tink im so lucky. 2B n 2A bikes both Papa pays for me.

If only Cl2 bike Papa will pay also! Haha!

• Replies 54

i was in your situation 2 years ago...

i took my license on the quiet...bringing a big bag whenever i had lessons to "hide" my helmet...& that helmet was my dad's retired helmet...

passed it....and i bought a phantom a few days before my birthday...

waited till my dad msged me "happy birthday"..and i broke the news to him via sms...as usual lah...kena f**ked...

so i went home late for about 2 weeks to avoid him...and my dad isnt 1 who will verbally scold..he uses the cold shoulder method..

after that...he started to talk to me...but with a very cold tone...

my mum even asked my brother to go to buy season parking for me cos i have to work..

after a while...he even asked me for the key to try my bike..and my current X9 also...

2 accident free years later...its part of my life already...but im going to sell it off...need 4 wheels for work...haahaa...

whether you choose to tell them before or after...make sure you weigh the consequences..only you know how your parents would react...we all dont know...and get ready for the backlash...

was in that situation some 4 yrs ago... went for lesson at night (cause mom sleeps at 9pm, so anything happen in lesson, also no worry, cause come home mom sleep liao) Had an accident once on the ebrake, got a bad cut on my knee and was bleeding til my jeans lower part mostly my blood, lucky i went for the night lesson, mom didnt know... i went home quickly wash the jeans...

got my license and bought a bike all without my parents knowing... until one night... came back from clubbing just nice my dad knocked off from work.. and caught me parking my bike (i dont drink so i dont worry about riding to club. not even a drop, only there to dance. dad's a taxi driver working the night shift)

but i guess my parents are quite used to me being rebellious.. so.. didnt say much only said, ask you not to ride you want to ride... pls be careful on the road... til now still ask me to be careful whenever im going off..

jus promise ur parents that safety will not be compromised, traffic rules will be obeyed, wont be singapore's ghostrider n u'll not be a logo rider. (aka those rowdy group of bikers) for my case all my elder brothers used to be part of those "mat design" (i think my dad was one of them too n yes i'm a "mat" but not design) but told me if they ever find out i'm part of any gang they'll get rid of my bike. 1 year plus passed the only gang i've been with is the triangle racing team n SBF forumer.

remember when u finally convince ur parents about buying a bike dun betray their trust. they say cannot ride while rain or blah blah jus accept it n be glad u already got a bike. after awhile they'll open up n be more relaxed on the cannot parts.

as for me, i jus convinced my dad that i'm upgrading. his reply was wah! 400cc u can handle or not?? i jus replied bigger bike more stable..like his LC350 or his TZR250 he used to own. then i got the green light.

Originally posted by newbie@January 04, 2007 08:09 pm

tink im so lucky. 2B n 2A bikes both Papa pays for me.

If only Cl2 bike Papa will pay also! Haha!

any more vacancy to apply to be son?

i love dividends.

Originally posted by onefour02@January 04, 2007 11:58 pm

any more vacancy to apply to be son?

no hab leh... full ady.

must be handsome then can also... u handsome?

Generally i also took bike license without my parents' acknowledge, but come on, i 25, old enough to know what i doing. Similarly, if u r old enough to know what u r doing, generally that will assure ur parents.

most important is the safety aspect as others hav mentioned..

u better dun buy and ride a bike behind yr parents if u are those very scare/respect alot of parents or panic type..

i hav lost a friend many years back..

reason is while making a turn at the junction, tot saw his mother at the junction, lose concentration.. lose control of the bike and hit the lamp pole..

lost my soccer kaki/ friend becos of that..

Don't convince, Juz Con them.:thumb:

"But it ain't about how hard ya hit. It's about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward. Now if you know what you're worth then go out and get what you're worth."

on a side note, anyone knows any motordiam that allows sale of their 2nd hand bikes w/o need of having a garantor? am under 21 leh. and not enough to full..

parents also dont want help to garantor or etc :giddy:

http://www.keithurbanfans.net/signatures/TGHSsiggycopy.jpg
Originally posted by Aalex82@January 05, 2007 02:23 am

most important is the safety aspect as others hav mentioned..

u better dun buy and ride a bike behind yr parents if u are those very scare/respect alot of parents or panic type..

i hav lost a friend many years back..

reason is while making a turn at the junction, tot saw his mother at the junction, lose concentration.. lose control of the bike and hit the lamp pole..

lost my soccer kaki/ friend becos of that..

Meaning that your friend died or he didn't want to be pillion again?

Originally posted by ghs@January 05, 2007 09:08 am

on a side note, anyone knows any motordiam that allows sale of their 2nd hand bikes w/o need of having a garantor? am under 21 leh. and not enough to full..

parents also dont want help to garantor or etc :giddy:

Can try Click here..

At your own risk..

Originally posted by onefour02@January 04, 2007 10:00 am

feel guilty when i see this topic.

told my parents i learnt cl2b for fun just because i had military cl2b. bought my phantom without their approval. after they knew abt it, i assured them i would ride safely. went on to take cl2a, bought a s4 soon after and also had an accident. doesnt feel good letting parents worry, feel very guilty. stayed of bikes for another 6mths, but soon got another s4. now not riding for a while again because of the previous accident which resulted in suspension.

(i always did the convincing part AFTER buying the bike.)

Precisly,many do that easier....buy den tell them u have a bike.....

Best ride for around 1mth,den reveal,i have being riding for 1 mth so far good.....

After that my dad was happy and added himself as sub rider and uses it when i not using.....

So when my parents 1 2 go out near by they use my bike.....:cheer:

MayB mine was like they say,buy nvm,but impt i ride safely.

http://www.parrotparrot.com/stopcruelty/cruelty1.gif
Originally posted by passOnZero6@January 05, 2007 01:01 pm

First attempt: use safety as the main key to convince them, as well as go for defensive riding.

Hope this works.

Defensive Riding is a good idea. I've went for it, it'll be easier to convince. And the course is quite fun. :cheeky:

Maybe might want to try Advance Riding in future.

200 Miles Per Hour, No Hands... Damn That Would Be Cool Right Before The Part Where You Die...

Bike History

2005 - Cagiva Mito 125

2007 - Daelim Daystar 125

2008/2009 - Piaggio X9 500

2017 - Triumph Speed Triple 1050

Originally posted by compfused@January 05, 2007 09:50 am

Can try Click here..

At your own risk..

thanks... but i was just wondering if there are any bikeshops that accepts installment for sales of 2nd hand bikes w/o need for a garantor at all, just sign, downpayment and go.

since im still under 21 and dont wish to trouble anyone else regards to a garantor lol..

http://www.keithurbanfans.net/signatures/TGHSsiggycopy.jpg
Originally posted by ghs@January 05, 2007 02:15 pm

thanks... but i was just wondering if there are any bikeshops that accepts installment for sales of 2nd hand bikes w/o need for a garantor at all, just sign, downpayment and go.

since im still under 21 and dont wish to trouble anyone else regards to a garantor lol..

Doubt that's possible...... Save up n pay full cash for your bike bah......

If you can handle the installments without any problems you probably can save up enough to pay full cash for your bike very quickly as well. :goodluck:

The only foolproof way I can think of is get your license first then buy your bike.

By then, it should be ok to tell your parents you've grown wings, have learn how to fly without them, will keep a lookout for cars and traffic, come back early every night and the usual banter. Cause, really it's too late for them to do anything also. They can at most nag and scold you, ask you to sell bike and things like that...

All you can say is "But Pa! I sell my bike now have to fork out $ _______ [Fill the blanks] and I don't have so much money liao! After that, pull on a silly grin, kick back and relax! Cause your dad's not gonna be fooled into paying to get your bike sold.... :lol:

Cheers! :cheer:

http://p1.bikepics.com/pics/2009/07/09/bikepics-1722149-full.jpg

If It Ain't Scary, It Ain't Fast Enough

Well as for me, during 2b no bike..

1)Parents dun allow to buy bike

2)dey say i mite not be able to handle the financial part

But i still pester dem to whether i can buy my own ride.

Den i told my mom i takin 2A(pls note:no road experience).

She said go ahead.

i passed and still pestering whether i cud buy a bike.

Den 1 1/2 years after i got my 2B and after much convincing(abt safety, hw im gona ride,tell them my financial planning) they finally said yes.

Nw im ridin my first bike an S4.

My advise is make sure you can handle financially.

Ask them and explain, slowly convince them,dun rush.

Yes you can pay the bike on cash terms, but can you handle the payments that comes after tat? Maintainence, petrol, parking, taxes, insurance(yearly), wear and tear parts..

If you are able to financially support ur bike on ur own, den with a lil bit of fairy dust ur parents mite say yes.Plus you will gain the respect from them indicating tat u are being responsible for ur own actions..

Think abt it bro...

http://i334.photobucket.com/albums/m420/Biomodified/biomodified.jpg

In Loving Memory: Muhammad Borhan Bin Jamal

A Cousin, A Friend, My Biking Mentor

Originally posted by gohjohan@January 05, 2007 09:26 am

Meaning that your friend died or he didn't want to be pillion again?

died..

he was a rider..

Originally posted by Aalex82@January 08, 2007 03:16 pm

died..

he was a rider..

sorry to hear that :weep:

Most buy their bike, then let their parents know.

My parents also nagged at first when i showed them my first bike, now my dad is asking to be pilloned to KL!

If you show you're a responsible rider and is able to support your bike financially, there should not be much of a problem. Unless of course you need cash to buy the bike and the only person you can turn to is your parents and they downright refuse to buy for you, then too bad.

Anyways, IMHO, buying your very own bike out of your own pocket somehow makes you treasure it more and you can proudly say that its YOUR bike.

Juz book my defensive riding with CDC and it's coming next month. I've thought of getting my dream bike first before telling my parents however I'm still under 21 (few more months till my 21st bday) and don't have so many cash to buy my bike in full amount.

I guess I'm having a dead knot now.