make copies forall the guys. i watched it 2 times within 1 week, the book i left 50 page onli :p knn make me so gian wan go mongolia~~~siberia~~~road of bones~~~ most of all gian me buy that freaking last gs1150 adventure in pml~!!! :p

Tried to make a backup on me iMac and Toast on 4.2G blanks but it didn't work out, says it needed 7+G capacity......... not sure if me burner can handle duo desinty burnt......

PingLong, any idea??

The years thunder by.

Originally posted by GSGabes@Feb 17 2005, 01:02 AM

Koma, I dun mind having a copy too.. thxs :smile:

Originally posted by cyclop@Feb 17 2005, 06:44 AM

Tried to make a backup on me iMac and Toast on 4.2G blanks but it didn't work out, says it needed 7+G capacity......... not sure if me burner can handle duo desinty burnt......

PingLong, any idea??

I'm not an iMac guy, man. So, not familiar with what you're facing :sorry:

In fact, haven't try burning DVD b4 myself.

Originally posted by GS1200@Feb 17 2005, 01:00 AM

Hey Bakgua, welcome to the world of boxers n tele/paralevers :smile:

Before we could help u look out for one, wat s your budget like ?

Have u done your research on the avail models and wat has caught your attention?

Well, if u like the GS1150 look but have limited budget, get a GS11 n go over to M-Technik. U can have a GS1150 beak fitted on easily for $350 inclusive of paintwork n installation.

If u have a budget cap till $20k, u can look for GS1150 that s abt 3 - 4 yrs old. Couple of my frens recently bought FU platers for as low as $18.5k. As for mileage, it really depends on luck.

If u r trying out the Beemer for the first time, i suggest tat u look for a GS11 as your downside will be pretty limited. If u like it, then u consider upgrading maybe ?

Thanks GS1200,

Actually was looking for a GS bike somewhere not more than $20k. Saw the Ad last Sat regarding a Yellow GS selling for $24k kind of on the high side for me. Initially wanted a new fjr but on 2nd thoughts maybe get a 2nd hand GS for less than $20k would be more economical for me. Unfortunately, GS bikes has been in a great demand nowadays. Guess i have to be be patient....:smile:

Originally posted by SDR@Feb 17 2005, 12:10 PM

Yamaha introduced the TDM850 in the late 80s, very successful till today but not a true offroad and seem it is not a choice for riders who prepare to tour the globe,

I believe it all boils down to the attitude and mentality of the riders and pillions, not the bike. Almost any bike with a reasonable capacity and capability would make a RTW trip. The airheads had a good reputation of holding up well bcoz those guys who rode them had an adventure attitude in them. And once their success is heard...more people joined the bandwagon using bikes that were 'proven'. I am a GS fan myself as well and just love the spirit of adv touring. :thumb: for all u beemer owners. Seems like BKT is the 'in' thing with u guys. VARA guys are the prata folks etc....:sweat:

:offtopic: Its not a beemer RTW but a couple on a TDM850 :thumb:

http://www.horizonsunlimited.com/tstories/richardandlisa/

Yamaha WR200

Ducati Monster 400/540

Yamaha TDM850

Yamaha TDM900

BMW R1150GS

Suzuki Djebel 250XC

Suzuki Vstrom 650 ABS

Ducati Hyperstrada 821

Originally posted by cyclop@Feb 17 2005, 06:44 AM

PingLong, any idea??

using the latest iMac G5? I dun think the superdrive supports dual layer DVDs. Using the latest Toast titanium? It supports DVD -R if I am not wrong. I dun have a superdrive on my iBook. But you can check with those mac experts here: http://www.macusersg.org/forums/index.php

Yamaha WR200

Ducati Monster 400/540

Yamaha TDM850

Yamaha TDM900

BMW R1150GS

Suzuki Djebel 250XC

Suzuki Vstrom 650 ABS

Ducati Hyperstrada 821

Originally posted by barracuda@Feb 17 2005, 02:15 PM

:offtopic: Its not a beemer RTW but a couple on a TDM850 :thumb:

http://www.horizonsunlimited.com/tstories/richardandlisa/

dats right...happened to see them at cherating while a few of us were there last year..trusty old bike dat bugger...

eh barra, the beemers are BKT, varas are pratas, den u leh? kekek..hope to see ya back soon...

hope to see the beemers joining us for pratas too..:hungry:

...home is where the front of my wheel is. - striking viking

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2066/2077175805_ba8dd2dcfa_m.jpg http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2074/2077981830_a5948902e2_m.jpg

Originally posted by barracuda@Feb 17 2005, 02:15 PM

Seems like BKT is the 'in' thing with u guys. VARA guys are the prata folks etc....:sweat:

Actually, we haven't got the opportunity to chomp down on a good meal of BKT yet.

Our first attempt.....failed. LOL. This is our 2nd try.

Just want to have a steady and gentle ride on our bikes into JB, have a nice breakfast, and then back to SG.

Maybe other non-Beemers like urself who's been following this BMW topic closely would like to join us too? I'm sure nobody objects as long as the group is not too big, no one tries to be hero/daredevil with their bikes tries to come along. We're all very matured and mellowed ppl in here, right SDR? :thumb:

SDR's wife is coming along. You can bring your partner too.

So far there's only 4 bikes.

1) PL

2) SDR & WIFE

3) RT

4) GSGabes

Add to the list if u r interested so we know who to wait for.

And what abt Cyclop, GS1200 & Koma? U guys, how?

Koma, haven't seen your GS yet leh.

Originally posted by bakgua@Feb 17 2005, 11:23 AM

...... Saw the Ad last Sat regarding a Yellow GS selling for $24k kind of on the high side for me. .......

Hey GS1200, is that the one that I was refering too previously? The one with the Corbin and Staintune stuff? If it is, then 24K is worth considering.

The years thunder by.

Originally posted by barracuda@Feb 17 2005, 02:22 PM

using the latest iMac G5? I dun think the superdrive supports dual layer DVDs. Using the latest Toast titanium? It supports DVD -R if I am not wrong. I dun have a superdrive on my iBook. But you can check with those mac experts here: http://www.macusersg.org/forums/index.php

Nah, first generation iMac on G4 and Toast 5. I think thr drive is a Pioneer -R.

The years thunder by.