thanks! i'll give everbright a call tomorrow... i wrote bike production off already. went there a month ago or so, their service level was non-existent! if they're like that even before i buy, can't imagine how bad the after-sales service will be.

Can say the same about Ever too.

• Replies 39.2k

• Wildcat

• jhawk2820

• bobo_rider

• fleaz

............wah lau, like that there isn't a single company that can be trusted!

but anyway nevermind lah. the vespa i wanted has been sold already... :(

thanks! i'll give everbright a call tomorrow... i wrote bike production off already. went there a month ago or so, their service level was non-existent! if they're like that even before i buy, can't imagine how bad the after-sales service will be.

haha. i realise B*k* p*od have alot of foreign talent working there! :angel:

............wah lau, like that there isn't a single company that can be trusted!

but anyway nevermind lah. the vespa i wanted has been sold already... :(

haha. my belief is.. no shop can be trusted. the more u close to them the harder they chop u aft time.

Survey around, have a few fav bike shops. :cheeky:

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii208/danielsin2/800_3108.jpg

I agree with you, went there last week. Only the mechanic entertained my questions.

Yeanyway, I wanna clarify something...If you pass the stopline before the light turns red, is it considered beating the red light?

Cos I went past the stopline when it was amber, and by the time I was halfway across the junction, it turned red. Shouldn't be a problem right? Nervous ah, haha, still quite new on the roads.

Yeanyway, I wanna clarify something...If you pass the stopline before the light turns red, is it considered beating the red light?

Cos I went past the stopline when it was amber, and by the time I was halfway across the junction, it turned red. Shouldn't be a problem right? Nervous ah, haha, still quite new on the roads.

If you are outside on the road, so long as your bike has passed the stop line while the light is still green/amber, you will not kena red light camera. But do be careful when you do this... make sure no traffic is approaching

Inside the driving school circuit, think u better check with your instructor :cheeky:

boring rider. with a boring bike.

too old to want to appear interesting anymore.

Sometimes you just close one eye la... sometimes mech chop me a bit regarding price... but i know they only chop a bit and are responsible when dealing with my bike (good workmanship and use good parts)... so i don't really bother.

Same with seller... if the condition of the bike is good and the price is still ok, I don't really mind whether I can get it a bit cheaper elsewhere etc. At the end of the day at least you get a bike that still can run, even if it was priced a bit higher.

Gives me less stress too... :cheeky:

If you are outside on the road, so long as your bike has passed the stop line while the light is still green/amber, you will not kena red light camera. But do be careful when you do this... make sure no traffic is approaching

Inside the driving school circuit, think u better check with your instructor :cheeky:

Then I should be fine, but I sped up to pass the junction quickly and it turned amber before I passed the line. Wanted to e-brake, but scared got car behind so I just went ahead. So as long as I pass the line when it is amber, I won't kena? :cheeky:

in my experience if you cross while its amber you won't kena, only if you cross when it's red

anyway most junction don't have red light camera... even if have, might not be working. You may be lucky...

Anyway just dont think so much la... if letter come then settle lor... otherwise can go eddies check everyday... most of the time won't kena one la... but don't test your luck too often thats all :cheeky:

Just to be specific, the line at the traffic light junction is not called a Stopline.

Most of us will call it, indicating white line.

Don't worry too much abt crossing over the line when the lights are still amber.

If i'm not wrong, the red light camera will activate abt a second after the lights turn red.

Red light camera will activate when u ride/drive over the sensors strips on the ground. You will be able to see it in between the Indicating white line and pedestrain cossing line. If i'm not wrong, these sensors, sense the amount of metal that goes over.

I've heard rumors that, these sensors, at times may not be able to detect bikes because of the lack of amount of metal that goes over the sensors, compared to cars.

Moral of the story,

Every traffic light you approached(even if the light is green in your favour) SLOW DOWN.

If u're traveling at a speed between 50-70km/h, Leave your throttle closed about 3-4 seconds before reaching the traffic light.

Brake slighty to reduce some speed, leave ur fingers on the brake level for quicker reaction if u really need to brake and stop.

New riders on the road will take quite a while to judge their own vehicle's position of the bike(distance away from traffic light), speed of the bike as well, if they are able to stop in time or not if the lights was to really change Amber.

Doing this at Traffic Light Junctions is not only to help to stop safely and not to beat the red light, But to look out for Jay walkers, and to help u look out for oncoming traffic that may be turning right, which is in your path.

