Contemplating to return to biking after a 10yrs absence. Ridden sports bikes, cruiser, scamblers, road bikes & even a vespa b4. So this time round thinking of laying my hands on a sports tourer cos I want to have top racks or panniers to keep helmet & raincoat.

Saw a couple of ATs & R1150GS for sale. Very tempted but had been away too long so need some feedback from ppl who knows these bikes. My budget is less than $20K perferably much lower than that since I'm more for a good reliable transportation within SG & for maybe couple years. Not a hardcore fanatic (anymore).

Anyone care to share their thoughts & advice to this old newbie?? Thanks in advance!!

#ShutUp_and_Ride

• Replies 36

what do you want the bike for ?

touring to malaysia ? thailand ?

dual sport touring ? Endau Rompin, etc...

adventure touring.. ?

daily ride plus weekend short trips ?

here's my take on your choices:

AT... aged bikes with over priced.. it's the legendary bike, yes, but technology is outdated.. bike is heavy and underpower for 750cc,

Vara.. good tourer but heavy and fuel consumption is bad, my friend's vara (carb model) gets 13km/l almost equal to vios fuel consumption. newer model EFI gets better mileage but still heavy, good point is stable on highways..

Vstorm.. similar to vara.. good power for pickup and cruising.. k2 models got clutch issue but most are sorted out..

GS 1150.. with your budget 20k, i am sure you can get good condition GSA1150 with full accessories (side and top panniers, fog lights, etc)

i have no comment on parts and reliability but not my cup of tea.. my good friend's GS 1150 had bearing failure in chiang mai and he had to fly back.

but you will definitely get BMW thing that people will turn and look at you..

GS 1200.. guess it's over your budget..

what i am riding ? TDM 900.. good ? ofcuz i'll say it's good because it's my bike.. but i wont say it's best bike..

good fuel consumption..20~24km per liter.. best among the range..

light weight of 196kg.. i am using daily transport, plus weekend short trips, plus light offroad to TM and Nusajaya..

what are other choices..

Vstorm 650.. good fuel consumption.. lighter model of bigger brother 1000. less pickup and top speed but good enough for daily transport.

Kawasaki Versys 650.. good all rounder.. good speed, light weight, i would consider this one..

Yamaha Tenere 660.. if you come from dirt background, you will definitely love it... it's comfortable version of XR650....can tour, can use for transport.. can use for offroad... i really like this one... and you can get under 20k for full accessories..

Ducati multistrada 110, older model of new bling 1200 multistrada... you will get attention seeking dry clutch sound and ducati factor.. really head turner.. but ppl comment on reliability... but ducati owners love it.. i also like to have one..

good luck and ride safe.. if you want to see big trailies offroad pic.. check out here..

http://www.facebook.com/pages/AJs-friends/158711187491373

you can see TDM, Vstorm, AT, Tenere 660, Super Tenere 1200, KTM 990 and how we enjoy on trails..

Thanks kmax! Very informative indeed.

I'm more for the purpose of getting a decent transportation within SG & perhaps join my 4x4 friends to TM once in awhile. Going up north on 2 wheels will be rare given the fact that I probably be the solo rider. Most of my old dirtbike kakis all retired liao. Perhaps will join u guys should I be able to lay my hands on one? Hehehe!

Missed out on a recent Tenere 660 for sale as I couldn't commit at that time. And yes tht bike is gorgeous! The Kawasaki Versys imo looks kinda more street bike than tourer. But I admit pictures can be deceiving & I have not seen it in the flesh yet.

I'm quite impressed with the looks of the GS, Vara and Vstorm, but as u mentioned, they are very heavy. Perhaps not suitable for daily transit. And I travel CTE during peak hours so it might be unsuitable. That's why I thought the smaller ATs might do the trick.

Didn't consider TDM cos u should know these are quite 'rare' in the bike sale thread anyway.

Thanks for pointing me to AJ's friends FB page. Will pop in & get more info!

#ShutUp_and_Ride

adventure touring.. ?

AT... aged bikes with over priced.. it's the legendary bike, yes, but technology is outdated.. bike is heavy and underpower for 750cc,

Vara.. good tourer but heavy and fuel consumption is bad, my friend's vara (carb model) gets 13km/l almost equal to vios fuel consumption. newer model EFI gets better mileage but still heavy, good point is stable on highways..

Vstorm.. similar to vara.. good power for pickup and cruising.. k2 models got clutch issue but most are sorted out..

GS 1150.. with your budget 20k, i am sure you can get good condition GSA1150 with full accessories (side and top panniers, fog lights, etc)

i have no comment on parts and reliability but not my cup of tea.. my good friend's GS 1150 had bearing failure in chiang mai and he had to fly back.

what i am riding ? TDM 900.. good ? ofcuz i'll say it's good because it's my bike.. but i wont say it's best bike..

light weight of 196kg.. i am using daily transport, plus weekend short trips, plus light offroad to TM and Nusajaya..

what are other choices..

Vstorm 650.. good fuel consumption.. lighter model of bigger brother 1000. less pickup and top speed but good enough for daily transport.

Kawasaki Versys 650.. good all rounder.. good speed, light weight, i would consider this one..

Yamaha Tenere 660.. if you come from dirt background, you will definitely love it... it's comfortable version of XR650....can tour, can use for transport.. can use for offroad... i really like this one... and you can get under 20k for full accessories..

Ducati multistrada 110, older model of new bling 1200 multistrada... you will get attention seeking dry clutch sound and ducati factor.. really head turner.. but ppl comment on reliability... but ducati owners love it.. i also like to have one..

good luck and ride safe.. if you want to see big trailies offroad pic.. check out here..

you can see TDM, Vstorm, AT, Tenere 660, Super Tenere 1200, KTM 990 and how we enjoy on trails..

wow i also enjoy reading it ..

the above mention is differnt caterogory when compare to stx , st11 , fjr right ??

adventure touring.. ?

what are other choices..

the above mention is differnt caterogory when compare to stx , st11 , fjr right ??

