any legal issue if i exit malaysia without chopping my passport? i was caught in the morning rush in jb when i return back to singapore, i was being push on by the mayalsia bikes and i miss the counter. what will happen when i want to go into malaysia the next time?

• Replies 20

You managed to exit without a chop and singapore side let you in???

I've read about people getting detained by malaysian authorities for the same problem even when they try to u-turn go back to malaysia customs to get a chop.

Ok so now malaysia customs did not register your exit. It seems "you're still in their country".

If it were me, I will try to exit singapore customs via 2nd link. (Normally they just check ur passport validity and key in the NRIC).

Then ride pass malaysia customs (Skip the counter!!!) like those malaysian touch-and-go users. Make a large u-turn and come back to the malaysian customs exit. This time, get your passport chopped for exit and return the white card!

I hope other ppl have better suggestions than me... :sorry:

gd luck!

Happened to be coming back across at Woodlands... I somehow missed the chop... very busy day... got cooked waiting in a mass of motorcycles.

The next time I went back across I stopped at the MY immigration window. Explained that I missed the chop. Guy reviewed my passport, looked at his computer, then handwrote in the chop. No problems.

probably u r a foreigner, i guess

edited to add: i meant u r an ang moh :)

If u enter dan u have chop on ur passport i guess its ok.. But if u enter also no chop dan dun get caught.. Sure go in jail.. Classified as illegal entry... Outcome will be fine and ban from entering malaysia for few years... Just bring ur passport to the checkpoint office and explain to them shd be ok... No big hassle..

singapore side doesnt care if u got chops from malaysia or not..n vice versa i tihnk..the main concern for them is who leave or enter country.. u could have u-turned on 2nd link n cameback w/o entering malaysia, they will still process ur re-entry back into sg

From the ice cream man bike aka my little black lamb RX100..to All Blacks Bandit 400, to the legendary 1285 bandit;)

NUS Students' Motorcycling Interest Group "NUSRiders" Forum

Well, if this thing happen to me, what i will do is, i will enter JB without giving them my passport. Just act as if i'm a malysian. Ride on the malaysian lane and enter. Then when exit time, follow the normal procedure. Give them the passport to chop.

http://www.motorradonline.de/2002bilder/cbr1200xx.jpg
Originally posted by paiseh@May 21, 2007 04:43 pm

probably u r a foreigner, i guess

edited to add: i meant u r an ang moh :)

Yah.. I am Ang Mo. Nevertheless, the fact situation remains the same.

a) You or I leave Malaysia without a chop and still have the white card. There is no way to get this undone once you cross into Singapore.

b) You or I have two choices

1) You can pretend it didn't happen and try to come up with all sorts of stupid ways to make it better.

2) You can stop at immigration and tell them you missed a chop. You are honest. You are setting things right. And obviously, you did leave the country because you are trying to get back in.

So, what's the deal? My foreign passport doesn't get chopped at all on the Singapore side, just like a Singapore passport.

Originally posted by Strong Eagle@May 22, 2007 06:23 am

Yah.. I am Ang Mo. Nevertheless, the fact situation remains the same.

a) You or I leave Malaysia without a chop and still have the white card. There is no way to get this undone once you cross into Singapore.

b) You or I have two choices

1) You can pretend it didn't happen and try to come up with all sorts of stupid ways to make it better.

2) You can stop at immigration and tell them you missed a chop. You are honest. You are setting things right. And obviously, you did leave the country because you are trying to get back in.

So, what's the deal? My foreign passport doesn't get chopped at all on the Singapore side, just like a Singapore passport.

a singaporean was in the same situation as u. he got locked in for a day and a nite in msia. he was driving though. after the msia customs, he den realised passport was not chopped. explained his way thru but got locked up.

i believe a different situation will arise should he be an ang moh? tat was wat im speculating, lah :p

Originally posted by jkaiser@May 22, 2007 01:14 am

singapore side doesnt care if u got chops from malaysia or not..n vice versa i tihnk..the main concern for them is who leave or enter country.. u could have u-turned on 2nd link n cameback w/o entering malaysia, they will still process ur re-entry back into sg

yes, u r right. i was once on a trip to msia with my gf. her passports expires in 3 months time.

she passed spore customs with no problems at all. however, she was stopped at msia customs and was asked to go back. both of us went back to spore w/o having any msia chops

Originally posted by paiseh@May 22, 2007 08:08 am

a singaporean was in the same situation as u. he got locked in for a day and a nite in msia. he was driving though. after the msia customs, he den realised passport was not chopped. explained his way thru but got locked up.

i believe a different situation will arise should he be an ang moh? tat was wat im speculating, lah :p

I am confused. Did he not get chopped the first time thru and then got locked up when he went to correct the error?

Or, did he just attempt to go back in without pointing out the problem?

Originally posted by Strong Eagle@May 22, 2007 12:46 pm

I am confused. Did he not get chopped the first time thru and then got locked up when he went to correct the error?

Or, did he just attempt to go back in without pointing out the problem?

there are actually 2 similar cases

1. according to the ST (straits times), apparently a driver did not even stop at the msia customs and drove thru. after shopping, went back in got detained (further info not stated)

2. apparently, another driver stopped at the msia customs, thought his passport was chopped, din't check and left. after shopping, went back got detained, tried to explain (the ST used the word quarreled) and got detained for 1 day 1 nite.

ok but i had to admit, both cases aren't quite the same as yours. :p but the idea is to warn others, make sure their passport is chopped.

well... one of my frnd went to jb with malaysian collague, on malaysian's bike..

the malaysian guy forgot to stop at custom as usual... and he went into malaysia without any chop...

so.. on the way out.. just pretended as malaysian.. and rode back..

ok but i had to admit, both cases aren't quite the same as yours. :p but the idea is to warn others, make sure their passport is chopped.

You are absolutely right about that. Save the hassle and get it chopped. If you get lucky you get a good guy who just fixes things up for you. If not so lucky you get an a$$hole who makes life difficult.

These kinds of people exist all over the world. I got hassled going back into the United States last Christmas. The customs form said "list the places you visited in the last 6 months". I didn't put anything because I went many places on BUSINESS. US immigration jerk had to argue with me about what "visit" meant.

my opinion is, go back to malaysia. tell them what happened. after all they're human too. but whatever they say, remember: u're on foreign ground. dont be a punk n argue, make so much noise, threaten the customs. do this i'm sure u'll earn a night stay at their jail house. be humble n lay low. good luck!

I ever once hopped into a bus at msia customs, and forgot to chop at msia.

After reaching sg customs, they said i have to go back, if not i'll hav problems the next time i visit msia.

SO? lan lan go back lo....

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v601/juvenawu/13112006106.jpg

Dun be an idiot. You live your life and I live mine.

ok. i got the problem solved. I went into malaysia as per normal. i got my passport chopped on my way in. Then i got my passport chop on the way out again. they didn't even ask me anything. maybe i was lucky, maybe they just can't be bothered.

I think this just proves up that it mostly depends on the person at the window at immigration.

In my case the guy went looking through my passport for my last exit stamp... all 146 pages. When he couldn't find it, I explained what happened last time through and he created a new exit stamp for last time... then chopped my passport for the current run.

i thought u shld follow strong eagle advice to rectify the problems rather than ignoring it and assume nothing will happen (eventhough u have re-entered and exited successfully) as we shldn't mess ard with laws.

Simple .. just bypass imigration when you next enter (like the Malaysians) then re-depart and stamp your passport.

Cat

... what you looking at? Never seen a cow that wants to go places ????! ...

http://i49.photobucket.com/albums/f254/bikermeow/Miscellaneous/cow4uz.jpg