lol. changing to scooter ah. more storage, auto..

2008 July - 2010 March: Daelim Roadwin R 125 (FBC 8363 K)

2010 March - 2011 September: SYM GTS 200 (FBD 7445 J)

2011 September - 2013 April: Yamaha Fazer fz6s2 (FBB 5824 Y)

2013 March - now: Honda NC700XD (FBH **** D)

• Replies 8.9k

chinese new year ok nia... and i'm resting on bed. too much liquor and ciggarettes... haiz... fell sick liao...

"A government afraid of its citizens is a Democracy. Citizens afraid of government is tyranny!"

— Thomas Jefferson

:eek: :eek:

btw, uncle, any compressible material to dampen vibration in screws and nuts you can recommend ah? i got a scooter, but apparently, vibration causes the screw to loosen. Wanna DIY and put a rubber-ish material inbetween washer and screw so that it won't loosen that easily.

sankiew sankiew.

"A government afraid of its citizens is a Democracy. Citizens afraid of government is tyranny!"

— Thomas Jefferson

scooter vibrates.....???? u got a vepas???

the last scooter i had was silky smooth, twist n go.

very easy to ride, easier than riding a bicycle.

until tat stupid rear tire blown-up, send me n my nephew to hospital. :(

tat's when i decided no more scooting around with a scooter. :angel:

wat i dun like is cat sleep on my scooter seat.

sleeping is ok but damaging n peeing on the seat....waaaa tat the last draw.

not vespa uncle, i got an atlantic. The bike's not vibrating. Its the exhuast guard. There're 3 screws. So i tot, just fix the screw once and for all rather than keep screwing it back. :)

— Thomas Jefferson

use loctite n spring washer, screw wun be loose anymore.

thx alot uncle. will try to look for one on ebay or try go LAB this weekend to get some.

btw, uncle so late still awake sia... :thumb:

— Thomas Jefferson

thread locker loctite n spring washers can get them at DIY shop.

loctite buy the smallest tube (6ml), dun buy the bottle.

i kept in my tool box, can use for many yrs (one drop per screw/bolt).

in aero industrial, there is shelf-life of six months or one yr.

i'm nocturnal, can't sleep early. should live at GMT+4 instead of GMT+8.

thread locker loctite n spring washers can get them at DIY shop.

loctite buy the smallest tube (6ml), dun buy the bottle.

i kept in my tool box, can use for many yrs (one drop per screw/bolt).

in aero industrial, there is shelf-life of six months or one yr.

i'm nocturnal, can't sleep early. should live at GMT+4 instead of GMT+8.

haha... thx uncle. will get it as you suggested. But not good to reverse the sleeping trend la. Ample rest is important. :thumb:

— Thomas Jefferson

hi uncle, my speedometer whenever hits 120km/h the needle will start to sway from 115-120km,like going to 115 then up 120 den down again when i never close throttle or brake.. when it is below 110 it doesnt sways.. always happens when i go over 115

is my speedometer spoilt or just cos my tyre sizing and spocket size is different from stock??

http://a3.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/206249_10150219444627783_610102782_8520246_7743888_n.jpg

She's a monster, she's a monster.. beautiful monster..

i think it's because you are very close or is at the max of your speed liao.

— Thomas Jefferson

u have to understand how the speedometer works.

how it work:

1) from the front wheel attached a drive wheel tat rotates a cable which is connected the meter.

2) the rotating cable drive to rotates a magnet in the meter.

3) the magnetic force will drive the speedometer needle tat is hold back by a calibrated spring.

note: there is no physical connection between the magnet n needle. needle is being force by the magnet n hold at almost precise (with 10% error) indicated speed position by the calibrated spring.

if u understand the working principle of speedometer as i have described above.

u can try to understand why speedometer fluctuate when it's at 115~120kph.

1) it can be the cable tat rotating at maximum snap back. cable is actually a single spring-like single string without gap in-between.

2) it can be the rotating magnet force attraction not strong enough to steadily hold against the calibrated spring force.

how long have u been using the speedo cable?

maybe u can grease it or drip a few droplet of oil to lubricate the cable. it may help cable to rotates freely.

it's not feasible to change the speedometer, maybe u can strip the meter n try the lub the rotating spindle.

my speedometer sometime shown a slight drooping at 80~90kph, it's not a major problem since my speed reading r stable. btw i have not change cable since i brought the bike 6 yrs ago. i did lub the cable n strip the meter, try to lub it but can't find a suitable way to do it. invert the meter n dripped a few droplets of oil btwn gap of the sleeve n center shaft.

rpm meter is electrical meter, it picks up pulses from the ignition which precisely indicates the engine rpm.

for those electronic digital speedometer, most big bikes speed r pickup from internal gear sensor. any change of sprockets or rear tire size differ from stock, digital speedo will register incorrect speed. tat's the reason for aftermarket device called 'speed healer' to correct the error.

some others have a sensor n magnet attached to front wheel, need to measure the circumference of the front wheel n input circumference measurement for meter to indicate speed.

Edited by stsoh

for those whom find rw seat uncomfortable, i recommend a simple mod.

u need a 2mm thick rubber gasket n double sided tape.

cut 2 piece of rubber gaskets about the length n breath of the seat under mount damper.

apply double sided tape n stick it to the sub frame where the mount damper seat on.

front two mount only, rear not require.

this is to lift up the front by 2mm, so tat u wun slight forward n placed ur butt at comfort region of the mid seat area.

one more thing forget to mention:

apply a little bit of grease on top of the rubber gasket.

this is to prevent it from peeling off it's position when ur seat r moving fore n aft due to ur motion.

update 09 mar 2010:

i find that after awhile the pads will peel-off, so i decide change n stick the pads onto the rubber mount instead (see last pic).

Edited by stsoh

woah... smart mod!! btw, uncle you don't mind me chatting here hor? other threads no people to chat with me liao. fwahahaha....

— Thomas Jefferson

ha u no more monster ah?

2008 July - 2010 March: Daelim Roadwin R 125 (FBC 8363 K)

2010 March - 2011 September: SYM GTS 200 (FBD 7445 J)

2011 September - 2013 April: Yamaha Fazer fz6s2 (FBB 5824 Y)

2013 March - now: Honda NC700XD (FBH **** D)

ha u no more monster ah?

this lorrr :angel:

http://www.dxmotor.com/_images/used/ubi/P1000199.JPG

http://a3.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/206249_10150219444627783_610102782_8520246_7743888_n.jpg

She's a monster, she's a monster.. beautiful monster..

woah... smart mod!! btw, uncle you don't mind me chatting here hor? other threads no people to chat with me liao. fwahahaha....

no problem, come n chat anytime, most welcome.

simple mod, maybe tat's the reason i dun have any problem ride long distance.

didn't have to spend $50 to put extra cushion.

oooh coool~

uncle! why ur battery airintake area so clean one!

mine got all the wires loh !

cka nv make nice nice for me:cry:

and do u guys get numb fingers when riding for long?:faint:

i know wearing gloves helps. but not alot lei

isit the bar angle or something ?

wires can be neatly pack by urself, it's all done by myself.

even put the UI with tools n chain lub in the storage box space.

ride the bike like a sportbike posture.

reason y ur hand goes numb becoz u put body weight on ur hand whilst riding.

when u put ur body weight on the handlebar, it naturally press on the nerve n cut off blood circulation to ur hand thus after a short while ur hand will be numbed.

here how to correct ur posture for riding:

1) use ur abdomen (stomach) muscle to support ur body weight.

2) lower ur elbow.

3) hold the handle like pushing those supermart trolley cart.

i rode to malacca n back without any problem.

wires can be neatly pack by urself, it's all done by myself.

even put the UI with tools n chain lub in the storage box space.

ride the bike like a sportbike posture.

reason y ur hand goes numb becoz u put body weight on ur hand whilst riding.

when u put ur body weight on the handlebar, it naturally press on the nerve n cut off blood circulation to ur hand thus after a short while ur hand will be numbed.

here how to correct ur posture for riding:

1) use ur abdomen (stomach) muscle to support ur body weight.

2) lower ur elbow.

3) hold the handle like pushing those supermart trolley cart.

icic! shall try next time

thanks again! uncle!

i bought the HJC CLST helmet.

not bad lei!

still abit noisy thou,

but not sure if top end helmets are really quiet or not.

but its really comfortable! :thumb:

Wah uncle soh! To n fro malacca??? I go kulai n back oso no problem,but scared to go further..

as long as u do schedule maintenance on the bike shouldn't be any problem.

i felt safer on rw than on superbike coz rw can go more than 400 km per tank compare to superbike 200~220 km per tank.

if speeding even worst got to kept an eye on the fuel gauge, fuel will drop even faster than the bike can speed. lol.

rw no worry about fuel when travelling.

superbike must constantly worry wat if can't reach the next petrol station.

cannot wander off wulu wulu places in case there r no petrol station b4 empty.

must constantly top up fuel at every opportunity, sometimes barely reach the next station.