SBF Runners Cafe 2008 - FXR/VXR/RST

• Replies 9.5k

dun mind if i ask.. if i wana make my gilera much more stable during high speed cornering muz i install a fork brace or sumthing heavy infront ?? bcoz i experience during high speed cornering at high way my bike will wobble and cant really execute it pretty smoothly..

Moderate freestyles, please exercise & practice "Pastrana-Togetherness"

lol looks nice but i still have my doubts regarding sponge filters.. worse the sponge so fat.. what if some sharp small object kenah stuck inside the sponge?!??! impossible for you to take it out already

first thing first, DO u ride or OWN a gilera or any tuned auto scoots?

u sound like a PRO brother.. mind my words but ive tried many kinds of clamp filters for years but not few month.

So far i preffered "SPONGE" filters as u mention rather than steel braided like "Hurricane" and let me share some knowledge to you guys that dont really know or confuse about clamp filters materials.

"SPONGE" filters:- (Quality ones)

1. they are not made of normal typical sponge. (eg. washing dishes sponge)

2. Easy to clean using hand by sqeezing it. (use petrol for effective result)

3. sponge filters are thick enough to trap fine dirt or foreign object. (safest of all. that is why most scramblers use "SPONGE" filters)

4. Most "SPONGE" filters are cut into cone or cylindical shapes. WHY? so that dirt or sand dont sit in between wavy grooves like steel braided or metal filters.

5. in a package, "SPONGE" filters comes with only a Sponge, special made rubber for clamp, strong plastic and last but not least, NO RUST.

6. good sponge dont absorb water easily coz its thick enough for water not to go through the "pores" and is not open boldly.

7. its durable, long lasting.

"STEEL BRAIDED" filters:- (Branded names)

1. the steel braided wont rust but the top cover if u guys notice, if there's a paint chip on it, it will rust like nobody business if water gets in contact with it.

2. steel braided filters need high pressure air gun to clean it thoroughly.

3. the material is a plaid type, thin layer. Once helmet compartment been hit a few times, the plaid will bent and can open into big pores as dirt may slip in. (this applies to all 4stroke old model runner not RST)

4. Steel braided comes only with wavy, round shape design.

5. "steel" braided filters comes with partial Steel, metal and special rubber for clamp.

6. its a bad day if raining coz its a direct flow with less filtered. Bike will not move at all if filter is wet. You cnt espect to open ur filter to dry coz u need a high pressured air gun to blow off all the absorb water in between pores.

7. its strong but not as durable.

Thanx. No offence of those ppl using Steel braided filters. You can still use it as its your own pref made.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v691/controversysells/sabanner_414x77.gif

..::http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v691/controversysells/s6star.jpgStage6::.. ' SCTR ATCK ' :Enthusiast? Do visit my homepage.

dun mind if i ask.. if i wana make my gilera much more stable during high speed cornering muz i install a fork brace or sumthing heavy infront ?? bcoz i experience during high speed cornering at high way my bike will wobble and cant really execute it pretty smoothly..

stock fork is long and gravity pull is not strong enough if u ride fast as most weight all being pull back

= Front weight becomes light.

= WOBBLE.

If u got money than get yourself a "F32S" Malossi fork suspension.

WHY? coz its shorter than original and u can adjust the rebound to your own pref.

Another way is to change and service your fork oil. Add abit more than actual litres of fork oil to make it abit stiffer. Remember not too stiff as u may stress your cone and wheel bearing.

Down your fork to the max is another solution. It workz!

Fork brace is another option best for conering.

Good Luck!

..::http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v691/controversysells/s6star.jpgStage6::.. ' SCTR ATCK ' :Enthusiast? Do visit my homepage.

so what are the pros and cons for dr pulley slider rollers and malossi one? need some enlightenment before changing to either one

So far most of the ppl who tried Dr Pulley rollers gives good reply to the responds BUT for your info, it eatens up your variator walls fast!. Anyway Its proven and tested. Im not trying to condamn the brand here but im sharing my experience.

Branded variator doesnt last long than original ones coz of its made and light weight coz its made especially for racing.

So far most of the ppl who tried Dr Pulley rollers gives good reply to the responds BUT for your info, it eatens up your variator walls fast!. Anyway Its proven and tested. Im not trying to condamn the brand here but im sharing my experience.

