Is there a need to do valve clearance for 4 strokes bike anyone?

Aprilia RS150 ** 2005

PGM IV ******* 2007

RVF 400 ****** 2009

R1 09 ******** 2010

GSXR 1000 **** 2011

Ducati M696**** 2014

• Replies 36

Of coz its a need.. Do it as recommended by ur bike manual.. If dun want to do oso can, just sell e bike n get new one :)

Oh thnks thnks manny! cos i scared tio scam by bikeshop, they quoted 1k to do a valve clearance on gsxr 1000... Isit around that price?

Aprilia RS150 ** 2005

PGM IV ******* 2007

RVF 400 ****** 2009

R1 09 ******** 2010

GSXR 1000 **** 2011

Ducati M696**** 2014

Valve clearance, timing chain is a must do when u have click the right mileage as per manual.

But the price u quote is kinda expensive for just a valve clearance. Which shop quote u that?

My recommendations is to go either ah lai or tachyon.

Sent from my MB511 using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk

valve clearance at 1000 bucks?

seems like a sharp knife to me.

give you a rough estimate, my valve clearance price only 100 plus. and its 400 cc. so agar agar you know how much your bike should cost ah. go check with Unique or Planet motors.

Of course there is a need to do valve clearance for 4-stroke bikes... Else what type of engine needs to do?

Most 4 strokes need to do the check/adjustment, regardless of engine size (exception are engines with hydraulic lifters, eg Harleys). No such thing as small bike no need...

Too much clearance will result in loud tapping noises and increased valve train wear. Too little clearance can result in the valves not able to close properly, and lead to burnt valves.

Cost depends on the complexity of the job e.g. what needs to be removed/replaced. Some bikes are inherently more difficult to service than others.

Past: KDX200, LC4 400, LC4 620, GSXR750WR

Present: CBR900RRY, Gas Gas EC250, XR250L, XR250RV, XR400 (motard-ed), NX650 Dominator

i riding 2b bike. manual recommend doing every 12k. doctor chong told me don't bother and come back when it is 70k. well... so what is what?

maybe bigger bike need more TLC.

Almost all bikeshop told me not to do any servicing on my late grandfather's gn125 (except for the regular oil,filter,sparkplug change.)

Is it becoz its a ah pek bike?

where got so ex !! Depend on what they charge u for, price range from $200 to $400 can do. Ask a few shop for the price eg: Sporting , Bikeworkz, Planet, Unique. etc.

Valve clearance, timing chain is a must do when u have click the right mileage as per manual.

But the price u quote is kinda expensive for just a valve clearance. Which shop quote u that?

My recommendations is to go either ah lai or tachyon.

valve clearance at 1000 bucks?

seems like a sharp knife to me.

give you a rough estimate, my valve clearance price only 100 plus. and its 400 cc. so agar agar you know how much your bike should cost ah. go check with Unique or Planet motors.

They quoted me for everything... Timing chain, replacement of all the rubber seals, Servicing inlet valves/exhaust valves.... Isit a need for all of that? Its a shop at autobay...

Aprilia RS150 ** 2005

PGM IV ******* 2007

RVF 400 ****** 2009

R1 09 ******** 2010

GSXR 1000 **** 2011

Ducati M696**** 2014

Oh got extra etc lar. . . .

If like that hard to judge as u may not have state the things that will be change.

Almost all bikeshop told me not to do any servicing on my late grandfather's gn125 (except for the regular oil,filter,sparkplug change.)

Is it becoz its a ah pek bike?

same story here. except unique and HL cycle which quote me even wthout asking me how much i have travelled, planet and 2 others bike shop in malaysia told me not to do it. they just told me to change air filter, oil filter, spark plug, engine oil and coolant regularly and it will run just fine.

gn125 is damn bullet proof. my friend's dad run this bike with a 5,000km oil change interval and i think it clocked more then 150,000km and still running just fine. put my 2,000km oil change interval to shame:(

same story here. except unique and HL cycle which quote me even wthout asking me how much i have travelled, planet and 2 others bike shop in malaysia told me not to do it. they just told me to change air filter, oil filter, spark plug, engine oil and coolant regularly and it will run just fine.

gn125 is damn bullet proof. my friend's dad run this bike with a 5,000km oil change interval and i think it clocked more then 150,000km and still running just fine. put my 2,000km oil change interval to shame:(

Ok. I used to ride the gn125 n has clear its meter before which is 120km/h. The bike used to be smooth on pick up. Nowdays too much vibration n its no longer smooth.

Y they say that is becoz its a" powerless" bike to begin with but seriously it does not mean it should not be taken care off. Timing chain n timing belt is the critical parts. It keeps the engine running in an order. Onces out it will destroy the engine.

After the servicing ah pek bike usually wont feel much different but at least im assured that no piston going to shoot out from below.

Oh n yes gn125 is really a low maintenance bike. My late grandfather has very little to worry about for around 8 years of ownership.

Juz every 1.5 years of servicing which include oil, oil filter and plug.(diy oil top up from my left overs) Batt usually last 3 years.(sometimes has to push start) Tyres last well 4 years? Nvr had a fork oil leak.

yeah. these old bikes are super reliable, but doesnt mean no nd regular maintenance. at least wif these major periodic checks like valve clearance or changing of gaskets/seals puts ur mind at even more ease...

A ride a day, keeps the doctor away!

2010-2012 : Honda Phantom TA200

2012-current : SYM Maxsym 400i

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/adiknaim

SG Maxsym FB Group: http://www.facebook.com/groups/sgmaxsym/

yeah. these old bikes are super reliable, but doesnt mean no nd regular maintenance. at least wif these major periodic checks like valve clearance or changing of gaskets/seals puts ur mind at even more ease...

well, i think the king should be the "老k". yamaha rxk!!! this bike just keep going with minimum amount of servicing.

i will be doing a full servicing around 40-50k. the manual recommend every 12k which mean i need to do every half a yearo_O i think i will just listen to Doctor Chong. i sure he have enough experience to know what he was saying. hahaha...

full service for big bikes cost 1k? i stick with 2B. just 220 for everything. poor man here. hahaha...

Oh n yes gn125 is really a low maintenance bike. My late grandfather has very little to worry about for around 8 years of ownership.

Juz every 1.5 years of servicing which include oil, oil filter and plug.(diy oil top up from my left overs) Batt usually last 3 years.(sometimes has to push start) Tyres last well 4 years? Nvr had a fork oil leak.

sometime after listening to such story from you and other friends, i really wonder those OCI most folk are doing here is really too short. asking for maintaince advice from a bike enthusiasm forum seem to be over-kill. hahaha... most likely the exhuast pipe will fell off from rusting before screwing up the engine.

U try going kampong area. Their cubs don't even service and it still can pull the rider, pillion a child in between. With full of stuff front and back.

The bike can still run, can still pull. My late granddads gn125 pull my honda sp150 and honda cb400 ver s and honda cbr600rr but don't expect it to be very fast like in motogp.

N yes imo u guys are just wasting dollars in ur servicing intervals and the oil used.

You must first know the purpose of the valves in order to understand the impotance of valve clearance, and how it affect engine perfforance and longevity especially on high performance bikes.

Valve clearance is only applicable to 4 strike engines.

On some engines, valve adjustment can be a real pain because space is tight, and you can't afford to have butter fingers because should you drop anything into the engine, you might as well do a full overhaul.

For those valves clearance using shims, you must be very patient and experience as there will be alot of trial and error before the recommended clearance is attained. It is always safer to pay more for a professional job than go cheap and subsequently destroying your engines.

To test the mechanic, just ask if he knows valve clearance for the intake and exhaust for your bike.

yes, the story behind valve clearance must be known to all owners, why is there a need doing so.

tried my luck in getting a bike shop to do valve clearance today while in malaysia again.

ask for a quote and was given RM35. happily ride my bike into the workshop and upon listening to the engine sound, the mech told me there is no need to do so.

yet again, i was been sent away:(

Yeah once they open your engine, most shop will tell you to replace this and that...

===============

ZX-150" OCT '07 - FEB '09

SPEC III" FEB '09 - APR '11

GSXR-750" APR '11 - DEC '11

FZ6S2" JAN 12 - JULY '12

FZ1N" JULY 12 - MAR '15

MONSTER 796" MAR '15 - ???

===============

Usually no need to VC till your head gaskets leaked..Then might as well do a VC and change timing chain as the top block needs to be removed. I did for my 05 R6 and Super 4 Ver S.....Cost not more than $300 for both bikes.....

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

Usually no need to VC till your head gaskets leaked..Then might as well do a VC and change timing chain as the top block needs to be removed. I did for my 05 R6 and Super 4 Ver S.....Cost not more than $300 for both bikes.....

I've to disagree with u bro... Wish to explain y i disagree but lazy to type lah lolz ...

"Shut Up n Ride"