Edited by Corse

http://sphotos-f.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/625498_10151506336500777_489049580_n.jpg

Bikes Ridden & Riding Currently.

Yamaha YZF125 - 2001

Super 4 Spec II - 2002

Ducati S4 / Harley Softail - 2003

Ducati 999 / Ducati S4 / Harley Softail - 2006

Yamaha R1'09 / Ducati S4 / Harley Softail - 2009

+ Vespa LX150 - 2012

FJR1300A '13 / Vespa Lx150 / Ducati S4 / Harley Softail - 2013

must also be careful... sometimes you're law-abiding but the vehicle behind u is not... it might be picking up speed to chiong the amber light...

That reminds me of an accident that happened right in front of me!

First driver saw a red light and did an E-brake. The second driver was talking to his girlfriend some distance off, and didn't notice the lights had changed. Ended up bumping the car in front quite hard. It was pretty funny then, but potentially dangerous if it had happened to a bike.

That reminds me of an accident that happened right in front of me!

First driver saw a red light and did an E-brake. The second driver was talking to his girlfriend some distance off, and didn't notice the lights had changed. Ended up bumping the car in front quite hard. It was pretty funny then, but potentially dangerous if it had happened to a bike.

hmm... there was once my friend was pillaning me. there was this cab jam brake in front of us. my friend did a e brake n horn at the same time.. the car who was tailing us horn at us too...

There was nothing infront of tt cab he wasnt picking up phone or picking up passanger.. just normal driving..

i wonder what he did that for... we were quite angry abt it..

expect of the unexpected !!:box:

they're like that even before i buy, can't imagine how bad the after-sales service will be.

their service always like tat.

i recommend u asphoon serangoon, just say i recommend one, pm me for code word of me:angel: or else they dunno who intro u to them

i wonder what he did that for... we were quite angry abt it..

always happening de, its a matter of where n when, last time i almost got sandwiched for nothing lor, die liao also dunno

Moral of the story,

Every traffic light you approached(even if the light is green in your favour) SLOW DOWN.

If u're traveling at a speed between 50-70km/h, Leave your throttle closed about 3-4 seconds before reaching the traffic light.

Brake slighty to reduce some speed, leave ur fingers on the brake level for quicker reaction if u really need to brake and stop.

New riders on the road will take quite a while to judge their own vehicle's position of the bike(distance away from traffic light), speed of the bike as well, if they are able to stop in time or not if the lights was to really change Amber.

Doing this at Traffic Light Junctions is not only to help to stop safely and not to beat the red light, But to look out for Jay walkers, and to help u look out for oncoming traffic that may be turning right, which is in your path.

I was told that these days driving schools teach students to use the "three arrow gauge".

If you notice, normally just before every traffic light, there's a cluster of three directional arrows on the road?

The key is to be prepared to stop as you approach the arrows.

If the light remains green when you hit the first arrow at say 70km/h, then it's safe to accelerate and cross the junction. You can cross the junction without risking any red lights.

But if the light has already turned amber, then stop at the junction because you risk beating the red light if you still cross the junction.

I'm not sure how reliable this guideline is. Maybe Corse or others can enlighten. Normally I slow down before junctions because that's usually where accidents take place. Because we appear small, cars can misjudge our distance and speed. So they may still turn into our path even if the light is in our favour.

http://farm1.static.flickr.com/176/382836949_9f10369d74.jpg

The arrows work if you're travelling at or below the speed limit for that road. That is, the arrows are further apart if the road is higher speed.

If you're already past the second arrow and travelling at the speed limit, you can go through the junction before the light turns red. If you haven't reached the second arrow, you should be able to brake safely before the line.

He who hesitates is lost!

good habit to check if there's vehicles tailgating u when approaching a junction...

stop or not comes with experience ( I'm still learning) and how well u know ur bike.

Bike acceleration = enough to beat amber? calculated risk pls. not superman.

Bike braking = enough to stop in time? and most impt STOP SAFELY?

Riding : To enjoy POWER in between your legs. HORSE POWER that is.

http://i370.photobucket.com/albums/oo148/proradar/n762680656_6897677_26461991.jpghttp://farm4.static.flickr.com/3387/3632031753_703ef020ac_o.jpg

in the end it boils down to how much you understand your machine and what it's capable of i guess....

their service always like tat.

i recommend u asphoon serangoon, just say i recommend one, pm me for code word of me:angel: or else they dunno who intro u to them

ok cool, will ask you for that after i pass! ask you now also no use, i might forget by next month... :D

I was told that these days driving schools teach students to use the "three arrow gauge".

