Which type of s4 has the best fuel consumption?  

569 members have voted

1. 1. Which type of s4 has the best fuel consumption?

I am riding a vtec 2. These are my experience to share.

Once I ride on NSH Malaysia I travel at speed 130km/h and higher for more than 1 hour, meaning that the vtec valve is always open. I discovered that my fuel consumption shoot up to about 40% more!

So I can confirm that when vtec open your bike will drink more petrol.

If you dont belive you can try it out.

http://pics.homere.jmsp.net/t_24/101x80/031002_arc.gif

They are coming!(War Of the Worlds)

• Replies 2.6k

Guest aiya4
Originally posted by yahoo@Mar 25 2004, 11:10 AM

I am riding a vtec 2. These are my experience to share.

Once I ride on NSH Malaysia I travel at speed 130km/h and higher for more than 1 hour, meaning that the vtec valve is always open. I discovered that my fuel consumption shoot up to about 40% more!

So I can confirm that when vtec open your bike will drink more petrol.

If you dont belive you can try it out.

Yes yes yes I agree with you

Yahoo ain't u riding a XJR?

I went to KL with a spec1 before, average 150km/h about 200km I need to refill liao.

Normal day riding 90-100km/h 320km then refill.

Guest danmak
Originally posted by aiya4@Mar 25 2004, 11:24 AM

I went to KL with a spec1 before, average 150km/h about 200km I need to refill liao.

I think this will happen to all bikes.....

when u are at high RPM u will eat more petrol, have VTEC a not still high RPM..

eg. my previous ride was a TA200.

normal ride 90-110km/h can last 300+km

NSH ride 120-130km/h last only 200km

just my tots......

Guest Enjoy

Another factor to consider:

Higher speed = higher wind resistance = more power needed to travel at that speed = more petrol consumption.

Originally posted by danmak@Mar 25 2004, 11:28 AM

I think this will happen to all bikes.....

when u are at high RPM u will eat more petrol, have VTEC a not still high RPM..

eg. my previous ride was a TA200.

normal ride 90-110km/h can last 300+km

NSH ride 120-130km/h last only 200km

just my tots......

No Time To Think Of One

Originally posted by aiya4@Mar 25 2004, 11:24 AM

so it is normal wor..

today so surprise to see my fuel comsuption become so bad...

from ayer keroh back to gp...reach kulai already reserve..still tot somethin happen to my bike tuning wor...

--==anything more than a handful is waste==--

http://photos.friendster.com/photos/89/36/3386398/2918831032400l.jpg

Hi i'm considering getting a s4 to do despatch.

So i'm asking how far can a s4 travel with 1 full tank? What is capacity of tank? Are all versions same capacity n same mileage? :help:

But i got quite a lot of things to carry for my despatch. need at least 2 boxes. Thought of honda wave but very hard to install 2 boxes on wave right??

ANyone any recommendations? thought of s4 cos my fren said s4 fuel tank bigger, more power n if go m'sia pump petrol then use s4 do despatch is quite economical.

Is it true guys??

THINK AGAIN MAN......

true tat S4 hav got bigger tank as compare to 2B bikes, 18.5 litres to do 320-350km ???

but the runnin cost of a S4 not cheap leh - oil, plugs, filters, parts, fuel, tax, insurance, etc ... ...

still think a 2B bike will do a better despatch job, eg : TA 150, RXZ, RXK

but of course, we hav to pay a higher price for a higher comfort level.

cheers....

PEOPLE ON THE MOVE

my two-wheeler adventures:

FD 4001 D 1998-2001 HX135

FJ 6192 R 2001-2003 CBR400RR

FU 679 K 2003-2006 CB400SFYJ

FY 710 G 2007-2007 YBR125

FBC 9277 U 2008-2011 FJS400D

ya, & who ask wave can't install boxes x2 ?

no pro, if u dun go fast & who noe, it may help balancing ?????