Branded variator doesnt last long than original ones coz of its made and light weight coz its made especially for racing.

how fast is ur fast? not like few months rite? i'm using the original stock variator wanna change to the Dr Pulley sliding rollers.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v384/evilben_85/evil.jpg

Piaggio Typhoon 125 - FW596E

Yamaha X1-S - FY5414D

Gilera Runner VXR 200 - FBB4445P

XR400 - FP5404E

DRZ400SM - FBB9987J

i haf used tis product, i must say its damn good lah.. very responsive. but not on runner ar.. on ktm and wr .. solid .. for off road with all those mudss... hehehe! power! so usually after off road days.. jus use air gun to spray off the dirt.. and its quite lasting too, surprisingly. Good stuff, never thought of it.. but sticking to air box.. maybe can try the ones for the air box.

dat is the reason...all these mud n dirt on the filter tested on dirt bikes n itz still working well...thus it SEEMS dat it proves to be a gd filter

hav to try then know lah

http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a381/spy622/siggy-1.jpg

http://img239.imageshack.us/img239/5958/userbar133749dj2.gif

first thing first, DO u ride or OWN a gilera or any tuned auto scoots?

u sound like a PRO brother.. mind my words but ive tried many kinds of clamp filters for years but not few month.

So far i preffered "SPONGE" filters as u mention rather than steel braided like "Hurricane" and let me share some knowledge to you guys that dont really know or confuse about clamp filters materials.

"SPONGE" filters:- (Quality ones)

1. they are not made of normal typical sponge. (eg. washing dishes sponge)

2. Easy to clean using hand by sqeezing it. (use petrol for effective result)

3. sponge filters are thick enough to trap fine dirt or foreign object. (safest of all. that is why most scramblers use "SPONGE" filters)

4. Most "SPONGE" filters are cut into cone or cylindical shapes. WHY? so that dirt or sand dont sit in between wavy grooves like steel braided or metal filters.

5. in a package, "SPONGE" filters comes with only a Sponge, special made rubber for clamp, strong plastic and last but not least, NO RUST.

6. good sponge dont absorb water easily coz its thick enough for water not to go through the "pores" and is not open boldly.

7. its durable, long lasting.

"STEEL BRAIDED" filters:- (Branded names)

1. the steel braided wont rust but the top cover if u guys notice, if there's a paint chip on it, it will rust like nobody business if water gets in contact with it.

2. steel braided filters need high pressure air gun to clean it thoroughly.

3. the material is a plaid type, thin layer. Once helmet compartment been hit a few times, the plaid will bent and can open into big pores as dirt may slip in. (this applies to all 4stroke old model runner not RST)

4. Steel braided comes only with wavy, round shape design.

5. "steel" braided filters comes with partial Steel, metal and special rubber for clamp.

6. its a bad day if raining coz its a direct flow with less filtered. Bike will not move at all if filter is wet. You cnt espect to open ur filter to dry coz u need a high pressured air gun to blow off all the absorb water in between pores.

7. its strong but not as durable.

Thanx. No offence of those ppl using Steel braided filters. You can still use it as its your own pref made.

-= OWNAGE =-

Mod-ed Ride.. Mod-ed Rider....

2007 - Gilera Runner SP180 (FS 3139T)

2007-2008 - Honda Phantom 200 (FV1428G)

2008-2009 - Honda Super 4 Spec 1 (FT 9543P)

2009-2010 - Kia Cerato Forte (SJS 4772K)

2010 ~ Present - Honda Civic VTi-S ES1 1.7M (SKA 543*Z)

http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x275/1Seth1_FXRSP/edit.jpg

stock fork is long and gravity pull is not strong enough if u ride fast as most weight all being pull back

= Front weight becomes light.

= WOBBLE.

If u got money than get yourself a "F32S" Malossi fork suspension.

WHY? coz its shorter than original and u can adjust the rebound to your own pref.

Another way is to change and service your fork oil. Add abit more than actual litres of fork oil to make it abit stiffer. Remember not too stiff as u may stress your cone and wheel bearing.

Fork brace is another option best for conering.

Good Luck!

Wahhhhhh no money leh bro to buy malossi fork.. will try alternative though as putting more fork oil, down fork and put on fork brace.. I think shud be ok after that.. anyways thanx for info.. appreciate it..

lol what's with the fiery post man

take it easy i was just sharing my thoughts

you're pro sponge and i'm pro steel braided filters

anyway you would like to check up on some of the info i think they might be rather biased towards sponge filters.

what i needed to hear to get convicted :thumb:

been asking around and nobody seems to be able to tell me.

dat is the reason...all these mud n dirt on the filter tested on dirt bikes n itz still working well...thus it SEEMS dat it proves to be a gd filter

hav to try then know lah

some more runner no need to go on mud... no doubt its good lah .. tested and proven ... now need to search for local dealers ..

btw tis sound very stupid .. yeah its stupid.. wat carb is the 06 runner running on? i dun haf the manual ar .. anybody? thanks in advance!

