Check this out, quite costly, but sure looks good!!

http://www.throttlemeister.com/

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b193/KohTL/1098/signature.jpg

The years thunder by.

The drams of youth grow dim where they lie caked in dust on the shelves of patience.

Before we know it, the tomb is sealed.

Where, then, lies the answer?

In choice. Which shall it be: bankruptcy of purse or bankruptcy of life?

- Sterling Haden, Voyage, 1976

• Replies 16.5k

Did anyone service/ repair their FJR13 at Hong Leong Workshop along Paya Lebar? Being there a few times, but impression not that good.

Would their service/ repair cost be cheaper or more expensive than other motortiams? How good is their work and knowledge on FJR13?

Any comments?

Cyclop, the throttlemeister bar ends looked normal when mounted on the bike, however by looking closer, the inner ends are totally different from the normal bar ends, esp with the friction sleeve. But the cost can kill, at US $130-150.

Guest cheeko
Originally posted by cyclop@Apr 23 2004, 10:19 PM

Check this out, quite costly, but sure looks good!!

http://www.throttlemeister.com/

:smile: Singapore got any agent carry this product? Can consider getting 1 :cheeky:

Originally posted by BackOFF@Apr 25 2004, 11:31 AM

Cyclop, the throttlemeister bar ends looked normal when mounted on the bike, however by looking closer, the inner ends are totally different from the normal bar ends, esp with the friction sleeve. But the cost can kill, at US $130-150.

Thats right. But the system is less intrusive than the usual cruise control mechanism and the heavy version also doubles as weighted bar ends.

I'm not sure if we have any distributor here in SIN. Wrote them a mail and here's their reply. Think I might give them a try.

""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""

Hi there,

I am from Singapore and I have a 2004 Yamaha FJR1300. Do you ship your

products overseas?

Hello,

The model for the FJR1300 is $130 for the standard (Part #FT & AY-R1)

and $147 for the Heavy (Part #FH & AY-R1-H). US Dollars

Polishing for either one is $15.00 extra

Plus shipping ($9.00 to Singapore)

This includes both sides and the mounting hardware.

If you order direct from Throttlemeister

You can pay by Master Card or Visa.

Please,  Do Not send your Credit Card numbers via E-Mail.

This is not a secure site. Please call or fax directly.

We need your .

Name

Address

City, state, zip

Phone number

Bike Make, Model, Year

If the bike is a BMW, Does it have heated grips.

Sincerely,

Fred Fisher

Marker Machine Inc.

Phone 414-464-6060

Fax 414-464-9423

Hours 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM central M-F

E mail:  [email protected]

http://www.throttlemeister.com

The years thunder by.

The drams of youth grow dim where they lie caked in dust on the shelves of patience.

Originally posted by BackOFF@Apr 25 2004, 11:31 AM

Did anyone service/ repair their FJR13 at Hong Leong Workshop along Paya Lebar? Being there a few times, but impression not that good.

Would their service/ repair cost be cheaper or more expensive than other motortiams? How good is their work and knowledge on FJR13?

Any comments?

That time i dropped my bike, my mirror went crooked.

I went HL for repair. I bot the mirror at the counter and went inside the workshop for replacement. BTW, the reciept of the mirror stated $77 for the mirror and $5 for workmanship.

One old mechanic say they are closing and lack of man power so ask me to come back on monday. He was quite polite and so i didnt mind.

Monday comes and i was there quite early. They opened up the dash board panel and realized the bracket holding the mirror is bent. The base of the mirror cracked as well. One indian mechanic changed the mirror and jacked the bracket back to place. I was quite happy with his workmanship.

While I was waiting outside, that indian man came to me and tell me the old mechanic wants to see me. I went inside and guess wat? He asked me for coffee money ($20!) saying they went through a lot of trouble repairing. He oso tell me not to let the man at the counter know. Fearing that if i dun give, they might give slip shot work in the future, i gave in. but i got only $10 with me which i gave him. He say next time i go den i give him the rest.....

I nv went back...

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v416/urylle/284668.gif

Biting on the fray of my hair, I muse upon the way to find the oasis of evermore beyond the vertical horizon, I shall join the windupdeads in owl city, neither my safetysuit nor my red jumpsuit apparatus can save me, cuz I mistook a death cab for cutie in plain white T's...

