I am reposting some of my old research...

Here is a video of a ticking FJR.

http://www.holeshot.com/videos/fjr_startup.mpg

Attached was the Official FJR document leaked out by a Yamaha employee about the problem. There has been no other document found since (I think Yamaha ordered this thing to be kept confidential).

<span style=\'font-family:Ariel\'>The Difference between Men and Boys is that the Boys think the size of their Motorcycles has something to do with being a man.

Iron Butt Association#23842

• Replies 16.5k

For those asking if the newer bikes are ticking; I point you to this post. Real or not I don't know you be the judge

http://www.fjrforum.com/forum//index.php?s...aust+guide+play

"Yes, we are getting plenty of 05 tickers. Mine started at 6500 miles, diagonosed by Sunnyside at 8K. I took the route of not getting all worked up about it, just rode in and said "my engine is making a funny noise" and let them take it from there. After all, I've never heard a tick, I'm not a yamaha mechanic, wtf do I know biggrin.gif ?

Sunnyside told me the procedure is to eliminate the simple things first by checking the cam chain and valve clearances before ordering a tick repair. The current procedure is to get a complete head assembly replacement, head, valves, springs, retainers, cams, etc.

Someone else posted over at FJR owners that Yamaha may be coming out with a fix, so I'm just holding tight for now."

=========================================

THe following was the list of parts needed to change the FJR valves, exactly as was given to me personally by Warchild:

Minimum parts for this repair exercise:

(1) Valve Cover Gasket

(8) Exhaust Valves

(8) Exhaust Valve Guides

(8) Outer Circlips

(8) Valve Guide Seals

(10) Cylinder Head Bolts

(1) Cylinder Head Gasket

(1) Oil Pump Cover Gasket

(2) Coolant Tube O-rings (p/n: 93210-18417-00)

(1) Coolant Tube O-ring (different from the above two o-rings; p/n: 93210-23787-00)

There are two other Yamaha tools needed (don't have their nomenclature or p/n); they are 1) tool to extract the old guides, andvalve guide 2) tool for inserting the new guides (for alignment purposes, IIRC).

- Warchild

<span style=\'font-family:Ariel\'>The Difference between Men and Boys is that the Boys think the size of their Motorcycles has something to do with being a man.

Originally posted by ashenZ@Aug 26 2005, 05:48 PM

hey anyone got any lobang of tank bag to sell?????

Got see pple buy those saddlebag to install on top of the pillion seat wan.... anyone seen it before??

i selling my Givi tank bag. it has detachable double layer & adjustable strip for carry. the 5 magnet will secure the bag down, proven on the NSH riding 220km/h on my TDM900 :thumb: bought it for $69 willing to let at $25 'cos i will be using tank bra for my coming new FJR1300 :lovestruck:

1991-Katana125 1992-GN125 1993-Terminator250 1995-Intruder400 1996-ZX-7RRP1 & Charade1L 1996-Vulcan800 1998-Accent1.5L 2001-CorollaXLI 2002-TDM900 2005-Phamton150 2006-FJR1300 2007-KLE500 & WRX JDM 2010-Spark135 & Legacy GT 2012-Focus SW & Sylphy 2015-V Strom 650XT & D Tracker, 2016-Cross Country & RS4 125, 2017-Moto Guzzi V7ii Stone

Originally posted by omnislash@Aug 26 2005, 09:50 PM

Erm, capirexx's bike DOES have it. Cuz his FJR sounds like mine and mine has it.

I think what he meant by "still going strong and smooth" is, to him, ticking is no more than a sound. It doesnt affect the bike's performance. I think he's prepared to ride till the valve breaks, if it ever does. So do I.

exactly..

facebook fjr1300sgp: [email protected]

Originally posted by capirexx@Aug 27 2005, 01:17 AM

exactly..

how long u have been riding fjr??? 120,000 dats alot. so wat ur no plate add on man so on the road we can hong at each other..:cheeky: :lovestruck:

http://i46.photobucket.com/albums/f128/inflames85/funny.gif

Spent the whole night reading the new pages since I sold the FJR. They have learnt a lot more about the problem since. Folks there is now report of a You're in deep sh*t stage that the advanced riders in the USA are now seeing: Oil comes out of your exhaust.

"Since the problem is usually the exhaust valve guides, there would be no oil contamination on the plugs, it would go straight out the exhaust. Also indicated by oil dripping out of the mufflers in the later stages. Most oil passing through the combustion chamber would be burnt and escape as smoke."

