Hey guyz~

Last min mini FJR outing tonite : 23rd June (Fri) @ KKFC

Meeting Time : 9:30pm

Attendees:

1.) ashenZ

2.) Glenn

3.) Tealm

4.) FJRider

5.) Cheekozer

6.)

Any of u guyz free juz drop by. Can call or msg mi @ 96969514 to confirm ur attendance if too late to post or wana drop by last min.

Hope to see u guyz ard

PS : there i will be a Vespa outing there too... maybe abit crowded.. but u cun miss us out~

Juz come come~ dun be shy~

http://martymcfry.com/images/limpdick2.jpg

'01 - Honda Repsol

'03 - Honda Super Four VTec Spec II

'04 - Honda ST1100 Pan European

'05 - Yamaha FJR1300A (FAVORITE!! Best Ride ever!!)

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Future - Kymco Downtown 350i, Xciting 400 or T-Max 530?

• Replies 16.5k

Originally posted by deanz4@Jun 22 2006, 02:50 AM

bro its tru that its not wise to save a few bucks and comprimise our babe.

So i nv believe in using other stuff instead of the original.. but my bike have been running on the fully syn till recently i feel that the longer i ride with my old engine oil i feel the bike seems more powerful and smoother.

So now i decided to use semi syn and after it catch up a few millege i feel it is more powerfull. stick to it now.. maybe my bike have reach that age whereby semi syn is enough as it is a thicker mix..

maybe the riders riding fjr wth more then 50km could confirm this???

I found this helpful article about motorcycle oils again: http://www.bmw-motorrad.co.za/bikes/worksh...les/filter.html

This was my personal research when selecting oils to use, so now I stick to Total 4T from Carrefour - 15W50, API-SL. Exceeds requirements for our climate, exceeds all mfr specs for our FJR1300 and does not cause a wet clutch to slip. Used it for my S4 for years too. Best thing is the PRICE! I think ppl find it hard to believe that if it's cheap it can be good, but I believe this one is. Total is a very well recognized intl brand, just not widely known in SG.

If you read around the more technical oil articles you will generally find people saying that semi-synthetic is MORE than good enough, and the quality rating of the oil is purely on the API rating. API-SL is the best there is currently.

I think many people get mixed/bad results cos they mix their oils as they keep trying different oil brands. This is not good. Change oil brands only when changing your oil filter cos mixing is a bad idea due to the different additives. Of course, the mind-game plays a part too. If you pay $75 for oil, it *must* feel better than the $25 one you get from Carrefour!

But then I also fill up on 92 octane petrol! :thumb:

bro all the above is very true but u cant compare it too BMW bikes as they are made to performe at the lowest oil available

As long as the EO is up to the standard that was given to us at the manual is good enough

now im using the conocu EO

http://i46.photobucket.com/albums/f128/inflames85/funny.gif
Originally posted by iliew@Jun 24 2006, 12:00 AM

I found this helpful article about motorcycle oils again: http://www.bmw-motorrad.co.za/bikes/worksh...les/filter.html

This was my personal research when selecting oils to use, so now I stick to Total 4T from Carrefour - 15W50, API-SL. Exceeds requirements for our climate, exceeds all mfr specs for our FJR1300 and does not cause a wet clutch to slip. Used it for my S4 for years too. Best thing is the PRICE! I think ppl find it hard to believe that if it's cheap it can be good, but I believe this one is. Total is a very well recognized intl brand, just not widely known in SG.

If you read around the more technical oil articles you will generally find people saying that semi-synthetic is MORE than good enough, and the quality rating of the oil is purely on the API rating. API-SL is the best there is currently.

I think many people get mixed/bad results cos they mix their oils as they keep trying different oil brands. This is not good. Change oil brands only when changing your oil filter cos mixing is a bad idea due to the different additives. Of course, the mind-game plays a part too. If you pay $75 for oil, it *must* feel better than the $25 one you get from Carrefour!

But then I also fill up on 92 octane petrol! :thumb:

Whoa! u like that say i veri gian to DIY already lehz.. But the thing is.. is the total 4T comparable to the other oils out there? As in have u tried the other oils and done a comparison before? Or all these while yo've been using total 4T so no chance to do any comparison? :smile:

http://photos-a.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-sf2p/v125/247/42/657192074/n657192074_214221_7245.jpg

My Rides :

Galaxy Blue FJR1300A ABS ( 27th Jan 06' - 15th Jul 07' )

Grey GT200 ( 15th Jul 06' - )

When's the next FJRian meetup? :confused:

My Ohlins rear shock is finally here! Installing on thursday. :cheeky:

Apr '99 - Sept '00 (Yamaha WR200)

Dec '00 - Jul '03 (Honda CB400 Version S)

Jul '03 - 5 June '06 (Yamaha XJ900S Diversion)

10 May '06 - Current (2004 Yamaha FJR1300ABS)

29 Aug '07 - Current (Suzuki Swift Sports-Mega)

04 Feb '09 - Current (2009 Honda City LX i-Vtec)

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y26/Casper4XXX/SBFSignatureIV.jpg

Originally posted by deanz4@Jun 24 2006, 05:45 AM

bro all the above is very true but u cant compare it too BMW bikes as they are made to performe at the lowest oil available

As long as the EO is up to the standard that was given to us at the manual is good enough

now im using the conocu EO

i used total 4T b4 when riding my super4... tink itz good enuf for class2A bikes... but when comes to hypersports or sports touring bikes... i prefer to use better grade oils for performance n better maintenance... prevention better den cure right?? at least gives me the ease of my mind... but well.. pocket not so at ease though... :(

howz the feeling for conocu??10w40?? heard the price real cheap...

im using maxima extra 10w40 ($18/btl).... 15w50 grade of any EO is too thick for FJR i realise.. used a few brands... cannot make it.... not so responsive... poor pick-up... makez the bike real hot... very heavy acceleration n when changin gears....

Mutantsheep : Shell helix is for cars or bikes wann??

'01 - Honda Repsol

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Originally posted by mutant_sheep@Jun 26 2006, 12:22 PM

shell helix ultra is meant for car. but i found the grade is 15W50..means is not too thick or thin.. to me i personally felt too thin the engine will be noisy..too thick then lost power.. :smile:

dai gao~

w50 means itz thick liao.... w40 is thinner....

EO for car not advisable for bike lehh.. due to the additives inside...

Yamaha bikes r known to be nosiy wan mah... hehe... i go for more power n responsivness!~

'01 - Honda Repsol

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Originally posted by ashenZ@Jun 26 2006, 11:17 AM

im using maxima extra 10w40 ($18/btl).... 15w50 grade of any EO is too thick for FJR i realise.. used a few brands... cannot make it.... not so responsive... poor pick-up... makez the bike real hot... very heavy acceleration n when changin gears....

well bro i do my servicing myself.. most of the things i do a DIY... my bike since the first day have been getting this Conocu oil.. to me its not bad. i have not use other as the previse owner is a mechanic he advise my to stick to one oil only...

so conocu i get from motorworld abt 10 sometime 9 dollars so its ok..... den the oil filter i get for 14 dollars at serangoon yamaha suplier.. den spark plug use NGK from FJT cant remember the price...

cheers man bro.. do tell me the feeling of conocu oil if u are give it a try...

Originally posted by ashenZ@Jun 26 2006, 11:17 AM

you buay sui one lah...

that time accuse me nv jio you for cheap EO... Now you oso.. tsk tsk...

where you get $18/L?

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v416/urylle/284668.gif

Biting on the fray of my hair, I muse upon the way to find the oasis of evermore beyond the vertical horizon, I shall join the windupdeads in owl city, neither my safetysuit nor my red jumpsuit apparatus can save me, cuz I mistook a death cab for cutie in plain white T's...

hi teddy,

sure pm me for your handphone.

New adventures created when you ride your bike....