Is sunrise full service at 200 bux cheap ah to u all ?? bcoz my bike nids full servicing another 1k km..

They change;

* Malossi Kelvar Belt (S$95.00)

* Original Roller (S$15.00)

* Original U-Clip (S$8.00)

* Gear oil (S$4.00)

* Choice of Malossi or Castrol engine oil (S$20.00)

* Oil Filter (S$15.00)

* Spark Plug (S$8.00)

* Labour charge (S$35.00)

Ok nt ?? Or kena chop ??

all ard is abt the same.. go to a workshop u comfortable with .. if u feel like kena chop .. then change shop.. it goes on and on ..

shop need to make profit, charge too high, noody will come, charge too low.. how to make money.. so my point is... no point actually .. its up to u.. hehehe!

good luck!

Wahhhhhh no money leh bro to buy malossi fork.. will try alternative though as putting more fork oil, down fork and put on fork brace.. I think shud be ok after that.. anyways thanx for info.. appreciate it..

try balancing ur front rim 1st..riding position on the scooter does matter so it takes awhile to get used to riding the bike

http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a381/spy622/siggy-1.jpg

http://img239.imageshack.us/img239/5958/userbar133749dj2.gif

try balancing ur front rim 1st..riding position on the scooter does matter so it takes awhile to get used to riding the bike

My riding style abit funny 1.. i use pillion foot rest to corner than using the front foot rest.. hahax..

btw bro ark.. urs is a 06 rite? from wat i noe, can't fit a fork brace due to the size of the front wheel? unless they manufacture 1 solely for the new runner ar. u shd consider changing tires oso.. stock tire .. not good leh.. develop bumps and slippery too..

guys, had fun with you all.

Hope i can ride with you all again. Without a runner that is.

Gilera Runner 06` 04/07 - 11/07

Toyota Axio- 11/07 - 02/08

Mitsubishi Lancer Ex - Current to ??/??

Honda Cb400 Vtec 1 06/08 - 02/09

CBR600RR '08 12/09 to ????

btw bro ark.. urs is a 06 rite? from wat i noe, can't fit a fork brace due to the size of the front wheel? unless they manufacture 1 solely for the new runner ar. u shd consider changing tires oso.. stock tire .. not good leh.. develop bumps and slippery too..

eh how u knw i ride the newer ver of runner ? =x haha.. but mine not 06, mine 07.. ya leh, i juz found out they nvr make fork brace for the newer models.. haiz, guess i juz put more fork oil and down fork.. maybe consider change tires too, was thinking of using pirelli gts 23/24, not sure ah they say michelin pilot also not bad.. but seriously scary man corner at high speed and the bike would wobbel quite alot..

down fork. Thats the answer to all and study ur right siting position.

Good luck!

anyway if i'm not wrong right you're riding a 2 stroke right?

how can you compare the performance when all you've tried on is on a 2 stroke?

it doesnt matter if its a 2 stroke or a 4 stroke.

The topic is still regarding abt "AIR FILTERS"

it sucks in air.. period.

~Cheers'

best is try out urseLf La which fiLters u Like best.. if u're on a budget n cant afford to keep changing fiLters at shops.. then exchange with friends n try for a few days.. whichever way that works..

if u Like steeL go ahead with steeL.. if u Like sponge joLLy weLL fix it on ur bike. if u Like airbox then shut up n ride.. LOL!! kiddin..

why Listen to wat others have to say.. or even so.. mechanics recommend on that note. try it urseLf.. feeL it urseLf.. onLy that way u can determine wat u Like. of course La u can Listen to feedback given by others .. i dont mean Listen to EVERYTHING they say tho.. just wats important.. sharing.. maybe just for personaL reference.. but eventuaLLy decision is urs.. n again.. its ur bike that u're riding.

YOU ride ur own bike. YOU Learn your own bike. unLess u dont have Licence that is.. n u Learn from reading off the net or manuaLs or watever fLyers that come with the product. that case.. err.. just shut up La.. LOL!