I was on a 2 way road, making a right turn, signal right and check for oncoming vechicle after turning into the carpark. Just then a S4 travelling at quite a high speed, knocked onto my head of the lorry(directly middle) while im half way thru the turning. After that the rider fall onto the ground.

When to Traffic Police to log a report and they charged me for inconsiderate driving (section 65 of the road traffic act chapter 276).

below is the one that i got

9 Demerit Points

1) Driving without due care or reasonable consideration for other road users.

Including a fine:

Light Vehicle (weight unladen 2500 kg and below): S$170.00

Heavy Vehicle (weight unladen exceeds 2500 kg): S$200.00

Anyone can help me with this? Im very innocent to have this happened to me as the S4 just knocked on my head of lorry whereby im moving into the carpark at very low speed.

post-7-1171219835.jpg

2005-2006: RXZ

2007: Y125Z & RVF400

2008: RVF400 & African Twin

2009: African Twin, GSX1300RK2, Renault Kangoo(A)

2010: GSX1300RK2, Renault Kangoo(A)

2011: GSX1300RK2

2012-2013: GSX1300RK2, Proton Savvy(A)

2014: Proton Savvy(A), Super 4(S1)

Present: Super 4(S1)

• Replies 27

Sorry to hear this...

But bro, the S4 is going straight on the main road ,when u are turning right. Meaning the S4 have the right of way. Sorry to say this, the S4 rider have the right of way.

2ndly, I dont think the S4 rider will pick up speed if he/she saw that you are turning.

Accident do happen, what we can do is ride/drive safety and carefully..

By the way, Not much thing u can do to change the TP minds liao..

Lastly hope that the rider is ok..

Good luck to you should u wanna appeal ya charges..

http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l157/comet_sky/untitled4.jpg

They say that time changes things, but you actually have to change them yourself...

Winners don't do different things.They do things differently...

Originally posted by YuaN_@February 12, 2007 02:50 am

I was on a 2 way road, making a right turn, signal right and check for oncoming vechicle after turning into the carpark. Just then a S4 travelling at quite a high speed, knocked onto my head of the lorry(directly middle) while im half way thru the turning. After that the rider fall onto the ground.

When to Traffic Police to log a report and they charged me for inconsiderate driving (section 65 of the road traffic act chapter 276).

below is the one that i got

9 Demerit Points

1) Driving without due care or reasonable consideration for other road users.

Including a fine:

Light Vehicle (weight unladen 2500 kg and below): S$170.00

Heavy Vehicle (weight unladen exceeds 2500 kg): S$200.00

Anyone can help me with this? Im very innocent to have this happened to me as the S4 just knocked on my head of lorry whereby im moving into the carpark at very low speed.

u yourself said that you checked for traffic.. but why u fail to see the s4 approaching?

1 thing is that u fail to look out for oncoming traffic, 2nd u fail to give way to oncoming traffic..

i don't understand why you think you're innocent or did not break any traffic laws.

maybe you should take basic theory again.

good that you're going slow but i really doubt that the rider would want to intentionally knock into you.

from the diagram, it seems like you drove into him since you said the collision was at the front of your lorry. no matter how fast he was going, i doubt he was going faster than the speed of light that you could not see him when you checked for traffic.

i hope the rider isn't too badly injured and does not claim too much from your insurance because he clearly has the right of way.

Phantom 200: Aug 2002 - Jan 2005

Overseas :cry: : Jan 2005 - Dec 2012

Fuoco 500ie: Dec 2012 - Present

Sad to said u are obviously in the wrong. The S4 in going straight means that he has the right of way.

Put yourself in his shoe, if u riding S4 going straight, suddenly a lorry drives to yr way from opposite road. Who is wrong???

U are driving a lorry, that mean u have a better view that normal cars due to yr vehicle height. When yr lorry crosses over, does u know that yr lorry is capable to block most of his lane, leaving the S4 no where to prevent this accident. Now, what we can pray is that the rider is ok. That is the most important issue……

Bike Rulez The World~!