"If the tick is there, the behaviour depends on the stage of

wear of the guides.

Here is what sometimes happen :

Early stage :

ticks only when cold, come and go, and start to tick

about 10 seconds after the engine is started, until

it is hot.

mid stage :

same thing but in addition, ticks also when hot between

2500 rpm and 3500 rpm. Helmet must be removed to

listen to this one. Tick still come and go and

looks to depend upon engine temp.

advanced stage :

ticks louder, every time.

self destroying stage :

oil in mufflers exhausts.

power loss noticeable.

A good way to know if it can be a ticker is to put a big

long screwdriver on one of the 2 exhaust bolts of cyl #2,

put your ear on the hand end of the screwdriver and

listen, and recognise and clearly identify what noise

'inside' is in sync with the tick you can hear from

outside.

Then move the screwdriver to some other parts of

the engine and listen. If the noise sync'ed with the

tick appears to be more hearable when screwdriver

in on the bolt then you can have a ticker.

Anyway, a deeper inspection is needed.

This method has been inspired from WC one,

which is much more efficient as it uses a sthetoscope."

Taken from http://p083.ezboard.com/ffjr1300ownersasso...picID=337.topic

True or not, I leave you to decide, I have no comments. But I do advise FJR riders who have done a long distance and have the "tick" to check for oil/smoke from their exhausts. It is most likely that the advanced stages would come in at around 150,000 km or more.

BTW, I'm not going to say anymore liao, again people PM me telling dun spoil their resale value... hiaz... :sian:

Originally posted by deanz4@Aug 27 2005, 03:54 AM

how long u have been riding fjr??? 120,000 dats alot. so wat ur no plate add on man so on the road we can hong at each other..:cheeky: :lovestruck:

the high mileage was chalked up by the previous owners, i took over the bike last sept only...feel free to honk at me haha

facebook fjr1300sgp: [email protected]

hey guyzz~~ this is the long awaited pictures from the 1st FJR outing...

sorry for the delay~~

http://www.picturesky.com/thumbnails.php?album=3929

http://martymcfry.com/images/limpdick2.jpg

'01 - Honda Repsol

'03 - Honda Super Four VTec Spec II

'04 - Honda ST1100 Pan European

'05 - Yamaha FJR1300A (FAVORITE!! Best Ride ever!!)

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Future - Kymco Downtown 350i, Xciting 400 or T-Max 530?

Hey guyzz....

This is the picture for the FJR patches Teamlm made for the SBF FJR group.

There will be 1st 40 pieces with exquisite silver threading patches for sale... They can be sew on or iron on.

Subsequent patches ordered will be in White threadings.

The patches cost ard $6-7 / pcs

Those interested pls state ur name n amt u wanted.

1.) ashenZ / 2 pcs

2.) FJRider / 2pcs

3.) Glenn / 2 pcs

4.) Rahman / 4 pcs

5.)

6.)

7.)

8.)

'01 - Honda Repsol

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Do allow me to start off with knowing each other better. This column is dedicated to know and identify FJR fellowship names thru bike number, when happen to meet on the same road. (You may opt not to post your bike number if you're not comfortable.)

So as to eliminate, "Oi, what's your name?"

1.) AshenZ (Galaxy BLue) aka BG, AY9999R

2.) Teamlm (Storm Silver) aka Denrick Liew, FZ18S

3.) Glenn (Storm Silver) aka Glenna Cheah, FU7A

4.) FJRider (Galaxy Blue) aka Jason, FY8668T

5.) Rahman (Galaxy Blue)aka Rahman, FG786H

6.) Terry (Techno Jade) aka Terry, FY2997H

7.) Chung ('05 Silver_Blue)

8.) Cheekozer (Galaxy Blue)

9.) Omnislash (Maroon) aka Chua, FW8437

10.) Sonic seed (Silver) aka Elliot, FU6008A

11.) Rebornbiker (Techno Jade) aka Marcus, FX2055G

12.) Vara (Galaxy Blue) aka Tamhid, AF242A

13.) Sper (Storm Silver)

14.) deanz4 (Maroon) aka Dean, FZ4501L

15.) ThongKH (Silver) FV5789

16.) domjames(silver/blue) aka James, FZ3388D

17.) Capirexx (blue) aka Danny, FT7004

18.) Vit (Storm Silver) FY1633

19.)

