SBF Runners Cafe 2008 - FXR/VXR/RST

wer n how can i learn dat?

Aiyoh. There's such a thing call internet, search engine like yahoo and google right?

What's wrong with people nowadays? Is it the fault of our singapore's education system that result in the "spoon fed required" singaporean?

Some guide lines. Key in Things like "Carburattor jettings" "TM24 jettings" "CVK30 jettings" "TMX jettings" pwk jettings"

And read thru what is availbale from the net.

But warn u first. There will be alot of infos one the web.

Some gave up after seeing the amount of info that is need to read.

Some gave up after acquiring the knowledge, because he find it too troublesome to do it.

Bikeshop can do for you, but to a certain extent only.

You cannot blame them. because end of the day, u are riding your bike and u expect/wants a specific respond and behaviour from the bike.

And specific behaviour need specific tuning. Only you yourself know the specific behaviour you wan.

It will definately help if you know what is the actual symptom that u are facing. Tell what the bike shop u want to do. And they will definately be able to do it.

Don't go "My bike cannot start. How?"

This kind of statement, I also donno how.

Bike that idle low, die at traffic. and etc. All this kind of infos is readily on the web. All you need to do is do a yahoo search.

• Replies 9.5k

btw recently my milleage have become worse.. wat are the possible reasons.. i mean one ting abt runners u cant see ur mistake, u can only hear it or feel it.. last time milleage become worse coz of my tire low pressure.. now ok, but i have a feeling due to belting is worn out..

u can "see" the problem by fully understanding ur bike's service history which will make troubleshooting much easier also...

Next up will be product knowledge n "how things work"...from there u will be able to understand more on wat n wher go wrong also

http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a381/spy622/siggy-1.jpg

http://img239.imageshack.us/img239/5958/userbar133749dj2.gif

u can "see" the problem by fully understanding ur bike's service history which will make troubleshooting much easier also...

Next up will be product knowledge n "how things work"...from there u will be able to understand more on wat n wher go wrong also

bro... maybe you can organise one outing for us newbies to get to know more about our ride :thumb: :thumb:

this will definitely help us a lot.

A simple tip .

When was the last time u change/service/clean ur AIR Filter?

Is the route that u travel daily full of dust? and sand? :angel:

bro, this guy suspects that his belt could've worn out. so i'm telling him the average lifespan of a belt lah... :cheeky:

anyway, i don't ride everyday... only on weekends. but i think my mileage sucks because of some fiddling with the carb settings :sian:

bro, this guy suspects that his belt could've worn out. so i'm telling him the average lifespan of a belt lah... :cheeky:

anyway, i don't ride everyday... only on weekends. but i think my mileage sucks because of some fiddling with the carb settings :sian:

Actually, I don't really care about mileage. Too lazy to calculate the whole nonsense. end of the day still must top up.

For me, The only time I would suspect the belt is worn off, is when the show 2 symptoms.

1. When cold, got abit of belt/clutch slip feeling. Usually is belt and usually comes around 8000km onwards. Depends on individual. some feel it, some don't.

2. At the same rpm. eg. 7000rpm. The speed is lesser by 5 to 10 km. compare to last time. OF course 10km diff, it will be closing to 12000km already. In some way. It will increase fuel consumption when u try to maintain the same speed as last time.

By the way, I feel that increase in fuel consumption by 20Km is no big deal in reality. 240 vs 220. U loose 20km. And that's like additional 1 liter of petrol. $1.80 more? 1.80 x5 = $9 amonth more. I'm sure ur installment cost more than that.

Anyway. For autoscoot. We are to change belt every 10000km~12000km

So the above symptoms, sure will come accross one.

Same for increase in fuel consumption. When the belt is coming to an end. this is what u will need to come accross.

AS long u make sure u chnage belt when time is up. Can already. Why care about mileage? Are u gonna change a new belt when the belt is at it 9000km life span?

The cost of belt and workmanship sure do not help the fuel saving part. In fact, It will cost more tha n u save on fuel.

So Solution on that.

If you donno when the previous owner last change the belt. Ask him.

If cannot contact owner. Just change for the peace of mind, Cos belt snap due to end of life span might result in more cost. Why?

The belt snap when u are in the bend. U will skid. When a bike skid, needless to say. The cost is the most. Fairing, respray, and whatever damage u can think of when skidded. The u got medical bills?

Belt snap in straight. The snapped belt end up in front of ur variator. Chances is ur 2T pump will go. A new one cost 100+ onwards. Nit to mention, u need new belt. tow fees?

Even if nothing is damaged during belt snap. U still need tow, The time u lose. I'm sure that is a cost also.

If you want more details and possibility

Check

1. All the bearings. Like wheels bearings. Do they need regrease, are they worn? Crank bearings. are they worn? The rear secondary gears bearings. are they warn. Is the wheel shaft rusted.

2. Tires. make sure they are of correct pressure.

3. brakes. are the brake piston stuck. when was the last time u service and clean.

4. brake disc. are they warped.

5. Carb. of course if the setting is not correct. U swill loose mileage. But most of the time not much. Unless it's way out and u are using a bigger carb.