Originally posted by omnislash@Apr 25 2004, 02:07 PM

Hey talking about mirrors, I've changed my to the Fazer 1000 mirrors. Same mounting. Now I have excellent view behind, no elbows!!! Also provide gauge for box clearence. Easier to fold too. The shop at NorthLink swapped them for me during delivery.o_O

The years thunder by.

Guest cheeko

Mr Cyclop, if u ordering, jio me also, may wana order, save on freight charges together. :smile:

Originally posted by omnislash@Apr 25 2004, 02:07 PM

I went HL for repair. I bot the mirror at the counter and went inside the workshop for replacement. BTW, the reciept of the mirror stated $77 for the mirror and $5 for workmanship.

One old mechanic say they are closing and lack of man power so ask me to come back on monday. He was quite polite and so i didnt mind.

Monday comes and i was there quite early. They opened up the dash board panel and realized the bracket holding the mirror is bent. The base of the mirror cracked as well. One indian mechanic changed the mirror and jacked the bracket back to place. I was quite happy with his workmanship.

While I was waiting outside, that indian man came to me and tell me the old mechanic wants to see me. I went inside and guess wat? He asked me for coffee money ($20!) saying they went through a lot of trouble repairing. He oso tell me not to let the man at the counter know. Fearing that if i dun give, they might give slip shot work in the future, i gave in. but i got only $10 with me which i gave him. He say next time i go den i give him the rest.....

I nv went back...

Wah got this kind of people. If me, I dun even gib him 10cents. If u complaint to Hong Leong, He jolly well has a early retirement le.

Originally posted by cyclop@Apr 25 2004, 03:31 PM

Hey talking about mirrors, I've changed my to the Fazer 1000 mirrors. Same mounting. Now I have excellent view behind, no elbows!!! Also provide gauge for box clearence. Easier to fold too. The shop at NorthLink swapped them for me during delivery.o_O

Do you know the price for a set of FZ1 Mirror?

Originally posted by cheekozer600@Apr 25 2004, 05:05 PM

Mr Cyclop, if u ordering, jio me also, may wana order, save on freight charges together. :smile:

Sure, I'll let you know.:thumb:

The years thunder by.

Originally posted by luN@Apr 25 2004, 06:12 PM

Do you know the price for a set of FZ1 Mirror?

So sorry Mr luN, i have no idea. The shop didn't charge me for it.:sorry:

The years thunder by.

Originally posted by cyclop@Apr 25 2004, 11:02 PM

So sorry Mr luN, i have no idea. The shop didn't charge me for it.:sorry:

ya lah fazer6 lo....

hey guys u might wan to try out the mechanic at the shop where cyclops is toking bout....he's quite gd in his skills,dun mind teaching u a thing or two

YOU'LL NEVER RIDE ALONE!

http://i49.photobucket.com/albums/f299/Hayasniper/Ranking/sc_cover.jpg

http://i49.photobucket.com/albums/f299/Hayasniper/Ranking/vip.gif

Know The Rules Before You Play The Game,

Beat It If You Can't Afford To Lose.

Originally posted by Hayabusa Sniper@Apr 26 2004, 04:40 PM

???:confused:

Biting on the fray of my hair, I muse upon the way to find the oasis of evermore beyond the vertical horizon, I shall join the windupdeads in owl city, neither my safetysuit nor my red jumpsuit apparatus can save me, cuz I mistook a death cab for cutie in plain white T's...

Sorry not trying to bring bad names to HL, but I think the incident surfaced by omnislash was really quite disappointing, esp for an old hand mechanic from Yamaha Workshop.

For me, I like to tag along. The 1st incident, is when my fren went over to change the 1st engine oil (3000km). When approached a middle aged Malay mechanic, he said if you can afford, change to the Fully syn oil, no problem. However, when i counter-checked with other friends, mineral oil will be a better choice for running in, so how could he suggest a fully syn oil over mineral oil?

2nd incident is where my friend bought a knn air filter and wanted to fix it onto the bike, however, a young chinese mechanic was unsure where the exact position of the filter should be. He claimed that it's under the petrol tank and a lot of work is to be done.

I think the FZ1 mirrors will be quite ex as i enquired before, XJ9 mirrors already cost $120 each. The cheapest way is to swap mirrors with FZ1 bikes.