PEOPLE ON THE MOVE

my two-wheeler adventures:

FD 4001 D 1998-2001 HX135

FJ 6192 R 2001-2003 CBR400RR

FU 679 K 2003-2006 CB400SFYJ

FY 710 G 2007-2007 YBR125

FBC 9277 U 2008-2011 FJS400D

I think for high usage, small capacity 4-strokers with electric start is a must. Wave is a great bike for the job, and and added plus, no clutch to worry about, just twist and go, concentrate on the traffic. Got basket to put things for easy access too, like street directory.

i hv seen a wave wif rear box n 2 panniers.... was initially shocked... but tink again, nothing is impossible ah.

Super 4 which model the most petrol saving?

Project Very Big Big Big One?

Version S?

Version R?

VTec I?

VTec II?

VTec III?

Looking for a Super4 for kata leh..

http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid149/p1b17b33bb23f2def1eada129d9adcadc/f5f48dfe.jpg

Version S?

Version R?

350km+- b4 reserve...wif reserve ard 400km i tink... :cheeky:

VTec I?

VTec II?

VTec III?

wheres my siggy?!?!

Originally posted by Camo_Fly@Apr 14 2004, 05:14 PM

Version S?

Version R?

VTec I?

VTec II?

VTec III?

s4 for a katah is an overkill.

all s4 can hit an average of 300 to 320 full and some times more.

pos·er (pozr) n.

A Sportbike rider who habitually pretends to be something he is not and only care about how they appear to the public as their bikes are nothing more than props to get them noticed by girls or even teenage boys which they want to impress with fictional tales of all the hardcore riding they do.

Originally posted by luvpuzzle@Apr 14 2004, 09:17 PM

aiyo wan to save petrol dun ride la .. take bus/mrt cheapest

:D :p

Frankly speaking that rite. Not only petrol... service also important how about wear and tear?? Be prepare to spend at least $1K a year extra if you wanna ride class 2A bike

Signal First Before You Brake

I maybe always meowing but sometime i ROAR

SuperFour Biker

Beware of 6350 RPM .................. VTEC .

Posts ALL Rights reserved�.

Reading purpose only. Not for copying or duplicated �.

THE WINGS TO RIDE FREELY

Originally posted by Camo_Fly@Apr 14 2004, 05:14 PM

Version S?

Version R?

VTec I?

VTec II?

VTec III?

maybe u can try ver s.cos my 1 can go 360km then touch reserve.

Originally posted by immanuel@Apr 14 2004, 11:06 PM

maybe u can try ver s.cos my 1 can go 360km then touch reserve.

mine went until 372km, still haven't switch to reserve yet... and still can run somemore.... but i scare, so switch to reserve... that was the further i've tried before switching to reserve. :sweat:

http://mel.idlenetwork.com/scb400.jpg

aiya like what the old man say whether save pertrol or not depends veri much on ridin atitude if you ride at 50km/h i tell you all models save petrol one (i know you wont ) but if you open up your trottle pick up speed more power to do definATELY more petrol just like you go for runnin and differnt between sprint and jog same theory lor :smile: :smile: :cheeky: :cheeky:

Want to save petrol? Take Honda Wave125. Faster than bus n mrt yet cheaper!! Cost u only $2 petrol can go very long distance liao. :sweat:

HI this will be be my maiden post here..so here goes nothing

Me riding a SP4 Project Big 1

Commuting almost daily from woodland to Workplace at Changi Cargo Terminal

Normal riding at expressway About 110-120 km/h

so for me mileage i can get would be 330-350km before reserve

reserve fuel..the best i dare try is from upper thomson entrance to SLE to Changi village Shell sattion(still have some more)

All this is inclusive of 2 x 5mins warm up per day

hope that suffice

Jul 2001 - Aug 2001 :TZR 125

Sep 2001 July 2002 : Rebel 125

Aug 2002 - Sep 2002: Virago 400

Oct 2002 - July 2004 : S4 Project Big 1

Aug 2004 - Oct 2004 : ST 11

Nov 2004 - May 2005: Phantom 150

Jun 2005 - Dec 2011 : Honda CBR 600 F4

Feb 2012 - : 2005 Varadero 125