STX, FJR are more street tourers.. all above will lose out definitely on NSHW.. in terms of speed and comfort..

but once you venture out from highway into trunk road with pot holes... gravel.. then you will definitely want to be on Adventure tourer..

Thanks kmax! Very informative indeed.

I'm more for the purpose of getting a decent transportation within SG & perhaps join my 4x4 friends to TM once in awhile. Going up north on 2 wheels will be rare given the fact that I probably be the solo rider. Most of my old dirtbike kakis all retired liao. Perhaps will join u guys should I be able to lay my hands on one? Hehehe!

Missed out on a recent Tenere 660 for sale as I couldn't commit at that time. And yes tht bike is gorgeous! The Kawasaki Versys imo looks kinda more street bike than tourer. But I admit pictures can be deceiving & I have not seen it in the flesh yet.

I'm quite impressed with the looks of the GS, Vara and Vstorm, but as u mentioned, they are very heavy. Perhaps not suitable for daily transit. And I travel CTE during peak hours so it might be unsuitable. That's why I thought the smaller ATs might do the trick.

Didn't consider TDM cos u should know these are quite 'rare' in the bike sale thread anyway.

Thanks for pointing me to AJ's friends FB page. Will pop in & get more info!

like i said, there are pros and cons of each bike but i been riding TDM for 3 years so i am more inclined towards this :angel: for daily ride and occasional offroad..

can talk about bikes and rides all night long.. haha.. should meet up for kopi.. :thirsty:

i am staying in toa payoh and working at raffles place.. so CTE is my daily commute route too..

here i am.. in TM among dirt bikes..

http://a6.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/73802_1677640578554_1163693440_31896576_4430023_n.jpg

http://a3.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/68273_1746973111824_1163693440_32040212_7721989_n.jpg

indeed TDM is rare bike in sales thread.. most owners keep it for long.. but you may be lucky.. there's one TDM for sale.. owner is getting married and need $$

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/74253-Yamaha-TDM-900/page283

but his bike is not eye candy.. Laos, Cambodia veteran..

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b192/limpflink/TDM900/IMG_9757.jpg

all Adventure tourers are capable machines in good hands.. Since you are there in FB page.. enjoy the photos and shoot any questions that you want to know..

here is one of the yamaha family photo in nusajaya old enduro route

Tenere 660, Super Tenere 1200 and TDM 900, ofcuz Tenere 660 is the best offroad machine.

http://a5.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/166306_1793109705210_1163693440_32152781_6255137_n.jpg

http://a8.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash1/163007_1793089624708_1163693440_32152706_6681514_n.jpg

there were AT and Vstorm 1000 also..

http://a2.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/168098_1793302510030_1163693440_32153177_8125482_n.jpg

http://a2.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash1/163956_182385455123946_158711187491373_531838_7701843_n.jpg

http://a8.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash1/163956_182385458457279_158711187491373_531839_4410527_n.jpg

http://a5.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/163956_182385461790612_158711187491373_531840_3045435_n.jpg

either get vara1, vstrom 650, or trusty twin... but not tdm

+ and FYI XRV is not heavy.

guess you have your facts for not to get TDM.. and have you tried to sit, ride, tested both XRV750 and TDM900 ?

http://www.totalmotorcycle.com/motorcyclespecshandbook/honda/2003-honda-XRV750AfricaTwin.htm

XRV750 - 205 kg

TDM900 - 192 kg

btw... one of my good friend is enjoying your ex XR400 that you didnt like..

all bikes are good lah

just like cheesepies, all have hole, only thing is tight anot

CONGRATS to kmax on becoming a Lau Peh today!!!

Thanks bro.. good to see you on FB especially on this special day.. let's ride together when the time comes..

Sure hope I will be able to!! Anyway, my baby is 11 months older than yours! My boy's birthday is 20Apr2010. Hahaha!

#ShutUp_and_Ride

STX, FJR are more street tourers.. all above will lose out definitely on NSHW.. in terms of speed and comfort..

but once you venture out from highway into trunk road with pot holes... gravel.. then you will definitely want to be on Adventure tourer..

thanks kmax...

adventure tourer very hardcore..

dunno why , cant seem to handle very big bikes, like my friend concourse..

thats why moi using sport bike to go up north ..

Sure hope I will be able to!! Anyway, my baby is 11 months older than yours! My boy's birthday is 20Apr2010. Hahaha!

cool man.. next time.. we get Yamaha PW80 or Oset eletric trail bike for our sons and can trail together.. :cheer:

Sounds like a plan!! Hahaha!!

& bro, mind if u can send me Ansley's no? I wana check out his TDM too. I'm viewing a AT this week & thought I should also consider other makes.

#ShutUp_and_Ride

thanks kmax...

adventure tourer very hardcore..

dunno why , cant seem to handle very big bikes, like my friend concourse..

thats why moi using sport bike to go up north ..

well.. i would say the same to you.. sport bike riders have stainless steel butt and titanium spinal... :angel:

it's just the matter of getting used to.. bu ofcuz physical strength plays a part..

Sounds like a plan!! Hahaha!!

& bro, mind if u can send me Ansley's no? I wana check out his TDM too. I'm viewing a AT this week & thought I should also consider other makes.

message sent on FB bro..

too bad Super Tenere is outta your budget..

Why?? U know of anyone selling?? :p

But between the super tenere & the tenere, I would most prefer the smaller albeit more nimble 660.

#ShutUp_and_Ride