Which type of s4 has the best fuel consumption?  

569 members have voted

1. 1. Which type of s4 has the best fuel consumption?

I am planning to do full servicing of my bike. Any good services workshop? I planning to go planet motor but i dun know whether they are using electronic or manual for carb tuning.

21st Jun 05 to 7th Sept 07 -- Phantom TA 200 (FY ****K)

8th Sept 07 to 27th Jul 08 -- CB400 VTEC 1 (FS ***Z) <-- Stolen in JB

5th Aug 08 to 15th May 10 --CB400 VTEC 2 (FV ****Z)

20th May 10 -- Honda Jazz (SJE ****C)

• Replies 2.6k

Yo bro, muz consider also how long you travel everyday. I stay bedok so last time werk at bedok. Distance to work place about 10km. Petrol can last up to 270km before blinking. Now I am working in Clementi. Distance further. I can get about 310km. Both of which when fill up to the brim, about 14 litres plus plus never reach 15 litres. BTW mine is a Spec III.

So Distance do play apart. And don't forget the more you stop during your journey, the more petrol you consume. If always cruise speed, can get a lot ah. Keep to 80km/hrs if wanna last longer.

i think its just inaccurate figures used for the calculations lah.

for my vtec1, i use until dry then push to petrol station, pump almost 18.7L, then use until it dries again, so my mileage was about 450km. taking this figures into calculations puts my FC at 24.06km/L, which is normal i guess.

perhaps you should try it this way cos it is the best and most accurate way to determine FC as it removes one of the variables in the calculation (the amt. of petrol used)

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v56/flykite/futurerp.jpg

to determine FC no need to ride till dry. cos every tank of petrol, traffic condition is different, number of red lights encounterd n waiting time is different, warming up duration is different n the way u ride is different. so FC will definitely b different. wat needed to know is the average fuel consumption of the bike.

mayb, its fun to run the bike till dry n push to petrol kiosk, hence treating it as RT training. anyway, its not good for the bike to run till dry. its like asking someone to run until he faint n ask someone to carry him.

i think its just inaccurate figures used for the calculations lah.

for my vtec1, i use until dry then push to petrol station, pump almost 18.7L, then use until it dries again, so my mileage was about 450km. taking this figures into calculations puts my FC at 24.06km/L, which is normal i guess.

perhaps you should try it this way cos it is the best and most accurate way to determine FC as it removes one of the variables in the calculation (the amt. of petrol used)

bro, care to share how u managed to get such a healthy consumption rate?

riding style, daily average mileage, mods, accessories?

but then, abt pushing bike to petrol station, i did tt once but then i felt as if i was "torturing" my bike! like i oredi riding her, some more want to deprive her of her "drink"! :angel:

2005-2006 : Yamaha RXZ 135

2006-2010 : Honda Super 4 Spec I

2010-2012 : Honda VFR 800 5th Gen

2012-current : SYM MaxSym 400i

Serious speaking, how long does you all do full service of the bike. Based on performance of bike or regular half yearly check once?

bro, care to share how u managed to get such a healthy consumption rate?

riding style, daily average mileage, mods, accessories?

but then, abt pushing bike to petrol station, i did tt once but then i felt as if i was "torturing" my bike! like i oredi riding her, some more want to deprive her of her "drink"! :angel:

stock vtec1 except k&n filter, 48L box, 3-pt crashbars, normal riding seldom open vtec, daily mileage 80-100km average, im 70kg, my pillion 40, half the mileage is with pillion, 3/4 of the journey on highway, changing 1st 4 gears at 3,000-4,000rpm, 5th at 4,500rpm, cruising mostly at 6th from 5,500-6,500rpm, speeds of 90-105km/h, petrol using mobil F1 :thumb:

usu i dont force it dry. when one of the cylinders stop firing i will off the engine and start pushing. but nowadays im smarter, i carry a small bottle of petrol so that i dont need to push :)

ytd night i just filled her up, 18.3L for 442.2km, about 24.1km/L, im satisifed :smile:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v56/flykite/futurerp.jpg
Different spec will have different petrol consumption. Some said Spec 2 consume more petrol than spec 3. Is this true?
yes correct.

in sg, sound fast look fast is enough. run fast fine fast die fast.

for tuning at least need 2 hour see yo bike shop use manual or computer to tune

So long meh>??? o.0

http://img219.imageshack.us/img219/9092/transformeryc8.jpg

HAte My Gold Rims and Red shocks~!!!

http://img254.imageshack.us/img254/4070/img0143cv.jpg

get a ver S!! that is definitely a save petrol bike...

ppl who open vtec whenever they on the highway should post ur consumption figures here so tat u know whether ur settings when open vtec good anot.

hey ppl, how u all manage to pump in 15 ltr from reserve with side stand on???

for me, i usually pump with the pump on my right hand side...pump in my right hand, left hand hold handle bar with my hips slightly pushing bike to the right...just be careful not to drop ur bike...if not, pay petrol for nothing and heart pain bike drop :cry:

hope it helps..

2005-2006 : Yamaha RXZ 135

2006-2010 : Honda Super 4 Spec I

2010-2012 : Honda VFR 800 5th Gen

2012-current : SYM MaxSym 400i

My spec 2 consistantly manage to get 340km per 15L, open vtec quit often cos i travel KJE always smooth traffic, but how come whether i wack or no wack seems always same FC ??

Hi, just wonder that those of you hit 300+ and above mileage is with pillion or just rider.

Another question is if i change spark plug, do i need to retune my carb?

Hi, just wonder that those of you hit 300+ and above mileage is with pillion or just rider.

Another question is if i change spark plug, do i need to retune my carb?

with or without also can hit. changing of plugs no need to do anything to the carb.

Hmmm... Maybe I repharse a bit. By theoretically, if the weight of a person is heavy it required more petrol fuel to burn off in order to move on. My question is, for example, those guys out there calm they can hit 300km+ and above before going to reverse. But do they have pillion on or just he/she himself/herself.

My current situation is sometimes I ride with my pillion and sometimes no and my mileage is at around 295km for 14.5L.(This fig. is after i wash and tune my cab and clean my filter --> KNN) Before that it was 275km for 14.5L.

I find out that it only improve a little bit in term of milage. HOW COME? Do spark plug plays a part? I yet to change it because during services, my iridium plug still look fine but i only find 1 out of 4 abit dirty but they do buffle for me before putting it back.

how u calculate ur fc? the best way is to pump while sitting on the bike and fill it to full and run till reserve, pump full again and take the mileage divide by amount of petrol pump in. eg. 360/15=24.

i have already done that