Honda Blackbird CBR1100 XX

Hi Prison break,

If I'm not wrong I think it goes something like this:

- remove seat

- undo fuel tank bolts

- undo fuel level sensor wire (IAT sensor dunno need not)

- pull out side fairing from fuel tank boss

- prop up fuel tank

- undo airbox screws and remove airbox

- take out air cleaner

I going to try doing this tomorrow myself the first time! Yours is K&N filter?

Originally posted by MiddleAgedBiker@May 11, 2007 11:35 am

Hi Prison break,

If I'm not wrong I think it goes something like this:

- remove seat

- undo fuel tank bolts

- undo fuel level sensor wire (IAT sensor dunno need not)

- pull out side fairing from fuel tank boss

- prop up fuel tank

- undo airbox screws and remove airbox

- take out air cleaner

I going to try doing this tomorrow myself the first time! Yours is K&N filter?

err.. need to drain the fuel if removing tank...

Originally posted by paul mai@May 11, 2007 07:10 pm

err.. need to drain the fuel if removing tank...

I asked around, seems like don't need to remove the tank. Just undo the bolts and prop the tank up will do. Removing tank on EFI bikes sounds like a lot of work...

hmm.. we shall organise a airfilter cleaning session.. :p

i need to wash mine soon too... after last month trip.. :p

http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y281/Saintdudu/desaru%20080706/allbikes2.jpg

U cAn SpEeD .... bUt CaN u StOp In TiMe??

"SpeEd On BrOtHeR, HELL AiNt FULL

PoWeR iS nOtHiNg WiThOuT cOnTrOl

Originally posted by SaintDuDu@May 12, 2007 01:09 am

I tink that trip already help u to "wash" it liao...with all the water flying here and there..haha:cheeky:

Anyway enjoy ur trip today bro..

http://i230.photobucket.com/albums/ee179/R00596/bb.gif

http://i230.photobucket.com/albums/ee179/R00596/jetfiretransformer.jpg

Originally posted by SaintDuDu@May 12, 2007 01:09 am

hmm.. we shall organise a airfilter cleaning session.. :p

Pls call me if you have a cleaning session, good to have old bird around to ask, and learn shortcuts!

BTW, don't we need to let the filter dry first after washing, then can apply the filter oil? On my last bike the filter took a long time to dry, somemore the K&N instructions say cannot put in direct sunlight....jialat, must drink many many kopi

Originally posted by MiddleAgedBiker@May 12, 2007 10:25 am

Pls call me if you have a cleaning session, good to have old bird around to ask, and learn shortcuts!

BTW, don't we need to let the filter dry first after washing, then can apply the filter oil? On my last bike the filter took a long time to dry, somemore the K&N instructions say cannot put in direct sunlight....jialat, must drink many many kopi

mi no old bird.. i still young (i hope) haha

need to dry it b4 u oil it.. judging from recent weather... can dry veri veri fast.. haha

might need to change my cct and plugs.. might do it at last week of may or early june.. keke

any bird wan to go track next week? on weekday!.. pm mi

hi pple, i wana let go off my bike leh... abit cant bear but need to plan for my future le... can i noe wats e price nowadays?

bike info:

BB'06 bought in apr'06, black, all stock, nv been to m'sia with dis bike, nice number plate, mileage currently less than 9,500km...

bike is with some scratches on the right hand side due to stationary drop...

bike is under usage, only normal travelling...

zero accident...

hope u guys(old bird) can give me some info on e price, can pm me or discuss here, no prob...

any guys who's interested pm me pls...

thanks n cheers!!!

wei de

Originally posted by SaintDuDu@May 12, 2007 11:37 am

mi no old bird.. i still young (i hope) haha

need to dry it b4 u oil it.. judging from recent weather... can dry veri veri fast.. haha

might need to change my cct and plugs.. might do it at last week of may or early june.. keke

any bird wan to go track next week? on weekday!.. pm mi

Hi SaintDudu

Are you DIY'ing? Can I join you? The CCT you changing the stock Honda one or you using aftermarket?

I understand that the cluncking sound we hear when idling in neutral before bike is warmed up is caused by the CCT, is this correct?

Go track, i wanna go leh, but I don't have protective gear, and my rear tire got puncture b4 and patch back one, so think not very safe.....which day you going? Maybe if I can I go and watch and pump petrol.

Originally posted by MiddleAgedBiker@May 12, 2007 12:28 pm

Hi SaintDudu

Are you DIY'ing? Can I join you? The CCT you changing the stock Honda one or you using aftermarket?

I understand that the cluncking sound we hear when idling in neutral before bike is warmed up is caused by the CCT, is this correct?

Go track, i wanna go leh, but I don't have protective gear, and my rear tire got puncture b4 and patch back one, so think not very safe.....which day you going? Maybe if I can I go and watch and pump petrol.

hmm... we can either use a CCT for blackbird or X11.. X11 cct is said to last longer.. dunno true anot...

Yes.. DIY..

BTW the sound is not from CCT.. the knocking sound is from ur clutch housing.. the rivet is loose.. its normal...CCT is the "knife sharpening sound" when the rpm is from 2000-4000rpm.

Guest Geoffxx

Hi Guys and fellow Bird owners, my name is Geoff and my Blackbird and I currently live in Thailand.