Originally posted by kopvampp@Apr 26 2004, 02:47 AM

ya lah fazer6 lo....

hey guys u might wan to try out the mechanic at the shop where cyclops is toking bout....he's quite gd in his skills,dun mind teaching u a thing or two

Thats right, his name is Hong. Very humble man but very effective.:thumb:

The years thunder by.

Originally posted by BackOFF@Apr 26 2004, 09:26 PM

Sorry not trying to bring bad names to HL, but I think the incident surfaced by omnislash was really quite disappointing, esp for an old hand mechanic from Yamaha Workshop.

For me, I like to tag along. The 1st incident, is when my fren went over to change the 1st engine oil (3000km). When approached a middle aged Malay mechanic, he said if you can afford, change to the Fully syn oil, no problem. However, when i counter-checked with other friends, mineral oil will be a better choice for running in, so how could he suggest a fully syn oil over mineral oil?

2nd incident is where my friend bought a knn air filter and wanted to fix it onto the bike, however, a young chinese mechanic was unsure where the exact position of the filter should be. He claimed that it's under the petrol tank and a lot of work is to be done.

I think the FZ1 mirrors will be quite ex as i enquired before, XJ9 mirrors already cost $120 each. The cheapest way is to swap mirrors with FZ1 bikes.

3000km tink can change to fully syn liao..

As according to some, while still under going running in period, it's still the best to stick to mineral oil. Full syn oil is too thin. That's what I heard, yet to own new bike, so always miss the running in period.

:sorry: Sorry I think I also make a mistake, shld be his 1st oil change, then should be the 1000km mark, instead of 3000km.

ANy meet up for FJR owners? :hungry:

I've read somewhere along this thread that Seng Kwang does modification to the FJR's box. Anybody here had theirs done? Whats involved and whats the charge? Thanks. My boxes are less than 1 month old and already its begining to show signs of warp on the locking latch base plate. The choice of plastic for this purpose is most unwise, probably just to cut cost.o_O

The years thunder by.

Originally posted by hunkiedave@Apr 9 2004, 05:22 PM

hey jim . wat the hack. happen man.. ? is there any alien paint marks on ur bike paint? say if there is might be the car that left on it.. never never park in front or the back or on the side of any 4 wheels unless there's a curb or tree in between .. guess he might have hit ur panniers to push it down .. ass hole irresponsible people...atleast put a note and say sorry,, or wat if he can;t affort to pay for the damage..

hey bro my heart felt pain for u man.. c if u can use high speed (buffer) for polishing to make the scratch lighter.. \\

btw any meet up ?

hi dave, how's life? its really heart pain the first time i saw it, but now not so bad liao. will be sending the bike to do 'touch-up', maybe next week.

about meetup, sorry dude. havent got the right timing for us to meet... juz gimme a call and arrange again :smile:

Originally posted by cyclop@Apr 27 2004, 10:00 PM

I've read somewhere along this thread that Seng Kwang does modification to the FJR's box. Anybody here had theirs done? Whats involved and whats the charge? Thanks. My boxes are less than 1 month old and already its begining to show signs of warp on the locking latch base plate. The choice of plastic for this purpose is most unwise, probably just to cut cost.o_O

i went there personally after getting the bike. but they told me to leave it alone if its still working. the reason they did for the other guy was because it was already broken. if u really want, u will have to break the bottom piece into 2. then they'll replace the piece with a metal one, and rivet onto the box. i tried to put additional rivet on the lifted part of the bottom piece, but not very useful :sweat:

u can make a trip down and talk to them to understand better.

Originally posted by j1m@Apr 28 2004, 01:17 PM

i went there personally after getting the bike. but they told me to leave it alone if its still working. the reason they did for the other guy was because it was already broken. if u really want, u will have to break the bottom piece into 2. then they'll replace the piece with a metal one, and rivet onto the box. i tried to put additional rivet on the lifted part of the bottom piece, but not very useful :sweat:

u can make a trip down and talk to them to understand better.

Thanks j1m, will hold on first till they break. Too new for major surgery, heart pain.:faint:

The years thunder by.

Any one on K & N filter ? Price? Any difference?

Tried to get one months ago, NO stock. Apart from sporting, where else can i get one?

Hi XJR member...

I have a friend who have just bought a new XJR facing some battery problem.

From what I know the battery just can't hold charge and e bike just wouldn't start even with the push start method.

May I know if any of you have try the push start???

You become successful the moment you start moving toward a worthwhile goal.