Originally posted by cyclop@Mar 8 2005, 01:16 PM

I think the earlier models shouldn't be a problem. Its only the new ones which utilise Can Bus technology that might be a challenge if you have an electronic/control issue. You'll need the diagnostic kit to troubleshoot the fault. I don't think the other shops will invest in such a tool. Mechanical work shouldn't be an issue.

yah man pretty sums it up tat outside mechs r capable of doin the 1100s n 1150s

Guest GS1200
Originally posted by cyclop@Mar 8 2005, 01:01 PM

Aiyah, call Chua's PR Manager can oleady, hek hek hek..... Yo GS1200, can help our brother out? :help:

Roger tat Bradders, so its cfm one for Cyclops n one for Koma :smile:

Guest GS1200
Originally posted by barracuda@Mar 8 2005, 12:37 PM

How 'electronic' is the 1150GS? still NEED P?L's million dollar mumbo jumbo electronic komputer? Like SDR, I dun mind paying for good service even if it NON-P?L as long as they can do the job rite.

I have yet to see a dual spark 1150GS launched by BMW in 2003. Did P?L ever bring in this edition? Also dun see them going out on the classifieds scene.

Am I right to say spare parts are still LL for all beemers? Have no choice but P?L? Even Stamford etc gets from them?

Hey Barra, here i go again....:sleep:

1. Electronic damages most severe, ECU board (approx $2000), ABS Unit (Approx $3000), Hall Sensor (Approx $600)

2. Other major repairs I know of, Clutch plate system (Approx $1,200) n Starter Motor (approx $800)

3. Twin spark ones had been launch n brought in but very limited pieces. There is one demo bike now at agent tats twin spark. Mileage 17000, 'seems' very well maintained but zero accessories. Probably dont c them in ads cos still new n if sell now sure lose big time :help:

4. Spares parts still available, even for old bikes but waiting period of 45 days. Oso subjected to mercy of euro, so I normally buy them first n keep :cheeky:

Originally posted by GS1200@Mar 8 2005, 05:54 PM

Roger tat Bradders, so its cfm one for Cyclops n one for Koma :smile:

thanks gs1200, sian $$ damage again`~~ :p

Originally posted by GS1200@Mar 8 2005, 06:27 PM

Hey PL, agree with u totally :smile: If only they can be much more professional, i m sure more beemer owners will go back even if they pay a premium :confused:

1 word... "worksmanship"

if their worksmanship is gd i dun mind payin abit more but i hate the hassle to clear the same problem again n again n waste my time cause of poor worksmanship.

thats y i go outside n do my bike cause of their worksmanship

Originally posted by GS1200@Mar 8 2005, 06:15 PM

Hey Barracuda, I tink I have seen u right ? U r the one riding a blue TDM900 if I m not worng :smile:

Hahaha, think you got me mixed up with other TDM owners :giddy: Yup, we've met and chatted b4 @ chua & chan's place. Mine is the full black TDM with thai 'corbin' seat & junior panniers, etc :sweat: You always ride your other bike there compared to your beemer although I've seen your beemer there too :thumb:

Thanks for all the inputs. Currently still overseas. Will try to hunt for a BMW when I return and looking at my budget, the new 1200GS is a little out of reach and the complex electronic stuff on that bike scares me. Probably a 1150GS Non Adv model would suit me better (Prefer the non-adv gearing coz I like the overdrive). Do keep me posted if any of your beemer kakis wanna let go. Prefer stock condition and no mandarin colour please :smile:

Yamaha WR200

Ducati Monster 400/540

Yamaha TDM850

Yamaha TDM900

BMW R1150GS

Suzuki Djebel 250XC

Suzuki Vstrom 650 ABS

Ducati Hyperstrada 821

Originally posted by barracuda@Mar 9 2005, 03:15 AM

Hahaha, think you got me mixed up with other TDM owners :giddy: Yup, we've met and chatted b4 @ chua & chan's place. Mine is the full black TDM with thai 'corbin' seat & junior panniers, etc :sweat: You always ride your other bike there compared to your beemer although I've seen your beemer there too :thumb:

Thanks for all the inputs. Currently still overseas. Will try to hunt for a BMW when I return and looking at my budget, the new 1200GS is a little out of reach and the complex electronic stuff on that bike scares me. Probably a 1150GS Non Adv model would suit me better (Prefer the non-adv gearing coz I like the overdrive). Do keep me posted if any of your beemer kakis wanna let go. Prefer stock condition and no mandarin colour please :smile:

will keep a lookout for u bro ;)

Originally posted by GSGabes@Mar 9 2005, 03:08 AM

To cut the Long story short yah.

I am not going back to the agent to service.

Disappointed with the Valve clearance not done, spark plugs are due to changed but not changed, Trottle body sync was out, and brake fluid flush was not done properly. Plus Chris is a walking mistake in the office. I really wonder if his technical training has gone down the drain. Said something that surprised me... I'm not a fool and a technical idiot...... he thought he could fool me but he was wrong man.... :smile:

Empty promises....

Parts we are all still under the mercy of the agent and the euro.... :help:

yah man, bo bian. knn gabes so late stil haben zz ah :p me tml no need work leh u leh?? goin dwn bike shops n do my stuff tml will pop by m-tech in the evenin take sometin frm my fren n tok cok sing song awhile sun bian order manual frm chua

finally got some pics frm the touratech dealers for the desireto raylle fairings same as the normal desireto thought was different. really helpful ppl they purposely go dwn n take a photo of the stuff i enquired for me. knn nber buy anytin frm them sure kill me ask so much :p anyway got tis for the benifits of other GS owners who might be intersted in the lit as the touratech catalouges n websites dun hav a gd pic of tis kit

Looks totally awesome man! I ever saw a SGP silver 1150 adv fitted with this desireto raylle fairing. He frequents mtechnik as well :thumb:

Yamaha WR200

Ducati Monster 400/540

Yamaha TDM850

Yamaha TDM900

BMW R1150GS

Suzuki Djebel 250XC

Suzuki Vstrom 650 ABS

Ducati Hyperstrada 821

Originally posted by koma+Mar 9 2005, 03:35 AM-->
QUOTE (koma @ Mar 9 2005, 03:35 AM)
really helpful ppl they purposely go dwn n take a photo of the stuff i enquired for me[/b]

See lah, they entertain overseas customers so well. What is our local agent doing, man? If they're up to this standard, I'm sure my monthly pay check will go to them first. Then only I'll think of how to settle my daily 3-meal with the change.

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a140/pinglong/R1200RT_R1200GSA_top_back_on_back.jpg
Originally posted by koma@Mar 9 2005, 03:36 AM

another pic

Yo Koma, any shots of full side view? See if I can do some visualization for you... :thumb:

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b193/KohTL/1098/signature.jpg

The years thunder by.

The drams of youth grow dim where they lie caked in dust on the shelves of patience.

Before we know it, the tomb is sealed.

Where, then, lies the answer?

In choice. Which shall it be: bankruptcy of purse or bankruptcy of life?

- Sterling Haden, Voyage, 1976

Hi Baraccuda,

If you want, when you are back I sell u my GS? :smile: I feel like getting a......:cheeky:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v210/FazeGabes/MISC/R1200GSASignature.jpg

We must ADJUST to an Ever changing Road...while holding onto unchanging principles.... :angel:

Originally posted by koma@Mar 9 2005, 03:31 AM

yah man, bo bian. knn gabes so late stil haben zz ah :p me tml no need work leh u leh?? goin dwn bike shops n do my stuff tml will pop by m-tech in the evenin take sometin frm my fren n tok cok sing song awhile sun bian order manual frm chua

I'm a night owl..........:goodluck:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v210/FazeGabes/MISC/R1200GSASignature.jpg

We must ADJUST to an Ever changing Road...while holding onto unchanging principles.... :angel:

Originally posted by GSGabes@Mar 9 2005, 11:34 AM

Hi Baraccuda,

If you want, when you are back I sell u my GS? :smile: I feel like getting a......:cheeky:

U sure? Their poison is working on you eh? hahaha. Quote me your price via PM with FULL details (mileage, plate, colour, accesssories etc). Urs is 1150GS NON adv model?

I think I might know you/seen u before. U stay at S.W.Park?

Yamaha WR200

Ducati Monster 400/540

Yamaha TDM850

Yamaha TDM900

BMW R1150GS

Suzuki Djebel 250XC

Suzuki Vstrom 650 ABS

Ducati Hyperstrada 821

Originally posted by PL@Mar 9 2005, 09:41 AM

See lah, they entertain overseas customers so well. What is our local agent doing, man? If they're up to this standard, I'm sure my monthly pay check will go to them first. Then only I'll think of how to settle my daily 3-meal with the change.

Hey what time will u be there? Chua informed me my bike is ready. heh heh heh

I'll be there around 7pm. Coffee/dinner together afterwards? Anybody else wanna TCSS together? I feel like riding to the back of changi airport to try out my new.... Let There Be Lights accessory

http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/naughty.gifhttp://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/ricky.gif

SDR, u shd come. Show us your scare-the-living-daylight-out-of-scooter-rider lights man. http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/roflol.gif

So how, anybody wanna join this http://jkhouw.smugmug.com/photos/15658754-M-1.gif session?

ok sure meet u there ;)

Originally posted by cyclop@Mar 9 2005, 10:03 AM

Yo Koma, any shots of full side view? See if I can do some visualization for you... :thumb:

paiseh bro dun hab it this was all what touratech sent me

Originally posted by GSGabes@Mar 9 2005, 11:34 AM

Hi Baraccuda,

mai tu liao..get a 1200~~~:cheer:

Originally posted by PL@Mar 9 2005, 01:08 PM

I saw this. Same size with the one SDR owns. So, can't fit me. Otherwise, I would've gotten it when he first posted it (this ad was renewed once already)

oic, Pl veri tight for u isit?? u bigger size or me huh??

Originally posted by koma@Mar 9 2005, 01:33 PM

oic, Pl veri tight for u isit?? u bigger size or me huh??

It feels tight when bending down or turning my upper body sideways.

I think I'm fatter than you lah. Maybe it will fit u better.

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a140/pinglong/R1200RT_R1200GSA_top_back_on_back.jpg