hmm.. why not charge like electricity or handphone bill then?? we pay monthly.. if ovedue then kena fined.. if fined dun pay, then RoadTax cannot renew.. since the ERP will know our plate number and information.. they can send us bill like how they send us fine for not putting sufficient cash in cash card..

how is this siew boh? why cash card?? scrap it..

• Replies 62

i also got 5 card stolen. out of the 5 card. 3 card is lock but the theif break into it.

on the 6th time, the theif find no cash card, they break my box and stole nothing.

sigh.. i was left with a unrepairable box now. i am so sad.

5 cards lor.. sians.

There are about 360,000 instances of motorists passing ERP gantries without a CashCard or sufficient money in it each year, according to the Land Transport Authority.

so LTA 1 day send out 1,000 summon to motorist.. wow.. LTA can get pretty much money from that alone.. imagine 360,000 x $10 = $3,600,000

Actually there's a simple solution. LTA should leave it to the motorist to decide whether they want a cashcard system, or billing system. If motorist don't mind about privacy and stuff, then sign up for the billing system. If motorist mind, then just use cashcard. What do you guys think?

In Melbourne, Australia, there is a system which is similar to ERP. They call it as "electronic Toll". The device(IU) they use is a small electronic device (size about W=5cm, H=4cm, D=2cm) about 1/3 size of our IU. It links to the driver/rider's bank account (similar to GIRO), so everytime driver/rider pass through TOLL gantry, the deduction of the money will directly from bank account instead of cash card. Similar to what the thread started had mentioned.

Very convenient, but

:

i agree with this...this is much more....'smart'

Singapore always looking for cheap cheap product and technology from advance countries like Europe, Aust and Jap. Ppl have 4-5G in Hp and cashless payment via Hp in Jap and Aust years ago.

We in singapore just using shitty technology that are discarded or cheapo cheap sold by other countries and WE used it on us ourselves.

Yeah, right, LTA doing the best they can on using technology and squeeze out more money from US! ERP system is stupid. With ERP system, i still get jam on PIE an Bt Timah everyday....

Whats the point of paying more where there is a least help in easing traffic on road? Instead for help of easing traffic congestion, it cause unconvenience or accidents due to these implementation.

Car:

Leisure driving and family outing

Kia Cerato/Auto/Sedan:

Present FC: 11.03km/L

Singapore always looking for cheap cheap product and technology from advance countries like Europe, Aust and Jap. Ppl have 4-5G in Hp and cashless payment via Hp in Jap and Aust years ago.

We in singapore just using shitty technology that are discarded or cheapo cheap sold by other countries and WE used it on us ourselves.

Yeah, right, LTA doing the best they can on using technology and squeeze out more money from US! ERP system is stupid. With ERP system, i still get jam on PIE an Bt Timah everyday....

Whats the point of paying more where there is a least help in easing traffic on road? Instead for help of easing traffic congestion, it cause unconvenience or accidents due to these implementation.

ERP system is stupid? Dun just say leh, come up with a better plan lor. If you can, I will vote you as the new MP

Bro, i think the current system also can track where you go mah. Anyway if its between the government and you i doubt there's any invasion of privacy unless you are a criminal la.

Just my thoughts.

A specific IU Unit is allocated to a specific vehicle, so when the cashcard is deducted, does the ERP system indicate which IU unit it is from? If got, then they really can keep track of our movements. If not, then they should implement the Giro one

yes it does. otherwise how does it know that you have no cashcard inserted or insufficient value in your card?

I think they just deduct. Then if not enough, there will be a camera that takes a picture? I could be very wrong, though

why not just have a micro chip unique to each vehicle and include that in the road tax statement or something..?

http://www.weather.gov.sg/wip/pp/rndops/web/ship/gif/rad70.gif

The IU got a 10 digits attached to it. (see left side under barcode) it is register to LTA with your vehicle detail.

So when your IU pass a ERP, the system will detect the 10 digits, the detail will be send to their server. It will also deduct the nec amount for the types of vehicle being register.

It is also a GPS tracking reciever. With a GPS device, they can detect the location of your vehicle.

if you happen not to pay your road tax more than 3 months... beware that TP will be hiding beside your car waiting for you to hit the road n they will catch u

TEAM PANDA ส.สุรà¸à¸²à¸¢ ชาตรี

http://i184.photobucket.com/albums/x247/Phantom_Panda/photo%20taking/2113945937_4ea209c67e_b1.jpg

The IU got a 10 digits attached to it. (see left side under barcode) it is register to LTA with your vehicle detail.

So when your IU pass a ERP, the system will detect the 10 digits, the detail will be send to their server. It will also deduct the nec amount for the types of vehicle being register.

