Any Thai Amulet Collector/Fanatic/Wearer Fall In!!!

Guest death_wish

can i ask as u guys mention above the safety amulet for riding on rd.. its better to get frm bangkok (where ?)

or to get frm sg ( is that the same? & where? )

do they (the seller/monk) realli ask for price ? costly ?

cos i dunn wanna get chopped for a nothing..

luang phor thuat amulets are the best for safety. they can range from

$10K + to $10 depending on who made the amulets. This is more of the collector value.

if u really keen pm me i can help u find one .

*** Signature too big, please resize.

2001 - tzm

2002 - pgm

2003 - cbr600rr

2004 - vtec1

2005 - tio toto buy rvc211

• Replies 664

Hey people,

Do you have article to read about all this thai amulet ?

Like history of it , what it does etc...

Anyway i have one amulet same as the Lizard avatar. But its gone. drop it or something try to look for it but no luck. I been wearing it for more then 8 years. Its from my uncle from thailand.

Any idea where to get a piece? Do i need take a trip down to thailand to pick it from there?

Please advise.

Thanks in advance.

The most important thing for a man is that having found his own world.Only by that,life could be meaningful.

Luang Phor Thuat was born at Ban Suan Chan, Chumphol district, Sathing Phra in in Songkhla, Southern Thailand in the year of A.D.1582 (B.E.2125) when his parents had passed their 40s.

When he was less than 6 months old, he was placed in a towel under a shady tree near the padi field while his mother was working. At noon she ceased work for a time in order to breast-feed him. As she walked towards the baby, she saw a huge python curled round him. Alarmed, she called out for help. The neighbours quickly gathered whatever weapons they could and came round.

The python was stern and motionless. The people around did not know what to do. No one dared to initiate an attack. His mother, however, had an idea.

She remembered the ancient belief that this snake might be an avatar of the gods. So she plucked 7 wild flowers of different colours, put them on a leaf, and offering rice cakes,threw herself down at the ground and bowed to the Python. After a while, the Python spit out a crystal ball of manifold colours on the baby�s chest and slithered away. His mother kept the gem and brought him home.

A rich man offered a very good price for the crystal ball. LP Thuad's mother did not wish to sell it. The wealthy man then tried to force her to sell it using undue pressure. At last LP Thuad's mother relented in the face of the rich man's pressure.

The rich man was elated, but only for a while. Within three days, all members in his family fell ill. Consulting a medium, he was told that he had kept something which did not rightfully belong to him. Only the baby boy (LP Thuad) could keep it. The rich man became frightened and returned the crystal ball to the baby�s mother.

Luang Phor Thuad began to learn about the Buddhist teaching in a temple nearby at the age of 5 years old. Being naturally talented, he mastered all subjects his teacher could guide him within a year. He went to other temples over the hill and across the jungle to acquire further teaching every day. He became a monk at the age of 12 years old and devoted a full time study in the Dharmma. His father passed away at the age of 72 years old when he was 30 years old. In order to further the studies in Buddhism, he left his mother and went to other provinces.

From his present location, Wat Pakok, Singora, Thailand, LP Thuad took a boat bound northwards to Ayuthaya province (a former capital of Thailand). After sailing for half a day, the boat met with great storms. The crew were frightened. The boat did not arrive at its destination after drifting for several days. The supplies of drinking water were running low.

The crew, being superstitious, unfairly blamed their misfortune on the presence of LP Thuad. They planned to throw him overboard into the sea.

Sensing their ill intentions, LP Thuad calmly consoled them that they needed not worry about drinking water as there was plenty around. As he stretched his leg out of the boat, the storm suddenly abated. Using his leg, he drew a circle on the sea and told the boatmen to draw water within it to drink.

The crew were furious! They thought that this monk was trying to pull a fast one on them (that is, they thought he was trying to trick them). After LP Thuad's assurance that the water is actually drinkable, one of them decided to give it a try. He found that the water was indeed fit for consumption! Soon the rest of the crew went to drink the water to verify it for themselves. One curious crew member purposely tasted the water outside the circle and shouted that it was salty. The crew soon abandoned their thoughts of harming LP Thuad.

