Hi everyone, do anyone of you think that it is a feasible idea to set up an association that check on mototiams?

Like the way the tourism board works, where shops get blacklisted and have their shop names posted officially in websites (if 3 complians are made in 2months or so?) then if the shop maintains a clean record for three months, it's names will be taken off the list.

I think it will only help everyone in the long run. Personally, I think the so called "agreement fees" are a scam to chop buyers. I don't really understand the true logic of that money and why is it chargable. (someone enlighten me if there's any reason behind it)

If such a system is set up, buyers will feel safer that they are protected and shops will be encouraged to do "proper business"

Hope someone can bring this idea a step forward.

• Replies 32

i think they already fall under CASE?

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

NO, I've check with CASE. you can lodge a complain anytime with case, but there's not list to "blacklist" them.

huh

but that would only work if pple check w/ the website before they visit any motordiam

for those riders not familiar w/ internet or dont have the time to check internet (e.g bike break down on the road...juz push to any nearby motordiam liao lor)...it doesnt really serve too much purpose?

moreover...tink setting up a association or watchdog would be too costly for the purpose lar

doubt most pple would care...to them motorbikes = dangerous :giddy: :giddy:

Guest Miki

oh well.........

just tot that we should just unite alittle and make the mototiams provide better service. since alot of the mototiams are actually under the same owner but operating in different names......

one by one we go.........and get chop by them......

Originally posted by Miki@Jul 1 2004, 08:33 AM

oh well.........

just tot that we should just unite alittle and make the mototiams provide better service. since alot of the mototiams are actually under the same owner but operating in different names......

one by one we go.........and get chop by them......

motordiam realli earn alot by deir so called miscellaneous fees sia?

i realli wonder is dere realli nth to b done abt dis?

we bikers machiam carrots let dem chop

we are students in the day, brothers at nite

anyone here has any ideas if big-name Legit motorcycle dealers like BoonSiew Honda

charges such fee?

anyone bought abike from them before care to share?

You Tailgate, I Jam Brake!

To Eliminate that False sense of achievement , Pick on bikes your own c.c.

http://www.geocities.com/infieldg/images/dirk_b_rc30.jpg

it appears to me that all these complains falls squarely under CASE. the only thing that CASE doesn do is a 'black list' of sorts. but beyond that, any other complains is definitely under their jurisdiction.

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

CASE is supossed to be a body tat champions consumer rights, not just the rights of motocyclists so I think there is a limit to how far they can go for us.

N furthermore some ppl accuse CASE of having more bark then bite. This is disputable especially now tat the Fair Trading Act has been enacted.

Although, it seems like CASE can to some extent protect the rigths of motorcyclists I think the action they can take is very limited. The action I refer to is education, negotiation and protection.

What we need is a dedicated Motorcyclist Association. Possibly a volunteer organisation tat champions the interests and rights of motorcyclists and plays a educational and co-ordinaitng role.

For example in most Western Countires there a lot of such groups and they charger bikers nominal rates annually to ensure tat roads are kept free of oil spills, undertaking research into motorcycle safety. They have a lot of support and sufficent clout for their governments to consult them in issues relating to motorcycling.

I think since we already have a informal community of bikers we should capitalise on it and seek to formalise it as a voluntary organisation for motorcyclists in this country.

Someday, home will be where my front wheel points.

Astride a 2002 Yamaha Fazer FZS600

Originally posted by Miki@Jun 29 2004, 08:40 PM

Hi everyone, do anyone of you think that it is a feasible idea to set up an association that check on mototiams?

Like the way the tourism board works, where shops get blacklisted and have their shop names posted officially in websites (if 3 complians are made in 2months or so?) then if the shop maintains a clean record for three months, it's names will be taken off the list.

I think it will only help everyone in the long run. Personally, I think the so called "agreement fees" are a scam to chop buyers. I don't really understand the true logic of that money and why is it chargable. (someone enlighten me if there's any reason behind it)

If such a system is set up, buyers will feel safer that they are protected and shops will be encouraged to do "proper business"

Hope someone can bring this idea a step forward.

will be a good idea...but sillypore where got support...motorbikes ones....

Originally posted by sibingai@Mar 8 2006, 03:10 PM

will be a good idea...but sillypore where got support...motorbikes ones....

a matter of fact ...

most bike shops are already suffering

how low u all wan bike prices to be? how much can they earn from charging all those fees ...

trying buying a $50k car .. u see how all the fees add up to....

bike prices in other countries might be cheaper ... coz they have millions of ppl riding them

while such a small pop like sg ... probably only 10%> rides bike .. so it explains the prices

while most bikes are imported ... value changes according to exchange rates

if there is an increase in price ...

for example

dealer bought bike at $10k but due to date of payment to manufacturers aboard .. they got to pay ard $11K

so if they imported 30 bikes ... meaning they will lose $30k ..

so some of these weird fees charges could be due to these simple circumstands

u all tink all motor shop operate like charity and have the right u give u all super low prices???

wat abt their pay to staff?

operating expenses like utilities, rental of shop space ... u all tink its free ah??

how much are those agreement fees? $50 + + +

then if all motorshop dun even earn a bit ... then suddenly one day all close down

and 1 dealer monopoly the whole SG

and he charge u $500 for agreement fee ...

then u LL got to pay also wat ... then u cant buy from any where else coz all charge the same .....

IF u can buy a $10K +/- bike ... wats a damm agreement fee to u ....

if u cant afford the agreement fee ... meaning u got no $$ to pay for installment also wat ...

if u dun like the agreement fee ... can go the whole sg motor shop and ask which one has the cheapest or no agreement and buy from him mah ....

Sigh .... so bored ...

Getting Poorer every yr

• 10 months later...

its tru..but y do pple buy bikes?? on a budget rite

Originally posted by pyro13@January 24, 2007 11:19 pm

its tru..but y do pple buy bikes?? on a budget rite

Not everybody buy a bike coz they are on a budget, u 1986 kiddo. This stereotype has to change. Wake up ur idea pls, if NS has not taught u well.

Point being made by Miki is that he wants a body something like the StarRetailer that we see in Sim Lim Square. What StarRetailer has done all this while is to make consumers, including tourists, aware of the shops that are recommended, and which are not.

With the StarRetailer logo prominently and proudly displayed in the front of the shop, it will definitely attracts more potential buyers.

Juz compare Meyer Electronics on the 1st floor with other StarRetailer shops in the 1st lvl and you can see a vast difference.

And to Grave65, your point is quite valid, but should the company lose $30K, blame it on poor business acumen. And no one else.

erm.. im not in army..nor in NS but soon larh.. and young does not mean stupid and old does not mean clever bro.. thank you

and R U LOOKING DOWN ON BIKERS AS PEOPLE WHU LIKE TO COMPLAIN?

Those that are on a budget dun spend 10k on a bike. They spend 1-2K. Even so, some agreement fees can be in the hundreds, not $50+++.

Even if you were to spend 10K on a bike, isn't a few hundred dollars still money??

As a matter of fact, most shops who do impose these fees do not close down, simply because they flourish by chopping people like you who are grateful that you are paying much less compared to getting a 50k car.

We have a choice but its not as plentiful as you tink. We are limited by many factors, not just price.

there is a motorcycle trading association made up of members from those bike shops in singapore.however,i dun really noe what the hell they do or whr they can be found.. do a search for it on google singapore. :thumb:

Trading Xbox 360 games. PM for any titles available for exchange.

why agreement fee is needed?

Agreement fee is paid to Show that we agree to be "CHOP" by them :cheeky:

Ride Down the Highway the 299 way

http://i266.photobucket.com/albums/ii276/kellboyz/299%20AW%20cum%20Kartin%202008/PermasGoKart008-1-1-1.jpg

Agreement fee is paid to Show that we agree to be "CHOP" by them :cheeky:

haha nice one lor

upx for u

damn funny man