Would be great if anyone could share their thoughts on this...

I was involved in an accident as a pillion last year where a car swerved & changed lane without checking his blind spot on an expressway. He hit the bike I was on & we skidded along the road for at least a 100m before coming to a stop. Because of this accident, I have scars on entire left arm, my right forearm and also my left thigh. And it has been 9 months already and the scars are all still visible. To make things worse, I'm a girl. :(

I received a letter from my lawyer some time ago to say that they will be asking the party who caused the accident to make an estimated payout of S$12K. But as expected, the amount has been negotiated to S$6K now.

Do you all think this is a reasonable amount?

• Replies 19

Why ask us? Why don't ask yourself? You think all your scar and all the pain you've gone thru worth 6k? If yes then ok lo. If no, i don't know liao haha

Actually the best advice to get is from your lawyer fighting the case. He/she will be able to gauge if the amount given is fair and just or need to fight some more.

For my accident claims, i waited 3 years for the case to be settled. The final verdict was given by the judge. They keep on counter offer with ridiculous amounts. Anyway good luck for your claims.

Its not over until the judge say so...

If you think that should not be the amount, look for second opinion... Don't just give in easily, provided that you're not at fault...

Plenty of good solicitors around... $$$ will make them fight hard for you cos they are on comms too...

http://i426.photobucket.com/albums/pp350/glennkoh/TDM900/TDM.jpg

We went down to make the TP report together with the driver, quite sure the driver is at fault...

What was the Tp report? Did they fault the driver or neither party was charged?
We went down to make the TP report together with the driver, quite sure the driver is at fault...

Sorry I meant the Tp verdict. If driver is being charged, definitely should settle more than 6k..

hmm I don't think the driver is being charged... not too sure... what if the driver is not being charged?

Sorry I meant the Tp verdict. If driver is being charged, definitely should settle more than 6k..

was wearing a dress at that time... does it affect the payout because I wasn't wearing proper gear for riding?

Whether e driver or rider at fault it doesnt matter coz ur e pillion... Btw wat were u wearing during that time ?
hmm I don't think the driver is being charged... not too sure... what if the driver is not being charged?

U may call or write to taffic police to know the status

was wearing a dress at that time... does it affect the payout because I wasn't wearing proper gear for riding?

No law in singapore said u must wear riding gear on the road!!!!!!!

Tp verdict may take up to a year or more..

To me $6K is too little for scars on entire left arm, my right forearm and also left thigh..+ time loss ....ect......

Hi Yu Zheng_05

I am sorry to hear of your accident.

On the question of anount of compensation, it depends on how it affect your future income. For e.g if you are swim suit model and because of the accident you could no longer be a model than your claims will be much much more than 12K.

Wan fazer is correct, no matter who is at fault you are the 3rd to the accident. You are entitle to your pain and suffering claims. Both insurance conmpanies will be fighting each other on who should be paying you more.

Can I know if you have went to a doctor for medical examination appointed by your or the Drivers insurance lawyer?

anyway, i miss wildcard.

just one of his insensate followers...

Hi swoosh,

In terms of effect on my future income, there's no effect I would say... And nope, I didn't go to a doctor for medical examination appointed by the insurance lawyer. As I went to the hospital straight after the accident, the hospital had provided a report to my lawyer directly. I've also sent them the photos of my scars too.

Guess what I'm just trying to find out here is if $6K is a reasonable compensation because I have no experience in such incidents... Don't want to end up as a fool and be shortchanged...

Hi Yu Zheng_05

I am sorry to hear of your accident.

On the question of anount of compensation, it depends on how it affect your future income. For e.g if you are swim suit model and because of the accident you could no longer be a model than your claims will be much much more than 12K.

Wan fazer is correct, no matter who is at fault you are the 3rd to the accident. You are entitle to your pain and suffering claims. Both insurance conmpanies will be fighting each other on who should be paying you more.

Can I know if you have went to a doctor for medical examination appointed by your or the Drivers insurance lawyer?

Its a grave mistake to wear dress when ur on e bike... Hope e scars will remind u to b more careful nxt time.. :)

"Shut Up n Ride"

Its a grave mistake to wear dress when ur on e bike... Hope e scars will remind u to b more careful nxt time.. :)

"Shut Up n Ride"

get a 2nd opinon.. to be sure... but do take note there is a limit on how much u can claim for any injuries to you. a scar payout may not be a high payout if you lose a leg..

example.

broken leg-- 25K

Loss of leg---30k

sprain or laceration--- 10k

Just an example not meant as actual guide..

need more just pm me..

well like what "the" says there is a table of claims. See your lawyer and he can show it to you. Your Lawyer also based your claim on precedent cases, he is the best person to advise to make an informed decision. Goodluck!

anyway, i miss wildcard.

just one of his insensate followers...

Also depends whether u chiobu or not.. If chiobu consperm can make use of ur chiobu-ness as various reasons for higher claim... If not chiobu then... I tink i dun nd to elaborate further :)

"Shut Up n Ride"