On the next day, the boat arrived at Ayuthaya province. LP Thuad walked for a few miles and was happy to come across a grand temple. The monks in the temple refused to accept him as he was poorly clad. He then turned to an old temple not very far away. The old keeper welcomed him and offered him board and lodging. He stayed there to study Buddhist scriptures, to pay homage to the Buddha and to practise meditation. He did this for half a year.

The ruler of a neighbouring Buddhist country, the King of Sri Lanka, eyeing the growing wealth and power of the kingdom of Thailand, sent seven monks to Ayuthaya province to test the achievements of the monks in Thailand. They brought with them 12 bowls containing 84,000 words. These words were to be arranged into a certain sutra within 1 week. If the task was accomplished, King of Sri Lanka would present Thailand with 7 boats made of gold. However, should the task be unsuccessful, Thailand would have to surrender its sovereignty to Sri Lanka. The Thai King found it difficult to reject such a challenge as if did so, Thailand would be the laughing stock of the Buddhist world and of the world at large. The Thai King then gathered all his country's well-known learned monks to deal with this problem. Many tried but were unsuccessful.

A Royal Announcement was made to look for someone capable of dealing with the task. On the fourth night, the King dreamed of a white elephant trumpeting in brillant light. He consulted a fortune-teller and was told that it was a fortuitous sign as a sage was likely to appear to solve the problem. The King was, nevertheless, uncertain.

On the sixth day, LP Thuad left the temple in the morning to ask for alms in the form of food. He arrived at a rich man�s house. Thai subjects were discussing about the country's current crisis. They saw him holding a bowl standing in front of their doors. The rich host reverently offered him food. He sensed that the monk in front was rather extraordinary in appearance. He paid LP Thuad due respect and told the latter that their country which reputed for their Buddhist studies would be put to shame if no one could meet the challenge put forward by Sri Lanka and asked whether he could help. LP Thuad replied that he would try. The rich host was very happy. He intended to invite LP Thuad to see the King immediately. LP Thuad told him not to be in a hurry and he would go the next morning.

After LP Thuad had left, the rich host delivered the good news to the King. The next morning, a special Royal carriage to bring LP Thuad to the palace.

On arrival he was escorted by officials to the entrance of the royal palace. The steps boomed with loud sound as LP Thuad walked on them barefooted. The King and the officials were all very quiet.

About half an hour later the monks from Sri Lanka came in. After exchanging greetings out of formality, LP Thuad began to arrange the words. 12 bowls of words were poured on the table. He closed his eyes and arranged them with both hands. After about a quarter of an hour, he announced that 5 words were missing.

The 7 Sri Lankan monks remained silent. He then warned that anyone who did not quickly take out those missing words would die a most horrible death with a cracked skull. The culprit was frightened and took out those missing words.

With his eyes closed Luang Phor Thuat exercised his supernormal power to arrange the words. The sutra was completed in a little while. Seeing that Thailand had successfully responded to Sri Lanka's challenge, those 7 monks presented those 7 boats made of gold and left. Thus LP Thuad�s name became well-known throughout the country. He was henceforth looked upon as a saintly Buddhist monk in Thai history.

Impressed by LP Thuad's wisdom, the Thai king bestowed upon him the rank and title of "Somdej Phra Rajamuni Samiramagunupamacarya". LP Thuad also later became King Ekadasaroth's (King of Sri Lanka) advisor.

LP Thuad remained in the capital city for a few years until he was informed of his mother�s serious illness. He rushed southwards and not long after, his mother died at the age of 78. After the funeral he stayed in Singora, Thailand.

Upon returning home, LP Thuad had found that Wat Pha Khoh in ruins. He then sent a messenger to the Thai King asking if his majesty could help restore the temple. The Thai King was only too glad to help and the temple was soon restored to its former state. The Thai King also bestowed the land surrounding the temple on LP Thuad and the 250 families living around that area.