'01 - Honda Repsol

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Lets start a list for FJR accessories:

1.) Balancers - $30 (250grams/pcs) Motorworld / Motovation - $45 (330grams/pcs)

2.) Sliders - Non-drill $180 w/o installation (Motovation) / Drill $60 +installation (moz bike shops)

3.) Headlight Protectors - Motorworld (Ventura-1pcs) - $55 / Motovation (Contour-2 pcs) - $45

4.) Cruise Control - Vista $48 (PMO)

5.) Front Mud Guard Extender - $50 Motovation (Needs 3-4wks pre-order)

6.) Bagster Tank Bra - $160 / Tank Bag - $150 (From Motoworld)

7.) Top box/Rack/bracket (?)

8.) Wind Shield (bigger/wider) - Givi $180 (Chiap Lee) / Orginal Yamaha $280

9.) Handle Grip - BMW grip $23 (place?) / GPR (BMW lookalike) - $10 @ Looi's / Harris (Bmw lookalike-better Quality) $18 @ Chiap lee's

10.) Left engine carbon fiber protector - CREATIONS $170 overseas (Motovation) / $150 motorworld(thinner version)

11.) Voltmeter - $30 - $55 (where to install??)

12.) Rear Hugger (AUD$399 Excluding freight)

13.) Radiator Wire Meshing - $20 (KnT @ Ubi/ Southern @ B.Merah)

14.) Louder Horns - BMW Hella $40 (Southern Motors) , Stebel Magnum $22 (Autobacs)

'01 - Honda Repsol

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Hey guyzz....

There will be 1st 40 pieces with exquisite silver threading patches for sale... They can be sew on or iron on.

1.) ashenZ / 2 pcs

2.) FJRider / 2pcs

3.) Glenn / 2 pcs

4.) Rahman / 4 pcs

5.) comics00 / 2 pcs

6.)

7.)

8.)

1991-Katana125 1992-GN125 1993-Terminator250 1995-Intruder400 1996-ZX-7RRP1 & Charade1L 1996-Vulcan800 1998-Accent1.5L 2001-CorollaXLI 2002-TDM900 2005-Phamton150 2006-FJR1300 2007-KLE500 & WRX JDM 2010-Spark135 & Legacy GT 2012-Focus SW & Sylphy 2015-V Strom 650XT & D Tracker, 2016-Cross Country & RS4 125, 2017-Moto Guzzi V7ii Stone

Hey guyzz....

1.) ashenZ / 2 pcs

2.) FJRider / 2pcs

3.) Glenn / 2 pcs

4.) Rahman / 4 pcs

5.) comics00 / 2 pcs

6.) sonic_seed / 2 pcs (hmm...y not incorporate it onto Polo T shirt, then we can

MO for it? just a suggestion,so tat most of us wearing it

more standardise and groupy hehe)

7.)

8.)

Ride Safely, NoT BlInDlY

Hey guyzz....

1.) ashenZ / 2 pcs

2.) FJRider / 2pcs

3.) Glenn / 2 pcs

4.) Rahman / 4 pcs

5.) comics00 / 2 pcs

6.) sonic_seed / 2 pcs (hmm...y not incorporate it onto Polo T shirt, then we can

7.) omnislash / 2 pcs

8.)

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v416/urylle/284668.gif

Biting on the fray of my hair, I muse upon the way to find the oasis of evermore beyond the vertical horizon, I shall join the windupdeads in owl city, neither my safetysuit nor my red jumpsuit apparatus can save me, cuz I mistook a death cab for cutie in plain white T's...

Hey guyzz....

1.) ashenZ / 2 pcs

2.) FJRider / 2pcs

3.) Glenn / 2 pcs

4.) Rahman / 4 pcs

5.) comics00 / 2 pcs

7.) omnislash / 2 pcs

8.) ReBornBikeR / 2 pcs

It doesn't make any difference whether a motorcyclist has the right-of-way or not, the rider is the one most likely to get hurt.

http://www.motorcycle-accidents.com/bike_photo/4-21-02_b.jpg

Hey guyzz....

1.) ashenZ / 2 pcs

2.) FJRider / 2pcs

3.) Glenn / 2 pcs

4.) Rahman / 4 pcs

5.) comics00 / 2 pcs

7.) omnislash / 2 pcs

8.) ReBornBikeR / 2 pcs

9.)deanz4/2 pcs

http://i46.photobucket.com/albums/f128/inflames85/funny.gif
Originally posted by deanz4@Aug 29 2005, 07:29 AM

Hey guyzz....

