erm, time 2 bring the bike 2 HL.

Thanks for all the feedback...

HL??? Wats that??? "ho lan"??

:bow: PrAcTiCe MaKe PeRfEcF, BuT iF nObOdY iS pErFeCt wHy BoRtHeR tO pRaCtIcE!!!:bow:

• Replies 99.2k

• pichudot

• innards

• maxxmadness

• bigman_185

Hi guys, need some advice

My Gen 1 FZS1000 got some problem with the meter.

I noticed some time last week and today that the meter reset itself. Both times, bike is running standstill at the traffic lights.

I checked the wiring, seems ok.

My voltmeter reading was all the while 12.6 at maximum when the bike is running, but I noticed the reading dropped to 12.2 when running these few days.

Rectifier was changed 1 year ago, the battery maybe unchanged for 2 years6 liao.

Starting the bike is no problem btw. I remmeber a backfire some days ago, wonder is it is related.

Is the battery a goner? Or there are some other evils? :\

Please advise, thanks.

Hi All

Any feedback on this 2 alarm? Steel mate and Spy?

I thinking of changing my current steelmate alarm, can't decide whether sld i change back to the same model or change to SPY alarm.:cheeky:

i am currently using the Spy 2 alarm,the arming range is a plus point,becos there's a additional anthena attached,senstivity wise,i have not turn to the max on the main unit and it's like i must really hit it quite "hard" on the seats or other parts of the bike,then the alarm will go off...overall my rating 7/10

Thanks for all the feedback...

HL??? Wats that??? "ho lan"??

HL = Hong Leong = Yamaha workshop

just for killing my curiosity, did givi came out with a top box just for gen2? or is the box universal? just the rack or bracket is unique to gen2?

universal rack and box. u need? lol

http://www.motorcycle-usa.com/photogallerys/ATL_3679.jpg

I noticed some time last week and today that the meter reset itself. Both times, bike is running standstill at the traffic lights.

My voltmeter reading was all the while 12.6 at maximum when the bike is running, but I noticed the reading dropped to 12.2 when running these few days.

Rectifier was changed 1 year ago, the battery maybe unchanged for 2 years6 liao.

Starting the bike is no problem btw. I remmeber a backfire some days ago, wonder is it is related.

Please advise, thanks.

backfire???check ure plugs...1 or more may have gone chao ta already...change it & u may wanna consider tuning if u havent done so in a while

YAMAHA FZ1S ABS 2K12

hi guys.. any recommendations for windshields. FZ1 Gen2

The skidmark ones r cheap but no really my taste... Motorworld got no stock for the MRA n the other brand tat they r selling is kind of xpensive...

Health Warning!

BootLicking is not good for your ASS!!!

hi guys.. any recommendations for windshields. FZ1 Gen2

The skidmark ones r cheap but no really my taste... Motorworld got no stock for the MRA n the other brand tat they r selling is kind of xpensive...

i am using Ermax... i think HL brings in gen 2 touring windshield

nan mine a gen1

u can see if can mod to fit.. since it is a universal rack.

Please advise, thanks.

bro, whhere did you tap the voltage reading from?

Anyway sounds like its time to replace your battery...

There is no need to replace the rectifier unless your bike is overcharging... its a fazer, not super 4 hor...

one way of checking if the rectifier is working is it should be warm to the touch when the bike is running. if that is the case, then your battery may be a goner, see if the walls of the battery has started to balloon. That is another tell-tale sign. Else if the rectifier is cold, then rectifier is the cause of your battery not charging.

wanna ride with madness?

http://i50.photobucket.com/albums/f340/maxxmadness/madness00.jpg

one way of checking if the rectifier is working is it should be warm to the touch when the bike is running. if that is the case, then your battery may be a goner, see if the walls of the battery has started to balloon. That is another tell-tale sign. Else if the rectifier is cold, then rectifier is the cause of your battery not charging.

Thanks for the advice.

Later go and check again.

The readings are taken from my bike's fixed-on voltmeter, but later I will try against another handheld set.

Typically, how long does a battery last? My daily mileage is rather high at 60km+, so by right the battery should be fully charged by the end of each day.

I heard the fazer battery is not cheap though.

Also, how long does your chain last?

Just changed mine 2 weeks ago, fantastic feel. Usually I juz whack the chain lube over the rollers. Supposed to be over the pins and covers right... :\

Thanks for the advice.

Later go and check again.

The readings are taken from my bike's fixed-on voltmeter, but later I will try against another handheld set.

Typically, how long does a battery last? My daily mileage is rather high at 60km+, so by right the battery should be fully charged by the end of each day.

I heard the fazer battery is not cheap though.

Also, how long does your chain last?

Just changed mine 2 weeks ago, fantastic feel. Usually I juz whack the chain lube over the rollers. Supposed to be over the pins and covers right... :\

My first battery lasted 2 yrs 4 months.

My second battery (Current) is 2 years and 8 months to date.

Currently Iam sourcing for a new one already...

My first set of chain changed at 38k miles.

Now running on my 2nd set of chain, which would be due for replacemetn soon too...

I have a spare batt lying arnd somewhere at home. :p

my battery lasted me almost 4 years..:D

chain...mine yet to change since new, going 60K now and it is still good..:thumb:

it goes down to how you maintain your bike and how often you ride. Mine is almost always covered and not moved, mileage is mostly from riding up north before the ST11 came around. That remind me, i better take it out for a ride today, been riding too much of the potato..:D

Edited by maxxmadness

wanna ride with madness?

I have a spare batt lying arnd somewhere at home. :p

check behind your door..:D

I thought you have more than 1 spare?

wanna ride with madness?

my battery lasted me almost 4 years..:D

chain...mine yet to change since new, going 60K now and it is still good..:thumb:

ya lor... so HL!!!...

My bike overused mah... thats why everything also change more then 1 time liao... :angel:

ya lor... so HL!!!...

My bike overused mah... thats why everything also change more then 1 time liao... :angel:

okay mah, then when i change i will know what the hidden problem and the cost of the change too..:D

wanna ride with madness?

guys, can anyone tell me where HL is located? also, if my bike is first hand, just bought, am i automatically given warranty or must have a proper warranty card? thx

u can try the HL website, and you might be able to register your new bike on HL website too...

HI MATES....

planning to get 1 gen 1 fazer 1000...

been sourcing ard ....

tink i found the 1....

would like to check....

the gen 1 batt is using those expensive r1 powder batt ($160)or those norm cheap

batt...

is the rectificer ex...? (price range)

is the magnet coil aka stator coil ex....?

generally spare parts easy to source....?

any "infamous" problems for gen 1 fazer 1000?

any idea abt APE cam chain tensioner for the gen1 & oso advancer...?(muzzy, factory or ape)

any lobang for aft market headers...?

hw abt jet kits, (Power commander or Ivans') to put it on frazer 1000 gd or bad? or i juz call sum1 experienced like Planet Motor Ah Chong to tune better....?

any lowering links lobang....?

any gd cond bagster tank bra letting go...?

finally is the clutch assembly ex....?

Thanks for the time taken to read....

Cheers mates....

Edited by stwb1981

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash1/hs773.ash1/166356_131601833567489_100001530181591_182770_5027349_n.jpg

More for less . . . Always!!!

M.B Products : Lifestyle, Performance, Electronics, Security, Accessories . . .

Click here ---> Visit Motore Bici Section for more details

HI MATES....

planning to get 1 gen 1 fazer 1000...

been sourcing ard ....

tink i found the 1....

Thanks for the time taken to read....

Cheers mates....

would like to check....

the gen 1 batt is using those expensive r1 powder batt ($160)or those norm cheap

batt...

is the rectificer ex...? (price range) >> either one can, R1 abt $200++

is the magnet coil aka stator coil ex....? >> average priced

generally spare parts easy to source....? >> yes

any "infamous" problems for gen 1 fazer 1000? >> no

any idea abt APE cam chain tensioner for the gen1 & oso advancer...?(muzzy, factory or ape) >> nak kena cari kat ebay

any lobang for aft market headers...? >> header of course need lobang!! :D many brands available

hw abt jet kits, (Power commander or Ivans') to put it on frazer 1000 gd or bad? or i juz call sum1 experienced like Planet Motor Ah Chong to tune better....? >> dun need, gen1 dam power alredy

any lowering links lobang....? >> ebay

any gd cond bagster tank bra letting go...? >>nope

finally is the clutch assembly ex....? >> average priced