A state governor from the south by the surname of Phang, a man with a comparatively dark countenance, wanted to build a Buddhist temple. He came to Singora to look for a distinguished monk to head the project. One evening after sunset, he saw an old monk stroll along the seaside, leaving behind a trail of light. He knew that this was the monk to approach. He stepped forward to pay due respect to the LP Thuad and told him of his intention to build a temple in Pattani. LP Thuad already knew about the matter through his psychic powers. He consented and went with governor Phang to Pattani. When the construction was completed, the temple was named Wat Changhai. LP Thuad was abbot of this temple till he passed away at the age of 120 years old. (However, some sources say no one really knew when LP Thuad had passed away)

In the later part of his life, LP Thuad dedicated his life to spreading Buddhism. After he has passed away from this life, he manifested in the dreams of his disciples. They then started to make amulets of his image. Even today, many amulets made of his image continue to be produced. Many Thais today can testify to the protective powers of LP Thuad amulets (amulets of the image of LP Thuad)

**Wat Changhai is situated at Naparu, Koppo District, Pattani, Thailand. It was built over three hundred years ago. It was also the place where Luang Phor Thuad gained Enlightenment.

2001 - tzm

2002 - pgm

2003 - cbr600rr

2004 - vtec1

can i ask as u guys mention above the safety amulet for riding on rd.. its better to get frm bangkok (where ?)

Geting it here sg or bangkok the only different will be the price. Most importantly is to get a properly bless piece. which mean consecreated in a temple.

or to get frm sg ( is that the same? & where? )

U can either get it at Amulets shops, or request for one when u make a visit to thai temples locally. The last place to get will be thru internet unless u know what u are geting and how to verify the auth.

do they (the seller/monk) realli ask for price ? costly ?

In thailand, temples do sell amulets at counters. The money receive will either go to restoring of temple ground or other charity purposes like building of schools ect.

cos i dunn wanna get chopped for a nothing..

2001 - tzm

2002 - pgm

2003 - cbr600rr

2004 - vtec1

Something for u guys to read.

PERSPECTIVE

AMULET SENDS MIXED BLESSING; The Jatukam talisman craze and related businesses have injected a stimulant into Nakhon Si Thammarat's economic growth, but at what cost, asks SUPARA JANCHITFAH

1606 words

20 May 2007

Bangkok Post

P1

English

© 2007

On the surface, it seems that the booming trade in Jatukam talismans in Nakhon Si Thammarat (NST) is a completely positive development for the province. When one looks deeper, however, it becomes apparent that there is a downside to being ground zero for the phenomenon that has taken Thailand by storm.

The abrupt success of Jatukam-related businesses has translated into jobs and prosperity for many people. Locals commonly observe that the amphetamine trade in the province is not as widespread as before. This is in line with statistics from the Office of the Narcotics Control Board (ON**) which reveal that in October of last year there were 121 drug cases in NST province. Six months later, in March, the number of cases had drastically declined to only four (see graphic).

No clear explanation has been given behind the waning of activity, but it seems plausible that it could be due to a switch from amphetamine trafficking to the legal marketing of Jatukam.

On the other hand, reports on crimes such as theft, often involving Jatukam, are on the increase in the province, as a quick glance at local newspapers attests. This might be related to the high demand for some Jatukam models.

Many locals are also worried that some people in the Jatukam trade do their business in dishonest ways. "I met one of my students who purchased imitation Jatukam that cost him around 100 baht for three images. He said he sells them for 800 baht each in Bangkok," said a teacher at a secondary school.

"I asked him, don't you think this is a sinful act? He told me that he was just satisfying the needs of those buyers who want to get special models at a low price," he added.

Moreover, there are a number of reports that some vendors have run away with money from buyers who paid in advance for yet-to-be released models, using forged advance reservation books. The fake agencies do not show up on the appointed days to give buyers the talismans.

Distinguishing Jatukams

The Wat Wang Tawan Tok area of NST, long an area for buying and selling amulets, has turned into a paradise for those who want to buy sought-after models of Jatukam priced from 70 to 100 baht each. Priced this low, it is doubtful they have passed through the sacred ritual, which, along with the materials used to produce them, distinguishes the "real from the fake" images. Reportedly, only a skilled eye can tell the difference.

When Perspective visited Wat Wang Tawan Tok last month there was a huge crowd of people, even though it wasn't on the weekend. Most locals know about the place where people can buy Jatukam that have not passed through the sacred ritual. Many people were buying the Jatukam for souvenirs or gifts, others purchased large amounts but declined to say why.

Vendors were also close-mouthed about how and where they obtained the Jatukam.

If only people paid attention to the materials which are purportedly incorporated into certain models of Jatukam, they would likely question how they could be obtained.

Brochures and leaflets promoting various Jatukam models list the components. For example, one model claims to use bits of earth surrounding the burial site of the placental material and umbilical cord of Luang Por Tuod (Wat Chang Hai, Pattani), who is said to have passed away 425 years ago. When Perspective tried to contact persons in charge of the production of this amulet at Wat Mahayong in NST to ask about the claim, a monk deferred the question to some people at a downtown centre. When these people were tracked down, they also failed to provide any information on how they were able to find the place where the placenta was buried.

On reflection, it would seem that many of the materials might be quite hard to secure, such as soils from places mentioned in the chronicle of the Lord Buddha's journeys in India and Nepal. Some Jatukam models are even claimed to contain leaves of Sara trees in Kushinagar, the place where the Lord Buddha attained paranirvana.

The agencies responsible for obtaining the materials claim they are able to get them by sending people to India and Nepal, but they do not want to be named in newspapers.

The sacred rituals are usually performed at various temples. Some models advertise that the ritual is performed on multiple occasions -- three, five, seven, up to nine times _ on particular Jatukam. Most models perform the ritual, at least once, at Pra Mahathat Voramahaviharn temple, the main temple in Nakhon Si Thammarat, which is fully booked until the end of this year.

The rituals have certainly interrupted the normal schedule of those who wish to study and practise Dharma. One nun and her followers had to move their classes from the main Vihara of the temple to a kitchen. "There are a lot of noises since the temple became the venue of sacred rituals for Jatukam," said the nun.

The rituals for some models are held on mountaintops which are considered sacred, or the "umbilical cord of the sea", reportedly at the mouth of the Nakhon Si Thammarat sea located in Pak Phanang district.

There are a number of monks, shamans and Brahmans whose presence is highly prized at these rituals. Some producers say they have to put a large amount of money into an envelope for each of these holy men.

WHAT IF MARKET SHRINKS?

The Jatukam-related business provides income not only for the buyers and sellers, but also for the workers and artisans who make the talismans and paint them with gold or silver. The financial boon is distributed to other provinces such as Bangkok and Nakhon Pathom, as there are not enough factories in NST to mould them. Work is even contracted out as far as a ceramics factory in France.

There are many success stories, such as the former janitor-turned-talisman vendor whose income has skyrocketed. Young people who used to spend their time riding their motorcycle in a dangerous manner now occupy themselves with packing and painting the talismans, selling T-shirts with the images of popular models, working at the factories, etc. Many venture into the forest to find materials for making the talismans, such as eaglewood, wild jasmine and so on. (As a side note, there is a report that some people were arrested for transporting large amounts of the fragrant Teptaro wood from the forest.)

Though the financial benefits are clear for some, others seem to get locked into a cycle similar to that of the chronic gambler, devoting their small incomes to speculative purchases of Jatukam which may or may not pay off.

"I pity some low income people in my area. Some of them do not have enough rice to eat, but yet they keep buying Jatukam. They want to get rich, that's why they keep purchasing," said Tambon Administration Organisation (TAO) member Jaroon Mankong of Pak Phang Tawan-ook subdistrict.

He is afraid that the market will shrink in the future. "If they cannot sell whatever they have stocked, what will happen?" he asked.

Locals often have many sets of Jatukam on display in their homes, but they do not show them all. They hide them away, out of fear of being robbed. Some have their Jatukam stored in lockers at local banks.