I'm having a difficulty with me bike, it wouldn't normally be a difficulty except that Blackbirds are not officially sold here, even more rare are injection models and worse still I am having a problem with my injection, anywhere else this would be a simple job of "take to dealer fit part if fixed buy part" unfortuately I cannot do that. First I will briefly explain my problem, I get the F1 light on when my revs go above 3000revs, the fault code is 25 (knock sensor) the part cannot be sourced in Thailand and I am finding it difficult to find someone willing to swap thiers out to see if my fault goes away (10min job)

Anyway, the guy that services my bike is quite resourceful when it comes to foreign Jap sport bikes and can usually get most things but not Knock Sensors, when he comes a cross a part he cannot get in Thailand he tells me """"he will have to send to singapore for it"""""" that's the reason I'm here, I need some help in finding a honda new/secondhand parts supplier that will supply to me here in Thailand or find someone in Singapore willing to look for me and source a second hand part and post it to me, obviously I will pay all expences. Any ideas suggestions contacts would be greatly appriciated, even a wrecked Blackbird engine or bike would do - must be FI

Originally posted by Geoffxx@May 13, 2007 11:43 am

Hi Guys and fellow Bird owners, my name is Geoff and my Blackbird and I currently live in Thailand.

I'm having a difficulty with me bike, it wouldn't normally be a difficulty except that Blackbirds are not officially sold here, even more rare are injection models and worse still I am having a problem with my injection, anywhere else this would be a simple job of "take to dealer fit part if fixed buy part" unfortuately I cannot do that. First I will briefly explain my problem, I get the F1 light on when my revs go above 3000revs, the fault code is 25 (knock sensor) the part cannot be sourced in Thailand and I am finding it difficult to find someone willing to swap thiers out to see if my fault goes away (10min job)

Anyway, the guy that services my bike is quite resourceful when it comes to foreign Jap sport bikes and can usually get most things but not Knock Sensors, when he comes a cross a part he cannot get in Thailand he tells me """"he will have to send to singapore for it"""""" that's the reason I'm here, I need some help in finding a honda new/secondhand parts supplier that will supply to me here in Thailand or find someone in Singapore willing to look for me and source a second hand part and post it to me, obviously I will pay all expences. Any ideas suggestions contacts would be greatly appriciated, even a wrecked Blackbird engine or bike would do - must be FI

hi.. which part of thai r u in?

Originally posted by SaintDuDu@May 12, 2007 12:50 pm

hmm... we can either use a CCT for blackbird or X11.. X11 cct is said to last longer.. dunno true anot...

Yes.. DIY..

BTW the sound is not from CCT.. the knocking sound is from ur clutch housing.. the rivet is loose.. its normal...CCT is the "knife sharpening sound" when the rpm is from 2000-4000rpm.

Hi SaintDuDu, knife sharpening sound? Before you fix can let me hear?

My bird in first gear got those "manual car moving in reverse gear" sound, like rubber rubbing on something, I guess it's gear whine.

Yah I heard the clutch knocking sound is very normal and common on birds. It seems to dissapear when it warms up, do you know exactly why it happens?

I need some advice on what luggage is recommended for our bird for touring. I'm thinking of getting some 2nd hand Givi boxes, main worry is which will clear the exhaust pipes, and will they make the bike feel light at the front and affect handling?

Will like to hear your thoughts on what you use and which you'll recommend, thanks!

Originally posted by maddy84@May 15, 2007 12:59 am

hi bro im think of geting a 02 blackbird.......

Can anyone PM me any bikes shop selling or any of your selling .....

Thank Q:help:

dude, tink i saw an ad selling '02BB in e garage sales->used bikes section... mayb u can chk it out...

Originally posted by Geoffxx@May 13, 2007 11:43 am

Sawadeekap.....

Hi Geoffxx,

How old is your bike. If im not mistaken, 25 blinks is not a major problem. Its only the wiring fault.. U need to change the whole wiring.. In S'pore, it will cost you around $450. It will be around 9000batt. There is this mechanic ever told me about Honda bike. he says that Honda bike, the engine is extremly good, can last long. But not the wiring section. That's the bad part of Honda he says.. Im not sure how true is it..

Maybe if you are intrested, you can ride down to s'pore and I'll bring you to a good bike shop to get it done. Fix a date and I'll fetch you from the Tuas checkpoint. I'll be glad to meet you..

Other ways is that you can call this bike shop "HKL" in S'pore. The number is: 62756656. Try enquire from them first... :thumb:

http://www.motorradonline.de/2002bilder/cbr1200xx.jpg

I don't think it's necessary to change the entire loom? From what I understand you just have to hardwire out the test pins in the 99 bird's wiring loom and it'll permanently fix the problem. Seems the problem is caused by a sub test-circuit that Honda left in the loom for the 99 birds that will cause problems when it corroded. Removing this part of the circuit by hardwiring it out will fix the problem.Much cheaper than wiring loom replacement.

Anyway I emailed him offering to help but didn't hear back.

actually i got friends in phuket whom can help him.. but no reply.. haha

GUYS CHECK my SIGGY to get race leathers,mesh and gloves..!!!!pls call 92472541 for enquiries...SMS will not be entertain GREAT BARGAINS..!!!!.

i will try to anser all your question. but not online please...i cant keep track...thanksss....

Originally posted by jay_jay2212@May 20, 2007 03:29 am

Ya Lor... where he go...

How many days olready, yet no news from him.. :giddy:

he pm mi... :smile: