[Group] SBF DUCATI Monster

Loctite 242 for Thread-Locking the Engine area screws cost $24 for a Medium Size Bottle. Anyone one keen to share? We probaly require 5% of 1 bottle nia! Seems quite wasted to get a medium bottle. Anyone seen smaller bottles on retail? Thanks!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

1996 - 1997 : Aprillia RS125 Extrema

1997 - 1998 : Yamaha DT200WR

1998 - 2005 : Not been Riding.....

2005 - 2006 : Honda XR400RV & Ducati Monster

2006 Onwards : Something BIG ! ! is coming.......

• Replies 14.5k

Pro Dero,

I just came back from Stamford.

1. He told me I shouldn't just use any spark plugs just because they are expensive ones! Monster engine only can accept a certain type. I need to change all the plugs that I just changed on Sunday! He said the NGK G-Power is going to ruin my engine.

2. The engine oil I changed also cannot! Need to put in semi-syntheic one!

3. Even for chain, I cannot just put the most expensive DID chain. It will be too heavy for Monster and will affect it's performance.

4. I also need to tune my engine because I changed my pipes.

5. He will also help me lacquer my belly pan and make brackets to fit it on my bike.

6. My handlebar is abit "off". Left side is abit higher than right side. He'll help me push it down abit to even it out.

Argh .. wasted all the $$$ on Sunday except for that $5 "pirated" Stebel horn hehe. I'll be back to Stamford to change all those un-acceptable things again very soon. I think I won't go to Ah Wah anymore unless for really minor stuff. Cos Stamford knows Monster much better.

I'll need to get front sprockets, oil filter and fork seals from Minerva. I hope they are willing to sell it to me without letting them install.

After I left Stamford, I think due to all the stupid humps in the building, my speedo died again! Argh!!!!!! G.D.I!!

Contacted,

the pipes are very easy to take out. Just need to loosen 2 screws. 1 at the header area and 1 at the foot rest area. You need allen key and either size 9 or 10 spanner (not very sure). If you got adjustable spanner then even better.

c26492.jpg

yohji

1. spark plugs there many kinds of it, more over he asked u wat type u want liao....i choose da lower end cuz i didnt wanna overload da coil plate....hehehe!

2. engine oil i use da same as yours cuz da viscousity is not to heavy & thin, more over its alot better den ya petronas oil u were running in ya pity duke... :sian:

3. DID chain is on ya bike? bro chain is measured by thickness 520 or 530 which is heavier, more over i am using RK 525, but ya bike is on did 530 wif AFAM sprocket...from da previous owner... :confused:

4. abt ya handle bar get a new one, no point savin on dat, on the other hand there is alot of thing abt bikes u should know abt, as for me both my bikes r mint performance all da while at ah wah....btw 2day i was at ntrust enterprize da shop beside stamford & didnt see liao...i am getting my meter reader & front sprocket soon....

5. aft sun werkshop thing my bike doesnt need chokin like b4.... :thumb:

6. for tuning wise i go to boon siew for my vara & minerva for my ducati...juz gotta let da pro do it aft all, even carb svc & major engine stuff....

ciao! o_O

WELCOME TO THE DARK SIDE...

2004 Honda Varadero XL125 ride to tour

2005 Ducati Monster 400 for track use :p

2006 white r3 spec gen2 manual gear for pimping hehehe!

2008 THE new silver subaru impreza hatch NOT road legal & manual gear for drifting!

2010 white fd2 honda civic 2.0 si & still manual gear for family use so whats next baby?

Hi fellow Ducs,

I have been finding 41T rear sprockets, any ideas where got sell? The size available is only 39 and 46. Btw, are you all using stock sprockets? What is the top speed?

Originally posted by 900despairmonster@Dec 27 2005, 11:11 PM

Yo WiLL56,

Hav u tried Kallang Cycle? Ask 4 Mike.. He should hav..

Hi 900despairmonster,

I have ask Mike. He say the size now very difficult to find and recently he managed to find one 43 for me. I have asked minerva and motoworld also but it seems like all do not have the size from 41-44. Anyway I just changed from 14/39 to 14/43.

Originally posted by contacted@Dec 27 2005, 12:10 PM

Anyway your 250KM not so 'kia see' leh compared to mine, I top up every 200KM or so. Reserve fuel indicator not working mah, so dun dare to take the risk.

wah same same kiasu people. i also top up around 200km + -. But i never really calculate the fuel consumption. maybe next time when i top up.

i don ride everyday. hope my monster won't die on me.

Originally posted by nE0@Dec 27 2005, 03:13 PM

My Monster does 24km/litre on mostly street riding.

Anyway, spark plugs are cheap, if you guys have plug fouling problems, it might be cheaper to change it often, like every 2 weeks, rather than to overhaul the carbs. But I prefer to do it the proper way though. :thumb:

The forward cylinder is also more prone to fouling than the rear one, for some reason. If possible, get the spark plug cables and plug heads changed, they detorate over the years.

do u think i should change my spark plug? donno is it because i don ride often or somthing...sometimes when i start with the choke, got back fire (pog pog pog) then vrroom... start up. I let it warm up for quite sometime before riding off or else chuk chuk chuk like want to mati like that. But on the road the riding ok leh, sound also very shiok. Think i not yet get aquainted with this monster, still very scared to cornering or u-turn.

Originally posted by dark_monster@Dec 27 2005, 11:45 PM

do u think i should change my spark plug? donno is it because i don ride often or somthing...sometimes when i start with the choke, got back fire (pog pog pog) then vrroom... start up. I let it warm up for quite sometime before riding off or else chuk chuk chuk like want to mati like that. But on the road the riding ok leh, sound also very shiok. Think i not yet get aquainted with this monster, still very scared to cornering or u-turn.

Back firing is a huge BANG! Probably will scare afew birds away. I think what you'r e hearing is misfiring. Quite normal when the bike is cold, just ride carefully and slip the clutch abit mroe to prevent it from dying.

Yohji > You don't need to waste so much money undoing everything. I don't really want to elaborate here, but PM me.

Originally posted by Pro Dero@Dec 27 2005, 10:48 PM

yohji

1. spark plugs there many kinds of it, more over he asked u wat type u want liao....i choose da lower end cuz i didnt wanna overload da coil plate....hehehe!

2. engine oil i use da same as yours cuz da viscousity is not to heavy & thin, more over its alot better den ya petronas oil u were running in ya pity duke... :sian:

3. DID chain is on ya bike? bro chain is measured by thickness 520 or 530 which is heavier, more over i am using RK 525, but ya bike is on did 530 wif AFAM sprocket...from da previous owner... :confused:

4. abt ya handle bar get a new one, no point savin on dat, on the other hand there is alot of thing abt bikes u should know abt, as for me both my bikes r mint performance all da while at ah wah....btw 2day i was at ntrust enterprize da shop beside stamford & didnt see liao...i am getting my meter reader & front sprocket soon....

5. aft sun werkshop thing my bike doesnt need chokin like b4.... :thumb:

6. for tuning wise i go to boon siew for my vara & minerva for my ducati...juz gotta let da pro do it aft all, even carb svc & major engine stuff....

ciao! o_O

Pro Dero,

Hope you dont get me wrong. I am not saying Ah Wah is not good. But I think I better let someone who knows Monsters better do the bike. I think Ah Wah only deals with Monsters once in a blue moon? That is why he also dont know that not all spark plugs can be used (although he asked me what I want).

Of course the Petronas oil is not as good. But I had no choice but to use it. In the middle of NS highway, got engine oil for sale I already thank god.

neo,

I have sent you a PM : )

c26492.jpg
Originally posted by WiLL56@Dec 27 2005, 11:33 PM

Hi 900despairmonster,

I have ask Mike. He say the size now very difficult to find and recently he managed to find one 43 for me. I have asked minerva and motoworld also but it seems like all do not have the size from 41-44. Anyway I just changed from 14/39 to 14/43.

Hi WiLL56..

Wow u change to 14/43? Pickup sure Powerful.. Distance? Btw wt Monster r u riding? M4, M6 or M9? As for sprocket size 41.. i wld also strongly recommend u go on the net.. spareshack, ebay.. mayb can try loudbikes(US)..

Btw for the two guys i saw @ Mike Y'dae.. Cool man to be able to see forum ppl o'side.. I didnt know them until i met them.. Neway,EasytoFindMe.. Get well soon may so u can ride & "Growl" again.. giv u 2-3 mnths then we can "Cheong" 2getda(rite after i come bak from my sailaway).. u getting the 916 rite? So ltr can try with my m9.. hehehehe!!!

hey it's nice to see u there ! yr monster gives a new meaning to the term 'naked bikes' ... aniway u got any recommendations on whether i shuld coat the carbon pipes fr easytofindme with 2k urethane(i hav yet to find them commercially!!)? (tht was wad the guys over at ducatimonster.org recommended as a stronger clear coat compared to lacquer)...they said lacquer wouldn't be a prob coz the CF shouldnt get tht hot ...if it does the pipe requires re-packing.

Originally posted by espido1001@Dec 28 2005, 11:31 AM

hey it's nice to see u there ! yr monster gives a new meaning to the term 'naked bikes' ... aniway u got any recommendations on whether i shuld coat the carbon pipes fr easytofindme with 2k urethane(i hav yet to find them commercially!!)? (tht was wad the guys over at ducatimonster.org recommended as a stronger clear coat compared to lacquer)...they said lacquer wouldn't be a prob coz the CF shouldnt get tht hot ...if it does the pipe requires re-packing.

Yo man!!

Hehehe!! Quite true of wt u jz said.. My bike is truly a"Naked Bike".. Just cant wait to get it done man..

Btw abt ur prob with the lacquer.. let me call this paint shop in Tampines.. Superb workmanship.. Send in 2dae, get tomorrow.. Price ok-ok.. He may hav that kinda of lacquering job.. Cos he sprays cars..

Btw wen u move off y'dae your bike sounded cool.. mayb u can enhance the sound by drilling your pipes.. dtz wt i did to my pipe.. sounded way diff after that... More "Garang"... tested on my buddies m6.. changed his "Undrilled" pipe to mine.. sounded diff.. He loves my stock bt drilled pipe..

the internet's a wonderful invention .

Singapore distributor for TROY LEE DESIGNS

SPORTSBILT PTE. LTD Email: [email protected]

65-6749-5505 Website: http://www.sportsbilt.com

my pipes sounded nice? haha tht's a first actualli...when there's a duc meetup...u soon realise yr bike gets thundered away by alll those remuses n termis yr monster just suddenly feels so whimpy .. my monster was whinin home after my first meet with the other duc owners

aniway i got the pipes fr easy2findme alrd. i wanted to core my stock pipes but i needed them for the yrly inspection so quite reluctant to modify them... if possible could i have tht paintshop's no. ? if u said they're gd they should be ...haha . i'll call them for a qoute.or do u know them personally maybe can help me get discount i'll treat u coffee !

Originally posted by espido1001@Dec 28 2005, 02:08 PM

the internet's a wonderful invention .

Singapore distributor for TROY LEE DESIGNS

SPORTSBILT PTE. LTD Email: [email protected]

65-6749-5505 Website: http://www.sportsbilt.com

my pipes sounded nice? haha tht's a first actualli...when there's a duc meetup...u soon realise yr bike gets thundered away by alll those remuses n termis yr monster just suddenly feels so whimpy .. my monster was whinin home after my first meet with the other duc owners

aniway i got the pipes fr easy2findme alrd. i wanted to core my stock pipes but i needed them for the yrly inspection so quite reluctant to modify them... if possible could i have tht paintshop's no. ? if u said they're gd they should be ...haha . i'll call them for a qoute.or do u know them personally maybe can help me get discount i'll treat u coffee !

Yo espido1001..

U hav been to 'e duc mit up? Or the BBQ u meant? Ok.. Neway the mods that i mentioned just now wont hurt ur pipe much.. It will jz add a'lil more grunt in it.. Btw since u oredi hav the termi's then better.. So how many turn up @ 'e mit up session? No group photos?

Btw u can call them:

they r a car spraying wkrshp/coy @Tampines..

Add : Blk 9002, #01-34,

Tampines St.93

Tel No: 6785 3286

hp no: 9619 0398

Originally posted by 900despairmonster@Dec 28 2005, 02:39 PM

Yo espido1001..

U hav been to 'e duc mit up? Or the BBQ u meant? Ok.. Neway the mods that i mentioned just now wont hurt ur pipe much.. It will jz add a'lil more grunt in it.. Btw since u oredi hav the termi's then better.. So how many turn up @ 'e mit up session? No group photos?

Btw u can call them:

Tampines St.93

Btw u shud be sad when urs don make that "Monsterous Growl".. Its a MONSTER.. hehehehe!! Btw izzit all m4? or mix?

Btw sorri bro.. i don know them personally.. i wish i did..

nvm i will keep on checking.. btw did u check out the spray shop beside Mike's shop?

My advise.. try not to spray it to "Thick".. it will/might look fake.. btw if u happen to "Scratch" it again.. if u hav a light coat on it.. then u can recoat again.. u know wt i mean..

Originally posted by 900despairmonster@Dec 28 2005, 02:39 PM

Yo espido1001..

Btw u can call them:

Tampines St.93

Will this shop spray my entire monster? Mainly tank, fender and single seat?

Roughly how much would it be? Anybody tried this shop before?

Honda Phantom TA200: Sep 04 - Dec 05

Ducati Monster M400: Dec 05 - Feb 07

Honda Silverwing FJS400D: Feb 07 - Jan 09

Honda Shadow 400: Nov 10 - Dec 11

Aprilia SR Max 300ie: Jul 12 - Mar 15

Originally posted by contacted@Dec 28 2005, 03:50 PM

Will this shop spray my entire monster? Mainly tank, fender and single seat?

Roughly how much would it be? Anybody tried this shop before?

Yo contacted..

Hav u tried the shop beside mike? i sprayed both my rims, tank & body frame.. arnd $4++.. Was satisfied with their work.. that wrkshp in Tampines is specialise in spray cars man.. bikes i think u hav to call & ask.. as for espido1001 case.. he only wants a coat of lacquer on his termi's.. Btw anyone out there hav low termi's?

Originally posted by 900despairmonster@Dec 28 2005, 04:45 PM

Yo contacted..

Hav u tried the shop beside mike? i sprayed both my rims, tank & body frame.. arnd $4++.. Was satisfied with their work.. that wrkshp in Tampines is specialise in spray cars man.. bikes i think u hav to call & ask.. as for espido1001 case.. he only wants a coat of lacquer on his termi's.. Btw anyone out there hav low termi's?

Have not tried before, will be doing some research first, plan to spray around Feb.

Any pics of your bike to show us?

Honda Phantom TA200: Sep 04 - Dec 05

Ducati Monster M400: Dec 05 - Feb 07

Honda Silverwing FJS400D: Feb 07 - Jan 09

Honda Shadow 400: Nov 10 - Dec 11

Aprilia SR Max 300ie: Jul 12 - Mar 15

haha 900despairmonster(i'm not tht gd at names sorry!) i think i'll leave the stock as they r for the sake of the next owner ,but if i decide to drill them i'll seek yr advice ! aniway i'll drop by mike's+the spray shop nxt to him to see whether they hav "2k urethane" ,i doubt so tho...but like u suggested car-spraying shops usually hav them .. thanks for the info/contact no. ! yea i'll make sure i ask for a thin coat...

i went for the duc gathering once(the first duc gathering at kkfc),mostly monsters but there was a mixture lah,like s4,m900,m600,m400,999,etc. abt 12-15 ppl in total? i should be joining the next gatherin on the 5th,hope my work schedule allows me to. ! neo has photos for the 2nd gathering(@ bugis applestrudel)..

contacted: his m900's gonna be a real monster when it's done.. but let me show u how it looks now.. stunningly.....................naked....something like this . haha

The Shop beside Mic's place is called Replica Spray Painting. Despair's 900's Headlight looks INTERESTING!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

1996 - 1997 : Aprillia RS125 Extrema

1997 - 1998 : Yamaha DT200WR

1998 - 2005 : Not been Riding.....

2005 - 2006 : Honda XR400RV & Ducati Monster

2006 Onwards : Something BIG ! ! is coming.......

this place sells the thread lock!!!!!!

http://www.sportsbilt.com/finish2.htm

err... the hardware store at the NUS prata place there also got sell... but its the red stuff lah... not sure if you guys wanna use it... lol..

i use the red stuff on boats... lol..

anyway!!! I passed my 2A!!!! 6 points... lol...

i almost hit the last pylon on my slalom... lol... then i braked damn hard, slowed down and siam lol... kanna 4 points for 6sec slalom... lol...

oh yah... thanks to neo for directing me to motorworld!!

From then to now...

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v485/solley/bikes.jpg