If you notice, normally just before every traffic light, there's a cluster of three directional arrows on the road?

The key is to be prepared to stop as you approach the arrows.

If the light remains green when you hit the first arrow at say 70km/h, then it's safe to accelerate and cross the junction. You can cross the junction without risking any red lights.

But if the light has already turned amber, then stop at the junction because you risk beating the red light if you still cross the junction.

I'm not sure how reliable this guideline is. Maybe Corse or others can enlighten. Normally I slow down before junctions because that's usually where accidents take place. Because we appear small, cars can misjudge our distance and speed. So they may still turn into our path even if the light is in our favour.

The arrows work if you're travelling at or below the speed limit for that road. That is, the arrows are further apart if the road is higher speed.

If you're already past the second arrow and travelling at the speed limit, you can go through the junction before the light turns red. If you haven't reached the second arrow, you should be able to brake safely before the line.

Hmmm, what Contrarian says is quite true.

This is what we teach our class 3 students.

All our students are driving within the speed limit. Most of them will be travelling at a speed between 40-50km/h.

When they approach the 1st or 2nd arrow, should be slowing down.

1st arrow if speed is above 50km/h.

2nd arrow if speed is 40km/h.

Anytime if the light changes amber, its possible to stop.

But if the vehicle is at the last arrow(or some call it 1st arrow), the arrow nearest to the traffic light, most likely there will be not enough distance to stop if light changes to amber.

If u're speed is at 30km/h and the last arrow, nearest to the traffic light, it is possilble to stop in time.

PLEASE TAKE NOTE, i'm explaining according to class 3. For motorbikes, not all bikes have good braking efficiency. Understand your own braking skill, and ur bike's braking ability to help u gauge if u can stop in time or whether u should carrying on straight.

For those taking TP test, the best thing to do is slow down before every traffic light and prepared urself. :thumb:

http://sphotos-f.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/625498_10151506336500777_489049580_n.jpg

Yamaha YZF125 - 2001

Super 4 Spec II - 2002

+ Vespa LX150 - 2012

Thankfully, SSDC has no red light camera, cos I quite enjoy beating the red light to turn towards the figure of 8... :angel:

:slapforehead: Don't make it a habit hor. Next time when this situation happens for real when u're on the road, u will have the same habit of beating the light.

Do u know that it takes practice and skill to learn how to predict and react quickly, and to perform a safe emergency brake.

So must start practicing to stop if u have to, ok?

Expect the Unexpected.

It will help to be safer riders on the road.

Yamaha YZF125 - 2001

Super 4 Spec II - 2002

+ Vespa LX150 - 2012

:slapforehead: Don't make it a habit hor. Next time when this situation happens for real when u're on the road, u will have the same habit of beating the light.

Do u know that it takes practice and skill to learn how to predict and react quickly, and to perform a safe emergency brake.

So must start practicing to stop if u have to, ok?

Expect the Unexpected.

It will help to be safer riders on the road.

corse, wat can I do for the bumpy course for class 2? The half clutch technique in learned in 2A cruise the course under 8 secs...

Lol, keeps me awake during CR, but I see what you mean about accumulating good riding habits. One of my old bad habits nearly caused me to knock 2 elderly pedestrians down at a zebra crossing...

ok cool, will ask you for that after i pass! ask you now also no use, i might forget by next month... :D

can, no problem

yeap, very correct, dun anyhow beat red light or else vehicles turning right on the opposite lane will smash u into pieces, no joke, :btw:they sometimes turn when light still green for u, always slow down a bit when approaching junctions, but not so slow till rd hog lah, watch the traffic n ride safe

Lol, keeps me awake during CR, but I see what you mean about accumulating good riding habits. One of my old bad habits nearly caused me to knock 2 elderly pedestrians down at a zebra crossing...

u already know it is old bad habit.....so why u let it nearly happen...?

have to be regimental....to follow what is taught in sch....

if u incorporate this...in corporate that in your own pattern...

i can assure u that....when riding long in the road... all these risk and dangerous..pattern...u will sure practice them on the real road...which has no chance for error.........cos...when complacent....will eventually kicks in.........

From Honda's Phantom to ..................

Clearing each stage at SSDC and BBDC for bike license was fun !!!