Driving car is like cooking my food in a mirco wave oven..

Riding bike is like BBQ my food in nature

Get your heart pumping and adrenaline flowing..

bro anymore t-shirt??? if still have i want one. any other available colour??

Our FJR1300 says not to use car EO cos of additives that may cause clutch slippage. My bike EO says "anti-slip" so should be okay.

Yah, viscosity of 50 is higher than manual recommended of 40. Will be keeping an eye to see how things are - esp acceleration as some of you are saying. I am not having a prob with heat so far. Rarely go beyond 2 bars unless in traffic jam on hot day.

Reporting to Mr Cheekopek!

Oil Filter - $15 (can charge $14 if get > 10)

Drain plug washer - $1 EA

Anyway, someone posted rear pad is $55 right? But thats even cheaper than the front. Confirm anot?

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v416/urylle/284668.gif

Biting on the fray of my hair, I muse upon the way to find the oasis of evermore beyond the vertical horizon, I shall join the windupdeads in owl city, neither my safetysuit nor my red jumpsuit apparatus can save me, cuz I mistook a death cab for cutie in plain white T's...

Originally posted by omnislash@Jun 29 2006, 07:25 PM

Reporting to Mr Cheekopek!

:lol: :lol: :lol: :thumb:

Originally posted by omnislash@Jun 29 2006, 07:25 PM

Anyway, someone posted rear pad is $55 right? But thats even cheaper than the front. Confirm anot?

Think I was the one who posted.

Yups, it confirmed (according to AM that time when I visited them to purchase the oil filter). That's what the uncle / boss told me.

Originally posted by deanz4@Jun 29 2006, 02:02 AM

bro anymore t-shirt??? if still have i want one. any other available colour??

HI Deanz4,

We've work on another project. This time round we are coming out with Silk screen on round neck Dri Fit T Shirt.

This time round it 's more expensive due to the Dri fit material being used. So far, total 14 pieces will be made. All being taken up, I will post the pic once i get it.

New adventures created when you ride your bike....

Driving car is like cooking my food in a mirco wave oven..

Riding bike is like BBQ my food in nature

Get your heart pumping and adrenaline flowing..

wah teamlm haven make t-shirt gone for sale oredi??

Hi Guyz,

my fellow FJRians.

Got any gathering?

http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m260/FaizalBakar/cycleTP.gifhttp://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m260/FaizalBakar/FJRlogo.jpghttp://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m260/FaizalBakar/cycleTP.gif

My Ride:

Phantom 200 ( Jun 04' - 28th Jan 05')

Super 4 Spec III (28th Jan 05 - 14th July 06)..Defender Jr.

Silver Storm FJR1300A ABS (14th July 06)..Defender

Where I been Done..

06' 3NCR ( Sg - Betong - Phuket - Hatyai )

07' MHS ( Sg - Hatyai - Hua Hin - CM - MS - GT - Doi Tung - MHS - Doi Ithanon )

08' Phuket ( Sg - Phuket - Hatyai )

See my ride @ happycookies.multiply.com :thumb:

hi fellow-FJRians,

Just changed my battery for S$170 & Throttle Position Sensor (TPS) for S$105 and some other stuff.... wanna check with u guys was that a reasonable price???

TKS

http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e73/ChrisCheong8800/TMAX-3.jpg

http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e73/ChrisCheong8800/DSC_3871-1.jpg

'Old ladies in the Midwestern US...now have to pay higher taxes to finance...Wall Street's Maseratis. That's horribly immoral - and bad economics.'

Jim Rogers-19/20/08

Originally posted by n@kan0@Jul 6 2006, 02:05 AM

hi fellow-FJRians,

Just changed my battery for S$170 & Throttle Position Sensor (TPS) for S$105 and some other stuff.... wanna check with u guys was that a reasonable price???

TKS

HUH! How cum change battery so expensive? Shouldnt it be around $100 the most?

Why must change the TPS har? Any difference after changing? :giddy: