SBF Runners Cafe 2008 - FXR/VXR/RST

how much in price? how much more in performance will it gained?

u cannot measure the gain in performance till u know how to set it properly...the filter is juz a part dat u will need to make other parts work better. Not a part which u fix n it will give u extra bhps.

How much I dunno becoz I am never interested in Malossi air filters.

ok let me re-explain the logic of an open pod air filter....

when u walk itz ok to breath thru ur nose but when u start running u will like to breath thru ur mouth instead to get more air..so the concept works on similar logic

so will breathing thru ur mouth n ur nose give u any diff in "performance" on ur body??

http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a381/spy622/siggy-1.jpg

http://img239.imageshack.us/img239/5958/userbar133749dj2.gif

• Replies 9.5k

hi all ... at wat mileage shall we chng the air filter?? :confused:

read ur owner's manual..u should clean it every 10000km if I remember correctly

how much in price? how much more in performance will it gained?

shd be ard the same price with other filters ... not much performance ... imo.

if u want to really see performance ... get cylinder kit, much better performance gains ..and cam and valve and valve springs and gears .. then go to the transmission ... variators etc ... or go for trans 1st , either way.. got money no prob :thumb:

cos if i not wrong, ur gpr exhaust already make ur bike run lean .. so adding a open pod will make it leaner ... and so .. the farting continues........... :cool:

I will suggest go for the transmission 1st....as the transmission setting r easier to achieve.

so isnt it the same thing wif dat bullet filter u r toking about...

UNLESS u want the LOOK of it lah

icic..............

Good things dont come cheap & cheap thing dont come good

-------------------------------------------------

http://img147.imageshack.us/img147/8460/yellowpv7.jpg

cos if i not wrong, ur gpr exhaust already make ur bike run lean .. so adding a open pod will make it leaner ... and so .. the farting continues........... :cool:

bro, now farting less :cheeky:

went to clean the carb, did some tuning and don't know what else Ah Seng did, now not as often and not that much :thumb:

now fart a bit... boleh tahan lah. kentut sikit stylo juga :cheeky:

u cannot measure the gain in performance till u know how to set it properly...the filter is juz a part dat u will need to make other parts work better. Not a part which u fix n it will give u extra bhps.

How much I dunno becoz I am never interested in Malossi air filters.

ok let me re-explain the logic of an open pod air filter....

when u walk itz ok to breath thru ur nose but when u start running u will like to breath thru ur mouth instead to get more air..so the concept works on similar logic

so will breathing thru ur mouth n ur nose give u any diff in "performance" on ur body??

hahaha... after this analogy... now i understand better. thanks bro :thumb:

well malossi filter sit out like a ****.

the bullet filter i've heard of improper installation and the whole filter fly outta the bike on the expressway

for me i'm using hurricane thou.

so far water never go in cause sitting right underneath the seat

simple nice and effective..

anyway isnt tuning effective in preventing the backfire?

and changing the transmission's damn expensive la!

everytime sure burns a big hole in the pocket.. -_-

of course lah, when u want better performance. tuning is effective but u have to consider ur jettings too .. bigger main jets will let u achieve better high ends since u have an unrestrictive air flow .. if not u will be running lean ..

and faster speed oso means higher revs .. so there's where the trans and engine mod comes in place .. u wouldn't want to blow ur engine rite? but of course tis is abt modding .. for everyday use, stock will be juz great, rite?

btw where u heard abt the bullet filter flying? whose? or juz rumours ...

bro, now farting less :cheeky:

went to clean the carb, did some tuning and don't know what else Ah Seng did, now not as often and not that much :thumb:

now fart a bit... boleh tahan lah. kentut sikit stylo juga :cheeky:

tat time when spy and sheep ada tak nak dengar betul2 ... kekeke.. now lost.. hehehe! nvm.. must chio them out for kopi soon ... then u better listen carefully .. :p

tat time... masih newbie. tak tau depa cakap ape. skarang bila pocket dah koyak... baru tau lah... kakaka :faint:

ok lah... wait for kopi outing. make sure it happen yah? :thumb:

how about brakes? do you guys changed the lines or brakepads?

cuase i found that the stock braking is not that good. quite soft.. anyone can advise on this. i noe there is an aftermarket such as Hel and etc..

thx.

of course lah, when u want better performance. tuning is effective but u have to consider ur jettings too .. bigger main jets will let u achieve better high ends since u have an unrestrictive air flow .. if not u will be running lean ..

and faster speed oso means higher revs .. so there's where the trans and engine mod comes in place .. u wouldn't want to blow ur engine rite? but of course tis is abt modding .. for everyday use, stock will be juz great, rite?

btw where u heard abt the bullet filter flying? whose? or juz rumours ...

ah guys pls dun be mistaken wif the term "tuning" of carb which I hav always mention as juz adjusting the a/f ratio screw where by the mech will take a screw driver n rev ur bike n listen n turn here turn ther.

Adjusting of the a/f screw will only affect from idle to 1/8 of ur throttle opening which usually when the mechs do dat stunt they hav aready open way beyond 1/8 of ur throttle opening.

the term "tuning" I hav always been refering to is the overall setup of the carb including the jettings.

Some tips on carb setting which I hav taken off from the net..

The air screw is most effective between idle through 1/8 throttle.

The pilot (slow) jet is most effective between 1/8 through 1/4 throttle.

The slide valve is most effective between 1/8 through 1/2 throttle

The jet needle is most effective between 1/4 through 3/4 throttle.

The main jet is most effective between 3/4 through wide-open throttle.

http://justkdx.dirtrider.net/images/graph.jpg

Thus when we tok abt carb setup, a smooth transition from idle to a wide open throttle (WOT) is the idealy thingy wif the best pull from the engine

I hope the above will give u guys a better understanding so adjusting ur carb...many parts come in plc for the perfect setup thus dat little carb no matter how good ppl comment it is, it will also not be a thingy dat u buy n instal n u will fly...u will hav to invest on all the different jets, valves, needles to get u a comfortable setup to make it work best

And lastly for vxr riders, the availablity of all these parts for dat orginal carb is not easily avaiable locally thus it will make ur setting up very difficult..thus I will recommend a change of carb which has easily avaiable parts n of coz how this carb can be easily install in ur bike.

for 2T runners, a lot of choices r available but for 4T, itz abit hard

how about brakes? do you guys changed the lines or brakepads?

cuase i found that the stock braking is not that good. quite soft.. anyone can advise on this. i noe there is an aftermarket such as Hel and etc..

thx.

when coming to brakes, imho the upgrades shld go in the following stages

1) brake pads

2) brake hose

3) brake disc

4) brake caliper

5) brake pump

but b4 spending excess $$ on all these items, we must work out on regular maintainace of the whole brake system like regular cleaning n bleeding of ur brake fulid.

to juz remind again on y I hav always mention dat the mechs can hardly do a perfect setting on our bikes becoz they dont not ride our bikes, the below article hav some comments on how a RACE mech tunes carbs for his team's motocross bike

Carburetor tuning has the greatest effect on engine performance. When a motorcycle manufacturer builds a bike, they usually install jets in the carb that are too rich. The manufacturers sell the same model worldwide, so they couldn’t afford to install different jets in the carb to suit all the different climates and types of fuel. In addition to the climate and fuel, the manufacturer would also have to consider many other factors, such as the terrain and type of riding. And then there is the most important jetting consideration, the rider.

When I worked as a mechanic, I was in charge of jetting the bike over the course of the day. During morning practice sessions, the track was usually muddy and the air temperature was at its lowest point. I had to jet the bike rich for practice because the air density was greater and the mud put more of a load on the engine. Then I had to watch the rider and the bike perform on different sections of the track. I would go to the obstacle on the track that presented the greatest load on the bike, typically an uphill straight section. I’d listen to my engine and watch the rider. I’d listen for pinging or knocking noises or excessive smoke from the pipe. I would watch to see if the rider had to fan the clutch a lot and how my bike pulled in comparison to others. Getting feedback from the rider is difficult because they are concentrating on riding not the bike’s performance. At a pro national there is one practice session, followed by a series of qualifiers and eventually two race motos. The time spacing of the riding sessions over the course of the day was such that I had to compensate the jetting two or three times. Otherwise, the bike would either seize from being too lean in the morning or run too rich for the second moto.

Race mechanics have different techniques for carb jetting. These techniques range from asking other mechanics what jets they are running to using precise measuring gauges to monitor the engine performance. In motocross races, where most of the riders are of equal skill levels, a holeshot in the start can mean the difference between a place on the podium and 30 minutes of roost in your face! The difference in horsepower between the bike that gets the holeshot and the bike that brings up the back of the pack may only be a few ponies! The race mechanic can give his rider an awesome advantage if he carefully monitors the carb jetting.

This section will give you insight into the carb tuning process, from diagnosing mechanical problems that mimic poor jetting to tuning tools such as gauges. It will also give you tips on a jetting method that I’ve developed called the "ride-and-feel" method," which I consider to be the best method It’s a technique that I teach to all the riders I’ve worked with. You don’t need any fancy tools, just the ability to make observations while you ride.

hi there..

need some opinion.. my bike cannot start. if start, got cranking sound but still cannot start. anything wri\og with my ride.. btw im riding 05 model.

btw, would like 2 thank wan gilez to help me out wif my bike.. too bad, bike still cannot start.. owe you n ur fiance a big feasty meal...

simply.ayie aka DVS Rider

Gila-Gila Gilera Kakis

VIVA LA VIDA GILERA

hmmm... got cranking sound but cannot start? could be a few things... check sparkplug, check petrol level. when was the last time you last rode your bike?

batt also.........fuel tube,carb.....

OMG the thread is so cold nowadays...

Comon guys get alife haha...

*Hey guys im looking for gilera 180 sp side stand,

sell me cheap cheap or if can give me k, pm me thanks....

Boring booking in already...

Good things dont come cheap & cheap thing dont come good

-------------------------------------------------

http://img147.imageshack.us/img147/8460/yellowpv7.jpg

my collent cap leaking got any better cap can find around??

how much to make a new no plate rear n front to yellow color plate where can do it

i also have the same problem weeks ago after topping up my coolant... den now the leaking problem stop... i think if ur problem is same as mine, think u have top up too much coolant...

and... for no plate... it's either front black plate n rear black plate or front white plate n rear yellow plate... u cant do anything other than this... for front i know u can do it at ard 6 - 8 bucks for sticker type...

http://www.speedtest.net/result/211227977.png

http://i38.tinypic.com/205fs0m.jpg

my coolant cap oso same problem last time.. i change to new one ok oreadi.. usually its the coolant rubber lining spoil thats why..

-death is a promise from god at birth-

-everyone dies, but only some lived-