As what i think, the accident can be prevented as the S4 rider can stop in time if he is travelling at 50-60km/h.

But anyway, im wrong as i failed to give way to oncoming vechile. And i really didnt notice the S4 rider heading towards me, saded =(

ok, thanks... i will pay the fine and see what i can do to it.

s4 has right of way. turning vehicle must always look out for on coming traffic. all liability goes to the vehicle turning out from minor road.

Originally posted by YuaN_@February 12, 2007 09:02 am

But anyway, im wrong as i failed to give way to oncoming vechile. .

i m surpise u can use the word "innocent" as related to ur last post

pls dun blame it on him speeding, even if hes ridin at 200kmh its still his right of way, n its ur judgement whether u can cross in time without blocking ur path

http://i145.photobucket.com/albums/r239/utopian355/ABCD0006-smallcopy.jpg

to all those who drive heavy vehicles and buses .... check that the road is really clear before u make any turns ... last month i oso kenna one similar incident ... big bus suppose to give way to me as i am going straight ... but then he suka suka swing out in front ... worst still ... heavy vehicle move off very very slowly ... causing me to swerve into an empty bus bay...

anyway to all riders... always ride defensively and identify all threats and assume the worst action they can take ... u never know...

~~~~~Class 3 :: 31 Oct 2002~~~~~

~~~~~Class 2B :: 21 Aug 2006~~~~~

~~~~~Class 2A :: 16 Oct 2006~~~~~

is e claiming against u?? u were in the wrong bro.. actually, y didnt he siam away??

Originally posted by pyro13@February 12, 2007 03:12 pm

is e claiming against u?? u were in the wrong bro.. actually, y didnt he siam away??

It doesn't matter whether he siam anot.... Mabbe he wanna claim? Juz joking.

Think this way, if the rider was to siam, he may well have skidded to the side, no damages to the lorry and with no witnesses, the rider may have gotten charged for failure to control his motorcycle. If an accident was eminent, and he had the right of way, not siaming might be a better option, especially if he was travelling at lower speeds.

I not saying that we should all not siam ah..... when possible, avoiding an accident is always the best.

Originally posted by Arcfire@February 12, 2007 06:01 pm

It doesn't matter whether he siam anot.... Mabbe he wanna claim? Juz joking.

Think this way, if the rider was to siam, he may well have skidded to the side, no damages to the lorry and with no witnesses, the rider may have gotten charged for failure to control his motorcycle. If an accident was eminent, and he had the right of way, not siaming might be a better option, especially if he was travelling at lower speeds.

I not saying that we should all not siam ah..... when possible, avoiding an accident is always the best.

actually i oso dunno whether to agree or nt agree with siaming... normally u will siam if u know u r too fast to just do a kiss .... but I m wondering if u siam to the side and an oncoming vehicle ram into u or u ram into another vehicle ... what would the claim be like ....

~~~~~Class 3 :: 31 Oct 2002~~~~~

~~~~~Class 2B :: 21 Aug 2006~~~~~

~~~~~Class 2A :: 16 Oct 2006~~~~~

sianed sia... charged for driving without due care or reasonable consideration for other road users. 9 Demerit Points

Heavy Vehicle (unladen weight exceeds 2500 kg): S$200.00

and not chraged for failing to give way at uncontrolled junction. 4 Demerit Points

Heavy Vehicle (unladen weight exceeds 2500 kg): S$160.00

i hope the rider is fine and discharge from CGH soon...

straight road =p, i totally never see/notice there's a bike until when the bike buang on me then i got a shock sia... unlucky day...

Originally posted by YuaN_@February 12, 2007 10:57 pm

straight road =p, i totally never see/notice there's a bike until when the bike buang on me then i got a shock sia... unlucky day...

So. You failed to see an oncoming bike on a straight road, and you are claiming innocence?!

I think the really innocent party is the Super 4 rider. He is in hospital all because you failed to register a bike as a legitimate road user in your brain.

Past: KDX200, LC4 400, LC4 620, GSXR750WR

Present: CBR900RRY, Gas Gas EC250, XR250L, XR250RV, XR400 (motard-ed), NX650 Dominator

hmmm... i think wat u're going to face soon will be yr worst nightmare.

9 pts & $$ for TP is consider a small amt.

if e rider were to do a personal claim against u (for transport fees, medical fess, bla bla bla....), tat's more than 'unlucky' alone.

Originally posted by YuaN_@February 12, 2007 09:56 pm

sianed sia... charged for driving without due care or reasonable consideration for other road users. 9 Demerit Points

Heavy Vehicle (unladen weight exceeds 2500 kg): S$200.00

and not chraged for failing to give way at uncontrolled junction. 4 Demerit Points

Heavy Vehicle (unladen weight exceeds 2500 kg): S$160.00

i hope the rider is fine and discharge from CGH soon...

wanna know why? simple... cause u get into accident with him liao.. if u and him didnt collide but he go report u.. maybe u'll get 4 points $150

yeah, its hard to know whether to siam or not. Like my friend.. on eway travelling at 70plus left lane. Lorry cut into him, he siam and jam brake then skid. Lorry just drive away. Now repairs 1k and tp charging him with self skidding somemore...

Things done so far:

Brand new rear suspension, new rubbers in carbs, serviced carbs, double bubble windscreen, voltmeter, Pilot Sport tyres, Did o ring + VAZ sprokets, front brake pump, gaskets + waterpump oil seal, Maxima CoolAid, 2nd hand rear hugger, 2nd hand front brake disc, Fizz Power brake pads front and back, 2nd hand front and back rims, Yusa battery, Reconditioned 2nd hand carbs by Planet, Front sticker number plate, front wheel bearings, new clutch plates, fortuna paintwork sponsored by spastic driver, Keitin tank pad.

Need sugar mommy for : Hel brake lines and top end overhaul.

my guess, either one wasnt paying attention..

happened to me, similar to this accident, but lucky my friend horned the car and made me realise that i've to jam my brakes to avoid collision..

either way, bikes always have the lower hand..

2006 - current: X1 110, RX-Z 135, DR-Z 400SM, 125Z, X1 110, Wave S 125, KTM 400 EXC, Harley Davidson 883 XL, KTM 690 SM R, BMW R1200 GSA, Harley Davidson Dyna Low Rider 100th Anniversary, Honda Wave S 125, Honda PCX 150, Yamaha Tmax 530

Originally posted by YuaN_@February 12, 2007 10:57 pm

if u are innocent, then let the traffic police investigate. If the S4 is speeding at high speed, I am sure the damages on your lorry head and his bike were in very bad shape.

But I think u is putting threats on the road users if u continues to drive. Failing to see an oncoming bike on a straight road means that yr eyesight is failing you also.

I believe most of the bikers here gave very reasonable and good advice. Hope that u realized your lesson. U also prays that the rider is ok, if not; the claims will give u a shock again.

For the biker - Siam or not siam also in a losing end. But I think based on human instinct; when facing danger, the biker will try his best to siam if he can or at least a emergency brake. Nobody want to be a ghost rider….

:angel: :angel: :angel:

Bike Rulez The World~!

Yeah, its human instincts to siam or e-brake. But sometimes instincts may not be the best choice to follow like what i've illustrated above.

Than again, its sometimes too much information for the mind to process when you are in a state of high adrenaline. Fight or flight..... the choice is pretty hard. So practice defensive riding and don't get yourself in such a situation as much as possible. Experience is vital in riding/driving but try not to gain it by getting into accidents lah... :cheeky:

be alert on road... sway day that i had.

sori 2 say tat.. tat s4 haf e rite of way..

take it as a lesson..:smile:

Once a Rider.. Always a Rider..

http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i112/pig_head_rider_photos_photos/sbf.jpg

Life Short.. Play hard & Ride safety..

Histroy : 180km thank 猪头è€å…¬