ah chong sure got a very gd memory:

the first time i went down was wif a fren who need to replace his s4 speedo completely.

I didnt even do anything there, just accompany my fren down only, so just parked my bike opposite the workshop and went in wif my fren(btw he didnt do his speedo in the end cos some cockup on his own). anyway all i did was stood ard the workshop and witnessed the discussion between ah chong and my fren. Think we just spent ard 10 min at the workshop for some technical discussion only, not worth any deep impression for most ppl.

The most amazing thing was, ah chong remembered me (or rather, my bike) when i went down after 3 days for an EO and filter change(first attempt at their service). Took one look at my bike and exclaimed,"orh, 988 ah(my bike no)! eh, how ur fren's speedo ah? he want replace it not?".

really impressive, tt ah chong.

• Replies 3.9k

Originally posted by Niteguyz@Jul 23 2005, 02:32 AM

huh really? low speed no problem just say no problem? I think at least they should be giving us an honest opinion like wat u said so at least we have a broader perception on our choices. If they know watz wrong at least let us know or give us suggestions like they have to do experiments and stuff to determine the fault instead of just saying theres no problem.

Now that u said it, it does make sense why mechanics keep saying this to me. But are the components of a bike so complex that experienced mechanics cant tell the problems affecting its performance?

Hi, I never been to Planet but I've been to other bike shops where I tell them I have such a problem and without thinking much they just tell me there's a problem with a certain part and needs to be changed.

So been young and ignorant okie change lor....

Well it doesn't solves the problem and end up paying for more on replacements on more parts...

Base on a hard way of learning and looking at this thread, I prefer Ah Chong's style. Cos he's honest in earning ur $$$.

Just my 1 cent.

X1-R 2010 model

Star Brake Lines

K&N Air Filter

EzzyOiler

Fuel Consumption Excel File (Update columns in blue), download @ http://dl.dropbox.com/u/38849257/Fuel%20Consumption-20120222-154031.xls

yes he help pple to save money!!! my k1 mirror kena stolen . went to his shop tell him i cannot afford stock mirror which cost 160 a pair. so he find mi a suitable mirror to fix it which cost 18 a pair!!!!!

2001 - 2003 = Krr150

2003 - 2004 = Pb1 s4

2004 - 2005 = Srad 750k1

2005 - 2005 = X9 180

2005 - 2005 = Srad 750 k1

2005 - 2006 = S4 ver S

2006 - 2007 = Phamton 150

2008 - 2010 = Phamton 150

2010 - now = Kymco Grand Dink 250

2007 - now = Kia Cerato 1.6

Originally posted by k.yutaka@Jul 25 2005, 12:40 AM

yes he help pple to save money!!! my k1 mirror kena stolen . went to his shop tell him i cannot afford stock mirror which cost 160 a pair. so he find mi a suitable mirror to fix it which cost 18 a pair!!!!!

$160 a pair??? and i tot S4 mirrors are ex... LOL..

u must be the one riding the yellow k1 750 aight.. :)

Some people measure their adventures in miles or days. I prefer "lamp posts".

due to in camp reservist last week

i left my bike for a week at planet for some servicing

cone bearing, fork oil, carbs, etc etc

and i got this bloody engine oil leak

always leaking esp after overnite parking

some ppl said will cost a bomb to fix it

but ah chong some how did a very gd job in stopping the leak

as usual he give me very gd rate for the leakage problem

less den 3 packs of singapore cigarette :cheer:

which i dun think u can find it else where

he test ride my bike when i arrived

and still havent lost his touch of riding

http://pics-03.hi5.com/userpics/703/579/57988703.img.jpg

http://pics-18.hi5.com/userpics/518/505/50501518.img.jpg

http://pics-17.hi5.com/userpics/517/505/50501517.img.jpg

Dr Ah Chong Doin Wat he is best at on my bike

http://pics-03.hi5.com/userpics/203/505/50502203.img.jpg

See more of me @ azari.multiply.com

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc3/hs216.snc3/22373_296411496598_707411598_3943863_2038617_n.jpg

Originally posted by BlackHonda@Jul 25 2005, 05:02 PM

due to in camp reservist last week

i left my bike for a week at planet for some servicing

cone bearing, fork oil, carbs, etc etc

and i got this bloody engine oil leak

always leaking esp after overnite parking

some ppl said will cost a bomb to fix it

but ah chong some how did a very gd job in stopping the leak

as usual he give me very gd rate for the leakage problem

less den 3 packs of singapore cigarette :cheer:

which i dun think u can find it else where

he test ride my bike when i arrived

and still havent lost his touch of riding

Oh...it was ur bike cos dat day wen there show very nice cbr 900 den ask Ah chong this bike blong to whom n he say it blong to veri veri old apek! :D

eh CBR289, can resize ur signature?

anyway 2dae wanted to withdraw $, skali cannot find my ATM Debit Card. recalled when i last used it, and realised it was at Planet. forgot to take it back after making payment. didnt bother to cancel it first, coz i know Ah Chong wd hv kept it. true enuff, he kept it for me.

