Originally posted by scooterer@Aug 23 2005, 08:00 AM

That was me lah, change name keep quiet, avoid problems lor...

But now heck care lah...

bro scooterer, i have plan for the 2005 FJR once i get back in late sept. care to share more of ur finding with me pls, especially on the newer model. pm me if u dont feel like posting here.

thank u

1991-Katana125 1992-GN125 1993-Terminator250 1995-Intruder400 1996-ZX-7RRP1 & Charade1L 1996-Vulcan800 1998-Accent1.5L 2001-CorollaXLI 2002-TDM900 2005-Phamton150 2006-FJR1300 2007-KLE500 & WRX JDM 2010-Spark135 & Legacy GT 2012-Focus SW & Sylphy 2015-V Strom 650XT & D Tracker, 2016-Cross Country & RS4 125, 2017-Moto Guzzi V7ii Stone

• Replies 16.5k

Originally posted by ashenZ@Aug 22 2005, 04:41 PM

dun read too much into it......

itz not everyday dat the probz comez out.... until now... onli heard dat scooterer has it before.... no one else....

Juz enjoy the ride broo~~~ Welcome u to our trips n TCK sessions~!~!

sound like only the older models, up till 2002 has that "ticking" problem??

1991-Katana125 1992-GN125 1993-Terminator250 1995-Intruder400 1996-ZX-7RRP1 & Charade1L 1996-Vulcan800 1998-Accent1.5L 2001-CorollaXLI 2002-TDM900 2005-Phamton150 2006-FJR1300 2007-KLE500 & WRX JDM 2010-Spark135 & Legacy GT 2012-Focus SW & Sylphy 2015-V Strom 650XT & D Tracker, 2016-Cross Country & RS4 125, 2017-Moto Guzzi V7ii Stone

up to 2003. my FJR was a 2003.

I can confirm everything up to 2003 model has the problem. BUT 2004 and 2005 I really dunno. Maybe they fixed it, maybe they didn't. I really cannot say for sure.

Sorry, if you are going to be buying a new FJR, then your guess is as good as mine. My advice. READ FJROWNERS.com front to back about the issue. I did.

<span style=\'font-family:Ariel\'>The Difference between Men and Boys is that the Boys think the size of their Motorcycles has something to do with being a man.

Iron Butt Association#23842

Originally posted by scooterer@Aug 23 2005, 07:34 AM

Yamaha?--- Pianos... how to share?

hahaha, tt's a good 1.

But sorry, you are a little bit wrong here, Yammi has been building racing car engine for Toyota since 1970, look at Lexus IS200 engine and you will know what I mean.

You don't see TOYOTA, shocking to see YAMAHA.

YAMAHA SINGLE SEATER RACE CAR - OX99-11

http://ash-institute.web.infoseek.co.jp/ash_personal/photo_car/yamaha_ox99-11_side.jpg

http://ash-institute.web.infoseek.co.jp/ash_personal/photo_car/yamaha_ox99-11_pwrtrn&rrsus.jpg

http://ash-institute.web.infoseek.co.jp/ash_personal/photo_car/yamaha_ox99-11_cowl_open.jpg

http://ash-institute.web.infoseek.co.jp/ash_personal/photo_car/yamaha_ox99-11_red_3views.jpg

I don't own a FJR, but I heard 1 FJR ticking sound when stopped beside me at a traffic junction, it just irritate me. Nosier than my SDR :nono:

Their motorcycle VTEC technology is now in cars,

Correct me if I am wrong, think they hv it on car 1st then motorcycle - Honda Civic - ESI (half vtec version), VTI in the late 80s or early 90s.

Overall, very informative, thanks.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=66510&d=1214192421

For those having 2003 model and Earlier. Lets put down our mileage so that we can have an idea whose valve will break first if they do!!

Omnislash (02 model) - 46,000Km

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v416/urylle/284668.gif

Biting on the fray of my hair, I muse upon the way to find the oasis of evermore beyond the vertical horizon, I shall join the windupdeads in owl city, neither my safetysuit nor my red jumpsuit apparatus can save me, cuz I mistook a death cab for cutie in plain white T's...

Guest cheeko
Originally posted by scooterer@Aug 23 2005, 11:23 AM

I can confirm everything up to 2003 model has the problem. BUT 2004 and 2005 I really dunno. Maybe they fixed it, maybe they didn't. I really cannot say for sure.