1.) ashenZ / 2 pcs

2.) FJRider / 2pcs

3.) Glenn / 2 pcs

4.) Rahman / 4 pcs

5.) comics00 / 2 pcs

7.) omnislash / 2 pcs

8.) ReBornBikeR / 2 pcs

9.)deanz4/2 pcs

Many manhours on running about and thinking of the perfect design for our FJR group. Our fellowship, Terry has came out the design and art work for us.

Thank you for your kind respond. I've managed to get S$6.50 per piece including 5% G.S.T.

The application for the the iron on patches can be patched on the following ways.

1. Ironed on cap

2. Sewed in on your favourite riding jacket

Collection is this week.

Additional of the patches, Terry has done up another Logo with our respective bike color with the FJR logo. See the attached for the art work. This must embriodery on the polo shirt,(Black or white) as to bring out the unique design.

New adventures created when you ride your bike....

Driving car is like cooking my food in a mirco wave oven..

Riding bike is like BBQ my food in nature

Get your heart pumping and adrenaline flowing..

Hey guyzz....

There will be 1st 40 pieces only with exquisite silver threading patches for sale... They can be sew on or iron on.

The patches cost ard $6.50 / pcs

1.) ashenZ / 2 pcs

2.) FJRider / 2pcs

3.) Glenn / 2 pcs

4.) Rahman / 4 pcs

5.) comics00 / 2 pcs

7.) omnislash / 2 pcs

8.) ReBornBikeR / 2 pcs

9.)deanz4/2 pcs

'01 - Honda Repsol

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Originally posted by vara@Aug 29 2005, 08:25 PM

I think its time that I made known, I'm parting off my fjr in couple of weeks time. No, it has got nothing to do with the 'ticking' issues that were overly elaborated at times. I dont even bother if mine does have it, what the heck....ride on!

Yammy bikes are like that, wait till you listen to 98 R1...so why bother.

Anyway, I have a list of accesories to be sold:-

1) Cee Baileys headlight protector. - replacement set for my stolen ones, still in original packaging. ----> $100

2) Original Moko sliders. ----> $150

http://www.fjr1300.info/howto/MokoSliders.html

3) KNN filtercharge. ----> $50 (4mths old)

4) Bagster tank bra. ----> $80

5) LeoVince titanium race cans. ----> $800

Do let me know if anyone if you interested.

Tamhid-97352454

Sad to see you and your FJR go.. what bike you getting? How about your bike number?

New adventures created when you ride your bike....

Driving car is like cooking my food in a mirco wave oven..

Riding bike is like BBQ my food in nature

Get your heart pumping and adrenaline flowing..

Originally posted by vara@Aug 29 2005, 08:25 PM

I think its time that I made known, I'm parting off my fjr in couple of weeks time. No, it has got nothing to do with the 'ticking' issues that were overly elaborated at times. I dont even bother if mine does have it, what the heck....ride on!

1) Cee Baileys headlight protector. - replacement set for my stolen ones, still in original packaging. ----> $100

3) KNN filtercharge. ----> $50 (4mths old)

Do let me know if anyone if you interested.

Tamhid-97352454

shitty~~ i got mine all accessoriesed liao... cud use the cheaper 2nd tank bra...

Got tank bag for sale???

wotz the KNN Filter Charge??

wish i got enuf $$ to buy ur end can..... :sian:

'01 - Honda Repsol

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

since alot of us are getting the patches..ynot we are get the same polo T and have it sew on...:smile: ...

Ride Safely, NoT BlInDlY

3) KNN filtercharge(airfilter). ----> $50 (4mths old)

Bagster tank bag. ----> $100

Do let me know if anyone you interested.

Tamhid-97352454

Originally posted by ashenZ@Aug 29 2005, 10:17 PM

shitty~~ i got mine all accessoriesed liao... cud use the cheaper 2nd tank bra...

Got tank bag for sale???

wotz the KNN Filter Charge??

wish i got enuf $$ to buy ur end can..... :sian:

yerp, tank bag for sale - $100

filtercharge is what we normally called airfilter....hehehe

Originally posted by Teamlm@Aug 29 2005, 09:37 PM

Sad to see you and your FJR go.. what bike you getting? How about your bike number?

cant help it, my hands are itching for trackdays...

what bike??? errr....supersports i should say.

i'm retaining my no. by the way.

Originally posted by sonic_seed@Aug 29 2005, 11:19 PM

since alot of us are getting the patches..ynot we are get the same polo T and have it sew on...:smile: ...

i second ur idea :smile: