Practical 1.03(100mins): $22.90(Off-peak) PASSED!

13.20pm. Gloomy weather. Looks like rain coming soon. Time for my lesson. It was similar to 1.02 juz need to change up to 5th gear on straight roads. Close throttle in middle of straight roads, apply both brakes to slow down, clutch in, kick down to 3rd, release clutch gradually, release brakes and throttle lightly thru the bends. The slow controls stil muz practice but seems fairly easy now. In fact, i found myself tinkin about them each round. I tink i love them liao. Tis is getting fun!

Practical 2.01(100mins): $25.04(Peak) PASSED!

7.20pm. Drizzled abit then stopped. Learned how to position my bike before left turn. Actually, tis is simple enuf but kena jammed many times coz night circuit super packed wif cars! Did tons and tons close-ups! Groin feeling numb soon. Next, the slope course. My up-slope faults: No right signal. No check back. Rear brake not enuf, gostan abit. Throttle too much, engine cow bey cow bu.:p Down-slope faults: No left signal. No full release of clutch for engine brake. Riding down like a snake.:p Piangz... Took me quite a while to readjust to all tis. Enuf typing liao. Need to sleep. Tml goin for 2.02 at 11.30am.

UTD: $142.01

Wow you are fast! Now I cant wait for my next pracical 1.03! Its like 2 weeks after my 1.02 =\ hope wont forget everything haha!

• Replies 576

Practical 2.02(100mins): $22.90(Off-peak) PASSED!

11.30am. Today learned how to execute a right turn n lane change. My right turns? The angles were quite ok. Pick up n turning speed abit slow. Kena reminded a number of times. I quicken my steps some more and finally nailed it after a few rounds. Lane change is more tricky. I tend to signal and check blindspot together. Tat's wrong! It shud be signal, check blindspot then lane change. Corrected tis eventually. Noticed tat most failed on lane change due to sharp turns, positionings, no blindspot checks, no signal, wrong signal and angle of change. Duno y, i totally stoned thru the course. Could b due to the searing heat and unleaded fumes.

Enrolment Fee: $47.08

Basic Theory Lessons: $8.03 x 2 = $16.06(Exempted)

Riding Theory Lessons: $8.03 x 2 = $16.06(Exempted)

Riding Theory Practices: $10.70

Riding Theory Evaluation: $5.35

Riding Theory Test: $6.00

Circuit Practicals: $118.78

Edited by Veil
jiayou..! it may seems long when you take the license, don't think too much about the lessons, i keep fail pract 5 and theory and once TP till i wait till dun care about bike lesson. end up when i get license everything seems like super fast.

Steady la, bro!

Wow you are fast! Now I cant wait for my next pracical 1.03! Its like 2 weeks after my 1.02 =\ hope wont forget everything haha!

Not reali tat fast la. As long as got slot, i book n chiong. No slot, i relax n chiong pub instead.

U noe wat i always did before my next prac? Go carpark, look at some nice bikes, visualise the steps, observe how riders performed the steps n thick-skinned asked them for advice.

Not reali tat fast la. As long as got slot, i book n chiong. No slot, i relax n chiong pub instead.

U noe wat i always did before my next prac? Go carpark, look at some nice bikes, visualise the steps, observe how riders performed the steps n thick-skinned asked them for advice.

Wahh. I dont think I will dare to do that haha. Too thin-skinned lol! But I will visualise the steps on bus or train on the way there. :)

Practical 3.01(100mins): $22.90(Off-peak) PASSED!

3.20pm. Faced the infamous narrow plank n pylon slalom today. Did some warm-up rides before queuing for the plank. Huh? No instructions given? Seems liked the instructor was pushin me to do, try or die there! Ok loh, here i go. Maintained a steady throttle/half clutch, foot brake on standby, i slowly approached it with caution. Once on it... Wat the?! Isn't tis?! Oh yes! Its actually juz another slow control disguised as a plank amid a slight ramp to induce fear! Realizing tis, i din reali follow the recommended "focus 5-10m ahead" guideline. Instead, i juz kinda "switched off", gazed at the green fence n steered according to the feel. More than 7secs n no off-plank. Sweet!

The pylon slalom was a different beast. Round 1 was to test the leaning angles/speed n gauge the limits. Once i found the angles n appropriate speed, no more testing liao! I spent the rest of my lesson attacking those pylons head on! Tat was such a rush! Hardcore stuff man! Less than 6secs achieved, zero strike/skip or bike drop. Damned shiok! Imo, any practical can be equally deadly, juz tat their reputations were not as notorious, well-known or feared as the narrow plank or pylon slalom. Having said tat, today was, by far, my most enjoyable lesson! Upcoming 3.02 is on 2nd January 2011, 7.30am.

Circuit Practicals: $141.68

Edited by Veil

*Duno y my 3.02 was deleted... Tis is a repost.

Practical 3.02(100mins): $25.04(Peak) PASSED!

7.30am. Tis lesson teaches the techniques to apply when executing an emergency brake on a wet surface. The first few trials were done at 20-25km/h. Then it progressed to the actual speed of 30-35km/h. Intially, i kept down shifting when my bike was abt to stop, too hard on the foot brake, speed too fast, then too slow n looking at the red line. Those are improper techniques! The correct steps should be...

Ram throttle from the starting line! By the 1st cone muz be in 3rd gear liao. Then maintain speed at 30-35km/h. Faster close throttle when front wheel crosses stop line. Foot brake lightly while adding more n more pressure on the front brake. Lean body back but dun lock elbows. Look straight n act cool. Stop before the red line. Clutch in+left leg down juz before stopping. Check back on the right. Right leg down+left leg up. Hold the front brake. Clutch in/out a few times+kick down to 1st gear. Check back on the left. Left leg down+right leg up. Signal right. Check back on the right. Move off as usual.

Circuit Practicals: $166.72

Edited by Veil

Practical 4.01(100mins): $22.90(Off-peak) PASSED!

7.30am. Figure8 n Crank course. Super sleepy. Abit no mood today...

Figure 8 aka "S" course almost akin to doing a series of pylon slalom. Main differences was the longer travel distance n wider turning radius with more gradual angles. Went thru it on first round n discovered tat rear brake n steady throttle at 2nd gear were the deciding factors. Next round, i up my speed while holding rear brake lightly on tightest parts of the bends. Seems to work quite well. For the timed round, i leaned more, speed more, braked as needed n met the requirement.

Crank course focus purely on right-angled turns. Signal right, move off n change to 2nd gear, keep more to the left n do a sharp right turn, signal left, keep more to the right followed by a sharp left turn. Tis was ok for me after some practice but initially, i tend to forget to switch over the signals midway. Psyched myself n got rid of tis mistake at the later stage. Also, the blindspot checks n safety stops can be confusing for both course. Too many tings to memorise! Especially early in the morning, my brain still in 1st gear...

*Tis came as a surprise. The instructor said, "Since you have completed all the circuit course, let's go for a full review of ur test route." Tats is? No more liao? Hearing tis, kinda happy tat i'm halfway thru my 2B. Suddenly tot of my first lesson 10 days ago...

Circuit Practicals: $189.62

Edited by Veil

Practical 4.02(100mins): $22.90(Off-peak) PASSED!

11.30am. Instructor rode ahead for the first 2 rounds of the circuit test route n showed the starting/end point plus procedures. Next 2 rounds were on own time own target. Need to be more careful on the safety n blindspot check as these are the silent killers.

Pillion riding. I very heng or suay kena the heaviest/tallest bro as my pillion. His weight(80+kg) n height(178cm) created huge differences in the handlings. Move-off speed muz open more throttle, to stop muz apply more rear brake n can't lean as much due to limited angles. I wobbled alot coz not used to "excess baggage". Tenderly told him to hug me tightly. Oh yeah! We had a mini titanic moment on tarmac. Jokes aside. I did some tweaks to my movings n stoppings but i felt tat its not good enough yet. I wil need more practice on tis.

Had a short water break before heading back to the good old small circuit for U-turn practice. Half-clutch, maintain throttle, rear brake to control speed n aim at the center of the targeted lane. Quite an easy task. Juz take note not to drop right foot down when turning. Its an immediate failure durin test. All of us u-turned swee swee! Actually, none of us guys wanted to ''lose face'' in the pressence of the 1.01s n 1.02s.

Circuit Practicals: $212.52

Edited by Veil

Practical 5.01(100mins): $22.90(Off-peak) PASSED!

1.20pm. I haf to complete the circuit test with not more than 20 demerit points...

"5.01, u may begin!" Nnb! My heart nearly stalled! Die die oso muz finish the whole course, even if bbdc got bombed i oso dun care! Straight to the point, the 16 demerits i made was by checked blindspot too early, wrong position before the slope, wobbled at crank course's exit n engine knocked due to low speed. I can only say tat im too anxious out durin the test. Tried telling myself to be cool, act cool n stay cool but not so easy... Need to find some ways to get rid of tis "gan cheong" problem.

Its pillion ridin again. Tis time, i got a same size victim to pillion thru the whole circuit. :) We were laughin all the way. Duno we laughed for wat oso. In short, i dun feel the stress as compared to the circuit test.

Circuit Practicals: $235.42

Edited by Veil

1st Circuit Revision(100mins): $22.90(Off-peak) DONE!

1.20pm. Since i knew my weak areas, these faults muz be weed out while i can still remember them. I focused more on my "S", crank course, slope n checkings. Once done, i went on to refine my entry/exit skills n work on my slow controls. Thanks to advices from the instructors, i had a better understanding n respect of the circuit. Dun be afraid to talk to them n ask for help. For me, some new questions will surface after each session so i will grab any instructor to get answers. The journey is stil long but the learning is even longer.

Circuit Revision: $22.90

Edited by Veil

2nd Circuit Revision(100mins): $22.90(Off-peak) DONE!

7.30am. Another revision day. Slight drizzle at bbdc. Enough to warrant the donning of rainwear. I skipped the pants thou. Too lazy to remove my shoes lah. Heehee. I learned a new way to control my "S"/crank course exit speed. I closed my throttle upon the exit line n down shifted to 1st gear. Tis combo of a low speed n more responsive gear creates more allowance to deal with front "incidents" by sabo kings, blur sotongs, gan cheong spiders. Upslope moving off was acceptable amid a noticable wobble. The skills are there but the standards muz be upped.

Planning to take my 5.02 by 14th January. But juz the mere thought of it sends my heart into a seizure... Soon, i will be facing tis . I need to tink of a solution fast. If i already panic at 5.02, then 8.01 n TP i sure heart attack n collapse. Muz find some ways to solve tis asap!

Circuit Revisions: $45.80

Edited by Veil
Hello new to this forum=] Hey Veil you have previous experience before right?

Yup but i stopped at prac 2.01 in mid '09. Wasted lots of time inbetween due to my divorce. I re-enrolled on 23rd Dec last year n went for my 1.01 on xmas eve. Tot it wil b easier for me but i found tat i've cleanly forgotten all the basic handlings. Tat bloody long absence eroded wat i had previously learned.

Wat abt u? A rider too?

Edited by Veil

3rd Circuit Revision(100mins): $22.90(Off-peak) DONE!

7.30am. Strong winds n dark sky. A storm is comin... Barely 15mins into my session, it unleashed its full fury. Rode back to gear-up in full rainwear n continue my practice.

Rain can be a spoiler at times. But today, i find it strangely comforting n familiar. The morning air smells even more refreshing n the suffocating fumes were non-existent. The sound of pelting raindrops on my helmet were almost in sync with the engine's beats. Truly mesmerizing n snooze-inducing. The rattling rain on my foremans, shoulders n chest were akin to a tapping massage. Very theraupetic when coupled with the vibrating seat n handlebar. I wun deny the dangers of riding in wet conditions. Yet its precisely the vulnerability, under the elements mercy n a sense of freedom tat makes it so enjoyable.

I've always loved playin in the rain but tis ended prematurely in primary 2. Seriously caned by mum when she caught me fully drenched one day. My next 2 decades were spent avoiding it like a plague. Riding in rain today forces me to reflect on my life again. A newfound confidence manifested as i reconnects with the lost child n tat rebellious streak in me. I felt a sudden improvement on my riding skills. I guess all riders/riders at heart possesses the characteristic of unwilling to bow to or conform to those so-called stupid social norms. No shackles for us pls!

Rain? So wat?! Ride on!

Circuit Revisions: $68.70

Edited by Veil
I am at stage 2.02 now. Waiting for my RTT on 29th. Can't wait for a 2b license!

So lucky of u to get a slot tis mth. My RTT haf to wait til 10th Feb... sianz...

After clearin 2.02, u wil notice a difference in ur riding skills. More daring, i would say. When is next ur lesson? So far any problem?

Same same, i can't wait to get my 2B too. Hopefully before March. Now everyday fantasize abt bike! Sleepin oso dreamt abt bike!

Edited by Veil
So lucky of u to get a slot tis mth. My RTT haf to wait til 10th Feb... sianz...

After clearin 2.02, u wil notice a difference in ur riding skills. More daring, i would say. When is next ur lesson? So far any problem?

Same same, i can't wait to get my 2B too. Hopefully before March. Now everyday fantasize abt bike! Sleepin oso dreamt abt bike!

Sian failed ytd. The whole group failed instructor say not good enough. If you see a car behind do you speed up and lane change or slow down and lane change? Good luck to us!

Dun b dejected when there is a need to repeat a prac. First, suppress ur emotions, analysis the mistakes then tink of how to counter it. Failure is actually productive. In fact, a few time of fails is better as it makes u stronger in the long run. If u nv fail at all, u wil nv noe wats wrg or take the neccessary steps to correct it.

Can tel me whether u spot the car by mirror or blindspot check? U lane change at where?

Edited by Veil

4th Circuit Revision(100mins): $22.90(Off-peak) DONE!

7.30am. I will b taking my circuit test(5.02) after this revision. Time is of the essence, of chicken. How true! I found myself riding faster n faster trying to squeeze out as many practice rounds as possible before my session time's up. No major screwed ups or corked ups. After 4 revisions n fighting my fear... I'm ready.

Practical 5.02(100mins): $22.90(Off-peak) PASSED!

11.30am. Kind weather, cloudy n windy. Today muz pass the circuit evaluation with less than 12 demerit points. 1 round of warm up n the test began... I made it back with exactly 12 points! *Sharp turning to the right, deducted 2 points. *Clutched-in too early at e-brake, another 2 points. Light juz turned green, the car in front slowly moved forward, i oso slowly moved forward. Stupid car stalled at 3/4 of yellow box as i juz crossed into box, then the light turned amber... *Proceed on amber light, kena a bloody 8 points! I admit i followed too closely. Oopsy! My bad! Yeah! Can apply for my PDL soon. I oni need to pass my RTT on 10th Feb. Muz do more theory practice.

Circuit Practicals: $258.32

Circuit Revisions: $91.60

Edited by Veil

1st Self Practice(100mins): $14.34(Peak) DONE!

11.30am. Self practice aka SP is juz liked a circuit revision practice. Except tat i'm totally on my own. No need instructor to supervise liao. And its 50% cheaper too! I shud b able to take my TP, either by end Feb or early Mar b. So tis SP wun be my last...

Circuit Practicals: $258.32

Circuit Revisions: $91.60

Self Practice: $14.34

Edited by Veil