Sorry, if you are going to be buying a new FJR, then your guess is as good as mine. My advice. READ FJROWNERS.com front to back about the issue. I did.

Hi mr scooter, maybe when u free, u might wan to help me identify whether my bike got this ticking sound or not. Coffee & prata on me :smile:

Originally posted by scooterer@Aug 23 2005, 11:23 AM

...mmm... really like this bike leh... watever! will take my chance & go ahead to purchase it.

wish me luck :goodluck:

Originally posted by SDR@Aug 23 2005, 05:22 PM

hahaha, tt's a good 1.

But sorry, you are a little bit wrong here, Yammi has been building racing car engine for Toyota since 1970, look at Lexus IS200 engine and you will know what I mean.

You don't see TOYOTA, shocking to see YAMAHA.

I don't own a FJR, but I heard 1 FJR ticking sound when stopped beside me at a traffic junction, it just irritate me. Nosier than my SDR :nono:

Correct me if I am wrong, think they hv it on car 1st then motorcycle - Honda Civic - ESI (half vtec version), VTI in the late 80s or early 90s.

Overall, very informative, thanks.

It all strarted in year 2000, Toyota Motor Corp (Japan ) bought a 20% stake of Yamaha Motor Corp. From there, they got the R&D dept from Yamaha to build them the award winning (VVTI) aka "Very Very Took Kong Injection". It was first to implement on the Lexus and follow by all Toyota cars. As a matter of fact, my present 4 months old Lexus RX300 3.0 V6 engine does have the "ticking sound" when warming up in the morning.

As you know that Yamaha is the first motorbike manufacturer in the early 80's to develop the "Power Valve system.", which you can found in LC kia.

As for the ticking sound on the year 02-03FJR.. I've no comment.

New adventures created when you ride your bike....

Driving car is like cooking my food in a mirco wave oven..

Riding bike is like BBQ my food in nature

Get your heart pumping and adrenaline flowing..

Originally posted by Teamlm@Aug 24 2005, 12:06 PM

It all strarted in year 2000, Toyota Motor Corp (Japan ) bought a 20% stake of Yamaha Motor Corp. From there, they got the R&D dept from Yamaha to build them the award winning (VVTI) aka "Very Very Took Kong Injection". It was first to implement on the Lexus and follow by all Toyota cars. As a matter of fact, my present 4 months old Lexus RX300 3.0 V6 engine does have the "ticking sound" when warming up in the morning.

As you know that Yamaha is the first motorbike manufacturer in the early 80's to develop the "Power Valve system.", which you can found in LC kia.

As for the ticking sound on the year 02-03FJR.. I've no comment.

http://www.swaqvalley.com/Blueprints/1967_Toyota_2000GT.jpg

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=66510&d=1214192421
Originally posted by SDR@Aug 24 2005, 01:02 PM

Nice pic! Excellent piece of engineering.!

New adventures created when you ride your bike....

Driving car is like cooking my food in a mirco wave oven..

Riding bike is like BBQ my food in nature

Get your heart pumping and adrenaline flowing..

Originally posted by SDR@Aug 24 2005, 01:02 PM

you're the man SDR~!~!~! :thumb:

http://martymcfry.com/images/limpdick2.jpg

'01 - Honda Repsol

'03 - Honda Super Four VTec Spec II

'04 - Honda ST1100 Pan European

'05 - Yamaha FJR1300A (FAVORITE!! Best Ride ever!!)

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Future - Kymco Downtown 350i, Xciting 400 or T-Max 530?

guys guys cool it man different pl have different views.. let them have thier own views.. lets us all enjoy the ride.

hi cheeko since u made up yr mind in this beauty there r some things u might wanna get few things there in US..

1. tank bra

2.headlight cover

3.get riding gear(u sure to ride fjr fast and furious)

4 get side pinners cover( by the way do the cover have in singapore)

http://i46.photobucket.com/albums/f128/inflames85/funny.gif
Mine does some small amount of ticking (at ~11,000 miles), but it's that slight ticking typical of the Yamaha's Genesis engines. They do indeed make all manner of strange noises; some appear to come and go.

At first, these noises were kinda disconcerting (particularly to this long-term Honda man, who is used to silent Honda mills). However, some very experienced folks I trust (who have a lot of Yamaha engine experience) have convinced me that these noises are fairly characteristic of these motors.