Originally posted by kambing@Jul 25 2005, 01:12 PM

u must be the one riding the yellow k1 750 aight.. :)

yes. u had seem mi????

2001 - 2003 = Krr150

2003 - 2004 = Pb1 s4

2004 - 2005 = Srad 750k1

2005 - 2005 = X9 180

2005 - 2006 = S4 ver S

Originally posted by CBR289@Jul 25 2005, 05:15 PM

Oh...it was ur bike cos dat day wen there show very nice cbr 900 den ask Ah chong this bike blong to whom n he say it blong to veri veri old apek! :D

so u r the guy tat that time the nos plate other shop paste wrongly 4 u rite ????

2001 - 2003 = Krr150

2003 - 2004 = Pb1 s4

2004 - 2005 = Srad 750k1

2005 - 2005 = X9 180

2005 - 2006 = S4 ver S

Originally posted by redname@Jul 25 2005, 10:28 PM

then u shld see st11 mirrors, 300+

wahpiang so ex ah. hw much is a pair of R1200GS mirrors?

Originally posted by CBR289@Jul 25 2005, 05:15 PM

hahaha very ol apek eh?

maybe he mean very ol chee ko pek :cheeky:

i was wif him on n off since my first real bike in 1996

last time every time wen gt ah moi

i very da chee ko pek at his shop

http://pics-03.hi5.com/userpics/703/579/57988703.img.jpg

See more of me @ azari.multiply.com

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc3/hs216.snc3/22373_296411496598_707411598_3943863_2038617_n.jpg

Guest Desmond_Toh

do ah chong service small bikes like RR? see all the good comment about him... feel like trying his skills...

Originally posted by Desmond_Toh@Jul 26 2005, 02:11 AM

do ah chong service small bikes like RR? see all the good comment about him... feel like trying his skills...

yes,u should really try.His skill is not only good.....to me is one of the best.:thumb:

"But it ain't about how hard ya hit. It's about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward. Now if you know what you're worth then go out and get what you're worth."

Ah Chong jokingly tell me to stop introducing pple to him coz cannot manage liao. Think next time have to make advance appointment, like visit to dentist LoL Either dat install LCD panel and take Q number haha

Originally posted by k.yutaka@Jul 26 2005, 01:00 AM

so u r the guy tat that time the nos plate other shop paste wrongly 4 u rite ????

Yup, i noe u liao...:smile:

Originally posted by BlackHonda@Jul 26 2005, 02:03 AM

hahaha very ol apek eh?

maybe he mean very ol chee ko pek :cheeky:

i was wif him on n off since my first real bike in 1996

last time every time wen gt ah moi

i very da chee ko pek at his shop

I tin shb b lah...no wonder he say dat veri recruit gal stuff to do paper work 4 him... :D :bow:

My first encounter with planet motors:

my rear brake got problem of dropping to lowest pt after some minutes into riding (no brake feeling n lever wont go up after pumping a few times). A shop i went to say tat my rear brake pump got problem n needs to be replace after i explain my prob. he say tat its common for my bike model. he quoted me a price arnd 50 to do the job.

feeling unsatisfied, i went home n surf...then saw this thread and decided to give planet motors a try. go there n explain my prob to ah chong. he looked at my rear disk n say my rear brake jam (the disc damn hot n melt his telephone antenna :D). he then ask ah beng to bleed my brakes and check the calipers. ah beng also mod my racing pegs to include a spring to prevent me from unintentionally applying my rear brake when i rest my foot on it....without me asking for it. All this costs $30 including rear pads (badly worn out due to brakes jamming on disc). I wanted to service my front brakes too cos it gives me a screeching metallic sound when i apply brakes while stationary on a slope. ah beng say no need n its safe to ride. my bike currently has no rear brake jamming problems at all.

I left planet motors a happy customer :smile:

:thumb: for planet motors

Send me a sign, wanna leave it all behind

I'll be leaving the hands of doom...

Rearrange the master plan, take the future in my hands

To be free and not trapped anymore...

Ride The Sky!

Give me wings to fly...

Ride The Sky!

Originally posted by k.yutaka@Jul 26 2005, 12:58 AM

yes. u had seem mi????

yeah..

nice bike..

super shiny..

hehe..

i was at planet to ask ah chong check my fiancee's krr..

before ah chong installed ur mirror..

he was riding my krr with his racing pokka dot helmet before he

installed ur mirrors..

Some people measure their adventures in miles or days. I prefer "lamp posts".

Guest bike siao

hi all, just my little comments im not here 2 fire at anyone this are just wat i feel : all the good things said in this thread is true BUT its all past personally feel that the service standard of the shop have dropped tremendously last time was indeed the best shop i have ever been 2. Personally me view is that there are more n more ppl getting to know abt this shop n the business is getting better n better so few incidents was that there were so much ppl that the boss was shouting n rushing his mechanics to finish the job fast n therefore the workmanship is down the drain and also discovered that the price higher = more expensive than usual n even higher than some other shops.... weer very happy 2 see his business getting better but his service standard , workmanship n price has dissapoint me after his business has gone up..... just my 2 cents worth of thots n wat i feel......

IF anyone feels offended moderators pls erase my reply thanks...