6. Air filter. U will be surprise by our road condition here. Lotsa dust and sand.

Wanna get a new carb and open pod to compliment my LV pipe. Just dunno where to go and have it all installed and tuned... Any suggestions where is the best shop to go get it? And roughly how much it cost... so i can gauge the cost and just in case the shop wanna burn a hole in my pocket. Thks

http://i288.photobucket.com/albums/ll175/msdollylolly2/avatar.jpg

Bike history:

Gilera FXR

X9 Evo

Gilera VXR

Honda NX400

FZ6

FJR 1300

thanks for all ur help guys... i have a feelin its my belt.. last time i changed was last yr oct.. lol.. almost 1 yr...

-death is a promise from god at birth-

-everyone dies, but only some lived-

bro Black Comet, thanks for the insight. you wrote quite a deal there. must be speaking from experience eh?

You are welcome, Bro. 1/3 experience. 1/3 common sense, and 1/3 infos from the web.

thanks for all ur help guys... i have a feelin its my belt.. last time i changed was last yr oct.. lol.. almost 1 yr...

THis one is tricky. usually depends very much on individual. I always track by mileage. eg. change at 12000km. 24000km must change belt.

VXR time, I clear 12000km in 9 months. cos newbie and having fun with bike. so almost every 2 days pump petrol type. Meaning I always go out with biker friends, riding all over singapore. sometimes malaysia. work place from home is only 9km away. so to work and home is 18KM.

My second bike typhoon. Stay somewhere else already. work place to home is 12km. so 24Km from home to work and to home per day. This time round. seldom go out that often cos got kid. 1 year is 9500KM

My current bike. Shack work place is 33km from home. seldom go out cos ah pek already. 9 months belt change cos my current bike call for beklt change at 10000KM.

If I were you. I think I just change to have a peace of mind. and start monitoring the lifespan from there.

To all: that are riding tis bike..

Kana rob at jb...

Last nite my brother went in jb for petrol.

Then while he's waiting at a traffic junction for green light,

suddenly a kup wif a pillion turn off his engine and snatch his key away

and there's 1 more person out from nowhere push him and his runner down

and then start pushing his bike away..

He tried to retrieve his bike back but he worry about his safety also..

Ended up they ride his bike away...

We did not inherit the Earth from our ancestors

We borrow it from our children!

http://i143.photobucket.com/albums/r130/szh74/ghost_rider3.jpghttp://i143.photobucket.com/albums/r130/szh74/violence.gif

Sorry to hear that, didn't know the crime rate in JB is so bad.

Heard from one mechanic last Sat that Runner is very hot in JB, so becareful all.

Kana rob at jb...

riders out there pls be alert when in JB...such cases r rather shocking these days...

http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a381/spy622/siggy-1.jpg

http://img239.imageshack.us/img239/5958/userbar133749dj2.gif

not only hot in JB i think oso very hot in s'pore... steal part even steal the whole bike~! just take gd care of ur runner...

Sorry to hear that, didn't know the crime rate in JB is so bad.

Heard from one mechanic last Sat that Runner is very hot in JB, so becareful all.

this is outrageous! the sad thing is that the m'sian govt cant help much abt this

not that i'm being sarcastic or wad... but sometimes when i think back... is it worth saving that few dollars of petrol & risk getting robbed or even murdered in JB? or maybe it is much safer to travel up north in bigger groups?

http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a169/changmao/ninedragoncafe.jpg

Kana rob at jb...

this is ridiculous :angry: :angry: :angry: ! but thank god they nv stab ur bro... shld have rode there in a group!!! hope ur bro is all rite!

http://www.speedtest.net/result/211227977.png

http://i38.tinypic.com/205fs0m.jpg

this is outrageous! the sad thing is that the m'sian govt cant help much abt this

not that i'm being sarcastic or wad... but sometimes when i think back... is it worth saving that few dollars of petrol & risk getting robbed or even murdered in JB? or maybe it is much safer to travel up north in bigger groups?

How true. A full tank for an 06/07 Runner can cost at least $11. Is the price difference worth being robbed or even killed? I don't think so.

http://aka.ip-technik.net/pornoheft/coke.jpg
going in group might help , but must take note, how big ur group .. theirs will be bigger! :eek:

but at least it is betta than riding there alone...

Ok guys, it is a confirm tat tis comin TAA meetin up point is at KALLANG KFC fer all bikes, not at People's Association or Hougang Stadium.....timing is 1400hr n to move off at 1500hr...

wat's TAA??? any links??? and when???

still... i dun see anything more valuable than our lives

unless u find that saving a few dollars is worthy of putting ur life at risk

personally, i have not ride past the causeway for more than 10 yrs

given the chaotic state our neighbour is currently in, with all the reports of robberies & murders ,i seriously dun see any reason why i should be riding there

http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a169/changmao/ninedragoncafe.jpg

used to ride in jb almost every other day, sometime even alone .. but since my close fren kena chase by kups with parangs late last year, stop going altogether. luckily they escaped ..