Now, all this is different from the serious valve guide ticking of the early (2001-2002) model FJRs due to (apparent) dissimilar material used in the valve train. There seems to be some amount of circumstantial evidence that suggests some early 2003 USA models still suffered from it. I've yet to see/hear of a 2004 FJR with this issue that didn't turn out to be typical Genesis ticking/valve train noise. Doesn't mean it could never happen, but...

Not here to create a problem/arguement, Not here to be a moderator, Not exactly a Yammi supporter, Not here to act Smart but I perfectly agree with this guy, I owns a few Yammi bikes for the past 17yrs and small ticking noise is a norm for Yammi bike, if you listern carefully, there'll will be small ticking noise from other type/brand of engine as long as the engine is driven by valve stemS unless your engine is a 2strokes or using Rotary valve, my 2 valves boxer engine produce such noise & there's actually a sloution to it, tt's replace the original engine cover with aftermarket thicker engine cover tt claim to eliminate the noise.

Start any engine without the engine cover, the ticking noise is really loud and clear (I hv seen Engineers testing the Ship's Generator Engine without cover, you can actually see how they works, very interesting).

Of cos, if the noise is too obvious and there's a lost of power, then I guess it should be some real problem. Let the agent solve the problem, you should be enjoying the bike.

FJR OWNER FORUM

No probz SDR bro~~ We know ur intentions heheheh~~~You are welcome to comment anytime in this threaD~~

All bikers are familY~!~:thumb:

'01 - Honda Repsol

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Originally posted by deanz4@Aug 25 2005, 09:11 AM

guys guys cool it man different pl have different views.. let them have thier own views.. lets us all enjoy the ride.

hi cheeko since u made up yr mind in this beauty there r some things u might wanna get few things there in US..

1. tank bra

2.headlight cover

3.get riding gear(u sure to ride fjr fast and furious)

4 get side pinners cover( by the way do the cover have in singapore)

hey dean...

Cheeko is an old bird in the forum liao ehh~~ hehehe.. he got his FJR long long time since early last year....

Moz accessories he got liaoz.....

Wotz about the side panniers cover u talk about.. nvr hear before ehh...

I feel getting my side panniers wraped in leather in Hatyai.... Saw an ST11 did it... damn cool!

'01 - Honda Repsol

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Originally posted by ashenZ@Aug 25 2005, 03:50 PM

No probz SDR bro~~ We know ur intentions heheheh~~~You are welcome to comment anytime in this threaD~~

All bikers are familY~!~:thumb:

http://www.ukgser.com/forums/images/smilies/friday.gif

For those having 2003 model and Earlier. Lets put down our mileage so that we can have an idea whose valve will break first if they do!!

if my valves ever break down, i'll be the first to inform all bros here!

capirexx (01 model) - 122,000+km ( still going smooth and strong)

facebook fjr1300sgp: [email protected]

Originally posted by capirexx@Aug 25 2005, 05:44 PM

bro of fjr i think all this ticking is due to the rider stle of riding.. how come capirexx

a 01 modal does not tick??? capirexx do u like to share with us yr riding style?? is it hard and fierce or just ride in singapore road no dragging at all???

ashenz i saw it online.. there is a cover for the side pinners look damn cool eh.. my heart pain to see my side to have stone marks.. dat time go for the mersing ride got few hits den scratch my pinners.. mabe go hatyai getting it too..hehehe

:smile: :smile: :cheeky: :cheeky:

http://i46.photobucket.com/albums/f128/inflames85/funny.gif
Originally posted by deanz4@Aug 26 2005, 06:31 AM

bro of fjr i think all this ticking is due to the rider stle of riding.. how come capirexx

a 01 modal does not tick??? capirexx do u like to share with us yr riding style?? is it hard and fierce or just ride in singapore road no dragging at all???

Since the problem is based on friction between the valves guide and the valve stems, 100% sure its dependent on riding style.... after all if you ride at 2000 rpm then there is 4 times less friction than 8000 rpm...

My FJR was ridden very hard, i.e. 40,000+ in less than a year.

The problem is not in question really. Its not just USA people, but even australian and european people that have had their valves and valve guides replaced by Yamaha Corp under their 3-year service program. Here, HL does not offer this program so we don't know. It is well known that it does NOT affect all FJRs, even the 01-02s, so the question is DOES YOUR BIKE HAVE IT?

