• Replies 16.5k

Fyi, i had my battery changed just now in the day. Bought the battery at Auto Machinery for $220. As stated in the 08 FJR manual its the same model made thruout.

Example will be the pic above by bro kaychan.

There's only 12 amp (as supplied by AM) theres no 14 amps which i tot there is.. The only difference is, its now made in Taiwan rather than Japan.

Had it fixed at Southern(old workshop) only to find out they also have the battery but CHEAPER at $190!! :faint:

Took out my old batt and it looks exactly the same as the one i bought, also made in Taiwan..

Just to share ya....

Thats really strange. Auto usually gives the best price. The only reason I can think of is Auto's price is tightly tied with the Yen exchange rate. So the price fluctuates quite abit but $220 versus $190, that's really quite a big diff. The pic that kaychan showed is the "older" version so to speak. The one I had in my bike that I bought in Feb 07 and the one I have as spare that I bought in Feb 09 are the ones with the "new" look.

N ur right, the new ones are made in Taiwan....

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v416/urylle/284668.gif

Biting on the fray of my hair, I muse upon the way to find the oasis of evermore beyond the vertical horizon, I shall join the windupdeads in owl city, neither my safetysuit nor my red jumpsuit apparatus can save me, cuz I mistook a death cab for cutie in plain white T's...

Thats really strange. Auto usually gives the best price. The only reason I can think of is Auto's price is tightly tied with the Yen exchange rate. So the price fluctuates quite abit but $220 versus $190, that's really quite a big diff. The pic that kaychan showed is the "older" version so to speak. The one I had in my bike that I bought in Feb 07 and the one I have as spare that I bought in Feb 09 are the ones with the "new" look.

N ur right, the new ones are made in Taiwan....

Well, its already bought and installed in my bike so nothing i can do :cheeky:

nevertheless tats the price AM have on its catalogue..

btw bro u mention new look? any pic of it u can find on the Net for us to share?

coz according to AM and he even showed me the 08' FJR1300 manual which indicates the same battery model i have in my bike now..

well actually come to think abt it, the batt does look different if i remember correctly but not so obvious lah.. models and amps still the same..

Edited by Kazky

http://i3.squidoocdn.com/resize/squidoo_images/-1/draft_lens5271672module39663012photo_12448116942008-BMW-R1200GS-Adventureb-small.jpg

What's an ADVENTURE??

EVERYTHING!!

Thx for ur info. Pretty ex for a batt huh... How long can an FJR batt lasts? 2 years should not be a prob rite.

Need another advice. Any recommended shaft fluid for FJR? Prefer a thicker type.

if u do frequently ride ur bike 2 years shd be no problem lah but of coz different pple got diff luck.. Overall, batt lifespan usually only 1 year. To be safe have it changed yearly lah..

Just my 2 cents............

Talking abt oil, so far im using Maxima 75w90 and so far so good, no issues..

http://i3.squidoocdn.com/resize/squidoo_images/-1/draft_lens5271672module39663012photo_12448116942008-BMW-R1200GS-Adventureb-small.jpg

What's an ADVENTURE??

EVERYTHING!!

Noted.. thanks Kazky.. Meet up again for ride/supper..

Yeah no prob bro.. next time we ride again ya :thumb:

What's an ADVENTURE??

EVERYTHING!!

how much bro?

abt $140. waterproof cum breathable. my last piece lasted me for 5 years.

TEAM RedBull Singapore

Daniel aka bigcow +65 9105-0569

ScooTourers: Have Scooter, Will Travel...

if u do frequently ride ur bike 2 years shd be no problem lah but of coz different pple got diff luck.. Overall, batt lifespan usually only 1 year. To be safe have it changed yearly lah..

Just my 2 cents............

Talking abt oil, so far im using Maxima 75w90 and so far so good, no issues..

Dun misunderstand it when I say "new" look... Its still the same oil fugly colour just that the print on the battery is different. Instead of "GS", it says Yuasa.

My battery all last about 2 years. The current on is already 2.5 yrs and going.

Biting on the fray of my hair, I muse upon the way to find the oasis of evermore beyond the vertical horizon, I shall join the windupdeads in owl city, neither my safetysuit nor my red jumpsuit apparatus can save me, cuz I mistook a death cab for cutie in plain white T's...

Hi all FJR riders. Juz wondering if the rider for FBB 6**H FJR1300 is around in this thread.. Because these 2 nites when i come home, the bike is parked downstairs @ my carpark.. Its definitely a new ride/rider cos Ive nvr seen it downstairs before.. Such a coincidence because i've juz changed my ride to a VFR800 and is parked beside him rite now. so just tht i say hi if the owner is active in SBF. =) the bike is in a Hougang carpark.

We all only live once. Enjoy the ride. Glad to have met all the wonderful friends through the spirit of riding. Ride safe people!

2002 - 2003 - Honda CM 125

2003 - 2009 - Honda Super 4 Version S

2009 - 2011 - Honda VFR 800.

2011 - Present - Honda Silverwing GT

"I realised i'm a very staunch Honda supporter. Lol"

any sign of it? when 'Tension wore out'...so at least i can get prepare...

When the chain tensioner is giving way, you will first hear a faint "Ticking" sound from the engine.

Later this "Ticking" sound will become a "rattling" sound of a loosen roller chain hitting at it's surrounding metal parts.