Other locals, like Chareon Maharat of Chiang Yai district, approve of wearing Jatukam but are not interested in speculating on them. "I think it's good to have one, but not too many," he said.

He suggested that people should not buy the Jatukam that have already been released into the market.

"It is better for you to wait to order new models. They are cheaper than those already released," he said, adding that a good Jatukam talisman could be judged from the materials used, the sacred ritual performed and who performed it. He named some trusted persons and temples.

O-sod Suwansavek, who works at Nakhon Si Thammarat hospital, agreed that people should not collect too many Jatukam. He said it is important to consider the objectives in making the talisman.

"You know, it is quite hard for some temples to get their work done if they have to wait for the Katin (merit-making ceremony) and other donations. Producing Jatukam helps some temples achieve their goals in construction and other projects faster," said O-sod. He is aware that some temples don't get big sums of money after producing Jatukam.

A possible disadvantage to the whole Jatukam craze is that it seems to be taking the focus off of important issues. Government employees such as teachers and officials at provincial hall devote a great deal of their attention to Jatukam. Many schools, universities, as well as the Provincial Court, are producing Jatukam as part of their fund raising campaigns.

While this may be considered rather unorthodox by some, these state-associated Jatukam producers try to keep things in perspective. Said Walailak University Rector, Assoc Prof Dr Thai Tipsuwankul:"We don't commercialise Buddhism, we produce just enough for those who donate money to our campaigns to educate medical students and supply equipment for medical research. The university's committee suggested that we produce Jatukam as a token of appreciation to donors."

2001 - tzm

2002 - pgm

2003 - cbr600rr

2004 - vtec1

Sorry to disturb.. Wad does a Jatukam look like?

I'm wearing a long phor thuat... looks to me like a commercial produced metal piece that comes with a chain of its own.. But its given to me by a long phor from Thailand who was invited to Singapore to give blessings by my Gf's uncle and family. He also gave me a Pita which is not placed in a casing..

Around how much does it costs to actually case it up...

Any1 with prices from normal casing to gold casing?

Thanks in advannce.

http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid188/p4e4bf5f8c108d58ba5f6f20a16304e8a/f2282198.jpg

hi, just got to know this thread haha.. i am singapore born thai.. my house got 4 face fuo..my dad kept in our hse olso afriad ppl steal.. but 4 faced fuo is supouse to put at out side hse de from wat i heard my dad say.. cos i dad super into this kind of thai amulet n stuff.. and usually my dad go templle in thailand they gave us amulet for FOC.. but of course we do donation to the temple.. i myself wearing 3 amulet.. dunno what name.. but i only know 1 "soon tek" :cheeky:

Yamaha 125z July 2008 - June 2012

Honda Wave 125r Sept 2012 - Nov 2015

Yamaha RXZ 135 Nov 2015 - present :thumb:

Sorry to disturb.. Wad does a Jatukam look like?

I'm wearing a long phor thuat... looks to me like a commercial produced metal piece that comes with a chain of its own.. But its given to me by a long phor from Thailand who was invited to Singapore to give blessings by my Gf's uncle and family. He also gave me a Pita which is not placed in a casing..

Around how much does it costs to actually case it up...

Any1 with prices from normal casing to gold casing?

Thanks in advannce.

TIS are jatukam amulets. usually those amulets round in shape and look quite big 90% is an jtk amulet.

http://i116.photobucket.com/albums/o28/Genephoto/DSC01564.jpg

http://i116.photobucket.com/albums/o28/Genephoto/DSC01566.jpg

http://i116.photobucket.com/albums/o28/Genephoto/DSC01558.jpg

http://i116.photobucket.com/albums/o28/Genephoto/DSC01562.jpg

There back of the amulets Ganasha. this just a sample to show how jtk amulet generally look like.

2001 - tzm

2002 - pgm

2003 - cbr600rr

2004 - vtec1

TIS are jatukam amulets. usually those amulets round in shape and look quite big 90% is an jtk amulet.

http://i116.photobucket.com/albums/o28/Genephoto/DSC01564.jpg

http://i116.photobucket.com/albums/o28/Genephoto/DSC01566.jpg

http://i116.photobucket.com/albums/o28/Genephoto/DSC01558.jpg

http://i116.photobucket.com/albums/o28/Genephoto/DSC01562.jpg

There back of the amulets Ganasha. this just a sample to show how jtk amulet generally look like.

That's a Hindu God right?

any stories bout the origins? I'm interested to know.. as in the life stories or something like that..

http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid188/p4e4bf5f8c108d58ba5f6f20a16304e8a/f2282198.jpg

i still would like to get a four face budda to play at my house front. (i know i stay hdb, :-)_)

anyway, i decided that i don't need a big budda. will be getting those small type "as big as a cup size only". i will get one when i visit thailand. i want to get it from a temple and be blessed by monks. so far been only offer my praying at goldenmill but i don't go there often liao. so, i want to look for alternative. is there a rule that must be outside door ?

i mean there is a space between 10 floor and 9 floor. i am thinking of putting it there becos of bigger space. hehe...

any comment?

i think the simpang bedok wan like nv sell(maybe)..cause tat time i went to bring my amulet to be bless den found out tat is fake wan..after tat the monk give me 1 amulet, den i give some hongbao money put in the donation box..=)

http://img526.imageshack.us/img526/5813/221209track.jpg

i'd like to buy an amulet that would bring wealth n help me in my career, any recommendations? pls don't recommend me KMT! is jatukam good? does the thai temple @ simpang bedok sells all kinds of amulets?

i would reccomand lp pae amulets. affordable and good.

As for jtk i nvr wear b4 but heard many of my friends wear liao no bad. some still tio 4d but small small .

2001 - tzm

2002 - pgm

2003 - cbr600rr

2004 - vtec1

i think there is no diff between ger and boy. right? but some boy prefer xxx type of amulet and some ger perfer xx type of amulet only.

I heard before got amulets meant for females only de lei..

not really sure if its true...

hi lizard, mind telling me what are the amulets made by lp pae?

btw i'm a girl, any amulets that i'm not allowed to wear?

Luang phor pae made alot of amulets his more well known one are the PAN series somdej.

this is one of the somdej i have made by luang phor pae.

http://sg.pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/xfreedom_justicex/detail?.dir=255fscd&.dnm=a3c5scd.jpg

http://sg.pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/xfreedom_justicex/detail?.dir=255fscd&.dnm=e16ascd.jpg

U are free to wear what ever amulets that suit ur eyes. Usually only those barang amulets will have restrictions like cant let girls touch or wear.

2001 - tzm

2002 - pgm

2003 - cbr600rr

2004 - vtec1

so actually 4 face budda must be place inside of the house or outside of the house?

U can pray inside if u dont have any garden inside your house.

"éšä»”,è¦åŽ»å—Ž"("Handsome, want to go")?!!! wahahaha....

http://i192.photobucket.com/albums/z51/DenverDino/CRW_4732-1-1.jpg

i think there is no diff between ger and boy. right? but some boy prefer xxx type of amulet and some ger perfer xx type of amulet only.

There are different amulet for guys and gals.

Mostly smaller amulets are for gals.

And most important of all.

Do not just simply give others the amulets you have wore before.

Believe it or not.

I have seem more than enuf wat it does to good friends.

In the beginning,

God created the heavens and the earth, and he rested.

He created Adam, and he rested.

Than he created Eve.......................

ever since....... they were both not be able to rest.........even in peace.

what do u mean? please do go further into detail leh. thanks.

There are different amulet for guys and gals.

Mostly smaller amulets are for gals.

And most important of all.

Do not just simply give others the amulets you have wore before.

Believe it or not.

I have seem more than enuf wat it does to good friends.

U are free to wear what ever amulets that suit ur eyes. Usually only those barang amulets will have restrictions like cant let girls touch or wear.

Wad do you mean by barang amulets?