BTW, the comment about only 01-02 bikes having it is time based. Since this is a friction based problem, it takes time for the effects to show up. Like I said, my 03 had it, but probably because it hit 40,000 km very quickly...

Actually its very easy to see the problem. Next time there is a FJR mass outing. Just compare a brand new FJR to the rest and you will see the problem.

If people don't want to believe me, that's fine. Ashez and Rebornbiker know I've opened up my engine before, and they have seen the inside of my engine, so I have nothing to proove. I don't even ride a FJR anymore so I don't really care. All I can say is, I've seen, touched and SHAKEN the valves of my FJR while they were in their valve guides, and the ticking sound from the valve guides is EXACTLY the same as the sound when I start up the engine. Anyone else done this before, please put your hands up...

Cheeko... we ride together before, eat tim sum together before, no need to be so polite... if you guys really want to hear my experience with my FJR then I am happy to tell it. Maybe I'll go on your Air Papan ride...

<span style=\'font-family:Ariel\'>The Difference between Men and Boys is that the Boys think the size of their Motorcycles has something to do with being a man.

Iron Butt Association#23842

HL SUCKLS// BOX PANNIERS GOT DEFECTS THEY ALSO tell u sorry they can't do anything .. abt it ..

http://t0.tagstat.com/image02/5/2db6/500700oRiSS.jpgSKIPPER125(95) , TZRR125(98), MAJESTY 250(00)/RS250(00),

FJR1300(02), DRZ(06) / Hayabusa05

Originally posted by hunkiedave@Aug 26 2005, 11:42 AM

HL SUCKLS// BOX PANNIERS GOT DEFECTS THEY ALSO tell u sorry they can't do anything .. abt it ..

i do certainly agree with both hands up~!~! :weep:

Dean : put the url for the pannier covers advertisement ehh.. but relak lahh... if wana go touring... sure have scratches.. i passed over dat phase liao..

My baby... about 5mths old... hitting 15000km mileage liaoz.. kena pelted by stones on the front fairing n panniers like nobodys business... also lan lan.. will pain lahh... but dats y u bot it for right???

Mine also kena drop left right liaoz... scratched enginer cover, panniers, exhausts liao.... :sian: but wot to do.... Respray n change END CAN~!~!!~ :cheer:

'01 - Honda Repsol

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Guest cheeko
Cheeko... we ride together before, eat tim sum together before, no need to be so polite... if you guys really want to hear my experience with my FJR then I am happy to tell it. Maybe I'll go on your Air Papan ride...

So it is u ah, since u change ur nick i duno where u go to, i thought u kena bump off by some professional killer for revealling too much abt the valve issue :smile: Glad u still alive. if u come along for the air papan beach outing, then i will bring my bike to let u hear whether got the problem or not :smile: I buy u a coconut drink at the beach

hey anyone got any lobang of tank bag to sell?????

Got see pple buy those saddlebag to install on top of the pillion seat wan.... anyone seen it before??

'01 - Honda Repsol

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Originally posted by deanz4@Aug 26 2005, 06:31 AM

ashenz i saw it online.. there is a cover for the side pinners look damn cool eh.. my heart pain to see my side to have stone marks.. dat time go for the mersing ride got few hits den scratch my pinners.. mabe go hatyai getting it too..hehehe

:smile: :smile: :cheeky: :cheeky:

Erm, capirexx's bike DOES have it. Cuz his FJR sounds like mine and mine has it.

I think what he meant by "still going strong and smooth" is, to him, ticking is no more than a sound. It doesnt affect the bike's performance. I think he's prepared to ride till the valve breaks, if it ever does. So do I.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v416/urylle/284668.gif

Biting on the fray of my hair, I muse upon the way to find the oasis of evermore beyond the vertical horizon, I shall join the windupdeads in owl city, neither my safetysuit nor my red jumpsuit apparatus can save me, cuz I mistook a death cab for cutie in plain white T's...

Originally posted by capirexx@Aug 25 2005, 05:44 PM

thongkh - 43,000+km

btw, how do i sure that my bike is which model? :cheeky: i bought it 2nd hand, just know that the bike was registered at year sept 2002... :cheeky:

Rain Locations in Singapore

http://www.nea.gov.sg/data/xml/dt/rainlocation_map.gif

http://www.nea.gov.sg/App_Themes/NeaFrontEnd/images/legend_rain_intensities.gif