This sound will becomes louder and louder until you cannot tolerate it any more and no matter how busy, you will find time to get it check.

Glad I got it check and now my engine is so smooth and quiet.

However $400+ fly away :sian:

It doesn't make any difference whether a motorcyclist has the right-of-way or not, the rider is the one most likely to get hurt.

http://www.motorcycle-accidents.com/bike_photo/4-21-02_b.jpg

Any bros got any problems with your swing arm and rear shocks ?

MD

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=177769&d=1286428855

bro wat u doing in HK??? business or pleasure... hmmm seem serious huh

I m at HK for business, will coming back to Sg early Aug, but need going to Pg mid Aug for another trip...

My Ride:

Phantom 200 ( Jun 04' - 28th Jan 05')

Super 4 Spec III (28th Jan 05 - 14th July 06)..Defender Jr.

Silver Storm FJR1300A ABS (14th July 06)..Defender

Where I been Done..

06' 3NCR ( Sg - Betong - Phuket - Hatyai )

07' MHS ( Sg - Hatyai - Hua Hin - CM - MS - GT - Doi Tung - MHS - Doi Ithanon )

08' Phuket ( Sg - Phuket - Hatyai )

See my ride @ happycookies.multiply.com :thumb:

When the chain tensioner is giving way, you will first hear a faint "Ticking" sound from the engine.

Later this "Ticking" sound will become a "rattling" sound of a loosen roller chain hitting at it's surrounding metal parts.

This sound will becomes louder and louder until you cannot tolerate it any more and no matter how busy, you will find time to get it check.

Glad I got it check and now my engine is so smooth and quiet.

However $400+ fly away :sian:

thks bro.really good info!very useful!!i like!! i like to hear smooth n quiet engine too..im very particular bout sound.eerr.. but.....but i dun like the $400...hhuhuhuhu

Edited by covert

....... .............. ...........

like???????

TEAM RedBull Singapore

Daniel aka bigcow +65 9105-0569

ScooTourers: Have Scooter, Will Travel...

If you are toking about squeaking sound, I've had it. I replaced the bearings and some collars at the rear shock relay arm. One of the collar heavily corroded and worn. Loss about 50% material on it.

Hi all FJR riders. Juz wondering if the rider for FBB 6**H FJR1300 is around in this thread.. Because these 2 nites when i come home, the bike is parked downstairs @ my carpark.. Its definitely a new ride/rider cos Ive nvr seen it downstairs before.. Such a coincidence because i've juz changed my ride to a VFR800 and is parked beside him rite now. so just tht i say hi if the owner is active in SBF. =) the bike is in a Hougang carpark.

That was my ex-baby... :cheeky:

Honda Phantom TA200, FV5349A (19/04/2005 - 28/06/2006)

Honda Super 4 Vtec 1, FS6537H (28/06/2006 - 13/02/2007)

Yamaha FJR1300 ABS, FBB661H (13/02/2007 - 31/05/2008)

Honda VFR800 ABS, FBB 404 J (31/05/2008 - 15/08/2009)

ADIVA AD 200, FBD 36 C (15/08/2009 - 13/05/2010, 1430hrs)

Yamaha FZ6N, FBA 7274 B (13/05/2010, 1430hrs - 03/05/2016, 1840hrs)

Yamaha FZ8, FBF 61*9 T (07/05/2016, 1130hrs - )

If you are toking about squeaking sound, I've had it. I replaced the bearings and some collars at the rear shock relay arm. One of the collar heavily corroded and worn. Loss about 50% material on it.

looks like i'm correct then, already booked appt at HLC. Waiting for spares to arrive

MD

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=177769&d=1286428855

looks like i'm correct then, already booked appt at HLC. Waiting for spares to arrive

Pls update me on how much HLC charge you for the labour. Btw, the header got to come off from my mech's assessment. I would like to know if you face the same predicament.

Saw a Blue FJR yest @ bukit batok , opp west mall. He had a metal container @ his rear. similiar to the ones TPs will have. Looked damn cool. Thinking of getting a black one. Anyone knows where to get it? how much it'll cost?

Cheerz!!!

http://i195.photobucket.com/albums/z213/arul_logan/Bike%20Trips/Bikeshootsmall.jpg
metal container..? if im not wrong, its cashbox..can get @ mustaffa ctr..about $40 plus..4th level i guess..

cool! yea, metal container , with 2 silver metal catches @ both sides and a keyhole in the center.. thinkin whether to get that or the pelican box.. any suggestions bro?

http://i195.photobucket.com/albums/z213/arul_logan/Bike%20Trips/Bikeshootsmall.jpg

me used cashbox..a friend of mine told me the cashbox can get rusty in mths time due to rain..not sure how true it is..mine so far so good...maybe can custom made too...those factory dealing in aluminium..hmm*wandering*

cool! yea, metal container , with 2 silver metal catches @ both sides and a keyhole in the center.. thinkin whether to get that or the pelican box.. any suggestions bro?

pelican box? how it looks like? how much is it?

me used cashbox..a friend of mine told me the cashbox can get rusty in mths time due to rain..not sure how true it is..mine so far so good...maybe can custom made too...those factory dealing in aluminium..hmm*wandering*

Thanks for the tip bro.. Will go down to mustafa n check it out.

btw , roughly how much issit in total. Cashbox + rack @ Seng Kwang?