It is also a GPS tracking reciever. With a GPS device, they can detect the location of your vehicle.

if you happen not to pay your road tax more than 3 months... beware that TP will be hiding beside your car waiting for you to hit the road n they will catch u

wow? got GPS device inside ah? so pro

I say juz give us a microchip and bill us when we go pass a erp gantry. All that crap of privacy is BS. We can be tracked everyday via cameras, registered EZ link cards, electronic transactions, etc, etc. There is already no privacy! Wear underwear walk around at home also will get pic taken and "stomp"ed liao... :lol: Where got wat privacy to tok off?

Relax!

IF ONLY THATS THE CASE. =)

then most stolen bikes can be retrieved back already.

http://i.imgur.com/SSSud.gif

one day cashcards will be the size of a mobile phone SIM card... and with that.. ofcos the size of the IU would be much smaller..

it wouldnt be easy for the government to scrap the IU and cashcard system... although i agree that its a super bad design and ugly and HUGE !

wat would be possible is the remake of Cashcards and the IU unit. with technology.. the same application and functions of the IU would only get smaller with time..

the technology of cashcards will be here to stay needless to say..

SIZE DOES matter !

http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a387/gabriel06/Rxk2_edit.jpg

danger is no stranger to a lonely ranger

In the states they have a system called Fast Track. Where you simply install the transponder into your car like our present ERP system, and at the end of the month, the fee for using the expressway or bridge is billed to you like any other PUB bill.

No need to worry about insufficent card value or cash card thievies smashing car windows or swiping motorcyclist's cash cards.

And at the toll booth, there are several lanes. If you don't have the Fast Track system installed in your vehicle just use the Cash payment lane.

in many cases if our bikes/cars pics are posted online..

many will ask abt the ugly gadget(IU) we installed in front of our bikes/cars..

i once saw a comment from a foreigner asking whether is that a solar panel or a ignition booster of sort.. :slapforehead:

IF ONLY THATS THE CASE. =)

then most stolen bikes can be retrieved back already.

thats why they cut the IU wire when they steal bikes..

http://www.weather.gov.sg/wip/pp/rndops/web/ship/gif/rad70.gif
ERP system is stupid? Dun just say leh, come up with a better plan lor. If you can, I will vote you as the new MP

ERP is crap, not scrap! Just to make more money out of road user. Neew ERP gantry install at BKE started last monday. See what happened since then? STill Jam from Dairy Farm onwards. I gone pass the gantry on Monday and wednesday, it also Jam with Traffic but i can see no Malaysian bike on the BKE during that time.

Yesterday, Tuesday, I tried the Bt Timah Road, Even more packed with cars and bikes as expected from the opening of BKE Gantry.

Now sooner or later, Bt Timah Gantry at Hume will be opened and see how the traffic are ease.

I was expecting lesser traffic on BKE today but its still fcuking Jam. I hope the LTA will see this thru their Video cam, whats the point of paying $0.50 when traffic is still jam??? :angry:

Car:

Leisure driving and family outing

Kia Cerato/Auto/Sedan:

Present FC: 11.03km/L

If LTA comes out with a IU without cash card, their source of income from giving fines to vehicle passing gantry will be decrease. Why would they want to spend money into these research and in the end lowering their income.

haha... true... give them no chance to issue summons... l0lx.

they shld be concern about the convience of road users and not income...

Class 2B - 23 Nov 2007

Class 2A - 24 Mar 2009

Class 2 - 19 Oct 2010

Class 3 - 20 Jul 2011

Congratulations, some of your wishes look to be granted.

---

Asiaone 30 Mar 2008

Settle ERP charges through credit card bills

By Christopher Tan

MOTORISTS will soon not have to worry about that dreaded beeping sound which indicates low or insufficient funds in their CashCard.

In fact, they will no longer even need a CashCard in their car to make ERP payments.

By around mid-year, a new service will allow drivers to pay electronic road pricing (ERP) charges when they settle their monthly credit card bill.

This development was part of the Land Transport Masterplan, which Transport Minister Raymond Lim launched yesterday.

'For motorists who wish to do away with the need to carry and top up stored-value cards, the ERP payment system will be further enhanced to allow alternative payment modes, such as credit card payment which will be implemented by mid-2008,' read the blueprint for commuter-friendly transport till 2020.

The Land Transport Authority did not have any details on the plan.

However, it is hoped the new system will reduce the 30,000 or so violations chalked up each month by motorists who pass gantries without enough funds.

Read the full story in Monday's edition of The Straits Times.

He who hesitates is lost!